DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election, without traverse, of Group I claims 1-9 and 18-21 directed to a nonwoven fabric. Accordingly, claims 10-17 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8-9 and 18-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Dutkiewicz et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2016/0040337.
Regarding claims 1-6, 8-9, 18-19, Dutkiewicz discloses a multilayered nonwoven material [0002]. Paragraph 0007 discloses that continuous filaments in the nonwoven can be bonded. Paragraph 0071 discloses that lyocell fibers [bridgeable fibers] are particularly suitable because of their characteristic soft feel, water absorption and biodegradability. Paragraph 0099 discloses a binder to create bonds between the fibers. Paragraph 0104 discloses that the binder can include polyhydroxybutyrate, polylactic acid polymers polybutylene succinate [biodegradable binders]. Paragraph 0105 discloses that the binder can be present in the amount of 30 weight %. Paragraph 0128 discloses that the nonwoven material can have a basis weight from about 30 g/m2. Paragraph 0129 discloses that the nonwoven material can have density of 0.15 g/cc [150 g/mm].
Regarding claim 20, paragraph 0107 discloses that the binder can include additives such as opacity enhancers, delustrants and optical brighteners. Applicant’s claim 20 is not specific to the additive.
Claims 1-2, 4-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Raoof et al., EP 3233636.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 8, Raoof discloses an oral pouched product wherein the pouch is made of a fleece material [nonwoven] comprising staple fibers [0001]. Paragraph 0024 discloses that the linear mass density of the pouch ranges from 2.5 decitex to 5 decitex [greater than 140 g/mm]. Paragraph 0064 discloses that the basis weight of the pouch ranges from 25 g/m2 to 35 g/m2. Paragraph 0081 discloses a binder of acrylic co-polymer present in the amount of 35-45 weight %.
Regarding claim 5, paragraph 0062 discloses that nonwoven material is card [drylaid].
Regarding claims 6, paragraph 0058 discloses that the fleece may comprise fibers of cellulose such as cotton and/or one or more synthetic polymers. Applicant’s claim 6 does not exclude viscose fibers as the claim includes open language.
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Bodin, U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2020/0297024.
Regarding claims 1-4, Bodin discloses an oral pouch formed of a nonwoven material including a binder and cellulose based staple fibers wherein the fabric has a linear density less than 1.7 decitex [170 g/mm] and a basis weight above 30 g/m2 [abstract and 0045]. Paragraph 0055 discloses that the basis weight can be 32 g/m2. Paragraph 0062 discloses that the linear density is less than or equal to 1.5 decitex [150 g/mm]. It is disclosed in paragraph 0068 that the binder constitutes 25-55 weight % of the total packaging material.
Regarding claim 5, the abstract and paragraph 0045 discloses that the fibers are carded.
Regarding claim 6, paragraph 0060 discloses lyocell fibers.
Regarding claim 8 , paragraph 0050 discloses that the binder can include a co-polymer formed from polymerization of a monomer such as vinyl acetate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dutkiewicz et al., U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2016/0040337.
Dutkiewicz remains relied upon for claims 1 and 18.
Regarding claims 7 and 21, Dutkiewicz is silent to the fabric including 100% lyocell fibers. Dutkiewicz does disclose in paragraph 0071 discloses that lyocell fibers [bridgeable fibers] are particularly suitable because of their characteristic soft feel, water absorption and biodegradability. One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would utilize 100% lyocell fibers in the nonwoven fabric for the benefit of obtaining a nonwoven fabric having enhanced soft feel, water absorption and biodegradability
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8 and 18-19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9, 12-14 and 16 of copending Application No. 18/263839 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in both co-pending applications recite
A nonwoven fabric comprising a chemically bonded web of staple fibers and a non-fibrous binder.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite that the web is composed of a plurality of carded layers of staple fibers.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite that the non-fibrous binder can include polybutylene succinate [biodegradable].
The claims in both co-pending applications recite that the binder is present in an amount of greater than or equal to 30 wt %.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite that the binder is present in an amount of less than or equal to 50 wt %.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite that the fabric density is greater than 140 g/mm.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite that the fabric density is less than 140 g/mm.
The claims in both co-pending applications recite that the basis weight of the nonwoven fabric is greater than 25 g/m2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Please note that U.S. Patent Application 18/263,839 corresponds to U.S. Pre Grant Publication 2024/0117539.
Conclusion
/CAMIE S THOMPSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786