DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This non-final office action is in response to the Amendments filed on 11 February 2026, regarding application number 18/263,951.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 9-17 and 19-23 remain pending in the application, while claims 4, 8 and 18 have been cancelled. Claims 1, 17 and 20 were amended in the Amendments to the Claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages , filed 11 February 2026, with respect to the rejections of the claims under 35 U.S.C. § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made further in view of newly cited reference Becker et al. (US 20200188025 A1). See full details below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 9-10, 12-13, 17 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi et al. (WO 2011040769 A2 and Choi hereinafter), in view of Becker et al. (US 20200188025 A1 and Becker hereinafter) and Sexson et al. (US 20220071720 A1 and Sexson hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1
Choi teaches a surgical robot (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 1; [0218]-[0241], see the corresponding paragraphs in the attached reference WO_2011040769_A2) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 1 and 3, robot arm 3 and instrument 8 and/or laparoscope 5; [0219 "...the slave robot (2) comprises a robot arm (3) and the instrument (8). Instrument (8) is a surgical tool, such as an endoscope, a surgical instrument for applying the manipulation directly to the affected area, such as laparoscopy."]);
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 3, control unit 370; [0313 "Control unit 370 is operating information for any of the robot arm (3) or instrument when the input, the operation using the operation's arm operating unit 330 for the reaction information processing type when matching the restricted area by the operator can be controlled with reference to information to perform processing in response information processor (1380) is equivalent."]); and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0320 “For example, performing also recognize the instrument tip to the 3-D mouse cursor as shown in 16 to surgery who watch the picture image obtained by the laparoscope (5) taking a point in space (that is, the specified point) operation If the points are taken so that the connection can be set to a restricted area.”], [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”] and [0332]), the registered plurality of the teaching points corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially organs/blood vessels S1-S3 in Figs. 16 and 18, heart in the restricted area in Fig. 26 and blood vessel in restricted area 840 in Fig. 31; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0332 “Methods such as the above-described region setting and modification is one of the operative self-addition method preceding the area set by instrument, for a pre-specified arbitrary shape (such as a template, circle, triangle, square, sphere, cube, tetrahedron, etc. and above) are possible or a phase after that shown in the spatial shape of the organ, the modified using the 3-D mouse (or instrument tip), such separation is natural.”]),
the teaching unit includes at least one of a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm, and an endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm to image a surgical site (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially the "instrument tip" which teaches the vertices P1-P4 and the endoscope/laparoscope 5 which provides the visible area 810; [0320]-[0332], especially [0320 “For example, performing also recognize the instrument tip to the 3-D mouse cursor as shown in 16 to surgery who watch the picture image obtained by the laparoscope (5) taking a point in space (that is, the specified point) operation If the points are taken so that the connection can be set to a restricted area.”], [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]), and
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm or a tip end of the endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”], [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]).
Choi is silent regarding the virtual contact prohibited space set based on a cover length input from an input device, the cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient;
set the contact prohibited space based on the cover length input from the input device; and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object.
Becker teaches a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0012]-[0015]) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 1, manipulator 14 and surgical tool 20; [0043 "The system 10 includes a manipulator 14."]-[0047 "A surgical tool 20 (hereinafter “tool”) couples to the manipulator 14 and is movable relative to the base 16 to interact with the anatomy (A)."]);
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 2, controller 30; [0050 "Referring to FIG. 2, the system 10 includes a controller 30. The controller 30 includes software and/or hardware for controlling the manipulator 14. "] and [0062 "The controller 30 includes a manipulator controller 60 for processing data to direct motion of the manipulator 14."]); and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Fig. 2, all, especially boundary generator 66, path generator 68 and geometric engine 72; [0063 "As shown in FIG. 2, the controller 30 includes a boundary generator 66. The boundary generator 66 is a software program or module that generates a planar or non-planar virtual boundary for constraining movement and/or operation of the tool 20.'] and [0066 "The milling path generator 68 generates a milling path for the tool 20 to traverse, such as for removing sections of the anatomy to receive an implant."]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit, and a cover length input from an input device (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB); [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0085 "The anatomical model (AM) inputted into the geometric engine 72 can be 3D virtual model of the anatomical volume (A), e.g., a bone, such as the femur, tibia, hip, etc."], [0130]-[0136], [0153]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]), the registered plurality of the teaching points and the cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially Fig. 8; [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0153 "Using the defined vertices (V), a patient-specific mapping function is executed by the software program 80 to define a relationship between the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) and the anatomical model (AM). More specifically, for the tibial example, the software program 80 maps a relationship between the bottom edges (BE) of corresponding side faces (F) and the intersection contour (IC) in furtherance of generating morphed faces or surfaces of the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB)."], [0154 "The vertices (V) on the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) are mapped to the intersection contour (IC). For each vertex (V) the program 80 defines a normal plane to its corresponding/related bottom edge (BE) at (V). The closest intersection point of the normal plane and the intersection contour (IC) is identified by the program 80. These intersection points are called morphed vertices (MV)."]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]),
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the cover length input from the input device (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB); [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0085 "The anatomical model (AM) inputted into the geometric engine 72 can be 3D virtual model of the anatomical volume (A), e.g., a bone, such as the femur, tibia, hip, etc."], [0130]-[0136], [0153]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]); and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object (see the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) and/or the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) in Figs. 4 and 7-9, especially the shape of the top edge (TE1-TE4); [0127], [0130 "The surfaces of the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) can be planar or curved. "], [0152 "Here, morphable edges are geometric features that represent a bounded piece of a single curve."] and [0164 "Specifically, in FIG. 9, (TE1) is defined between (NMV0) and (NVM1), (TE2) is defined between (NMV1) and (NVM2), and so on. These vertices (NVM) are “non-morphed” because they are defined on the original top edge (TE), which in this example, is not morphed."]).
For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Choi is silent regarding the teaching unit includes at least one of a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm, and an endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm to image a surgical site, and the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm or a tip end of the endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm.", Sexson teaches the claim limitations.
That is, Sexson teaches a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0005]) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 1, surgical robot 200, end effector 202 and cutting tool 203; [0037] and [0042]);
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 1, control unit 250; [0037] and [0067]-[0070 "The surgical robot 200 may then be used to perform a surgical cut as defined by robot commands 108 (FIG. 10). The performance of the robot commands 108 (FIG. 10) to complete a surgical cut or a series of surgical cuts may be known as a surgical protocol."]); and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Figs. 2-3, control handle 201; Figs. 6-8, all; [0005], [0063 "After the registration process 113 has been performed, cut path execution data 119 may be provided to begin no-go-zone training 104. The cut path execution data 119 provided to no-go-zone training may be in the form of the bone position 110, dynamic obstacle positions 111, and a static cut path 106."], [0066 "Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212."]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit (see Figs. 1-2 and 6-9, no-go-zone 212; [0005 "...defining a go-zone and a no-go-zone associated with the surgical site based on the moving the end effector of the robot relative to the patient…"], [0063 "After the registration process 113 has been performed, cut path execution data 119 may be provided to begin no-go-zone training 104. The cut path execution data 119 provided to no-go-zone training may be in the form of the bone position 110, dynamic obstacle positions 111, and a static cut path 106."], [0066 "Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212."]-[0067] and [0075]),
the teaching unit includes a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see Figs. 6-8, end effector 202 and/or cutting tool 203 [0066 "The cutting tool 203 and the end effector 202 may be the parts of the surgical robot 200 which would be placed within the no-go-zone 212 to define go-zones. Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212. Go-zones 216 may be in the shape of the cutting tool 203 or the end effector 202 or a combination of the two."]),
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see [0063]-[0066 "The cutting tool 203 and the end effector 202 may be the parts of the surgical robot 200 which would be placed within the no-go-zone 212 to define go-zones. Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212. Go-zones 216 may be in the shape of the cutting tool 203 or the end effector 202 or a combination of the two."]); and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object (see Figs. 1-2 and 6-9, no-go-zone 212; [0058] and [0063 "Default no-go-zone 103 data may be displayed, for example, as a representation of a cylinder above the representation of the patient 214 (FIGS. 6-9) and the surgical site 1270 (FIGS. 6-9)."]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching unit of the surgical robot of Choi to set the virtual contact prohibited space based on a cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient input from an input device, where the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object, as taught by Becker, in order to generate patient-specific virtual boundaries conforming to the outer edge of their anatomy, such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved during surgery.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching unit of the surgical robot of Choi to include a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm and to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
Regarding Claim 2
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi is silent regarding wherein the teaching unit includes an operation unit provided on the manipulator arm to operate the manipulator arm.
Sexson teaches wherein the teaching unit includes an operation unit provided on the manipulator arm to operate the manipulator arm (see Figs. 2-3, control handle 201; Figs. 6-8, all; [0047]-[0049], [0061 "A first method may include using the control handle 201 to manually move the surgical robot 200 into positions to define go-zones or no-go-zones or modify a boundary."]-[0063 "To train no-go-zones 104, the surgical robot 200 may be placed into move mode by pressing the primary thumb button 301 (FIGS. 3-5) to initiate zero-g mode, followed by pressing the position switch 303 (FIGS. 3-5) to allow movement of the surgical robot 200, and moving the surgical robot 200 to an initial position near a surgical site by pulling or pushing on the control handle 201."] and [0066 "During no-go-zone training 104 (FIG. 10), the surgical robot 200 may be placed in zero-g mode and moved by the control handle 201 to a safe position, as determined by a surgeon, within the default boundary 225 defining the no-go-zone 212."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the teaching unit of the surgical robot of modified Choi to include an operation unit provided on the manipulator arm to operate the manipulator arm, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
Regarding Claim 3
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
Choi is silent regarding wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught using the manipulator arm operated through the operation unit.
Sexson teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught using the manipulator arm operated through the operation unit (see Figs. 2-3, control handle 201; Figs. 6-8, all; [0061 "A first method may include using the control handle 201 to manually move the surgical robot 200 into positions to define go-zones or no-go-zones or modify a boundary."]-[0063 "To train no-go-zones 104, the surgical robot 200 may be placed into move mode by pressing the primary thumb button 301 (FIGS. 3-5) to initiate zero-g mode, followed by pressing the position switch 303 (FIGS. 3-5) to allow movement of the surgical robot 200, and moving the surgical robot 200 to an initial position near a surgical site by pulling or pushing on the control handle 201."], [0066 "During no-go-zone training 104 (FIG. 10), the surgical robot 200 may be placed in zero-g mode and moved by the control handle 201 to a safe position, as determined by a surgeon, within the default boundary 225 defining the no-go-zone 212 ... Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the surgical robot of modified Choi to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught using the manipulator arm operated through the operation unit, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Choi the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform a control to issue a warning when at least one of the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm enters the contact prohibited space (see [0053 “If the outer surface of the control object that is in contact with the restricted area the coordinate information, the object is controlled so as to control the operation limit, and the control unit for this information is controlled so that the reaction corresponding to the output may be further included. Here, the response information may be one or more of tactile information, visual information and auditory information.”], [0063] and [0369]-[0373]).
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to perform a contact prohibition control to operate the manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm do not enter the contact prohibited space (see [0053], [0063], [0350 “In step P530 master robot 1 are input to a restricted area set for the designated areas that are restricted from entering the process the robot arm (3) and / or the instrument is operated to position the visible area and visible area outside from the operator or setter receive.”] and [0369]-[0373]).
Regarding Claim 12
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
Choi is silent regarding wherein the operation unit includes an enable switch to enable movement of the manipulator arm when the enable switch is pressed.
Sexson teaches wherein the operation unit includes an enable switch to enable movement of the manipulator arm when the enable switch is pressed (see [0063 "To train no-go-zones 104, the surgical robot 200 may be placed into move mode by pressing the primary thumb button 301 (FIGS. 3-5) to initiate zero-g mode, followed by pressing the position switch 303 (FIGS. 3-5) to allow movement of the surgical robot 200, and moving the surgical robot 200 to an initial position near a surgical site by pulling or pushing on the control handle 201."] and [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the operation unit of the surgical robot of modified Choi to include an enable switch to enable movement of the manipulator arm when the enable switch is pressed, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
Regarding Claim 13
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi further teaches further comprising: an input to register the teaching point taught by the teaching unit (see Figs. 16-26 and 31; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”] and [0332]).
Regarding Claim 17
Choi teaches a robotic surgical system (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 1; [0218]-[0241]) comprising:
a patient-side apparatus including a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 1 and 3, robot arm 3 and instrument 8 and/or laparoscope 5; [0219 "...the slave robot (2) comprises a robot arm (3) and the instrument (8). Instrument (8) is a surgical tool, such as an endoscope, a surgical instrument for applying the manipulation directly to the affected area, such as laparoscopy."]), and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0320 “For example, performing also recognize the instrument tip to the 3-D mouse cursor as shown in 16 to surgery who watch the picture image obtained by the laparoscope (5) taking a point in space (that is, the specified point) operation If the points are taken so that the connection can be set to a restricted area.”], [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]);
an operator-side apparatus to receive an operation for the surgical instrument (see Figs. 1 and 3, master robot 3); and
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 3, control unit 370; [0313 "Control unit 370 is operating information for any of the robot arm (3) or instrument when the input, the operation using the operation's arm operating unit 330 for the reaction information processing type when matching the restricted area by the operator can be controlled with reference to information to perform processing in response information processor (1380) is equivalent."]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”] and [0332]), the registered plurality of the teaching points corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially organs/blood vessels S1-S3 in Figs. 16 and 18, heart in the restricted area in Fig. 26 and blood vessel in restricted area 840 in Fig. 31; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0332 “Methods such as the above-described region setting and modification is one of the operative self-addition method preceding the area set by instrument, for a pre-specified arbitrary shape (such as a template, circle, triangle, square, sphere, cube, tetrahedron, etc. and above) are possible or a phase after that shown in the spatial shape of the organ, the modified using the 3-D mouse (or instrument tip), such separation is natural.”]),
the teaching unit includes at least one of a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm, and an endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm to image a surgical site (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially the "instrument tip" which teaches the vertices P1-P4 and the endoscope/laparoscope 5 which provides the visible area 810; [0320]-[0332], especially [0320 “For example, performing also recognize the instrument tip to the 3-D mouse cursor as shown in 16 to surgery who watch the picture image obtained by the laparoscope (5) taking a point in space (that is, the specified point) operation If the points are taken so that the connection can be set to a restricted area.”], [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]), and
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm or a tip end of the endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”], [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]).
Choi is silent regarding the virtual contact prohibited space set based on a cover length input from an input device, the cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient;
set the contact prohibited space based on the cover length input from the input device; and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object.
Becker teaches a robotic surgical system (see all Figs.; [0012]-[0015]) comprising:
a patient-side apparatus including a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 1, manipulator 14 and surgical tool 20; [0043 "The system 10 includes a manipulator 14."]-[0047 "A surgical tool 20 (hereinafter “tool”) couples to the manipulator 14 and is movable relative to the base 16 to interact with the anatomy (A)."]), and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Fig. 2, all, especially boundary generator 66, path generator 68 and geometric engine 72; [0063 "As shown in FIG. 2, the controller 30 includes a boundary generator 66. The boundary generator 66 is a software program or module that generates a planar or non-planar virtual boundary for constraining movement and/or operation of the tool 20.'] and [0066 "The milling path generator 68 generates a milling path for the tool 20 to traverse, such as for removing sections of the anatomy to receive an implant."]);
an operator-side apparatus to receive an operation for the surgical instrument; and a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 2, controller 30; [0050 "Referring to FIG. 2, the system 10 includes a controller 30. The controller 30 includes software and/or hardware for controlling the manipulator 14. "] and [0062 "The controller 30 includes a manipulator controller 60 for processing data to direct motion of the manipulator 14."]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit, and a cover length input from an input device (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB); [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0085 "The anatomical model (AM) inputted into the geometric engine 72 can be 3D virtual model of the anatomical volume (A), e.g., a bone, such as the femur, tibia, hip, etc."], [0130]-[0136], [0153]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]), the registered plurality of the teaching points and the cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially Fig. 8; [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0153 "Using the defined vertices (V), a patient-specific mapping function is executed by the software program 80 to define a relationship between the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) and the anatomical model (AM). More specifically, for the tibial example, the software program 80 maps a relationship between the bottom edges (BE) of corresponding side faces (F) and the intersection contour (IC) in furtherance of generating morphed faces or surfaces of the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB)."], [0154 "The vertices (V) on the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) are mapped to the intersection contour (IC). For each vertex (V) the program 80 defines a normal plane to its corresponding/related bottom edge (BE) at (V). The closest intersection point of the normal plane and the intersection contour (IC) is identified by the program 80. These intersection points are called morphed vertices (MV)."]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]),
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the cover length input from the input device (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB); [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0085 "The anatomical model (AM) inputted into the geometric engine 72 can be 3D virtual model of the anatomical volume (A), e.g., a bone, such as the femur, tibia, hip, etc."], [0130]-[0136], [0153]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]); and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object (see the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) and/or the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) in Figs. 4 and 7-9, especially the shape of the top edge (TE1-TE4); [0127], [0130 "The surfaces of the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) can be planar or curved. "], [0152 "Here, morphable edges are geometric features that represent a bounded piece of a single curve."] and [0164 "Specifically, in FIG. 9, (TE1) is defined between (NMV0) and (NVM1), (TE2) is defined between (NMV1) and (NVM2), and so on. These vertices (NVM) are “non-morphed” because they are defined on the original top edge (TE), which in this example, is not morphed."]).
For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Choi is silent regarding the teaching unit includes at least one of a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm, and an endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm to image a surgical site, and the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm or a tip end of the endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm.", Sexson teaches the claim limitations.
That is, Sexson teaches a robotic surgical system (see all Figs.; [0005]) comprising:
a patient-side apparatus including a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 1, surgical robot 200, end effector 202 and cutting tool 203; [0037] and [0042]), and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Figs. 2-3, control handle 201; Figs. 6-8, all; [0005], [0063 "After the registration process 113 has been performed, cut path execution data 119 may be provided to begin no-go-zone training 104. The cut path execution data 119 provided to no-go-zone training may be in the form of the bone position 110, dynamic obstacle positions 111, and a static cut path 106."], [0066 "Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212."]);
an operator-side apparatus to receive an operation for the surgical instrument (see Fig. 1, UI 260; [0048] and [0059]); and
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 1, control unit 250; [0037] and [0067]-[0070 "The surgical robot 200 may then be used to perform a surgical cut as defined by robot commands 108 (FIG. 10). The performance of the robot commands 108 (FIG. 10) to complete a surgical cut or a series of surgical cuts may be known as a surgical protocol."]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit (see Figs. 1-2 and 6-9, no-go-zone 212; [0005 "...defining a go-zone and a no-go-zone associated with the surgical site based on the moving the end effector of the robot relative to the patient…"], [0063 "After the registration process 113 has been performed, cut path execution data 119 may be provided to begin no-go-zone training 104. The cut path execution data 119 provided to no-go-zone training may be in the form of the bone position 110, dynamic obstacle positions 111, and a static cut path 106."], [0066 "Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212."]-[0067] and [0075]),
the teaching unit includes a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see Figs. 6-8, end effector 202 and/or cutting tool 203 [0066 "The cutting tool 203 and the end effector 202 may be the parts of the surgical robot 200 which would be placed within the no-go-zone 212 to define go-zones. Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212. Go-zones 216 may be in the shape of the cutting tool 203 or the end effector 202 or a combination of the two."]), and
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see [0063]-[0066 "The cutting tool 203 and the end effector 202 may be the parts of the surgical robot 200 which would be placed within the no-go-zone 212 to define go-zones. Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212. Go-zones 216 may be in the shape of the cutting tool 203 or the end effector 202 or a combination of the two."]); and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object (see Figs. 1-2 and 6-9, no-go-zone 212; [0058] and [0063 "Default no-go-zone 103 data may be displayed, for example, as a representation of a cylinder above the representation of the patient 214 (FIGS. 6-9) and the surgical site 1270 (FIGS. 6-9)."]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching unit of the robotic surgical system of Choi to set the virtual contact prohibited space based on a cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient input from an input device, where the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object, as taught by Becker, in order to generate patient-specific virtual boundaries conforming to the outer edge of their anatomy, such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved during surgery.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching unit of the robotic surgical system of Choi to include a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm and to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
Regarding Claim 19
Modified Choi teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 17 (as discussed above in claim 17),
Choi further teaches the controller is configured or programmed to:
perform a contact prohibition control to operate the manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm do not enter the contact prohibited space when the manipulator arm is operated through the operator-side apparatus (see [0053], [0063], [0350 “In step P530 master robot 1 are input to a restricted area set for the designated areas that are restricted from entering the process the robot arm (3) and / or the instrument is operated to position the visible area and visible area outside from the operator or setter receive.”] and [0369]-[0373]).
Choi is silent regarding wherein the teaching unit includes an operation unit provided on the manipulator arm to operate the manipulator arm; and
perform a control to operate the manipulator arm based on an operation on the operation unit even when the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm enter the contact prohibited space when the manipulator arm is operated through the operation unit.
Sexson teaches wherein the teaching unit includes an operation unit provided on the manipulator arm to operate the manipulator arm (see Figs. 2-3, control handle 201; Figs. 6-8, all; [0047]-[0049], [0061 "A first method may include using the control handle 201 to manually move the surgical robot 200 into positions to define go-zones or no-go-zones or modify a boundary."]-[0063 "To train no-go-zones 104, the surgical robot 200 may be placed into move mode by pressing the primary thumb button 301 (FIGS. 3-5) to initiate zero-g mode, followed by pressing the position switch 303 (FIGS. 3-5) to allow movement of the surgical robot 200, and moving the surgical robot 200 to an initial position near a surgical site by pulling or pushing on the control handle 201."], [0066 "During no-go-zone training 104 (FIG. 10), the surgical robot 200 may be placed in zero-g mode and moved by the control handle 201 to a safe position, as determined by a surgeon, within the default boundary 225 defining the no-go-zone 212."]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to:
perform a contact prohibition control to operate the manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm do not enter the contact prohibited space when the manipulator arm is operated through the operator-side apparatus (see [0005 …."no-go-zone and wherein the effecting the surgical procedure maintains the tool in the defined go-zone and avoids contact with the defined no-go-zone] and [0067 "When a final go-zone 1312 (FIG. 7) has been created, refined no-go-zone data 105 (FIG. 10) may be sent to the cut path execution block 107 (FIG. 10)."]); and
perform a control to operate the manipulator arm based on an operation on the operation unit even when the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm enter the contact prohibited space when the manipulator arm is operated through the operation unit (see Figs. 7-8, all; [0066 "During no-go-zone training 104 (FIG. 10), the surgical robot 200 may be placed in zero-g mode and moved by the control handle 201 to a safe position, as determined by a surgeon, within the default boundary 225 defining the no-go-zone 212. A second go-zone 1311 (FIG. 7) may be expanded, for example, in a conical motion using a position lock to create an enlarged go-zone 1312 (FIG. 8). The cutting tool 203 and the end effector 202 may be the parts of the surgical robot 200 which would be placed within the no-go-zone 212 to define go-zones. Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the robotic surgical system of modified Choi to include an operation unit provided on the manipulator arm to operate the manipulator arm and to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm based on an operation on the operation unit even when the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm enter the contact prohibited space when the manipulator arm is operated through the operation unit, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
Regarding Claim 20
Choi teaches a control method for a surgical robot (see all Figs.; especially Fig. 1; [0218]-[0241]), the control method comprising:
setting a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using a teaching unit to teach the teaching points (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”] and [0332]) in a space in which a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached operates (see Figs. 1 and 3, robot arm 3 and instrument 8 and/or laparoscope 5; [0219 "...the slave robot (2) comprises a robot arm (3) and the instrument (8). Instrument (8) is a surgical tool, such as an endoscope, a surgical instrument for applying the manipulation directly to the affected area, such as laparoscopy."]) the registered plurality of the teaching points corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially organs/blood vessels S1-S3 in Figs. 16 and 18, heart in the restricted area in Fig. 26 and blood vessel in restricted area 840 in Fig. 31; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0332 “Methods such as the above-described region setting and modification is one of the operative self-addition method preceding the area set by instrument, for a pre-specified arbitrary shape (such as a template, circle, triangle, square, sphere, cube, tetrahedron, etc. and above) are possible or a phase after that shown in the spatial shape of the organ, the modified using the 3-D mouse (or instrument tip), such separation is natural.”]); and
controlling operation of the manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm do not enter the set contact prohibited space (see [0053], [0063], [0350 “In step P530 master robot 1 are input to a restricted area set for the designated areas that are restricted from entering the process the robot arm (3) and / or the instrument is operated to position the visible area and visible area outside from the operator or setter receive.”] and [0369]-[0373]), wherein
the teaching unit includes at least one of a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm, and an endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm to image a surgical site (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially the "instrument tip" which teaches the vertices P1-P4 and the endoscope/laparoscope 5 which provides the visible area 810; [0320]-[0332], especially [0320 “For example, performing also recognize the instrument tip to the 3-D mouse cursor as shown in 16 to surgery who watch the picture image obtained by the laparoscope (5) taking a point in space (that is, the specified point) operation If the points are taken so that the connection can be set to a restricted area.”], [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]), and
the method further comprises setting the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm or a tip end of the endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”], [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]).
Choi is silent regarding the virtual contact prohibited space set based on a cover length input from an input device, the cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient;
setting the contact prohibited space based on the cover length input from the input device; and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object.
Becker teaches a control method for a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0012]-[0015]), the control method comprising:
setting a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using a teaching unit, and a cover length input from an input device, to teach the teaching points and the cover length in a space (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB); [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0085 "The anatomical model (AM) inputted into the geometric engine 72 can be 3D virtual model of the anatomical volume (A), e.g., a bone, such as the femur, tibia, hip, etc."], [0130]-[0136], [0153]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]) in which a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached operates (see Fig. 1, manipulator 14 and surgical tool 20; [0043 "The system 10 includes a manipulator 14."]-[0047 "A surgical tool 20 (hereinafter “tool”) couples to the manipulator 14 and is movable relative to the base 16 to interact with the anatomy (A)."]),
the registered plurality of the teaching points and the cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially Fig. 8; [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0153 "Using the defined vertices (V), a patient-specific mapping function is executed by the software program 80 to define a relationship between the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) and the anatomical model (AM). More specifically, for the tibial example, the software program 80 maps a relationship between the bottom edges (BE) of corresponding side faces (F) and the intersection contour (IC) in furtherance of generating morphed faces or surfaces of the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB)."], [0154 "The vertices (V) on the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) are mapped to the intersection contour (IC). For each vertex (V) the program 80 defines a normal plane to its corresponding/related bottom edge (BE) at (V). The closest intersection point of the normal plane and the intersection contour (IC) is identified by the program 80. These intersection points are called morphed vertices (MV)."]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]); and
controlling operation of the manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm do not enter the set contact prohibited space (see Fig. 2, controller 30; [0050 "Referring to FIG. 2, the system 10 includes a controller 30. The controller 30 includes software and/or hardware for controlling the manipulator 14. "] and [0063 "The controller 30 controls/positions the manipulator 14 in a manner that emulates the way a physical handpiece would respond to the user and virtual haptic forces"]), wherein
the method further comprises setting the contact prohibited space based on the cover length input from the input device (see Figs. 7-9, all, especially the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB); [0012]-[0015 "The method comprises identifying a perimeter of the anatomical model and generating the virtual boundary comprising an edge that follows a contour of the perimeter and is spaced apart from the perimeter by an offset distance that accounts for a geometric feature of a surgical tool."], [0085 "The anatomical model (AM) inputted into the geometric engine 72 can be 3D virtual model of the anatomical volume (A), e.g., a bone, such as the femur, tibia, hip, etc."], [0130]-[0136], [0153]-[0159] and [0168 "Clearly, as compared with the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) shown in FIG. 4, the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) shown in FIG. 9 has conformed to the outer edge/perimeter of the tibia. With the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB), subsequent milling is appropriately constrained such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved."]); and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object (see the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) and/or the patient-specific virtual boundary (PS-VB) in Figs. 4 and 7-9, especially the shape of the top edge (TE1-TE4); [0127], [0130 "The surfaces of the generic virtual boundary (G-VB) can be planar or curved. "], [0152 "Here, morphable edges are geometric features that represent a bounded piece of a single curve."] and [0164 "Specifically, in FIG. 9, (TE1) is defined between (NMV0) and (NVM1), (TE2) is defined between (NMV1) and (NVM2), and so on. These vertices (NVM) are “non-morphed” because they are defined on the original top edge (TE), which in this example, is not morphed."]).
For the sake of compact prosecution and for the possible argument that "Choi is silent regarding the teaching unit includes at least one of a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm, and an endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm to image a surgical site, and setting the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm or a tip end of the endoscope attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm.", Sexson teaches the claim limitations.
That is, Sexson teaches a control method for a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0005]), the control method comprising:
setting a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using a teaching unit to teach the teaching points (see Figs. 1-2 and 6-9, no-go-zone 212; [0005 "...defining a go-zone and a no-go-zone associated with the surgical site based on the moving the end effector of the robot relative to the patient…"], [0063 "After the registration process 113 has been performed, cut path execution data 119 may be provided to begin no-go-zone training 104. The cut path execution data 119 provided to no-go-zone training may be in the form of the bone position 110, dynamic obstacle positions 111, and a static cut path 106."], [0066 "Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212."]-[0067] and [0075]) in a space in which a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached operates (see Fig. 1, surgical robot 200, end effector 202 and cutting tool 203; [0037] and [0042]); and
controlling operation of the manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the manipulator arm do not enter the set contact prohibited space (see Figs. 1-2 and 6-9, no-go-zone 212; [0005 "...wherein the effecting the surgical procedure maintains the tool in the defined go-zone and avoids contact with the defined no-go-zone."]), wherein
the teaching unit includes a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see Figs. 6-8, end effector 202 and/or cutting tool 203 [0066 "The cutting tool 203 and the end effector 202 may be the parts of the surgical robot 200 which would be placed within the no-go-zone 212 to define go-zones. Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212. Go-zones 216 may be in the shape of the cutting tool 203 or the end effector 202 or a combination of the two."]), and
the method further comprises setting the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see [0063]-[0066 "The cutting tool 203 and the end effector 202 may be the parts of the surgical robot 200 which would be placed within the no-go-zone 212 to define go-zones. Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202. The recorded position may become go-zones 216, overriding previously defined no-go-zones 212. Go-zones 216 may be in the shape of the cutting tool 203 or the end effector 202 or a combination of the two."]); and
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object (see Figs. 1-2 and 6-9, no-go-zone 212; [0058] and [0063 "Default no-go-zone 103 data may be displayed, for example, as a representation of a cylinder above the representation of the patient 214 (FIGS. 6-9) and the surgical site 1270 (FIGS. 6-9)."]-[0064]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching unit of the process of Choi to set the virtual contact prohibited space based on a cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient input from an input device, where the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object, as taught by Becker, in order to generate patient-specific virtual boundaries conforming to the outer edge of their anatomy, such that surrounding soft tissue can be preserved during surgery.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the teaching unit of the process of Choi to include a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm and to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught by the teaching member, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
Regarding Claim 21
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi further teaches further comprising: an input unit configured to display a setting screen for setting the virtual contact prohibited space, wherein the input unit receives the registration of the teaching points taught by the teaching unit (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]).
Regarding Claim 22
Modified Choi teaches the robotic surgical system according to claim 17 (as discussed above in claim 17),
Choi further teaches further comprising: an input unit configured to display a setting screen for setting the virtual contact prohibited space, wherein the input unit receives the registration of the teaching points taught by the teaching unit (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]).
Regarding Claim 23
Modified Choi teaches the control method for a surgical robot according to claim 20 (as discussed above in claim 20),
Choi further teaches further comprising displaying a setting screen on an input unit configured to set the virtual contact prohibited space, wherein the input unit receives the registration of the teaching points taught by the teaching unit (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (as modified by Becker and Sexson) as applied to claims 1 and 17 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (US 20180036884 A1 and Chen hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 5
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi is silent regarding wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space to cover a periphery of a patient as the contact prohibited object.
Chen teaches a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0019]) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 3A-3C and 9A-9B, robotic arm 305 and end effector 347; [0019] and [0056]-[0059]);
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 3A, control and processing system 300; Fig. 6, steps 624-630; [0019 "Movement of the robotic arm within the safety zone is restricted."], [0047]-[0051], [0111]-[0117] and [0131 "At block 1012, system 300 moves robotic arm 305 along the vector or vectors by changing the joint angles of robotic arm 305."]); and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Fig. 6, steps 602-612; Figs. 7A-7B, gesture instruments 702/704; Figs. 8A and 8C, all; [0019 "The surgical navigation system tracks instruments and determines their location relative to the reference point. The surgical navigation system also detects changes in the location of the tracked instrument relative to the reference point."]-[0021 "...an initiation input indicating initiation of defining of the safety zone; in response to receiving the initiation input, tracking an instrument using the medical navigation system, determining a location of the tracked instrument relative to a reference point, and detecting changes in the location of the tracked instrument until a termination input is received at the medical navigation system..."], [0089]-[0094] and [0100 "Medical navigation system 200 detects three discrete paths associated with movement of gesture instrument 702, each discrete path being associated with one of the three tracking markers 714. The gesture input is detected relative to the reference point, and the gesture input moves from the left to the right of the reference point along the x-axis (or vice-versa)."]-[0101]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit (see Fig. 6, steps 612-622; Figs. 8B and 8D, all; Fig. 9A, safety zone 955; [0019 "The change data may identify a safety zone within the OR. The navigation system may also extrapolate the change data to define the safety zone."]-[0021 "...an initiation input indicating initiation of defining of the safety zone ... the termination input indicating termination of the defining of the safety zone...], [0094]-[0104] and [0110]);
the contact prohibited space is set so as to have a semi-cylindrical shape around the contact prohibited object (see Fig. 8B, all; Fig. 9A, safety zone 955; [0103 "In FIG. 8B, the gesture input of FIG. 8A is extrapolated to define an arc-shaped area: the three discrete paths of FIG. 8A are transformed into an area representing an arc. This is shown in an operating room environment in FIG. 9A as safety zone 955."]-[0105]);
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space to cover a periphery of a patient as the contact prohibited object (see Fig. 9A, safety zone 955; [0020 "In one example, the reference point is positioned on the patient; thereby allowing the user to define a region around the patient within which the robotic arm will not enter.], [0094 "By defining a safety zone relative to the patient reference frame, the user is able to provide surgeon 201 working room around the patient and prevents robotic arm 305 from interfering with the patient."] and [0118]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the surgical robot of modified Choi to set the contact prohibited space to cover a periphery of a patient as the contact prohibited object, as taught by Chen, in order to prevent the manipulator arm from interfering with the patient.
Regarding Claim 6
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 5 (as discussed above in claim 5),
Choi further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space to cover a periphery of a site on the patient other than a surgical site (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially Fig. 31; [0372 “In addition, the restricted area is necessarily the current area displayed on the screen (that is, the visible region 810) not intended to be set only in the sphere (i.e., the visible outer region (820 does not appear on the screen as illustrated in FIG. 31) ) in a restricted area 840 can be specified and the setting is natural. In other words, be limited area (840), this restriction visible outside, even if it is set in an area 820, the instrument moves the instrument in order to prevent this, it may be caused a serious danger to the safety of surgical patients if contact to the restricted area It can be controlled.”]).
Chen additionally teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space to cover a periphery of a site on the patient other than a surgical site (see Fig. 9A, safety zone 955; [0020 "In one example, the reference point is positioned on the patient; thereby allowing the user to define a region around the patient within which the robotic arm will not enter.], [0094 "By defining a safety zone relative to the patient reference frame, the user is able to provide surgeon 201 working room around the patient and prevents robotic arm 305 from interfering with the patient."] and [0118]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (as modified by Becker, Sexson and Chen) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US 20130211792 A1 and Kang hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 7
Modified Choi the surgical robot according to claim 5 (as discussed above in claim 5),
Choi further teaches wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught using the teaching unit (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially vertices P1-P4 in Figs. 16 and 18; [0320]-[0332], especially [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command. In one such area to be set so that by repeating the input vertex defining behavior after you enter the command areas demarcated area where the vertices are connected by an earlier set point designation command is set.”], [0323 “By the above-described method, as well as possible the three-dimensional set of restricted areas, such as by specifying the vertices in three-dimensional space, it may be also set in the restricted areas, such as to create a flat wall.”] and [0332]).
Choi is silent regarding is silent regarding set the contact prohibited space based on an input operation for a length of the patient in a body axis direction.
Kang teaches a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0011]) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Fig. 2, robotic arm 204 and tool 210; [0035]-[0037]);
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see [0036]-[0037 "The force system and controller are configured to provide control or guidance to the surgeon during manipulation of the surgical tool. The force system is configured to provide at least some force to the surgical tool via the articulated arm 206, and the controller is programmed to generate control signals for controlling the force system"]); and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Fig. 5, points 510, 512, 520 and 522; [0055 "As such, a user may select (or planning software may detect) points 510, 512 associated with the perimeter of tibia 101. The planning software may stretch the outer edges of the preliminary virtual haptic boundaries of medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to points 510, 512, respectively."]-[0057]); wherein
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object comprising a patient, the virtual contact prohibited space set based on registering a plurality of the teaching points taught using the teaching unit, and a cover length input from an input device (see [0011 "A virtual haptic boundary may be generated based on the determined intersection between the identified reference feature associated with the virtual implant model and the virtual model associated with the anatomy of the patient."], [0048]-[0049], [0053]-[0055 "For example, a surgeon may wish to stretch outer edges of virtual haptic boundaries associated with medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to allow bone resection to the outer perimeter of the patient's tibia 101. As such, a user may select (or planning software may detect) points 510, 512 associated with the perimeter of tibia 101. The planning software may stretch the outer edges of the preliminary virtual haptic boundaries of medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to points 510, 512, respectively."] and [0063]-[0066]); the registered plurality of the teaching points and the cover length corresponding to predetermined points comprising an anatomy of the patient that define a predetermined space around the patient (see [0048]-[0049], [0053]-[0055 "For example, a surgeon may wish to stretch outer edges of virtual haptic boundaries associated with medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to allow bone resection to the outer perimeter of the patient's tibia 101. As such, a user may select (or planning software may detect) points 510, 512 associated with the perimeter of tibia 101. The planning software may stretch the outer edges of the preliminary virtual haptic boundaries of medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to points 510, 512, respectively."] and [0066]),
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the cover length input from the input device (see [0048]-[0049], [0053]-[0055 "For example, a surgeon may wish to stretch outer edges of virtual haptic boundaries associated with medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to allow bone resection to the outer perimeter of the patient's tibia 101. As such, a user may select (or planning software may detect) points 510, 512 associated with the perimeter of tibia 101. The planning software may stretch the outer edges of the preliminary virtual haptic boundaries of medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to points 510, 512, respectively."] and [0066]);
wherein the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching points taught using the teaching unit and an input operation for a length of the patient in a body axis direction (see [0048]-[0049], [0053]-[0055 "For example, a surgeon may wish to stretch outer edges of virtual haptic boundaries associated with medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to allow bone resection to the outer perimeter of the patient's tibia 101. As such, a user may select (or planning software may detect) points 510, 512 associated with the perimeter of tibia 101. The planning software may stretch the outer edges of the preliminary virtual haptic boundaries of medial and lateral base portions 121 a, 121 b to points 510, 512, respectively."] and [0066]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the surgical robot of modified Choi to set the contact prohibited space based on an input operation for a length of the patient in a body axis direction, as taught by Kang, in order to allow sufficient space for surgical tool access to provide an area for entering the volume defined around the virtual contact prohibited space.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (as modified by Becker and Sexson) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Hane et al. (US 20180281173 A1 and Hane hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 2 (as discussed above in claim 2),
Choi is silent regarding wherein the operation unit includes a joystick to manipulate a moving direction of the manipulator arm.
Hane teaches a robot (see all Figs.; [0004]-[0008]) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which an instrument is attached (see Figs. 1-2, robot 100 and torch 102; [0004]-[0005] and [0016]-[0017]); and
a teaching unit to teach a teaching point in a space in which the manipulator arm operates (see Figs. 1-5, command input portion 3, especially Fig. 2; [0005], [0029 "As the first step, the operator A presses the “teach” button 41 on the command input portion 3 at the positions of the individual teaching points P1 to P10, while moving the torch 102 sequentially from the teaching points P1 to P10 shown in FIG. 2, while changing the display of the “linear/arc” button 42 to “linear” or “arc”, and thus, the positional coordinates of the individual teaching points P1 to P10 and the command for “linear” interpolation or “arc” interpolation are input as information about the teaching points P1 to P10."]-[0043]);
wherein the teaching unit includes an operation unit provided on the manipulator arm to operate the manipulator arm (see Figs. 1-5, command input portion 3; [0005], [0018]-[0020] and [0029]);
the teaching unit includes a teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm, the controller is configured or programmed to set the teaching points taught by the teaching member attached to the tip end side of the manipulator arm (see Figs. 1-5, command input portion 3, especially Fig. 2; [0005], [0029 "As the first step, the operator A presses the “teach” button 41 on the command input portion 3 at the positions of the individual teaching points P1 to P10, while moving the torch 102 sequentially from the teaching points P1 to P10 shown in FIG. 2, while changing the display of the “linear/arc” button 42 to “linear” or “arc”, and thus, the positional coordinates of the individual teaching points P1 to P10 and the command for “linear” interpolation or “arc” interpolation are input as information about the teaching points P1 to P10."]-[0043]),
wherein the operation unit includes a joystick to manipulate a moving direction of the manipulator arm (see Fig. 6, all; [0047 "...as shown in FIG. 6, another movement-instruction input portion, such as a joystick or a trackball (not shown), that can detect the magnitude and the direction of the force applied by the operator A may be employed."]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the operation unit of the surgical robot of modified Choi to include a joystick to manipulate a moving direction of the manipulator arm, as taught by Hane, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to record teaching points and thus easily teach a complicated motion program.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (as modified by Becker and Sexson) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nowlin et al. (US 20170215974 A1 and Nowlin hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 14
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi is silent regarding wherein the manipulator arm includes seven or more joint axes.
Nowlin teaches a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0009]-[0010]) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see [0009]-[0010]); and
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see [0009]-[0010]);
wherein the manipulator arm includes seven or more joint axes (see [0010 "In one aspect of the present invention, a redundant degrees of freedom (RDOF) surgical robotic system with manipulate input is provided."], [0051 "For example, a surgical end effector that can be positioned with six degrees of freedom at an internal surgical site through a minimally invasive aperture may in some embodiments have nine degrees of freedom (six end effector degrees of freedom—three for location, and three for orientation—plus three degrees of freedom to comply with the access site constraints), but will often have ten or more degrees of freedom"] and [0082]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the manipulator of the surgical robot of modified Choi to include seven or more joint axes, as taught by Nowlin, in order to allow a range of joint states for an end effector position in a workspace.
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Choi (as modified by Becker and Sexson) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Usui (US 20200197108 A1 and Usui hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 15
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 1 (as discussed above in claim 1),
Choi further teaches wherein the manipulator arm is a first manipulator arm; the surgical robot further comprises a second manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 1 and 3, robot arms 3 and instrument 8 and/or laparoscope 5; [0219 "...the slave robot (2) comprises a robot arm (3) and the instrument (8). Instrument (8) is a surgical tool, such as an endoscope, a surgical instrument for applying the manipulation directly to the affected area, such as laparoscopy."]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to perform a contact prohibition control to operate the first arm such that the surgical instrument and the first manipulator arm does not enter the contact prohibited space (see Fig. 6, steps 624-630; Figs. 11A-11B, all; [0019 "Movement of the robotic arm within the safety zone is restricted."] and [0111]-[0117]).
Choi does not explicitly teach operate the second manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the second manipulator arm do not enter the contact prohibited space.
Usui teaches a surgical robot (see all Figs.; [0006]) comprising:
a manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 9A-11D, first medical support arm/support arm device 10 a; [0006] and [0293]);
a controller configured or programmed to perform a control to operate the manipulator arm to which the surgical instrument is attached (see [0006] and [0076]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to set a virtual contact prohibited space in a space around a contact prohibited object (see Figs. 9A-11D, unsafe region 302a; [0284 "On the other hand, in an unsafe region 302, because a viscous resistance coefficient is high, a manipulator cannot move an arm distal end (the working point P) to the unsafe region 302 unless an appreciable extent of load is applied to the arm."] and [0297]-[0298]);
wherein the manipulator arm is a first manipulator arm (see Figs. 9A-11D, first medical support arm/support arm device 10 a; [0006] and [0293]);
the surgical robot further comprises a second manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 11A-11D, second medical support arm/support arm device 10 b; [0006] and [0293]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to perform a contact prohibition control to operate the first and second manipulator arms such that the surgical instruments and the first and second manipulator arms do not enter the contact prohibited space (see Figs. 11A-11D, unsafe regions 302a and/or 302b; [0284 "On the other hand, in an unsafe region 302, because a viscous resistance coefficient is high, a manipulator cannot move an arm distal end (the working point P) to the unsafe region 302 unless an appreciable extent of load is applied to the arm."], [0293] and [0297]-[0298]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the surgical robot of modified Choi to operate the second manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the second manipulator arm do not enter the contact prohibited space, as taught by Usui, in order to more accurately control a harmonized operation of a plurality of medical support arms.
Regarding Claim 16
Modified Choi teaches the surgical robot according to claim 3 (as discussed above in claim 3),
Choi further teaches wherein the manipulator arm is a first manipulator arm and the operation unit is a first operation unit (see Figs. 1 and 3, robot arm 3 and instrument 8 and/or laparoscope 5; [0219 "...the slave robot (2) comprises a robot arm (3) and the instrument (8). Instrument (8) is a surgical tool, such as an endoscope, a surgical instrument for applying the manipulation directly to the affected area, such as laparoscopy."]);
the surgical robot further comprises:
a second manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 1 and 3, robot arm 3 and instrument 8 and/or laparoscope 5; [0219 "...the slave robot (2) comprises a robot arm (3) and the instrument (8). Instrument (8) is a surgical tool, such as an endoscope, a surgical instrument for applying the manipulation directly to the affected area, such as laparoscopy."]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching point taught using one of the first and second manipulator arms operated through one of the first and second operation units (see Figs. 16-26 and 31, all, especially the "instrument tip" which teaches the vertices P1-P4; [0320]-[0332], especially [0320 “For example, performing also recognize the instrument tip to the 3-D mouse cursor as shown in 16 to surgery who watch the picture image obtained by the laparoscope (5) taking a point in space (that is, the specified point) operation If the points are taken so that the connection can be set to a restricted area.”], [0321 “That is, the operation shall an instrument to set the region to laparoscopic 5 acquired image the image displayed is by including in the S1 the area on (within a picture image is long, blood vessels and the like included, such as S1, S2 and S3) after the end of the specified command and then enter the point to be located at the first corner to move to the second vertex point to further enter the specified command.”] and [0325 “That is, self-operation performs a point after the movement area as the location, end instrument shown in FIG. 18 to S1 to S2, as well as further including a vertex P4. Also, after placing the instrument tip onto a line segment connecting the vertices P3 and P4 performs a moving point. In this point by the same movement S2 may be set to extend the area to be included in the zone.”] and [0332]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to perform a contact prohibition control to operate the first arm such that the surgical instrument and the first does not enter the contact prohibited space (see Figs. 1 and 3, robot arms 3 and instrument 8 and/or laparoscope 5; [0219 "...the slave robot (2) comprises a robot arm (3) and the instrument (8). Instrument (8) is a surgical tool, such as an endoscope, a surgical instrument for applying the manipulation directly to the affected area, such as laparoscopy."]).
Choi is silent regarding a second operation unit provided on the second manipulator arm; and
perform a contact prohibition control to operate the second manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the second manipulator arm does not enter the contact prohibited space.
Sexson teaches wherein the manipulator arm is a first manipulator arm and the operation unit is a first operation unit (see Fig. 1, surgical robot 200; Figs. 2-3, control handle 201; [0037], [0042], [0047]-[0049], [0061] and [0066]);
the surgical robot further comprises:
the controller is configured or programmed to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching point taught using of the first arm operated through one of the first and second operation units (see Figs. 2-3, control handle 201; Figs. 6-8, all; [0061 "A first method may include using the control handle 201 to manually move the surgical robot 200 into positions to define go-zones or no-go-zones or modify a boundary."]-[0063 "To train no-go-zones 104, the surgical robot 200 may be placed into move mode by pressing the primary thumb button 301 (FIGS. 3-5) to initiate zero-g mode, followed by pressing the position switch 303 (FIGS. 3-5) to allow movement of the surgical robot 200, and moving the surgical robot 200 to an initial position near a surgical site by pulling or pushing on the control handle 201."], [0066 "During no-go-zone training 104 (FIG. 10), the surgical robot 200 may be placed in zero-g mode and moved by the control handle 201 to a safe position, as determined by a surgeon, within the default boundary 225 defining the no-go-zone 212 ... Using the control handle 201 to move the surgical robot 200, the act of creating go-zones 216 within a no-go-zone 212 may be performed by, for example, positioning the cutting tool 203 within a no-go-zone and pressing a record button 331 (FIG. 6) on the visual display screen 400 (FIG. 6) to record the position of the cutting tool 203 or end effector 202."]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to perform a contact prohibition control to operate the first arm such that the surgical instrument and the first does not enter the contact prohibited space (see [0005 …."no-go-zone and wherein the effecting the surgical procedure maintains the tool in the defined go-zone and avoids contact with the defined no-go-zone]).
Usui teaches wherein the manipulator arm is a first manipulator arm and the operation unit is a first operation unit (see Figs. 9A-11D, first medical support arm/support arm device 10 a; [0006] and [0293]);
the surgical robot further comprises:
a second manipulator arm having a tip end side to which a surgical instrument is attached (see Figs. 11A-11D, second medical support arm/support arm device 10 b; [0006] and [0293]); and
a second operation unit provided on the second manipulator arm (see [0284 "On the other hand, in an unsafe region 302, because a viscous resistance coefficient is high, a manipulator cannot move an arm distal end (the working point P) to the unsafe region 302 unless an appreciable extent of load is applied to the arm."]); and
the controller is configured or programmed to perform a contact prohibition control to operate the first and second manipulator arms such that the surgical instruments and the first and second manipulator arms do not enter the contact prohibited space (see Figs. 11A-11D, unsafe regions 302a and/or 302b; [0284 "On the other hand, in an unsafe region 302, because a viscous resistance coefficient is high, a manipulator cannot move an arm distal end (the working point P) to the unsafe region 302 unless an appreciable extent of load is applied to the arm."], [0293] and [0297]-[0298]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the surgical robot of modified Choi to set the contact prohibited space based on the teaching point taught using one the first manipulator arm operated through the first operation unit, as taught by Sexson, in order to allow a surgeon to manually move the manipulator arm into positions to define the virtual contact prohibited space.
It additionally would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the surgical robot of modified Choi to operate the second manipulator arm such that the surgical instrument and the second manipulator arm do not enter the contact prohibited space, as taught by Usui, in order to more accurately control a harmonized operation of a plurality of medical support arms.
Conclusion
/TANNER L CULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3656
/KHOI H TRAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3656