DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 22, 23, 25, 26, 29, 30, 32, 34, 38 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gareis [US 4,450,427].
Claim 22, Gareis discloses [figure 5] a state detection circuit comprising: a Hall sensor circuit with a Hall sensor [58]; a voltage regulator [V1]; and an output switch [10], wherein the Hall sensor circuit is connected between the voltage regulator and the output switch [figures 5 and 6].
Claim 23, Gareis discloses the state detection circuit according to claim 22, wherein the Hall sensor [58] is configured to provide a binary output signal [col. 5 line 65 to col. 6 line 5, the hall sensor output is either grounded or open].
Claim 25, Gareis discloses the state detection circuit according to claim 22, further comprising a supply port [66] and a ground terminal [ground; figures 5 and 6].
Claim 26, Gareis discloses the state detection circuit according to claim 25, further comprising a first diode [86] between the supply port [66] and an input of the voltage regulator [V1].
Claim 29, Gareis discloses the state detection circuit according to claim 22, wherein the Hall sensor is connected to three different lines [V1, 68 and ground; figure 5] of the Hall sensor circuit.
Claim 30, Gareis discloses the state detection circuit according to claim 29, wherein the Hall sensor [58] is connected to ground and the output switch [10], and wherein the Hall sensor is electrically coupled to an output of the voltage regulator [figure 5].
Claim 32, Gareis discloses the state detection circuit according to claim 22, further comprising a first diode [86] circuit between an output terminal [62] and ground.
Claim 34, Gareis discloses the state detection circuit according to claim 22, further comprising a third resistive [resistor in 60] element between ground and the output switch [10; figure 5].
Claim 38, Gareis discloses a remotely operable switch comprising: an electrical switch [36/38]; and the state detection circuit according to claim 22 configured to provide a switching state of the electrical switch.
Claim 39, Gareis discloses the remotely operable switch according to claim 38, wherein the remotely operated switch is a relay, a contactor [abs] or a high voltage contactor.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 24, 27, 28, 31, 33, 35-37 and 40-42 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/14/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the claims are directed toward a detection circuit, specifically that Gareis is not a state detection circuit.
In response, Gareis specifically discloses that Hall device 58 placed in a path to monitor the magnitude of flux generated by the coil 10 enables the electrical energy supply to the coil 10 to be regulated in such a manner as to maintain a constant armature flux. [col. 4 lines 42-64]. Therefore, Gareis detects the magnetic flux (state) of the coil. The claim language merely requires a state detection circuit and does not exclude additionally controlling the coil.
Applicant’s arguments rely on language solely recited in preamble recitations in claim(s) 20-42. When reading the preamble in the context of the entire claim, the recitation of a state detection circuit is not limiting because the body of the claim describes a complete invention and the language recited solely in the preamble does not provide any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations. Thus, the preamble of the claim(s) is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction. See Pitney Bowes, Inc. v. Hewlett-Packard Co., 182 F.3d 1298, 1305, 51 USPQ2d 1161, 1165 (Fed. Cir. 1999). See MPEP § 2111.02.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BERNARD ROJAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837