DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and species B in the reply filed on 1/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3, 13-17 and 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and/or species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/12/2026.
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth (page 15, line 6), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Courbat (US 11,889,867).
Regarding claim 1, Courbat discloses an aerosol generating device (abstract) having a helically wound cylindrical induction coil (figure 1, reference numeral 31) that surrounds a tubular inner support sleeve (column 12, lines 55-67, figure 1, reference numeral 32), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a stator. A susceptor element is located within the coil and inner support sleeve (column 13, lines 1-24, figure 1, reference numeral 60). The induction coil is supplied with alternating current that generates a high frequency oscillating current from an AC generator that is supplied with power from a power supply (column 8, lines 11-22).
Regarding claim 2, the tubular inner support sleeve surrounded by the cylindrical induction coil is configured to meet the claim limitation of a mandrel coil.
Regarding claim 4, Courbat discloses that the induction coil comprises a plurality of turns (column 12, lines 4-16).
Regarding claim 6, Courbat discloses that the induction coil is surrounded by a flux concentrator (abstract).
Regarding claim 7, Courbat discloses that the flux concentrator is made from a ferrite material (column 4, lines 16-21).
Regarding claim 8, Courbat discloses that the induction coil produces an alternating magnetic field (abstract), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a varying magnetic field.
Regarding claim 10, Courbat discloses that the inner support sleeve has a protrusion that prevents relative movement of various device components (column 6, lines 35-55), which is considered to enhance the magnetic field since it maintains the components in their desired locations.
Regarding claim 11, Courbat discloses that the induction coil produces an alternating magnetic field (abstract), and that the magnetic field generates heat in the susceptor (column 2, lines 10-17).
Regarding claim 12, Courbat discloses that the device operates by heating but not combusting an aerosol forming substrate (column 8, lines 34-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courbat (US 11,889,867) in view of Corda (US 10,728,961).
Regarding claim 5, Courbat discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Courbat does not explicitly disclose the tubular inner support sleeve being made of multiple layers.
Corda teaches a thermal composite material used in an induction heating device having a structural support layer (abstract) made from multiple sub-layers of a strong material such as mica that form a single layer (column 3, lines 30-44, figure 1, reference numeral 40), indicating that the sub-layers are laminated together.
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the mica of Corda to fabricate the tubular inner support sleeve of Courbat. One would have been motivated to do so since Corda teaches that mica is a strong material for use as a support in an induction heating device. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports prima facie obviousness. See MPEP § 2144.07.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Courbat (US 11,889,867) in view of Fursa (US 11,375,753).
Regarding claim 9, Courbat discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Courbat does not explicitly disclose an isolator.
Fursa teaches an aerosol generating device having an inductor coil that generates an alternative magnetic field to inductively heat a susceptor element (abstract). The inductor coil is surrounded by an outer layer that electrically isolates the coil from other components of the device and different turns of the coil from each other (column 6, lines 45-54).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surround the coil of Courbat with the outer layer of Fursa. One would have been motivated to do so since Fursa teaches an outer later outer layer that electrically isolates the coil from other components of the device and different turns of the coil from each other.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-2, 8 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/245,647 (hereafter referred to as Thomas) in view of Courbat (US 11,889,867).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 11, Thomas claims an aerosol provision device comprising an inductor coil extending at least partially around a coil support, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a stator, and a susceptor that is heatable by a varying magnetic field, wherein the inductor coil is configured to generate a varying magnetic field (claim 1). The coil is located in a helical path on the coil support (claim 6), which is considered to meet the claim limitation of wound. Thomas does not explicitly claim the inductor coil connected to a power supply device.
Courbat discloses an aerosol generating device (abstract) having a helically wound cylindrical induction coil (figure 1, reference numeral 31). A susceptor element is located within the coil and inner support sleeve (column 13, lines 1-24, figure 1, reference numeral 60). The induction coil is supplied with alternating current that generates a high frequency oscillating current from an AC generator that is supplied with power from a power supply (column 8, lines 11-22).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Thomas with the power supply of Courbat. One would have been motivated to do so since Courbat teaches a power supply suitable for an induction based aerosol generating device.
Regarding claim 2, the wound coil is considered to meet the claim limitation of a mandrel coil.
Claims 1-2, 8 and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of copending Application No. 18/245,578 (hereafter referred to as Taank) in view of Courbat (US 11,889,867).
Regarding claims 1, 8 and 11, Taank claims an aerosol provision device comprising a second chassis, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a stator, an inductor coil extending around the second chassis and configured to generate a varying magnetic field, which is considered to meet the claim limitation of wound, and a susceptor that is heatable by penetration with a varying magnetic field (claim 1). Taank does not explicitly claim the inductor coil connected to a power supply device.
Courbat discloses an aerosol generating device (abstract) having a helically wound cylindrical induction coil (figure 1, reference numeral 31). A susceptor element is located within the coil and inner support sleeve (column 13, lines 1-24, figure 1, reference numeral 60). The induction coil is supplied with alternating current that generates a high frequency oscillating current from an AC generator that is supplied with power from a power supply (column 8, lines 11-22).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the device of Taank with the power supply of Courbat. One would have been motivated to do so since Courbat teaches a power supply suitable for an induction based aerosol generating device.
Regarding claim 2, the wound coil is considered to meet the claim limitation of a mandrel coil.
These are provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejections because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755