DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the reply filed 4/16/2026.
Election/Restrictions
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/9/2025.
Response to Arguments
All of Applicant’s arguments filed 4/16/2026 have been fully considered.
In view of the amendments to the claims, the rejection over JP’642 and Brand has been withdrawn and is replaced with Barnabas, Brand and JP’642. The Examiner will address the comments as they apply to the new rejection below.
Applicant argues that JP’642 teaches away from using branched dextran.
THIs is not persuasive, while JP’642 may not want to use branched dextran, the rejection below is not based on using branched dextrans in the formulation of JP’642. As discussed below, Barnabas specifically teaches that branched dextrans can be used, thus their use is prima facie obvious.
Applicant remarks that Brand’s main focus is on galactomannans and dextran is only mentioned once.
This is not persuasive as Brand is prior art for all it teaches and preferred embodiments or exemplified embodiments do not teach away from non-preferred embodiments or non-exemplified embodiments such as dextran.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barnabas (WO 00/24856), Brand (US 2010/0093584), JP2000159642 and Pawar (2008).
Barnabas teaches fabric care compositions comprising an effective amount of fabric care polysaccharides (Abs).
Regarding claim 1: Barnabas teaches a preferred polysaccharides to be dextran and derivatives thereof (pg. 4), these can be those wherein the 1,6-linked backbones are with or without branching and preferably have a weight average Mw ranging from 10,000-150,000 (pg. 9), thus the use of a branched dextran is prima facie obvious.
Barnabas teaches that a silicone, a fabric care lubricant, can be added to impart a lubricating property and or increase gliding ability to fibers in fabric. The silicones are preferably neither irritating nor toxic, or otherwise harmful when applied to fabric or when they come in contact with human skin (pg. 20), reading on dermatologically acceptable silicone.
Barnabas teaches that the preferred carrier of the composition is water, reading on dermatologically acceptable vehicle (pg. 120).
However, Barnabas does not teach the dextran polymer to have a combination of quaternary ammonium groups of formula IIa and IIIa and does not teach the quaternary ammonium side groups to be bound to be pendant oxygen.
Brand discloses cleansing compositions for use in personal care formulations and household care compositions comprising non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides and anionic surfactants as essential ingredients. The cationically modified polysaccharides can impart great conditioning benefits to the substrate such as textile fabrics (Abs and [0018]).
Brand teaches the non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides can be a dextran with a Mw ranging from 200,000-1,000,000 in which cationic modifications comprise a mixture of at least two quaternary ammonium groups having a different combination of alkyl substituents which are covalently attached to the polysaccharide backbone via an ether, ester or urethane linkage [0012, 0020, 0030, 0032]. The first quaternary ammonium groups has an alkyl chain of 1 carbon (i.e. methyl), while the 2nd group preferably has 12, 18 or 22 carbons [0023-0025]. Examples 6-7 and 9-11 of Brand use a combination of hydroxypropyldimethyldodecylammonium (C12) and hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium (C1). Brand teaches the cationically modified polysaccharides provide conditioning and deposition benefits which are greater than the conditioning benefits of the same polymers which carry only one type of quaternary ammonium groups ([0013-0019] and working examples). Brand teaches the each cationic substituent on the polysaccharide to have a cationic degree of substitution of 0.0001- about 3 [0020]., which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-0.03.
JP’642 teaches cleansing formulations [0001] comprising linear cationic polymer derived from dextran of formula (1):
wherein R represents a hydrogen atom, a hydroxy lower alkyl group, or chemical formula (2) as shown below:
wherein R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a lower alkyl group and R2, R3, and R4 represent a lower alkyl group; at least one R is a quaternary nitrogen-containing group represented by Formula (2), and n is a positive number of 20 – 30,000 [0012-0014].
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Barnabas with those of Brand and JP’642. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the dextran of Barnabas to comprise at least two quaternary ammonium groups, with different alkyl substitutions, one trimethyl and one dimethyldodecylammonium (reading on formula IIIa and IIa wherein R4 is C12 alkyl group, R2 is methyl, R3 is methyl and R5 is H as recited by instant claims 5-7), with the degree of cationic substitutions as taught by Brand, as Brand teaches that the use of 2 distinct quaternary ammonium groups results in greater conditioning benefits than those that comprise only one group. One of skill in the art would have also been motivated to attached those quaternary ammonium groups to pendant oxygens on the backbone of the dextran using a divalent linking groups as taught by JP’642 as this is shown to be a suitable way to substitute the dextran and its prima facie obvious to pursue the known options within the technical grasp of a skilled artisan. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as both Barnabas, JP’642 and Brand teach compositions which provide cleansing and conditioning comprising modified dextran.
The above references do not teach the dextran to have 90-98mol% of glucose units connect by α-D-1,6 linkages, 2-10% of glucose structural units connected by α-1,3-linkages and less than 0.1% of β-1,4-linkages.
As discussed above, Barnabas teaches the dextran to comprise α-1,6 glucoside bonds.
Pawar teaches Dextran is the name of a large class of a-D-glucans with anhydro-D-glucopyranose units, α-1,6-linkages are predominant features of dextrans. Dextrans are composed of 95% a-1,6-glucopyranosidic linkages and 5% 1,3- linkages. Pawar teaches that Dextrans obtained from different sources possess different structures and properties, i.e. degree of branching, relative quantity of particular type of glycosidic links, molecular weight, solubility, optical activity and physiological action.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the above references with those of Pawar. As Barnabas does not specify the mol% of 1,6-glucoside linkages, one of skill in the art would have been motivated to use dextran which is commonly known, in particular which are those containing 95% α-1,6-glucopyranosidic linkages and 5% 1,3- linkages as those containing 1,3-linkages are the attachment point of side chains. One of skill in the art would have also been motivated to determine the source of dextran best for use via optimization as the source used is known to affect the structure and properties of the dextran. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as both Pawar and Barnabas discuss dextrans having α-1,6-glucose linkages and Pawar teaches specific structure of Dextran known to be used.
Regarding the claimed “formulation for the care of damaged hair” this is a recitation of intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the composition of the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim limitations. As discussed above the prior art makes obvious a formulation comprising the claimed dextran, dermatologically acceptable vehicle and silicone. Further, Barnabas teaches that the silicones are preferably neither irritating nor toxic, or otherwise harmful when applied to fabric or when they come in contact with human skin (pg. 20), thus it would be prima facie obvious to formulate the composition of Barnabas to only comprise ingredients which are neither irritating nor toxic to the skin, or otherwise harmful. As the composition of Barnabas is capable of being applied to the skin and comprises the claimed structure, the composition is expected to be capable of being used to care for damaged hair, absent factual evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 1-2 and 8: The above references do not specifically teach that the dextran polymer has the claimed Kjeldahl nitrogen content, however, the prior art makes obvious dextran polymers that encompass those of the present invention. Therefore, one of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that the dextran polymer made obvious above would possess the claimed Kjeldahl nitrogen content.
Regarding claims 3-4: Barnabas teaches that the fabric care composition can be used in the wash cycle and be formulated as a detergent composition (pg. 44) and the dextran modified with quaternary ammonium groups is taught to improve conditioning as such the composition made obvious above provide both detergent and conditioning properties and reads conditioning shampoo.
Regarding claim 4: Barnabas teaches that the formulation can comprise anionic surfactants such as alkyl alkoxylated sulfate surfactants for the formula RO(A)mSO3M, wherein R is a C10-24 alkyl or hydroxyalkyl group, A is an ethoxy/propoxy, m is between 0.5-6, and M can be sodium (pg. 44). Brand also teaches cleansing composition and teaches that suitable anionic surfactants include alkyl and alkyl ether sulfates in amounts ranging from 0.01-50% (Abs and [0033-0034]). Table 8 exemplified the use of SLES (sodium laureth sulfate), which are known cleansing surfactants. It would have been prima facie obvious to use as a cleansing surfactant SLES in the formulation of Barnabas as Barnabas teaches that anionic surfactants of formula RO(A)mSO3M can be effectively used and SLES is a surfactant that falls within this formula. Brand teaches that the surfactant can be used in hair products (table 8).
Regarding claims 5-7: As discussed above, Barnabas, Brant and JP’642 make obvious the composition comprising the quaternary ammonium groups of formula IIa and IIIa, wherein R2 and R3 are methyl, R5 is H and R4 is a C12 alkyl group.
Regarding claim 9: Barnabas teaches that the composition can optionally comprise additional ingredients such as colorants (pg. 129).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 and 8 of copending Application No. 18/264080 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach hair conditioner formulations, such as conditioning shampoos comprising cleansing surfactants, dermatologically acceptable vehicles and dextran. Both Applicants teach the same branched chain dextrans having overlapping molecular weight wherein both comprise the same quaternary ammonium groups bounds to the dextran and overlapping cationic degrees of substitution for the C12 alkyl group. Both teach overlapping Kjeldahl nitrogens contents and the inclusion of additional ingredients such as preservatives. US’980 teaches that silicones can be present in amounts of less than 0.1%, thus minimal amounts of silicone such as 0.05% are obvious for use.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/546310 in view of Brand (US 2010/0093584), University of Cambridge (2011) and Pawar (2008). US’310 teaches a shampoo formulation comprising a silicone, hair cleansing surfactant and a dermatologically acceptable vehicle. US’310 teaches a branched chain dextran which comprises quaternary ammonium groups bound to a pendent oxygen on the dextran polymer, these groups overlap with the claimed formula II and IIIa. The dextran is taught to have a Mw that overlaps with the claimed Mw. The dextran of US’310 has an overlapping Kjeldahl nitrogen contents. US’310 teaches the inclusion of a preservative (instant claim 8).
While US’310 teaches that quaternary ammonium groups can be used which implies more than 1, US’310 does not teach using a lower alkyl groups such as methyl and a higher alkyl group such as dodecyl.
Brand teaches the non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides can be a dextran with a Mw ranging from 200,000-1,000,000 in which cationic modifications comprise a mixture of at least two quaternary ammonium groups having a different combination of alkyl substituents which are covalently attached to the polysaccharide backbone via an ether, ester or urethane linkage [0012, 0020, 0030, 0032]. The first quaternary ammonium groups has an alkyl chain of 1 carbon, while the 2nd group preferably has 12, 18 or 22 carbons [0023-0025]. Examples 6-7 and 9-11 of Brand use a combination of hydroxypropyldimethyldodecylammonium (C12) and hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium (C1). Brand teaches the cationically modified polysaccharides provide conditioning and deposition benefits which are greater than the conditioning benefits of the same polymers which carry only one type of quaternary ammonium groups ([0013-0019] and working examples). Brand teaches the each cationic substituent on the polysaccharide to have a cationic degree of substitution of 0.0001- about 3 [0020]., which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-0.03.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US’310 with those of Brand. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the dextran of US’310 to comprise at least two quaternary ammonium groups with different alkyl substitutions, one trimethyl and one dimethyldodecylammonium (reading on formula III and II wherein R4 is C12 alkyl group, R2 is methyl, R3 is methyl and R5 is H), with the degree of cationic substitutions as taught by Brand, as Brand teaches that the use of 2 distinct quaternary ammonium groups results in greater conditioning benefits than those that comprise only one group.
US’310 does not teach the dextran based polymer as recited by the instant claims. The teachings of Pawar are discussed above and incorporated into this rejections. The claims are obvious for the same reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim 1-4 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-8 of copending Application No. 18/847697 (reference application) in view of Pawar (2008). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach hair conditioner formulations, such as conditioning shampoos comprising cleansing surfactants, dermatologically acceptable vehicles and dextrans. Both Applicants teach dextrans having overlapping molecular weight wherein both comprise the same quaternary ammonium groups bounds to the dextran and overlapping cationic degrees of substitution for the C12 alkyl group, and less than 0.1% of silicon containing molecules (which allows for amounts of say 0.05%). Both teach overlapping Kjeldahl nitrogens contents and the inclusion of addition ingredients such as preservatives.
US’310 does not teach the dextran based polymer as recited by the instant claims. The teachings of Pawar are discussed above and incorporated into this rejections. The claims are obvious for the same reasons.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,453,689 in view of Brand (US 2010/0093584) and Pawar (2008). US’689 teaches a conditioning shampoo formulation comprising cleansing surfactant such as SLES, a silicone and a dermatologically acceptable vehicle. US’689 teaches a dextran which comprises quaternary ammonium groups bound to a pendent oxygen on the dextran polymer, these groups overlap with the claimed formula II and III and can be selected from branched alkyl groups, reading on branched chain dextran. The dextran of US’689 has an overlapping Kjeldahl nitrogen contents. US’689 teaches the inclusion of a chelating agent.
While US’689 teaches that quaternary ammonium groups can be used which implies more than 1, US’689 does not teach using a lower alkyl groups such as methyl and a higher alkyl group such as dodecyl.
Brand teaches the non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides can be a dextran with a Mw ranging from 200,000-1,000,000 in which cationic modifications comprise a mixture of at least two quaternary ammonium groups having a different combination of alkyl substituents which are covalently attached to the polysaccharide backbone via an ether, ester or urethane linkage [0012, 0020, 0030, 0032]. The first quaternary ammonium groups has an alkyl chain of 1 carbon, while the 2nd group preferably has 12, 18 or 22 carbons [0023-0025]. Examples 6-7 and 9-11 of Brand use a combination of hydroxypropyldimethyldodecylammonium (C12) and hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium (C1). Brand teaches the cationically modified polysaccharides provide conditioning and deposition benefits which are greater than the conditioning benefits of the same polymers which carry only one type of quaternary ammonium groups ([0013-0019] and working examples). Brand teaches the each cationic substituent on the polysaccharide to have a cationic degree of substitution of 0.0001- about 3 [0020]., which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-0.03.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US’689 with those of Brand. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the dextran of US’689 to comprise at least two quaternary ammonium groups with different alkyl substitutions, one trimethyl and one dimethyldodecylammonium (reading on formula IIIa and IIa wherein R4 is C12 alkyl group, R2 is methyl, R3 is methyl and R5 is H), with the degree of cationic substitutions as taught by Brand, as Brand teaches that the use of 2 distinct quaternary ammonium groups results in greater conditioning benefits than those that comprise only one group.
While US’689 teaches a skin care composition and the instant claims are directed to hair care formulations, these are recitations of intended use. The composition of US’689 makes obvious the claimed structure and would be capable of being used as a hair conditioner formulations.
US’689 does not teach the dextran based polymer as recited by the instant claims. The teachings of Pawar are discussed above and incorporated into this rejections. The claims are obvious for the same reasons.
Claims 1-4 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,396,939 in view of Brand (US 2010/0093584) and Pawar (2008). US’939 teaches a skin cleansing formulation comprising cleansing surfactant such as SLES, less than 0.0001% of a silicon (which allows for amounts of say 0.05%)e and a dermatologically acceptable vehicle. US’939 teaches a branched chain dextran which comprises quaternary ammonium groups bound to a pendent oxygen on the dextran polymer, these groups overlap with the claimed formula II and III. The dextran of US’939 has an overlapping Kjeldahl nitrogen contents. US’939 teaches the inclusion of a fragrance oil (instant claim 8).
While US’939 teaches that quaternary ammonium groups can be used which implies more than 1, US’939 does not teach using a lower alkyl groups such as methyl and a higher alkyl group such as dodecyl.
Brand teaches the non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides can be a dextran with a Mw ranging from 200,000-1,000,000 in which cationic modifications comprise a mixture of at least two quaternary ammonium groups having a different combination of alkyl substituents which are covalently attached to the polysaccharide backbone via an ether, ester or urethane linkage [0012, 0020, 0030, 0032]. The first quaternary ammonium groups has an alkyl chain of 1 carbon, while the 2nd group preferably has 12, 18 or 22 carbons [0023-0025]. Examples 6-7 and 9-11 of Brand use a combination of hydroxypropyldimethyldodecylammonium (C12) and hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium (C1). Brand teaches the cationically modified polysaccharides provide conditioning and deposition benefits which are greater than the conditioning benefits of the same polymers which carry only one type of quaternary ammonium groups ([0013-0019] and working examples). Brand teaches the each cationic substituent on the polysaccharide to have a cationic degree of substitution of 0.0001- about 3 [0020]., which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-0.03.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US’939 with those of Brand. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the dextran of US’939 to comprise at least two quaternary ammonium groups with different alkyl substitutions, one trimethyl and one dimethyldodecylammonium (reading on formula IIIa and IIa wherein R4 is C12 alkyl group, R2 is methyl, R3 is methyl and R5 is H), with the degree of cationic substitutions as taught by Brand, as Brand teaches that the use of 2 distinct quaternary ammonium groups results in greater conditioning benefits than those that comprise only one group.
While US’939 teaches a skin care composition and the instant claims are directed to hair care formulations, these are recitations of intended use. The composition of US’939 makes obvious the claimed structure and would be capable of being used as a hair conditioner formulations.
US’939 does not teach the dextran based polymer as recited by the instant claims. The teachings of Pawar are discussed above and incorporated into this rejections. The claims are obvious for the same reasons.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613