DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication mailed 22 March 2026.
Priority
The application’s status as a 371 of PCT/CN2021/143787 is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group I invention in the reply filed on 7 November 2025 is acknowledged.
Claim 20 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7 November 2025.
Response to Arguments
§112(b) Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed 22 March 2026 regarding claim 18 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant states:
Applicant clarifies that the recitation of chemical formulas ZnxMgyO, Znm1Alm2O, and Znn1Mgn2Lin3O, wherein x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, and n3 in conjunction with the constraints that the sum of the coefficients equals 1 (e.g., x+y=1, m1+m2=1, n1+n2+n3=1) is standard convention in the filed of semiconductor materials. A person of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that the use of such subscript variables to define a composite or doped material inherently signifies that each element mentioned in the formula must be present in the compound. Specifically, within the context of these formulas recited in claim 18, the coefficients x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, and n3 are understood to be decimals greater than 0 and less than 1. Accordingly, the scope of claim 18 is clear.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 22 March 2026) at 6-7. The Examiner respectfully asserts that contrary to Applicant’s conclusory assertion that such notation is “standard convention in the field of semiconductor materials,” the opposite appears to be true—disclosures with identical or similar notation appear to specifically disclose that the values are greater than zero, as shown in the non-exhaustive list of references compiled in Table 1, below.
Table 1
Publication No.
Relevant Paragraph(s)
Relevant Language
20230118092
[0019]
“The light emitting device may further include a third auxiliary layer disposed between the quantum dot layer and the second electrode and the third auxiliary layer may include zinc oxide nanoparticles represented by Zn1-xMxO (wherein M is Mg, Ca, Zr, W, Li, Ti, or a combination thereof and 0 ≤ x < 0.5).”
20240317599
[0059]-[0065]
20180261719
[0042]
“In another embodiment, the polar semiconductor materials of the first and second and third compositions are hexagonal II-VI semiconductor materials, for instance having different stoichiometries from the material group ZnxMgyO, wherein 0≤x, and x+y=1.”
20160120184
[0192], [0048]
“In some embodiments the metal oxide is MgO and the metallic element (dopant) is Zn, forming Zn-doped MgO nanoparticles (or nanoparticle composites). In some embodiments, the nanoparticle composites are represented by the Formula ZnxMgyO, with x and y as described hereinabove.”; “According to some of any of the embodiments of the present invention, the at least one nanocomposite structure is represented by the formula: AxBYO, wherein: A is the metallic element; B is a metal of the metal oxide; x and y are each independently a value of between 0.01 to 0.99, such that x+y=1.”
20040089874
[0042]
“For the oxide layer 14 serving as the window layer, the oxide layer described in the first embodiment can be used. Examples thereof can include oxides represented by the composition formulae: ZnxMgyAlzO, ZnxMgyGazO, ZnxMgyInzO and ZnxMgyBzO. As described in the first embodiment, in these composition formulae, x, y and z satisfy 0<x<1, 0<y<1, 0<z<1 and 2X+2Y+3Z≈2 (this also is true to the formulae below). Also, it is possible to use oxides using a plurality of elements for at least one element from each of groups IIb, IIa and IIIb as in (Zn, Cd)xMgyAlzO, Znx(Be, Mg)yAlzO and ZnxMgy(Al, Ga)zO. ”
20100102450
[0076]
“The compositional stoichiometry of GZO or AZO is designated as ZnxGayO or ZnxAlyO, where x+y=1, and where for Ga y ranges from 0.005 to 0.05, and for Al y ranges from 0.005 to 0.08. For GAZO or Znx Aly GazO, x+y+z=1, 0≦x≦1, 0≦y≦1, and 0≦z≦1.”
20060133442
[0015]
“When oxygen is a common element as with ZnO and Al2O3, interdiffusion of Zn and Al occurs in an interfacial several atoms thick layer, leading to the formation of ZnxAlyO (x<1, y<1, x+y=1).”
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 18 are unpersuasive, and the rejection of claim 18 under § 112(b) is maintained.
§ 103 Rejections
Applicant's arguments filed 22 March 2026 regarding claim 1 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1: Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant does not present further arguments regarding claims 4-19, aside from asserting allowability by due to their dependency from claim 1. Noted above, claim 1 is rejected, below. Accordingly, Applicant’s argument regarding claims 4-19 is also unpersuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claim 12 under § 112(b) and the rejection of claims 16, 17, and 19 under § 112(b) regarding antecedent basis issues is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of claims 12, 16, 17, and 19.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
“The essential inquiry pertaining to this requirement is whether the claims set out and circumscribe a particular subject matter with a reasonable degree of clarity and particularity. ‘As the statutory language of “particular[ity]” and “distinct[ness]” indicates, claims are required to be cast in clear—as opposed to ambiguous, vague, indefinite—terms. It is the claims that notify the public of what is within the protections of the patent, and what is not.' ” MPEP § 2173.02(II) (quoting In re Packard, 751 F.3d 1307, 1313, 110 USPQ2d 1785, 1788 (Fed. Cir. 2014)).
Regarding claim 18: claim 18 states, in relevant part, “are selected from ZnO, ZnxMgyO, Znm1Alm2O, and Znn1Mgn2Lin3O, wherein x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, and n3 are satisfied with: x+y=1, m1+m2=1, n1+n2+n3=1” This phrase renders scope of the claim unclear because it is unclear whether (1) the cited relationship encompasses only those compounds specifically recited (i.e., ZnO, ZnMgO, ZnAlO, and ZnMgLiO), or (2) encompasses values of zero (i.e., x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, n3 may equal 0), such that the claim also encompasses, e.g., MgO. (i.e., x=0, y=1). For purposes of examination, the cited language has been interpreted in accordance with (1).
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-10, 12-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0013440 (filed May 22, 2020) (hereinafter “Kim”) in view of Erdi Akman, Enhanced photovoltaic performance and stability of dye-sensitized solar cells by utilizing manganese-doped ZnO photoanode with europium compact layer, 317 J. of Molecular Liquids 114223 (2020) (published 6 September 2020) (hereinafter “Akman”) (attached herein), and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0261796 (filed Dec. 3, 2015) (hereinafter “Jang”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Kim discloses: A display panel (FIGS. 3/6A, display panel DP, [0108]), comprising:
a first light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, first stack ST1, [0090]);
a first conductive layer (FIG. 3, sub-charge generation layer CGL2-1, [0099]), and
the first conductive layer is disposed on the first light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the sub-charge generation layer CGL2-1 is disposed on the first stack ST1); and
a second light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, second stack ST2, [0090]),
wherein the second light-emitting unit comprises a first hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL2, [0075]), and
the first hole injection layer is disposed on a side of the first conductive layer away from the first light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the hole injection layer HIL2 is disposed on a side of the sub-charge generation layer CGL2-1 facing away from the first stack ST1).
While Kim discloses wherein the sub-charge generation layer CGL2-1 is formed from an electron transport material (FIG. 3, [0182]: “The n-charge generation layer was formed by doping ((1,3,5-triazine-2,4,6-triyl)tris(benzene-3,1-diyl))tris(diphenylphosphine oxide) (PO-T2T) with Yb by 1%.”), Kim does not specifically disclose wherein a material of the first conductive layer is zinc manganese oxide.
In the same field of endeavor, Akman discloses forming an electron transport layer from zinc manganese oxide (Akman at 2-3: “Many researchers are focused to eliminate disadvantages such as low efficiency and low stability of ZnO. In this sense, researchers have tried many different methods such as doping process, different production method and different annealing temperature to overcome these disadvantages. Among these methods, ion doping process (especially metal ions) into the structure of ZnO is one of the most effective methods [23,24]. When metal ions are doped into the structure of ZnO, two important events are occurred in ZnO structure; i) enhancing of electron transport mechanism, ii) decreasing of recombination rate between the conduction band of ZnO and the used redox electrolyte [25,26]. Manganese (Mn) ion, as a transition metal ion, is an ideal dopant for ZnO photoanode due to its ionic radius value close to Zn. Moreover, it has a positive effect on band gap of ZnO and optical properties in especially visible region [3,[27], [28], [29]].”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known electron transport material for the sub-charge generation layer such as zinc manganese oxide, as shown by Akman, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose zinc manganese oxide over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Kim in view of Akman does not specifically disclose wherein the first transparent conductive layer has a thickness ranging from 50 nm to 1000 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Jang discloses a light emitting device (FIG. 2, depicting a quantum dot light-emitting diode, [0023]) including a first conductive layer (FIG. 2, charge-generating layer 3’, [0076]), wherein the first conductive layer includes an n-type layer (FIG. 2, charge-generating layer 3’, [0062]). Jang further discloses wherein the thickness of the n-type layer may be directly related to the thickness of the p-type layer, such that the thickness of the n-type layer may, at a maximum, be twice as thick as the p-type layer, and further wherein the thickness of the p-type layer may range from 0.1 nm to 50 nm, such that the thickness of the n-type layer may be 100 nm in one embodiment (FIG. 2, [0067]: “Also, according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the thicknesses of the p-type layer and the n-type layer can each be 0.1 to 50 nm, preferably with a ratio of 1:0.5 to 1:2 between the thicknesses of the p-type layer and the n-type layer, and most preferably with the ratio at 1:1.5.”). Regarding the thickness of the n-type layer, in [0066], Jang states: “Generating charge using such a charge-generating layer 3 can provide high field effect mobility, making it possible to implement a high-performance light-emitting element.”
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Kim by substituting the thickness of the sub-charge generation layer, such that the thickness of the sub-charge generation layer ranges from 0.05 nm to 100 nm as disclosed by Jang, in order to implement a high performance light emitting element with high field effect mobility. See Jang [0066].
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the first light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, first stack ST1) comprises a first electron transport layer (FIG. 3, electron transport layer ETL1, [0074]), and the first transparent conductive layer is disposed on the first electron transport layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the sub-charge generation layer CGL2-1 is disposed on the electron transport layer ETL1).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the second light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, second stack ST2) further comprises a second electron transport layer (FIG. 3, electron transport layer ETL2, [0075]), and the second electron transport layer is disposed on a side of the first hole injection layer away from the first electron transport layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the electron transport layer ETL2 is disposed on a side of the hole injection layer HIL2 facing away from the electron transport layer ETL1).
Regarding claim 6, Kim further discloses wherein the display panel (FIGS. 3/6A, display panel DP) further comprises a second conductive layer (FIG. 3, sub-charge generation layer CGL1-1, [0099]), and the second conductive layer is disposed on a side of the second electron transport layer facing away from the first electron transport layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the sub-charge generation layer CGL1-1 is disposed on a side of the electron transport layer ETL2 facing away from the electron transport layer ETL1).
While Kim discloses wherein the sub-charge generation layer CGL2-1 is formed from an electron transport material (FIG. 3, [0182]: “The n-charge generation layer was formed by doping ((1,3,5-triazine-2,4,6-triyl)tris(benzene-3,1-diyl))tris(diphenylphosphine oxide) (PO-T2T) with Yb by 1%.”), Kim does not specifically disclose wherein a material of the second conductive layer is an n-type semiconductor layer.
In the same field of endeavor, Akman discloses forming an electron transport layer from zinc manganese oxide (“Many researchers are focused to eliminate disadvantages such as low efficiency and low stability of ZnO. In this sense, researchers have tried many different methods such as doping process, different production method and different annealing temperature to overcome these disadvantages. Among these methods, ion doping process (especially metal ions) into the structure of ZnO is one of the most effective methods [23,24]. When metal ions are doped into the structure of ZnO, two important events are occurred in ZnO structure; i) enhancing of electron transport mechanism, ii) decreasing of recombination rate between the conduction band of ZnO and the used redox electrolyte [25,26]. Manganese (Mn) ion, as a transition metal ion, is an ideal dopant for ZnO photoanode due to its ionic radius value close to Zn. Moreover, it has a positive effect on band gap of ZnO and optical properties in especially visible region [3,[27], [28], [29]].”).
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known electron transport material for the sub-charge generation layer such as zinc manganese oxide, which is an n-type semiconductor material, as shown by Akman, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose zinc manganese oxide over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Regarding claim 7, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the material of the second transparent conductive layer is selected from indium tin oxide, indium zinc oxide, zinc aluminum oxide, indium gallium zinc oxide, zinc oxide, and zinc manganese oxide (See rejection of claim 6, above, disclosing wherein the n-type semiconductor material is zinc manganese oxide).
Regarding claim 8, Kim in view of Akman does not specifically disclose wherein the second transparent conductive layer has a thickness ranging from 50 nm to 1000 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Jang discloses a light emitting device (FIG. 2, depicting a quantum dot light-emitting diode, [0023]) including a first conductive layer (FIG. 2, charge-generating layer 3’, [0076]), wherein the first conductive layer includes an n-type layer (FIG. 2, charge-generating layer 3’, [0062]). Jang further discloses wherein the thickness of the n-type layer may be directly related to the thickness of the p-type layer, such that the thickness of the n-type layer may, at a maximum, be twice as thick as the p-type layer, and further wherein the thickness of the p-type layer may range from 0.1 nm to 50 nm, such that the thickness of the n-type layer may be 100 nm in one embodiment (FIG. 2, [0067]: “Also, according to a preferred embodiment of the present invention, the thicknesses of the p-type layer and the n-type layer can each be 0.1 to 50 nm, preferably with a ratio of 1:0.5 to 1:2 between the thicknesses of the p-type layer and the n-type layer, and most preferably with the ratio at 1:1.5.”). Regarding the thickness of the n-type layer, in [0066], Jang states: “Generating charge using such a charge-generating layer 3 can provide high field effect mobility, making it possible to implement a high-performance light-emitting element.”
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the display panel of Kim by substituting the thickness of the sub-charge generation layer, such that the thickness of the sub-charge generation layer ranges from 0.05 nm to 100 nm as disclosed by Jang, in order to implement a high performance light emitting element with high field effect mobility. See Jang [0066].
Regarding claim 9, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the display panel (FIGS. 3/6A, display panel) further comprises a third light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, third stack ST3, [0090]), and the third light-emitting unit is disposed on a side of the second transparent conductive layer away from the first electron transport layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the third stack ST3 is disposed on a side of the sub-charge generation layer CGL1-1 facing away from the electron transport layer ETL1).
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the third light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, third stack ST3) comprises a second hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL3, [0093]), the second hole injection layer is disposed on a side of the second transparent conductive layer away from the first electron transport layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the hole injection layer HIL3 is disposed on a side of the sub-charge generation layer CGL1-1 facing away from the first electron transport layer ETL1).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the first light- emitting unit (FIG. 3, stack ST1) further comprises an additional hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL1, [0074]), a first hole transport layer (FIG. 3, hole transport layer HTL1, [0074]), and a first light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer EML1, [0061]), wherein the additional hole injection layer, the first hole transport layer, and the first light-emitting layer are arranged sequentially stacked (FIG. 3, depicting wherein each of the layers are arranged sequentially stacked), and the first electron transport layer (FIG. 3, electron transport layer ETL1) is disposed on the first light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the electron transport layer ETL1 is disposed on the light emitting layer EML1).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the second light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, second stack ST2) further comprises a second hole transport layer (FIG. 3, hole transport layer HTL2, [0075]) and a second light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer EML2, [0075]); the first hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL2), the second hole transport layer (FIG. 3, hole transport layer HTL2), the second light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer EML2), and the second electron transport layer (FIG. 3, electron transport layer ETL2) are sequentially stacked on the first transparent conductive layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein each of the layers are sequentially stacked on the sub-charge generation layer CGL2-1).
Regarding claim 14, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein the third light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, third stack ST3) further comprises a third hole transport layer (FIG. 3, hole transport layer HTL3, [0093]), a third light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer EML3, [0092]), and a third electron transport layer (FIG. 3, electron transport layer ETL3, [0093]) sequentially stacked on the second hole injection layer (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the layers are sequentially stacked on the hole injection layer HIL3).
Regarding claim 15, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein a first electrode layer (FIG. 3, electrode EL1, [0055]) and a second electrode layer (FIG. 3, electrode EL2, [0055]), the first electrode layer is disposed on a side of the first light-emitting unit away from the second light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the electrode EL1 is disposed on a side of the first stack ST1 facing away from the second stack ST2), and the second electrode layer is disposed on a side of the third light-emitting unit away from the first light-emitting unit (FIG. 3, depicting wherein the electrode EL2 is disposed on a side of the third stack ST3 facing away from the first stack ST1).
Regarding claim 16, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein a material of each of the first light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer EML1), the second light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer EML2), and the third light-emitting layer (FIG. 3, light emitting layer EML3) has a core-shell structure (FIG. 3, [0063]: “In some embodiments, the light emitting layer EML1 [which is the same type of light emitting material of EML2 and EML3 according to [0073] and [0092]] may include a quantum dot material as the light emitting material. A core of a quantum dot may be selected from a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV-VI compound, a Group IV element, a Group IV compound, and combinations thereof.”; [0157]: “In some embodiments, a quantum dot may have a core-shell structure including a core having nano-crystals described above and a shell surrounding the core.”);
a shell layer of the core-shell structure covers a core layer of the core-shell structure (FIG. 3, [0157]: “In some embodiments, a quantum dot may have a core-shell structure including a core having nano-crystals described above and a shell surrounding the core.”);
a material of the core layer comprises at least one of CdSe, CdZnSe, InP, and ZnSe (FIG. 3, [0152]: “A core of a quantum dot may be selected from a Group II-VI compound, a Group III-V compound, a Group IV-VI compound, a Group IV element, a Group IV compound, and combinations thereof.”; [0153]: “The Group II-VI compound may be selected from a binary compound . . . CdSe . . . ZnSe . . . a ternary compound . . . CdZnSe . . . . The Group III-V compound may be selected from a binary compound . . . InP . . . .”); and
a material of the shell layer includes one or a combination of CdS and ZnS (FIG. 3, [0158]: “Non-limiting examples of the shell of the quantum dot having a core-shell structure may include a metal oxide, a non-metal oxide, a semiconductor compound, and a combination thereof.”; [0160]: “Also, the semiconductor compound may be, for example, CdS . . . ZnS . . . .”).
Regarding claim 17, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein materials of the first hole transport layer (FIG. 3, hole transport layer HTL1), the second hole transport layer (FIG. 3, hole transport layer HTL2), and the third hole transport layer (FIG. 3, hole transport layer HTL3) comprise one or more of poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4- butylphenyl)diphenylamine), poly(N,N'-bis(4-butylphenyl)-N,N'-bis(phenyl)- benzidine), polyvinylcarbazole, 4,4',4"-tris(carbazol-9-yl)triphenylamine, 4,4'-bis(9-carbazol)biphenyl (FIG. 3, [0078]: “he hole transport material may include a carbazole-based derivative (such as N-phenylcarbazole and/or polyvinylcarbazole), a fluorene-based derivative, a triphenylamine-based derivative (such as N,N′-bis(3-methylphenyl)-N,N′-diphenyl-[1,1-biphenyl]-4,4′-diamine (TPD) and/or 4,4′,4″-tris(N-carbazolyl)triphenylamine (TCTA)), N,N′-di(naphthalene-1-yl)-N,N′-diplienyl-benzidine (NPB), 4,4′-Cyclohexylidene bis[N,N-bis(4-methylphenyl)benzenamine] (TAPC), 4,4′-Bis[N,N′-(3-tolyl)amino]-3,3′-dimethylbiphenyl (HMTPD), 1,3-Bis(N-carbazolyl)benzene (mCP), 9-(4-tert-Butylphenyl)-3,6-bis(triphenylsilyl)-9H-carbazole (CzSi), and/or the like.”).
Regarding claim 19, Kim in view of Akman and Jang further discloses wherein materials of the additional hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL1), the first hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL2), and the second hole injection layer (FIG. 3, hole injection layer HIL3) are independently selected from poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene): polystyrene sulfonate, polyaniline, and polythiophene (FIG. 3, [0077]: “The hole injection material may include . . . Poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene)/Poly(4-styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT/PSS) . . . .”).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Akman and Jang, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0125204 (filed April 28, 2020) (hereinafter “Kitazawa”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim in view of Akman and Jang does not specifically disclose wherein the first light-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit, and the third light-emitting unit are selected from a red light-emitting unit, a green light-emitting unit, and a blue light-emitting unit; wherein the first light-emitting unit, the second light-emitting unit, and the third light-emitting unit emit lights of different colors respectively.
In the same field of endeavor, Kitazawa discloses a display device (FIG. 8, display device 402, [0101]) including a first, second, and third light emitting units (FIG. 8, light emitting element layers 6B, 6G, and 6R, [0103]-[0105]) that may be red, green, or blue (FIG. 8, depicting wherein the element layers 6B, 6G, and 6R are blue, green, and red light emitting element layers, respectively), and further wherein the first light emitting unit is a blue light emitting unit (FIG. 6, depicting wherein the light emitting element layer 6B emits blue light, [0103]), the second light emitting unit is a green light emitting unit (FIG. 6, depicting wherein the light emitting element layer 6G emits green light, [0104]), and the third light emitting unit is a red light emitting unit (FIG. 6, depicting wherein the light emitting element layer 6R emits red light, [0105]). Regarding the light emitting element layer color configuration, in [0057], Kitazawa states: “Thus, the blue light from the blue light-emitting layer 14, the green light from the green light-emitting layer 16, and the red light from the red light-emitting layer 18 are emitted from the light-emitting element layer 6, and, as a result, white light is emitted from the light-emitting element layer 6,” thereby enabling color display.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed display of Kim by substituting the light emitting element layer color configuration of Kitazawa in order to create a display device that emits white light and thereby enabling color display. See Kitazawa [0057].
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view Akman and Jang, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2024/0147805 (filed April 20, 2021) (hereinafter “Wu”).
Regarding claim 18, Kim in view of Akman and Jang does not specifically disclose wherein materials of the first electron transport layer, the second electron transport layer, and the third electron transport layer are selected from ZnO, ZnxMgyO, Znm1Alm2O, and Znn1Mgn2Lin3O, wherein x, y, m1, m2, n1, n2, and n3 are satisfied with: x+y=1, m1+m2=1, n1+n2+n3=1.
In the same field of endeavor, in [0083], Wu discloses an electron transport layer formed from, for example, ZnO.
Accordingly, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to select a known electron transport layer material such as ZnO, as shown by Wu in [0083], since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the base of its suitability, for its intended use involves only ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2144.07 (citing In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197 (C.C.P.A. 1960)). One would be motivated to choose ZnO over other materials depending on manufacturing considerations such as cost of materials or time it takes to process the layer.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813