DETAILED ACTION
In response to remarks filed on 6 February 2026
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are pending;
Claim 1 is currently amended;
Claims 2-4 and 6-11 were previously presented;
Claim 5 is cancelled;
Claims 12 and 13 are new
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected herein.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6 February 2026 have been fully considered. Regarding applicant’s argument about Santorum not disclosing the folding in the middle, examiner understand applicant’s argument but examiner is interpreting “middle” broadly, as a middle portion or middle area, under the broadest reasonable interpretation as shown in annotated Figure A below. Examiner suggests using “formed as a lock foldable at the centerline of the coupling element” to fully make clear that it is along a line at the very center of the coupling element. This would prevent examiner from interpreting the prior art as shown in annotated Figure A. Furthermore, “for opening”, which is given as an alternative, is broad enough to read on Figure 2. The way the coupling element is positioned when element 2 is positioned on the right of Figure 2, also shown in annotated Figure A, can be interpreted as a closed position. The way the coupling element is positioned when element 2 is positioned on the left of Figure 2, also shown in annotated Figure A, can be interpreted as an open position. Therefore, “for opening” also reads on the prior art since the hinge 15 allows the coupling element to open. Additionally, “a hinge part of the anchor rod” is claimed in the alternative so the element does not need to be present. Regarding the “lock”, the coupling element 5 include locking means 18 as part of its structure. Therefore, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the element can be interpreted as a lock. Regarding “all directions”, it is unclear how it is possible that the anchor rod can move in “all directions” when the element is attached to the coupling element. It is not possible to “move” in “all directions” since the element is constrained by being attached to the coupling element which prevents certain types of movements and certain angles. A 112 rejection is being placed and in terms of prior art the term is being interpreted as best understood.
Figure A. Coupling element (Santorum)
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim starts with “Element” when it should be “An element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-4 and 6-13 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims start with “Element” when it should be “The element”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to Claim 1, the claim recites “by means of” and “hinge receiving means”. It is unclear if applicant intends to invoke 112(f). The specification does not provide the specific structure defining the means and uses examples to define them. Therefore, the claim must be amended to remove “means” language and instead claim the specific structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “wherein, for an assembly and opening and for closing of a hinge receiving means for a hinge joint or a hinge part of the anchor rod”. The way the limitation is written is confusing. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 recites “all directions”. It is unclear how it is possible that the anchor rod can move in “all directions” when the element is attached to the coupling element. It is not possible to “move” in “all directions” since the element is constrained by being attached to the coupling element which prevents certain types of movements and certain angles. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claims 9 and 10, the claims recite “receiving means”. It is unclear if applicant intends to invoke 112(f). The specification does not provide the specific structure defining the means and uses examples to define them. Therefore, the claim must be amended to remove “means” language and instead claim the specific structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 recites “the opening or receiving means” but there is no “opening or receiving means” claimed before. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claim 11, the claim recites “with means for”. It is unclear if applicant intends to invoke 112(f). The specification does not provide the specific structure defining the means and uses examples to define them. Therefore, the claim must be amended to remove “means” language and instead claim the specific structure. Appropriate correction is required.
As to Claims 12 and 13, the claims recite “hinge receiving means”. It is unclear if applicant intends to invoke 112(f). The specification does not provide the specific structure defining the means and uses examples to define them. Therefore, the claim must be amended to remove “means” language and instead claim the specific structure. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Santorum et al (W.I.P.O. International Publication No. 2011/117790).
As to Claim 1, Santorum discloses an element for slope protection (Figure 1), with an essentially cross-shaped strut part (3) in the form of a structure of a plurality of struts (2) joined with one another (at 5), the structure spanning a plane (Figure 1), with a planar retainer (8) fixed at the strut part, and with an anchor rod (4) or anchor element protruding backwards essentially perpendicular to the retainer (8) and to the strut part (3), which is fixed to the strut part (at 5), wherein between a free end of the anchor rod and the struts retaining cables (12) are provided respectively for tensioning of the anchor rod at a predetermined specific angle to the plane of the retainer (8), wherein at the strut part a central coupling element (5) is provided, at which the struts by means of one of their ends are fixed releasably and/or displaceably in relation to one another respectively, and that the anchor rod (4) at the coupling element (5) is mounted movably in particular in all directions for the adjustment of a mounting angle in relation to the plane of the retainer (8), and wherein, for an assembly and opening and for closing of a hinge receiving means for a hinge joint or a hinge part of the anchor rod, the coupling element (5) is: formed as a lock foldable at the middle (Figure 2 and Annotated Figure A) or formed for opening (The coupling element opens via hinge 15 in Figure 2; Annotated Figure A).
As to Claim 2, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein the planar retainer (8) is a wire mesh or a net.
As to Claim 3, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein the coupling element (5) comprises a folding hinge (Figure 2).
As to Claim 4, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein the coupling element has a central opening (Opening of 10 receiving 4), recess or bore for swivelably (The rod can be rotated while inserting it within the opening) receiving a hinge part (Portion of 4 within 10) of the anchor rod.
As to Claim 6, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein the struts (2) each have a plurality of fixing places (at 13) for retaining cables (12).
As to Claim 7, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein releasable fixings (15) for the struts (2) are provided at the coupling element (5).
As to Claim 8, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein variably adjustable fixings (16) for the struts (2) are provided at the coupling element (5) at the angle of the struts.
As to Claim 9, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein a receiving means (10) configured to the shape of a hinge part for a correspondingly-shaped hinge part (Portion of 4 within 10) of the anchor rod (4) is provided in the coupling element (5).
As to Claim 12, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein, for the assembly and opening and for closing of the hinge receiving means for the hinge joint or the hinge part of the anchor rod, the coupling element is formed as the lock foldable at the middle (Figure 2 and Annotated Figure A).
As to Claim 13, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). Santorum also discloses wherein, for the assembly and opening and for closing of the hinge receiving means for the hinge joint or the hinge part of the anchor rod, the coupling element is formed for opening (The coupling element opens via hinge 15 in Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santorum et al (W.I.P.O. International Publication No. 2011/117790) in view of Santorum (Italy Patent Publication No. ITBZ20060030) “Santotum ITB”.
As to Claim 10, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 4 (Refer to Claim 4 discussion). However, Santorum is silent about wherein the opening or receiving means for the hinge part can be opened by a folding hinge fixable with screw connections, for inserting the anchor rod. Santorum ITB discloses wherein opening or receiving means (5m) for the hinge part can be opened by a folding hinge (5n) fixable (“fixable” only requires capability) with screw connections, for inserting the anchor rod (3). Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to make the opening or receiving means for the hinge part opened by a folding hinge fixable with screw connections, for inserting the anchor rod. The motivation would have been to cover the hollow passage to avoid the entry of debris.
Claim 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Santorum et al (W.I.P.O. International Publication No. 2011/117790) in view of Lattisi et al (W.I.P.O. International Publication No. 1997/037085).
As to Claim 11, Santorum discloses the invention of Claim 1 (Refer to Claim 1 discussion). However, Santorum is silent about wherein the retaining cables are provided with means for variably adjusting the effective length or for tensioning. Lattisi discloses wherein retaining cables (7) are provided with means (7a) for variably adjusting the effective length or for tensioning. Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide the retaining cables with means for variably adjusting the effective length or for tensioning. The motivation would have been to accommodate different sizes.
Conclusion
/EDWIN J TOLEDO-DURAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678