DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claim 1 is amended. Claims 3, 13-17 and 19-20 are withdrawn. Claims 1, 18 and 21 are cancelled. Claims 1-2, and 4-12 are presently examined.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections under 35 USC 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 2/23/2026 are overcome.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the rejections on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of 2/23/2026 are overcome.
Specification
The use of the term Bluetooth (page 15, line 6), which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-8 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaufman (US 2018/0317552).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Kaufman discloses an apparatus for heating smokable material in which an article is received within a heating zone (abstract, figure 3, reference numeral 2) having a coil through which a varying electric current passes ([0050], figure 3, reference numeral 140) that produces magnetic flux [0053], indicating that the coil is an inductor coil that receives an oscillating current. The coil is wrapped around a magnetically permeable core [0052], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of a stator, and directs heat to a heating material that is heatable by penetration with a varying magnetic field [0053]. The heating material defines a tubular heating that defines the heating zone [0112] and forms a susceptor that transfers heat to smoking article to heat smokeable material of the article [0113]. The coil surrounds the core rather than the susceptor (figure 3). The alternating current is supplied from an electrical power source ([0050], figure 1, reference numeral 130).
Regarding claim 2, the coil of Kaufman is considered to be a mandrel coil since it is wrapped around a core.
Regarding claim 4, Kaufman discloses that the coil comprises multiple turns (figure 3).
Regarding claim 5, Kaufman discloses that the core is made from dozens of layers that are combined [0055], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of laminated.
Regarding claim 6, Kaufman discloses that the magnetically permeable core concentrates the magnetic flux produced by the coil [0053], and is therefore considered to also meet the claim limitation of a flux concentrator.
Regarding claim 7, Kaufman discloses that the core is made from ferrite [0055].
Regarding claim 8, Kaufman discloses that the coils form magnetic field generators [0081] that generate a varying magnetic filed [0113].
Regarding claim 10, Kaufman discloses that the core creates a more powerful magnetic filed and directs it to its intended target [0053], which is considered to meet the claim limitation of enhancing.
Regarding claim 12, Kaufman discloses that the device operates by volatilizing smokeable material without combusting the smokeable material [0060], indicating that it is a non-combustible aerosol provision device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaufman (US 2018/0317552) in view of Fursa (US 11,375,753).
Regarding claim 9, Kaufman discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Kaufman does not explicitly disclose an isolator.
Fursa teaches an aerosol generating device having an inductor coil that generates an alternative magnetic field to inductively heat a susceptor element (abstract). The inductor coil is surrounded by an outer layer that electrically isolates the coil from other components of the device and different turns of the coil from each other (column 6, lines 45-54).
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to surround the coil of Kaufman with the outer layer of Fursa. One would have been motivated to do so since Fursa teaches an outer later outer layer that electrically isolates the coil from other components of the device and different turns of the coil from each other.
Response to Arguments
Regarding the rejections under 35 USC 103, applicant’s arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection relying on Kaufman are entered as set forth above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RUSSELL E SPARKS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1755