DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-16, drawn to a battery module apparatus.
Group II, claim 17, drawn to a manufacturing method for a battery module.
Group III, claim 18, drawn to a manufacturing method for a battery module.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I-III lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of a plurality of pouch battery cells which are stacked next to each other in a horizontal direction; each battery cell comprising a positive terminal tab and a negative terminal tab extruding from a same edge of the battery cell; a fastening portion per one battery cell, the fastening portion is a longitudinally shaped element, wherein the fastening portion is placed along the edge of the battery cell adjacent to the respective terminal tab; the positive and negative terminal tabs have a bent configuration on top of a surface of the longitudinal shaped fastening portion; wherein the fastening portion is configured to hinder movement of the battery cells in an orthogonal direction compared to a longest dimension of the fastening portion; and wherein the battery cells are configured to be placed adjacently within the battery module so that respective fastening portions aligned in a parallel direction create support for the battery module, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Kruger (US 2018/0026296 A1). Kruger discloses an apparatus comprising: plurality of pouch battery cells 110 (paragraph 42) which are stacked next to each other in a horizontal direction (see Figure 2); each battery cell comprising a positive terminal tab 106 and a negative terminal tab 107 extending from a same edge of the battery cell 110 (see Figure 1); a fastening bar 136 per battery cell, the fastening bar 136 is a longitudinally shaped element (see Figure 2), wherein the fastening bar 136 is placed along the edge 128 of the battery cell adjacent to the respective terminal tab (paragraph 57); the positive and negative terminal tabs have a folded configuration on top of a surface of the longitudinal shaped fastening bar 136 (paragraph 57); wherein the fastening bar 136 secures the cells (paragraph 57); and wherein the battery cells are configured to be placed adjacently within the battery module so that respective fastening bars 136 aligned in a parallel direction create support for the battery module (see Figure 4).
During a telephone conversation with Gregory Sebald on 2/11/26 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-16. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 17 and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 10 recites “wherein the fastening portions are molded fastening portions, or fastening portions, or both.” Stating that the fastening portions are fastening portions appears to be a typographical error. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 16 recites the broad recitation serially aligned support elements, and the claim also recites a single elongated fastening element which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. Claim 16 cannot remove limitations from the claim on which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 8-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kruger (US 2018/0026296 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kruger discloses an apparatus comprising: plurality of pouch battery cells 110 (paragraph 42) which are stacked next to each other in a horizontal direction (see Figure 2); each battery cell comprising a positive terminal tab 106 and a negative terminal tab 107 extending from a same edge of the battery cell 110 (see Figure 1); a fastening bar 136 per battery cell, the fastening bar 136 is a longitudinally shaped element (see Figure 2), wherein the fastening bar 136 is placed along the edge 128 of the battery cell adjacent to the respective terminal tab (paragraph 57); the positive and negative terminal tabs have a folded configuration on top of a surface of the longitudinal shaped fastening bar 136 (paragraph 57); wherein the fastening bar 136 secures the cells (paragraph 57); and wherein the battery cells are configured to be placed adjacently within the battery module so that respective fastening bars 136 aligned in a parallel direction create support for the battery module (see Figure 4).
Regarding claims 2 and 12, Kruger discloses that the bar 136 is hollow with screws, bolts, rivets, etc going through it and a clamp joint (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 3, Kruger discloses that the cells are connected in series (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 4, Kruger discloses that the tabs are folded over a flange 132 (paragraph 58).
Regarding claim 5, Kruger discloses that the tabs are folded 90° (see Figure 2).
Regarding claims 8-10, Kruger discloses that bar 136 is plastic (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 11, Kruger discloses that that housing 100 is made of metal (paragraph 42).
Regarding claim 13, Kruger discloses that thermally conductive backing plate 102 between the cells (paragraph 39).
Regarding claim 14, Kruger discloses that compression foam sheets 120 between the cells (paragraph 44).
Regarding claim 15, Kruger discloses that consecutive fastening bars 136 have at least one indentation (see Figure 1) so that consecutive fastening portions in two adjacent rows of battery cells are connectable mechanically with one another, for creating a battery module comprising several a plurality of parallel rows of battery cells, and serially aligned lines of support elements formed by the connected fastening portions (paragraph 57).
Regarding claim 16, Kruger discloses that the serially aligned line of support elements formed by the connected fastening bars 136, multiples fastening bars 136 is set across a whole width of the battery module extending along multiple rows of battery cells, wherein the number of the battery cells within a row coincides with a number of the elongated fastening bars 136 placed in parallel within the battery module (see Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kroger as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shimamori (WO 2007063877 A1). The document provided by Applicant in the IDS filed on 8/2/23 is used for citation purposes.
Kroger discloses mechanical bonds and clamps and “other mechanisms” (paragraph 57) and welding (paragraph 84) but not laser or ultrasonic welds and bonds. Shimamori—in an invention for stack battery cells with bent tab connections means—discloses the use of ultrasonic bonding and laser welding (paragraph 64) because the heat dissipates easily (paragraph 55). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to utilize the known bonding techniques in Kroger for their known advantages as disclosed in Shimamori.
Conclusion
/IMRAN AKRAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725