DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is directed to a method for mixing components of the composition of claim 1, and calls for “a benzoxazine compound”, “an epoxy compound”, and “a phenolic curing agent”. However, because of the use of “a” and “an”, it is unclear whether the applicant intends these components to be the ones used in claim 1, or to be in addition to the components listed in claim 1. As such, this ambiguity renders the claim to be indefinite. For the purposes of examination, either of the listed possibilities may be used. The applicant is required to correct the claim language to remove the ambiguity. If the applicant intends these components to be the ones listed in claim 1, this ambiguity can be corrected by replacing “a” and “an” with “the”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishiya (JP2019-019217, using JPO Machine Translation).
Regarding Claim 1,
Nishiya teaches a composition that includes a benzoxazine compound, an epoxy compound (Abstract, Paragraph 10) and additionally includes a curing agent, which can be a polyfunctional phenol (Paragraph 34) and further demonstrates the use of bis(4-hydroxyphenyl)sulfide in the examples (Paragraph 65). Nishiya further teaches that the amount of the epoxy compound is between 5 and 150 parts by mass relative to the benzoxazine component (Paragraph 33) and that the curing agent is between 1 part and 30 parts by mass relative to the total of the epoxy compound and the benzoxazine compound (Paragraph 35). Based upon these ranges, the amount of epoxy compound used by Nishiya would overlap with the range of the instant claim. As Nishiya teaches that these ranges should be adhered to afford good heat resistance (Paragraph 33) and efficient reactions (Paragraph 35), the ordinarily skilled artisan would have ample motivation to stay within these ranges. It would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
With regard to the requirement of the benzoxazine rings plus hydroxyl groups divided by the number of epoxy groups, Nishiya teaches using these components in amounts that would yield values of 1.33 (Example 1, Table 1) and 1.38 (Example 1, Table 2), which meet the requirements of the instant claim.
Regarding Claim 2,
Nishiya teaches the use of benzoxazine compounds with the following structures:
where R is an alkyl chain of 1 to 12 carbons, a cyclic alkyl of 3 to 8 carbons, an aryl group of 6 to 14 carbons, or an alkyl chain with up to 12 carbons and containing a halogen (Paragraph 10), X can be hydrogen or an alkyl chain of up to 8 carbons and Y can be an alkyl chain up to 8 carbons that may contain an oxygen, sulfur, sulfoxide, or carbonyl group (Paragraph 14). In structure 2, L can be up to 10 carbons and contain oxygen and/or sulfur (Paragraph 10).
Regarding Claims 3-5,
Nishiya teaches the use of norbornane containing epoxy compounds with the following structures:
which meet the requirements of the instant claims.
Regarding Claims 6 and 7,
Nishiya teaches the use of silane coupling agents (Paragraph 36) and further teaches that the coupling agent preferably contains one or more amines (Paragraph 38) which may be primary, secondary, or tertiary (Paragraph 38). Nishiya also teaches that primary and secondary amines are more preferred (Paragraph 40). As the amine groups would be reactive with the epoxy groups of the composition, it would logically follow that the presence of more than one amine would improve the reactivity of the coupling agent. Further, it would necessarily follow that based upon the preferred structure disclosed by Nishiya:
the inclusion of more than one amine would have to occur on a single substituent, meaning that at least one of the amines would likely have to be secondary. As a result, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have used a silane coupling agent that contained primary and secondary amines (the preferred groups of Nishiya).
Regarding Claim 8,
Nishiya teaches that the composition may contain a curing accelerator (Paragraph 48).
Regarding Claims 9 and 10,
Nishiya teaches that inorganic fillers may be used (Paragraph 45) in amounts most preferably between 400 and 950 parts by mass relative to the other components which total 100 parts by mass (Paragraph 47). This results in a range of 80 to 90% by mass of the composition, which is contained within the range of the instant claims.
Regarding Claims 11 and 12,
Nishiya teaches that the composition is a curable resin (Paragraph 53) and is used to support a semiconductor element which is “disposed in the cured product” (Paragraph 57).
Regarding Claims 13 and 14,
Nishiya teaches the composition required by the instant claim as discussed above in regard to claim 1. Further, Nishiya teaches that the composition is processed into powder or pellet (Paragraph 52) and that it can include the coupling agent, curing accelerator, and inorganic filler (Paragraph 52).
Regarding Claim 15,
Nishiya teaches that the composition is cured at a temperature of between 180 and 300 °C for 1 to 60 minutes (Paragraph 56) and that in most cases while 1 to 3 minutes is sufficient, however the composition can be cured up to 60 minutes (Paragraph 56).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,897,998. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US Patent 11,897,998 requires the use of similar components, including the benzoxazine compound, a norbornane-containing epoxy, a curing agent which can be a polyfunctional phenol as well as inorganic filler in overlapping amounts with those of the instant application and where the composition is used in a semiconductor device and cured under substantially similar conditions.
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 5-8, 11, and 13-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,258,472. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US Patent 12,258,472 requires the use of similar components, including the benzoxazine compound, a norbornane-containing epoxy, a curing agent which can be a polyfunctional phenol as well as inorganic filler in overlapping amounts with those of the instant application and where the composition is used in a semiconductor device and cured under substantially similar conditions.
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 11-13, and 15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,441,833. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because US Patent 12,441,833 requires the use of similar components, including the benzoxazine compound, a norbornane-containing epoxy, a curing agent which can be a polyfunctional phenol as well as inorganic filler in overlapping amounts with those of the instant application and where the composition is used in a semiconductor device and cured under substantially similar conditions.
Conclusion
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765