DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Action is in response to Applicant’s remarks and amended claims filed on March 30, 2026. Claims 14-15 and 19-24 are now pending in the present application. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Amendment
2. The outstanding rejections of Claims 14-15 and 19-24 under 35 U.S.C. 103 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment to Claims 14 and 19 filed on March 30, 2026.
Specification
3. The amendments to the specification regarding Paragraph [0080] received on March 30, 2026. These amendments to the title are accepted.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2008859 (“Enhancements for simultaneous operation of child and parent links”, October 26th – November 13th, 2020) in view of Sheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2022/0110179 A1).
Regarding claim 14, The R1-2008859 document teaches an apparatus for performing a network function, the apparatus (read as IAB node (Fig.1, page 5)) comprising:
receive a configuration associated with an integrated access and backhaul ("IAB") distributed unit ("DU")("IAB-DU") (read as data transmissions from a child node (Fig.1; Section 2.3, page 5));
receive a control message from a parent node of an IAB- mobile terminal ("MT")("IAB-MT") (read as parent’s node indication/configuration is sent to IAB node (Fig.1;Section 2.3, page 5)),
wherein the control message indicates that at least one parameter of the plurality of the parameters is restricted (read as reception beam (Section 2.3, page 5)) is restricted (read as “the IAB node can know in advance which beam will be used for parent DL via parent’s indication/configuration” (Section 2.3, page 5) Also, the R1-2008859 document teaches beam coordination in order to suppress or avoid interference (Section 2.3, page 5)); and
restrict a transmission by the IAB-DU based on determining that the transmission is associated with the at least one parameter. (read as beam coordination in order to suppress or avoid interference (Section 2.3, page 5) For example, “the IAB node can determine the appropriate reception beam for the child link so that these two links don’t interfere each other.”(Fig.2, page 6 Section 2.3, page 5))
However, the R1-2008859 document fail to explicitly teach at least one memory; and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the apparatus to:
a configuration of a plurality of channel state information ("CSI") reference signal ("RS")("CSI-RS") resource indicators ("IDs") or synchronization signal block ("SSB") indices or both,
Sheng et al. teach devices (Fig(s).1-1, 1-2, 1-3, and 29) comprising:
at least one memory (Fig.29 @ 2902); and
at least one processor (Fig.29 @ 2901) coupled with the at least one memory (Fig.29 @ 2902) and configured to cause the apparatus (Fig(s).1-1 @ IAB Node 2, 1-2 @ IAB Node 2, 1-3 @ IAB Node 2, and 29) to:
a configuration of a plurality of channel state information ("CSI") reference signal ("RS")("CSI-RS") resource indicators ("IDs") or synchronization signal block ("SSB") indices or both (read as “ The IAB-node/UE is provided by higher layer parameter RadioLinkMonitoringRS, with either a CSI-RS resource configuration index, by higher layer parameter csi-RS-Index, or a SS/PBCH block index, by higher layer parameter ssb-Index. ” (Paragraph [0110])),
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the computing hardware and the function for generating and exchanging configuration information comprising of csi-rs-Index or ss/pbch block index as taught by Sheng et al. with the IAB Node as taught by the R1-2008859 document for the purpose of enhancing one or more functions (e.g.: IAB donor) of an IAB node in a network.
Regarding claim 19, R1-2008859 document teaches a method of performing a network function (Fig(s)1 and 2, pages 5-6), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration associated with an integrated access and backhaul ("IAB") distributed unit ("DU" or "IAB-DU") (read as data transmissions from a child node (Fig.1; Section 2.3, page 5));
receiving a control message from a parent node of an IAB-mobile terminal ("MT" or "IAB-MT") (read as parent’s node indication/configuration is sent to IAB node (Fig.1;Section 2.3, page 5)),
wherein the control message indicates that at least one parameter of the plurality of the parameters is restricted (read as reception beam (Section 2.3, page 5)) is restricted (read as “the IAB node can know in advance which beam will be used for parent DL via parent’s indication/configuration” (Section 2.3, page 5) Also, the R1-2008859 document teaches beam coordination in order to suppress or avoid interference (Section 2.3, page 5)); and
restricting a transmission by the IAB-DU based on determining that the transmission is associated with the at least one parameter. (read as beam coordination in order to suppress or avoid interference (Section 2.3, page 5) For example, “the IAB node can determine the appropriate reception beam for the child link so that these two links don’t interfere each other.”(Fig.2, page 6 Section 2.3, page 5))
However, the R1-2008859 document fail to explicitly teach a configuration of a plurality of spatial parameters.
Sheng et al. teach devices (Fig(s).1-1, 1-2, 1-3, and 29) generating and exchanging a configuration of a plurality of spatial parameters (read as “ The IAB-node/UE is provided by higher layer parameter RadioLinkMonitoringRS, with either a CSI-RS resource configuration index, by higher layer parameter csi-RS-Index, or a SS/PBCH block index, by higher layer parameter ssb-Index. ” (Paragraph [0110]))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the computing hardware and the function for generating and exchanging configuration information comprising of csi-rs-Index or ss/pbch block index as taught by Sheng et al. with the IAB Node as taught by the R1-2008859 document for the purpose of enhancing one or more functions (e.g.: IAB donor) of an IAB node in a network.
Regarding claims 15 and 20, and as applied to claims 14 and 19 above, the R1-2008859 document, as modified by Sheng et al., teach an apparatus and method (Fig(s)1 and 2, pages 5-6) wherein:
the node comprises an integrated access and backhaul (IAB) node (Fig(s)1 and 2, pages 5-6).
Claims 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over R1-2008859 (“Enhancements for simultaneous operation of child and parent links”, October 26th – November 13th, 2020), in view of Sheng et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 20220110179 A1), and ETSI (“TS 138 212 V16.4.0”, January 2021).
Regarding claim 21, and as applied to claim 14 above, the R1-2008859 document teach “an IAB node receives from parent node and child node simultaneously.” (Fig(s).1-2; Section 2.3, pages 5-6)
Sheng et al. teach “The IAB-node/UE is provided by higher layer parameter RadioLinkMonitoringRS, with either a CSI-RS resource configuration index, by higher layer parameter csi-RS-Index, or a SS/PBCH block index, by higher layer parameter ssb-Index. ” (Paragraph [0110])
However, the R1-2008859 document and Sheng et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the control message further comprises:
a first parameter identifying a first resource;
a second parameter identifying a second resource;
a third parameter identifying a first operation;
a fourth parameter identifying a second operation;
a fifth at least one parameter associated with first information; or
a combination thereof.
The ETSI document teaches a method wherein the control message (read as DCI (Section 7.3, pages 86-144)) further comprises:
a first parameter identifying a first resource;
a second parameter identifying a second resource;
a third parameter identifying a first operation;
a fourth parameter identifying a second operation;
a fifth at least one parameter associated with first information; or
a combination thereof. (read as specific particular DCI Format (e.g.: DCI Format 2_5)(pages 86-144))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a DCI as taught by the ETSI document and the computing hardware and the function for generating and exchanging configuration information comprising of csi-rs-Index or ss/pbch block index as taught by Sheng et al. with the IAB Node as taught by the R1-2008859 document for the purpose of enhancing one or more functions (e.g.: IAB donor) of an IAB node in a network.
Regarding claims 22 and 24, and as applied to claims 21 and 23 above, the R1-2008859 document teach “an IAB node receives from parent node and child node simultaneously.” (Fig(s).1-2; Section 2.3, pages 5-6)
Sheng et al. teach “ The IAB-node/UE is provided by higher layer parameter RadioLinkMonitoringRS, with either a CSI-RS resource configuration index, by higher layer parameter csi-RS-Index, or a SS/PBCH block index, by higher layer parameter ssb-Index. ” (Paragraph [0110]))
However, the R1-2008859 document and Sheng et al. fail to explicitly teach wherein the first information comprises:
a first CSI-RS resource ID or SSB index associated with the first operation and a second CSI-RS resource ID or SSB index associated with the second operation;
a first power associated with the first operation and a second power associated with the second operation;
a first interference associated with the first operation and a second interference associated with the second operation;
a first timing alignment associated with the first operation and a second timing alignment associated with the second operation;
a third timing alignment associated with the first operation and the second operation; or
a combination thereof.
The ETSI document teaches wherein the first information comprises:
a first CSI-RS resource ID or SSB index associated with the first operation and a second CSI-RS resource ID or SSB index associated with the second operation;
a first power associated with the first operation and a second power associated with the second operation (read as full power transmission (pages 86-144));
a first interference associated with the first operation and a second interference associated with the second operation;
a first timing alignment associated with the first operation and a second timing alignment associated with the second operation (read as time domain resource assignment (pages 86-144));
a third timing alignment associated with the first operation and the second operation; or
a combination thereof. (read as DCI format(s) (pages 86-144))
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the function for formatting a DCI as taught by the ETSI document and the computing hardware and the function for generating and exchanging configuration information comprising of csi-rs-Index or ss/pbch block index as taught by Sheng et al. with the IAB Node as taught by the R1-2008859 document for the purpose of enhancing one or more functions (e.g.: IAB donor) of an IAB node in a network.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 14-15 and 19-24 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure:
Harada (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0243683 A1) teaches “The IAB node may assume that, for example, at least one of a sequence or resource position of the IAB donor discovery signal is determined based on an index (SSB index, CSI-RS index) of the IAB node discovery signal.”(Paragraph [0067])
Abedini et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2021/0194657 A1) teach “a transmission (i.e., uplink) of an IAB-node MT may be spatially related to transmissions (i.e., downlink) of a collocated IAB-node DU cell. An uplink transmission may be configured with a spatialRelationInfo that provides an SSB-index and a CSI-RS-index of a collocated IAB-node DU cell.”(Paragraph [0083])
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Un C. Cho can be reached on (571) 272- 7919. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/SALVADOR E RIVAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413
June 4, 2026