DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The amendment filed on 06/30/2026 has been accepted and entered. Accordingly, claims 6, 8, 9 and 10 have been amended.
Claim 1-5 were previously canceled.
Claims 6-10 are currently pending.
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 6 has been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Since the scope of the amendment made to independent claims have been changed, the arguments do not apply to the new ground(s) in the current rejection. The arguments are essentially directed towards the newly amended limitations and they are addressed in this Office Action, below.
Claim 6, the applicant argued that Park fails to teach the terminal capability report including information or CRI on whether to support the NC-JT CSI measurement and the STRP measurement. In fact, Park is silent to capability information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a NCJT
measurement and a STRP measurement. Thus, Park cannot disclose or suggest above limitation (i) of amended independent claim 6. Gao is silent to a condition of receiving the indication, which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement. Thus, Gao fails to remedy the defects of Park and Tsai with respect to limitation (ii) of amended independent claim 6.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1-3&9, newly added Hindy clearly discloses that
a transmitter of the UE terminal is configured to transmit the UE capabilities information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/ reception point (STRP) measurement since the capability information of the UE provides the indication e.g., a lower index value and a higher index value to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement, Noted: a transmitter 210 of the UE terminal that transmits/reports its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel e.g., duplexing capabilities, beamforming capabilities in terms of antenna panels (see Hindy, Fig.1-2 [0043], Fig.1-2&9 [0069][0120], Fig.1-3&9 [0113][0116][0118]).
Additionally, Tsai discloses that an RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE is acquiring configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group (see Tsai, Fig.1 [0005] and Fig.1 [0029]).
Additionally, Gao discloses that capabilities of the UE is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement, and a processor of the UE is expecting/determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources since the transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment (see Gao, Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031], Fig.1-2 [0034], Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042] and Fig.13 [0173]).
Claims 8, 9 and 10, Applicant make arguments the same argument as in claim 6. Please see the above for examiner’s response.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding Claim 6, the applicant further argued that the combination would still fail to render amended independent claim 6 obvious, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had no motivation to supply the missing elements without the benefit of Applicant's own disclosure as a guide.
In response to applicant’s argument, the examiner respectfully disagrees with the above argument. As shown in Fig.1, Tsai clearly discloses that an RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE is acquiring configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group (see Tsai, Fig.1 [0029]). Therefore, a configuration information is indicating the number of CMRs inasmuch two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement of Tsai would be motivated to combine the teachings of Gao occurs in accordance with capabilities of the UE by using the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) measurement since the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT are received for channel measurement resources (see Tsai, Fig.1 [0005] and Fig.1 [0029]).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, it would have been beneficial to use capabilities of the UE which is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement, and a processor of the UE is expecting/ determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources as taught by Gao to have incorporated in the system of Tsai to provide for an improved solution of channel state information reporting in NR system. (Gao, Fig.1 [0004], Fig.1 [0005], Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031], Fig.1-2 [0034] and Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042]) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences
between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole
would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person
having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not
be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hindy et al. (provisional application No. 63/108251 filed on 10/30/2020 and provisional application No. 63/117444 filed on 11/23/2020) [hereinafter as Hindy], US 2022/0140981 A1 in view of Tsai et al. [hereinafter as Tsai], US 2020/0153581 A1 further in view of Gao et al. [hereinafter as Gao], US 2024/0063870 A1.
Regarding claim 6, Hindy discloses wherein a terminal (Fig.1-2 [0043][0069], a UE terminal) comprising:
a transmitter that transmits capability information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement (Fig.1-2&9 [0069][0120], a transmitter of the UE terminal is configured to transmit the UE capabilities information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.1-3&9 [0113][0116][0118], the capability information of the UE provides the indication e.g., a lower index value and a higher index value to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.1-2&9 [0043][0118][0120], a transmitter 210 of the apparatus 200 terminal transmits/ reports its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel e.g., duplexing capabilities, beamforming capabilities in terms of antenna panels).
Even though Hindy discloses the UE terminal reporting its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches wherein a receiver that receives information indicating, as the CMR for the NCJT measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group (Fig.1 [0029], RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE is acquiring configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., CMR for NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group and Fig.1 [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy to incorporate the teaching of Tsai in order to provide for improvement of multi-connection communication.
It would have been beneficial to use RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE which is acquiring configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., CMR for NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group as taught by Tsai to have incorporated in the system of Hindy to provide for higher data rate and higher spectral efficiency gains. (Tsai, Fig.1 [0003], Fig.1 [0005] and Fig.1 [0029])
Even though Hindy and Tsai disclose a receiver that receives information indicating, as a channel measurement resource (CMR) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group; and receiving the indication,
which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement, but Hindy and Tsai do not explicitly disclose a processor that, when receiving the indication, determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the STRP measurement, in the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches wherein a processor that, when receiving the indication, which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement (Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031] [0041]-[0042], capabilities of the UE is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement),
determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the STRP measurement (Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042], processor of the UE is expecting/determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and Fig.1-2 [0034], transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment and Fig.13 [0173], a processor 1310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy and Tsai to incorporate the teaching of Gao in order to improve the management of beamforming and beam-steering.
It would have been beneficial to use capabilities of the UE which is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement, and a processor of the UE which is expecting/ determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/ reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and, transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment as taught by Gao to have incorporated in the system of Hindy and Tsai to provide for an improved solution of channel state information reporting in NR system. (Gao, Fig.1 [0004], Fig.1 [0005], Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031], Fig.1-2 [0034] and Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042])
Regarding claim 7, Hindy, Tsai and Gao disclose all the elements of claim 6 as stated above wherein Tsai further discloses the processor determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the
STRP measurement in a certain frequency range (Fig.1&6 [0030][0039], the processor 132 determines to use at least one of the CMRs associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the STRP measurement in a FR2 i.e., certain frequency range), and determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs only for the NCJT measurement in a frequency range other than the certain frequency range (Fig.1&6 [0029][0039], determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs only for the NCJT measurement in a F1 i.e., frequency range other than the FR2/certain frequency range).
Regarding claim 8, Hindy discloses wherein a radio communication method for a terminal (Fig.1-2 [0043][0069], a radio signals communication method for a UE terminal), comprising:
transmitting capability information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement (Fig.1-2&9 [0069][0120], a transmitter of the UE terminal is configured to transmit the UE capabilities information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.1-3&9 [0113][0116][0118], the capability information of the UE provides the indication e.g., a lower index value and a higher index value to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.1-2&9 [0043][0118][0120], a transmitter 210 of the apparatus 200 terminal transmits/ reports its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel e.g., duplexing capabilities, beamforming capabilities in terms of antenna panels).
Even though Hindy discloses the UE terminal reporting its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches wherein receiving information indicating, as the CMR for the NCJT measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR group (Fig.1 [0029], RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE is acquiring information configuration indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., CMR for NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group and Fig.1 [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy to incorporate the teaching of Tsai in order to provide for improvement of multi-connection communication.
It would have been beneficial to use RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE which is acquiring configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., CMR for NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group as taught by Tsai to have incorporated in the system of Hindy to provide for higher data rate and higher spectral efficiency gains. (Tsai, Fig.1 [0003], Fig.1 [0005] and Fig.1 [0029])
Even though Hindy and Tsai disclose wherein receiving information indicating, as the CMR for the NCJT measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR group; and receiving the indication,
which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement but Hindy and Tsai do not explicitly disclose when receiving the indication, determining to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the STRP measurement, in the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches wherein when receiving the indication, which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement (Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031][0041]-[0042], capabilities of the UE is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement),
determining to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the STRP measurement (Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042], processor of the UE is expecting/determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and Fig.1-2 [0034], transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment and Fig.13 [0173], a processor 1310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy and Tsai to incorporate the teaching of Gao in order to improve the management of beamforming and beam-steering.
It would have been beneficial to use capabilities of the UE which is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement, and a processor of the UE which is expecting/ determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/ reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and, transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment as taught by Gao to have incorporated in the system of Hindy and Tsai to provide for an improved solution of channel state information reporting in NR system. (Gao, Fig.1 [0004], Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031], Fig.1-2 [0034], Fig.1-2 [0041]-[0042] and Fig.13 [0173])
Regarding claim 9, Hindy discloses wherein a base station (Fig.1-2 [0038][0042], a base station network unit) comprising:
a receiver that receives, from a terminal, capability information that indicates support of
indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint
transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP)
measurement (Fig.1-2&9 [0069][0120], a receiver of the base station is receiving from a UE terminal the UE capabilities information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.1-3&9 [0113][0116][0118], the capability information of the UE provides the indication e.g., a lower index value and a higher index value to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.3 [0051][0118][0120], a transmitter 310 of the apparatus 300 network unit, the gNB network is receiving UE capability reporting with respect to the “UE panel” and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel e.g., duplexing capabilities, beamforming capabilities in terms of antenna panels).
Even though Hindy discloses the UE terminal reporting its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches wherein a transmitter that transmits, to the terminal, information indicating, as the CMR for the NCJT measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR group (Fig.1 [0027][0029], RF transceiver 153 of the gNB 102/base station is transmitting configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., the CMR for the NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group and Fig.1 [0005]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy to incorporate the teaching of Tsai in order to provide for improvement of multi-connection communication.
It would have been beneficial to use RF transceiver 153 of the gNB 102/base station which is transmitting configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., the CMR for the NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group as taught by Tsai to have incorporated in the system of Hindy to provide for higher data rate and higher spectral efficiency gains. (Tsai, Fig.1 [0003], Fig.1 [0005] and Fig.1 [0027][0029])
Even though Hindy and Tsai discloses a transmitter that transmits, to a terminal, information indicating, as the CMR for the NCJT measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR group; and receiving the indication, which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement but Hindy and Tsai do not explicitly discloses a processor that, when transmitting the indication, to the terminal, controls to receive a report of measurements, the report of measurements being performed by the terminal that determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the CMR for the NCJT measurement, in the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches wherein a processor that, when transmitting the indication, which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement (Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031] [0041]-[0042], capabilities of the UE is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement),
to the terminal, controls to receive a report of measurements, the report of measurements being performed by the terminal that determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the CMR for the NCJT measurement (Fig.1-2&13 [0040][0173], the processor 1310 of the TRP/base station is controlling to receive a report of measurements procedure, the report of measurements being performed by the UE and Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042], processor of the UE is expecting/determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when transmitting the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and Fig.1-2 [0034], transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment and Fig.13 [0172]-[0173], a processor 1310 of the TRP/base station).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy and Tsai to incorporate the teaching of Gao in order to improve the management of beamforming and beam-steering.
It would have been beneficial to use capabilities of the UE which is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement, and the processor 1310 of the TRP/base station which is controlling to receive a report of measurements procedure, the report of measurements being performed by the UE and processor of the UE is expecting/ determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when transmitting the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and, transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment as taught by Gao to have incorporated in the system of Hindy and Tsai to provide for an improved solution of channel state information reporting in NR system. (Gao, Fig.1 [0004], Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031], Fig.1-2 [0034], Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042] and Fig.13 [0172]-[0173])
Regarding claim 10, Hindy discloses wherein a system comprising a terminal and a base station (Fig.1-2 [0038][0042] [0043][0069], a system comprising a UE terminal and a base station network unit), wherein the terminal (Fig.1-2 [0043][0069], the UE terminal) comprises:
a transmitter of the terminal that transmits capability information that indicates support
of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent
joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement (Fig.1-2&9 [0069][0120], a transmitter of the UE terminal is configured to transmit the UE capabilities information that indicates support of indication to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.1-3&9 [0113][0116][0118], the capability information of the UE provides the indication e.g., a lower index value and a higher index value to use a channel measurement resource (CMR) for both a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) measurement and a single transmission/reception point (STRP) measurement and Fig.1-2&9 [0043][0118][0120], a transmitter 210 of the apparatus 200 terminal transmits/ reports its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel e.g., duplexing capabilities, beamforming capabilities in terms of antenna panels).
Even though Hindy discloses the UE terminal reporting its UE capability with respect to the “UE panel” to the gNB network and supporting UL transmission from one beam within a panel, in the same field of endeavor, Tsai teaches wherein a receiver that receives information indicating, as the CMR for the NCJT measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR group (Fig.1 [0029], RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE is acquiring configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., the CMR for the NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group and Fig.1 [0005]); and the base station (Fig.1 [0027], the gNB 102/base station) comprises:
a transmitter of the base station that transmits the information to the terminal (Fig.1 [0027][0029], RF transceiver 153 of the gNB 102/base station is transmitting configuration information to the mobile station 103/UE/terminal).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy to incorporate the teaching of Tsai in order to provide for improvement of multi-connection communication.
It would have been beneficial to use RF transceiver 137/receiver of the mobile station 103/UE which is acquiring configuration information indicating, as two channel measurement resources (CMRs) for a non-coherent joint transmission (NCJT) i.e., the CMR for the NCJT measurement, at least one of the CMRs is associated with a first reference signal from the first TRP and at least one of the CMRs is associated with a second reference signal from the second TRP i.e., a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR Group and RF transceiver 153 of the gNB 102/base station is transmitting configuration information to the mobile station 103/UE/terminal as taught by Tsai to have incorporated in the system of Hindy to provide for higher data rate and higher spectral efficiency gains. (Tsai, Fig.1 [0003], Fig.1 [0005] and Fig.1 [0027][0029])
Even though Hindy and Tsai discloses a receiver that receives information indicating, as the CMR for the NCJT measurement, a first number of CMRs from a first CMR group and a second number of CMRs from a second CMR group; and receiving the indication, which is indicated by the capability information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement but Hindy and Tsai does not explicitly discloses a processor that, when receiving the indication, determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the STRP measurement, in the same field of endeavor, Gao teaches wherein a processor that, when receiving the indication, which is indicated by the capability
information, to use the CMR for both NCJT measurement and STRP measurement (Fig.1-2 [0030]-[0031][0041]-[0042], capabilities of the UE is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement), determines to use the first number of CMRs and the second number of CMRs for both the NCJT measurement and the STRP measurement (Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042], processor of the UE is expecting/ determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/ reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and Fig.1-2 [0034], transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment and Fig.13 [0173], a processor 1310).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide to have modified Hindy and Tsai to incorporate the teaching of Gao in order to improve the management of beamforming and beam-steering.
It would have been beneficial to use capabilities of the UE which is indicating the capability information and providing to use the Channel Measurement Resources (CMR) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement, and a processor of the UE which is expecting/ determining to use the first number of Channel Measurement Resources (CMRs) and the second number of (CMRs) for both the NCJT measurement and a single-TRP (transmission/reception point) i.e., STRP measurement when receiving the indication e.g., rank indicators (RIs), precoding matrix indices (PMIs), layer indices (Lis) and CQI per codeword of NCJT for channel measurement resources and, transmission/reception point is generally indicating a station communicating with the user equipment as taught by Gao to have incorporated in the system of Hindy and Tsai to provide for an improved solution of channel state information reporting in NR system. (Gao, Fig.1 [0004], Fig.1-2 [0040]-[0042] and Fig.13 [0173])
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tosato et al. (Pub. No.: US 2022/0321175 A1) teaches CRI Extension for Multi-TRP CSI Enhancement.
Kim et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 11515918 B2) teaches Method and Apparatus for Transmitting and Receiving Channel State Information in Wireless Communication System.
Qi (U.S Patent No.: US 11005636 B2) teaches Channel State Feedback Method and Apparatus in Communication System.
Sun et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 10631329 B2) teaches Non-Coherent Joint Transmission Techniques.
Tang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2019/0097781 A1) teaches CQI Measurement Method, Apparatus, and Wireless Communication System.
Chen et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 12335761 B2) teaches Method and Apparatus for Indicating Measurement Purpose of Channel State Information and System.
Hao et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 11962528 B2) teaches CSI for Non-Coherent Joint Transmission.
Christodoulou et al. (U.S Patent No.: US 11356149 B2) teaches Method and Apparatus for Non-Coherent Joint Detection in Wireless Communication Systems.
Liu et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0387993 A1) teaches CQI Measurement Method, Apparatus, and Wireless Communication System.
/V.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414