DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following grammatical/consistency informalities:
Para [0045], line 10, “coil spring 72”, should read, “compression spring 88”.
Para [0019], line 1, recites “drive means is a spring” and Para [0041], lines 3-4, recites “ biasing means is a compression spring”. Correction is needed to indicate that the drive means and the biasing means is the same structure.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, it recites the limitation "the intermediate driver" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner interprets “the intermediate driver” as the “intermediate member” from claim 1. Claim 5 is rejected since it is dependent on claim 1, rendering it indefinite.
Regarding claim 3, it recites the limitation "the intermediate driver" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner interprets “the intermediate driver” as the “intermediate member” from claim 1.
Regarding claim 4, it recites the limitation "the intermediate driver" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of examination, the examiner interprets “the intermediate driver” as the “intermediate member” from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Markussen et al. (US 20130218093 A1, herein, Markussen).
Regarding claim 1, Markussen discloses an injection device comprising:
i) a drive means (360 – Fig.1a);
ii) a plunger (321 – Fig.1a);
iii) a shroud (311- Fig.1f); and
iv) an intermediate member (330 – Fig.1b) disposed between the drive means and the plunger (Fig.1b) and releasably engaged (300 – Fig.1b) with the plunger thereby to selectively transmit force from the drive means to the plunger (“actuator thrust member is moved distally forcing the actuator connector, the piston driver… forward” – Para [0125]) and from the drive means to the shroud (Fig.1a-Fig.1f, “piston driver enlarged rim section 311 abuts the rim section” – Para [0127]).
Regarding claim 2, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the intermediate driver (330 – Fig.1b) has a compressed configuration (Fig.1b) and a relaxed configuration (Fig.1g, Fig.1h) wherein in the compressed configuration the intermediate member is in engagement with the plunger to transmit force from the drive means to the plunger (Fig.1a, “deflectable head portions to cooperate with enlarged head of actuator connector” – para [0120]) and in the relaxed configuration the intermediate member is released from engagement with the plunger such that force is not transmitted from the drive means to the plunger (“the connection between the deflectable head portions and the enlarged head of actuator connector is discontinued” – Para [0128]).
Regarding claim 3, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the injection device further comprises a housing (200 – Fig.1c) arranged to selective maintain the intermediate driver in the compressed configuration (Fig.1b).
Regarding claim 6, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the intermediate member comprises an outer portion and an inner portion connected by a connecting portion (See Annotated Fig.2 below).
Regarding claim 7, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the outer portion comprises one or more flexible fingers (332 – Fig.1d, “deflectable” – Para [0120]).
Regarding claim 8, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the flexible fingers or non-contiguous wall portion are closer together in the compressed configuration (Fig.1b) than the relaxed configuration (Fig.1g, Fig.1h).
Regarding claim 9, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the intermediate member is provided with an angled surface which contacts a corresponding angled surface of the plunger (See annotated Fig.1a below).
Regarding claim 10, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the intermediate member comprises an outer portion and an inner portion connected by a connecting portion (See annotated Fig.2 below); the outer and inner portion extending distally from the connecting portion to receive the proximal end of the drive means (Fig.2).
Regarding claim 11, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the drive means is a spring (360 – Fig.1a).
Regarding claim 12, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, wherein the spring is a compression spring (“compression spring” – Fig.1a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markussen in view of Wotton et al. (US 20130303985 A1, herein, Wotton).
Regarding claim 4, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, comprising a housing (200 – Fig.1c) but Markussen does not expressly disclose wherein the housing comprises a distal length with a reduced inner diameter to a proximal portion of the housing, the reduced inner diameter maintaining the compressed configuration of the intermediate driver.
Wotton discloses an injection device, wherein a housing (14, 64 – Fig.6B) comprises a distal length with a reduced inner diameter (See annotated Fig.6B below) to a proximal portion of the housing (64 - Fig.6B), the reduced inner diameter maintaining a compressed configuration of an intermediate driver (54, 56 – Fig.6B)(“to retain the trigger protrusions in the blocking association in the recess to hold ram in the proximal position until firing is actuated” – Para [0062]).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the housing of Markussen to comprise a distal length with a reduced inner diameter to a proximal portion of the housing as taught by Wotton Since Wotton teaches that the reduced inner diameter retains the trigger protrusions to hold the piston rod in place before being actuated (Wotton, Para [0062]), this is beneficial to Markussen since this maintains the spring in the compressed configuration avoiding unwanted lateral movement or shifting of the spring.
Regarding claim 5, Markussen discloses an injection device as recited above, comprising a housing with a diameter (200 – Fig.1c) but Markussen does not expressly disclose wherein a reduced diameter is provided by one or more support ribs or an increased thickness of the wall of the housing.
Wotton discloses an injection device, wherein a housing (14, 64 – Fig.6B) comprises a reduced diameter provided by an increased thickness of the wall of the housing (as shown at 64 – Fig.6B).
It would be obvious to one in the ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the applicant’s claimed invention to modify the housing of Markussen to comprise a reduced diameter provided by an increased thickness of the wall of the housing as taught by Markussen since Wotton teaches that the increased thickness of the wall retains the trigger protrusions to hold the piston rod in place before being actuated (Wotton, Para [0062]), this is beneficial to Markussen since this maintains the spring in the compressed configuration avoiding unwanted lateral movement or shifting of the spring.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Holroyd et al. (US 20210023301 A1) discloses an injection device with a compression spring, a plunger, and an intermediate member.
Stevens et al. (US 20200238014 A1) discloses an injection device with a coil spring, a plunger, and an intermediate member.
Cowe (US 20120220954 A1) discloses an injection device with a compressed spring and a plunger.
/MARISSA TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 3783 /BHISMA MEHTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3783