DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, drawn to an allergen skin reaction detection and metrology system, in the reply filed on 11/7/25 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that Groups 1 and 2 share a special technical feature linking the inventions, specifically including “a plurality of light sources arranged or positioned under angles greater than 40o with respect to a receiving direction, the plurality of light sources being configured to successively illuminate a skin surface area under a plurality of predetermined illumination angles with respect to the receiving direction” and Mir only shows incident light at 90 degrees.
This is not found persuasive because Mir explicitly discloses inter alia
“[0086] Image forming apparatus 110 also includes an illumination apparatus 120 that is energizable to direct suitable illumination toward exposed skin at opening 40 for obtaining images at image sensor 112. As shown in FIG. 7A, in illumination apparatus 120, a first light source 124 directs light that is substantially collimated and is directed toward opening 40 at an oblique angle .alpha. that is between about 45 degrees and 80 degrees from normal N. More preferably, oblique angle .alpha. is about 70+/-6 degrees from normal N. Substantially collimated light from light source 124 is at narrow angles, within about +/-15 degrees of the central angle that is at oblique angle .alpha.. With this configuration, light emitted from light source 124 is diffusely reflected from the skin surface, based on a Lambertian model for skin reflectance. Skin reflectance has both specular and diffuse components. The angle of incidence is variable at any point along the skin surface position at opening 40. With light at the oblique angles used; there is little or no effect from specular reflectance. First light source 124 has spectral content that is selected for improved sensitivity to contour. Laser, LED, incandescent, or fluorescent light sources that may include some collimating means may be used for first light source 124. Appropriately aligned polarizers may be placed at the source 124 and image sensor 112 to control specular reflection from the patient's skin that may hinder the measurements due to "glint spots".”.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 29-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 11/7/25.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
“testing means” of claim 16;
“illumination means” of claim 16;
“acquisition means” of claim 16; and
“analysing means” of claim 16.
Claim Objections
Claims 16, 19, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “analysing” should apparently read “analyzing”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gizewski (US 2008/0161661 A1).
For claim 16, Gizewski discloses a system for detection and metrology of an allergen skin reaction of an individual (Fig 3) ([0002, 0033-0051]), wherein said system comprises inter alia:
testing means (1000) (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]) configured to host a body part of said individual and to subject a skin surface area of said body part to an allergen skin reaction test ([0002, claim 19])) (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]);
illumination means (lights of 300) (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]), comprising a plurality of light sources (300), and configured to successively illuminate said skin surface area having been subjected to said allergen skin reaction test under a plurality of predetermined illumination angles with respect to a receiving direction along which acquisition means (imagers of 300) are positioned (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]); and
wherein said light sources are positioned under an angle larger than 40 degrees with respect to said receiving direction (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]);
said acquisition means fixedly positioned with respect to said skin surface area along said receiving direction (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]),
wherein said acquisition means is configured to image, for each of said predetermined illumination angles, said illuminated skin surface (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]); and
analyzing means (350, 360, 500) configured to determine one or more illumination-angle-dependent variations in light intensity imaged by said acquisition means (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]),
wherein said illumination-angle-dependent variations are caused by one or more wheals on said skin surface area (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 17, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein: said skin surface area extends along a longitudinal direction (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]); said acquisition means are fixedly positioned with respect to said skin surface area along said receiving direction traverse to said longitudinal direction (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]); said predetermined illumination angles are formed between said receiving direction and a lighting direction for each of said light sources of said illumination means (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]), wherein a light source tangentially illuminates said skin surface area along said lighting direction (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 18, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein said acquisition means are further configured to capture one or more images of said skin surface area for each of said predetermined illumination angles (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]), thereby generating a set of images of said skin surface area for said allergen skin reaction test (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 19, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein analyzing means are further configured to process said set of images and to determine, from said set of images, one or more of the following: reflections generated from said illumination by said wheals on said skin surface area; shadows generated from said illumination by said wheals on said skin surface area; thereby determining said illumination-angle-dependent variations in light intensity imaged by said acquisition means (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 20, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein said analyzing means are further configured to determine a location of said wheal on said skin surface area using said illumination-angle-dependent variations in light intensity imaged by said acquisition means (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 21, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 18, wherein said analysis means are further configured to determine, from said set of images, a size and/or a shape of one or more of said wheals on said skin surface area (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 22, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 17, wherein said acquisition means are positioned along said receiving direction traverse to said longitudinal direction to image said illuminated skin surface under each of said predetermined illumination angles (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 23, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein said acquisition means are positioned at a fixed predetermined receiving distance from said skin surface area for all of said predetermined illumination angles (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 24, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein each light source is configured to illuminate said skin surface area (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]); and wherein said system further comprises one or more mounting supports configured to hold said light sources (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 25, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 22, wherein said light sources and/or said mounting supports are further configured to rotate around said body part in a plane comprising said receiving direction and traverse to said longitudinal direction such that said light sources illuminate said skin surface area under said plurality of predetermined illumination angles (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 26, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 22, wherein said light sources and/or said mounting supports are further configured to rotate around said body part in a plane comprising said longitudinal direction of said body part and said receiving direction such that said light sources illuminate said skin surface area under said plurality of predetermined illumination angles (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
For claim 27, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein said testing means is configured to simultaneously deposit one allergen at a predetermined position on said skin surface area and incise said skin surface area of said individual at each of said predetermined positions (Fig 3) ([0002, 0033-0051, claim 19]).
For claim 28, Gizewski discloses the system according to claim 16, wherein an angular spread of said light sources within said illumination means is comprised between 35 degrees and 55 degrees (Fig 3) ([0033-0051]).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for dermatological assessment via illumination and imaging configurations.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791