DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election without traverse of Group 1, Species IA, claim 1-3, 5, and 7-15 in the reply filed on 09/15/2026 is acknowledged. Accordingly, claims 4, 6 and 16-18 and 20-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-15 are currently under examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
The “respectively” and “respective” in the claims should be deleted because its meaning in the claims is not clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 8-11, “a quantum dots” should read “a quantum dot” or “quantum dots”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when this claim recites "concentration of a respective product of a respective reactant”, because the definition of “respective product” and “respective reactant” is not clear. A product of a reactant could be any materials in the quantum dots layer. In the quantum dots layer, it generally comprises at least quantum dots and a matrix to host the quantum dots, it is not clear which component in the layer is the “respective product” and what is the “respective reactant” as claimed. In this office action, it is taken that the product is crosslinked quantum dots formed from quantum dots having reactive functional groups chelated to the quantum dots, based on the context of the present application. Claims 2-3, 5 and 7-15 are also rejected for depending from claim 1, thus inclusion of its indefinite features.
Claim 13 is rejected as being vague and indefinite when this claim recites "the concentration of the respective product in the third region is greater than the concentration of the respective product in the fourth region”, because it is not clear what is the respective product as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7 -13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al (US 2019/0219874, ‘874 hereafter) in view of Mei (CN 112410019A, of record, ‘019 hereafter, paragraph citation please see original document in Chinese).
Regarding claims 1-3, 5 and 7-13, ‘874 discloses a display substrate comprising a quantum dot layer having a plurality of quantum dots, which comprises a plurality of quantum dots blocks having a plurality of first apertures (Fig. 2 and Fig. 4, [0006], [0031]), the quantum dots block of the plurality of quantum dots blocks comprises a first region (S2 in the Figs 2 and 4) and a second region with a concentration of quantum dots in the first region is greater than a concentration of the quantum dots in the second region (S1 in the Fig. 2 and 4, [0006], [0033]). ‘874 does not disclose that the quantum dots having chelated functional groups being a product as presently claimed, However, in the same field of endeavor, ‘019 discloses a quantum dots layer comprising crosslinked quantum dots, which is a product of quantum dots having dienophile functional group chelated to the quantum dots by dimerization under UV radiation ([0007]-[0036]); and renders a quantum dots layer having high resolution with better display performance ([0050]). In light of these teachings, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use the quantum dots layer as taught by ‘019, to modify the quantum dot layer of ‘ 874, in order to render a display substrate having high resolution and better display performance. Regarding claims 12 and 13, ‘874 also discloses a light scatter layer having a plurality of light scattering blocks being second apertures includes a third region and a fourth region (Fig. 9, layer 42, has apertures 426 and 425, reading upon light scattering layer); and a bank layer is commonly used to separate optical units in a display substrate is well-known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The reason for the allowance is that the prior art of record does not specifically disclose or fairly suggest that a display substrate as recited in the claim 1, comprising a reactant having bis-dienophile as listed in the claims 14 and 15.
Relevant Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Park et al (US 2019/0055465). Park et al discloses a composition includes a plurality of quantum dots and a polymerizable monomer having carbon-carbon double bond.
Conclusion
/RUIYUN ZHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782