DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 22-28 and 44-49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takeda et al. (US 2022/0247529) in view of Ingale et al. (US 2020/0053607, IDS Reference).
Regarding claims 1 and 22, Takeda et al. disclose a first device (Figure 1, UE 115; Figure 2, UE 215; Figure 9 and paragraph 152, a device 905 that supports temporary reference signal for fast SCell activation in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 905 may be an example of or include the components of a device 605, a device 705, or a UE 115 as described herein), comprising:
at least one processor (Figure 9, processor 940); and
at least one memory including computer program code (Figure 9, memory 930 including code 935);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to:
receive, at a first device and via a first cell of a second device, an activation indication to activate a second cell of a third device (Figure 2, UE 215 receives SCell activation message from gNB 205 [second device] of PCell [first cell]. Base station 210 corresponds to third device of second cell [SCell]; Paragraph 104, Base station 205 may then transmit an SCell activation message to UE 215 indicating that base station 210 (e.g., the SCell) is to be activated in addition to the PCell (e.g., base station 205 in this example));
monitor a first set of reference signals from the second cell (Figure 2 and Paragraph 105, UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform AGC actions using the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot location);
determine, based on the first set of reference signal a downlink timing in the second cell (Paragraphs 4 and 46, The UE may then measure the aperiodic reference signals from the SCell(s) using the associated resources, e.g., in the first portion of aperiodic reference signal in slot n and the slot offset identifying slot n+k where the second portion of aperiodic reference signals are, which constitutes non-consecutive slots. This may enable to the UE to synchronize [determine timing] with the SCell in order to perform wireless communications more quickly and efficiently); and
measure a second set of reference signals from the second cell of the third device while performing activation of the second cell (Paragraph 105, UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform fine tuning (e.g., tracking) using the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot offset in relation to the slot location (e.g., during the second portion). Accordingly, UE 215 may transmit a CSI report to base station 210 indicating the results of the measurements in order to activate base station 210 as a SCell for UE 215).
Takeda et al. do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Ingale et al.: measure a second set of reference signals while performing a random access procedure to the second cell (Ingale et al., Paragraph 85, CSI-RS set 2 of target cell 104b can also be received (328) from target cell 104b in RAR during the random access procedure) and starts measuring the CSI-RS resource while in parallel UE 102 initiates RACH; Claims 3 and 9, measuring received CSI-RS resource during the RACH procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda et al. with the cited disclosure from Ingale et al. in order to early alignment with the target cell (i.e. SCell) (Ingale et al., Paragraph 62).
Regarding claims 2 and 23, Takeda et al. disclose wherein the second cell is a secondary cell configured with physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (Figure 2, SCell of base station 210).
Regarding claims 3 and 24, Takeda et al. in view of Ingale et al. disclose wherein a delay requirement of the activation of the second cell is determined based on: a slot in which the activation indication is received, a timing between a downlink data transmission and acknowledgement, a time duration for the activation of the second cell (Takeda et al., Paragraphs 96-97 and corresponding equations for calculating SCell activation delay), and a time duration for the random access procedure (Ingale et al. incorporating random access procedure time during CSI-RS measurement at initial access according to paragraph 85: CSI-RS set 2 of target cell 104b can also be received (328) from target cell 104b in RAR during the random access procedure) and starts measuring the CSI-RS resource while in parallel UE 102 initiates RACH; Claims 3 and 9, measuring received CSI-RS resource during the RACH procedure).
Regarding claims 4 and 25, Takeda et al. disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to:
receive, from the second device, first information indicating a measurement configuration to be applied for activation of the second cell (Paragraph 104, the SCell activation message may be transmitted or otherwise conveyed in a DCI and/or MAC CE (e.g., the DCI scheduling the MAC CE indicating SCell activation and/or in a different DCI)…the base station may use the SCell activation message as a time trigger or other reference on which the timing of the aperiodic reference signal 220 is based… the SCell activation message is a signal or trigger to the base station implementing the SCell to transmit the aperiodic reference signal 220 at the SCell);
wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the first device to measure the second set of reference signals by: measuring the second set of reference signals based on the measurement configuration (Paragraph 105, UE 215 may identify the slot location for the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 for cell activation measurements and the slot offset between the first portion and the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220. For example, UE 215 may identify the slot location and the slot offset based on the SCell activation message transmitted from base station 205).
Regarding claims 5 and 26, Takeda et al. disclose wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of:
a reference signal type,
where to measure the second set of reference signals in time domain (Paragraph 104, SCell activation message is a signal or trigger for the SCell to transmit the aperiodic reference signals; Paragraph 105, Paragraph 105, UE 215 may identify the slot location for the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 for cell activation measurements and the slot offset between the first portion and the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220. For example, UE 215 may identify the slot location and the slot offset based on the SCell activation message transmitted from base station 205).
where to measure the second set of reference signals in frequency domain, or
a periodicity for measuring the second set of reference signals.
Regarding claims 6 and 27, Takeda et al. disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: measure, from the second device, signals in the set of reference signals in a time interval specific to the secondary cell (Figure 2, slots [time interval] for aperiodic reference signals portions including a slot offset between portions; Paragraphs 104-105, UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform AGC actions using the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot location. UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform fine tuning (e.g., tracking) using the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot offset in relation to the slot location (e.g., during the second portion). Accordingly, UE 215 may transmit a CSI report to base station 210 indicating the results of the measurements in order to activate base station 210 as a SCell for UE 215).
Regarding claims 7 and 28, Takeda et al. disclose wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are configured to, with the at least one processor, further cause the first device to: transmit, via the second cell and to the third device, channel state information determined based on the measurement of the second set of reference signals (Paragraph 105, Accordingly, UE 215 may transmit a CSI report to base station 210 indicating the results of the measurements in order to activate base station 210 as a SCell for UE 215.)
Regarding claim 44, Takeda et al. disclose a non-transitory computer readable storage medium (Figure 9, memory 930) comprising program instructions (Figure 9, code 935) for causing a first device (Figure 1, UE 115; Figure 2, UE 215; Figure 9 and paragraph 152, a device 905 that supports temporary reference signal for fast SCell activation in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The device 905 may be an example of or include the components of a device 605, a device 705, or a UE 115 as described herein) to perform:
receiving, at the first device and via a first cell of a second device, an activation indication to activate a second cell of a third device (Figure 2, UE 215 receives SCell activation message from gNB 205 [second device] of PCell [first cell]. Base station 210 corresponds to third device of second cell [SCell]; Paragraph 104, Base station 205 may then transmit an SCell activation message to UE 215 indicating that base station 210 (e.g., the SCell) is to be activated in addition to the PCell (e.g., base station 205 in this example));
monitoring a first set of reference signals from the second cell (Figure 2 and Paragraph 105, UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform AGC actions using the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot location);
determining, based on the first set of reference signal a downlink timing in the second cell (Paragraphs 4 and 46, The UE may then measure the aperiodic reference signals from the SCell(s) using the associated resources, e.g., in the first portion of aperiodic reference signal in slot n and the slot offset identifying slot n+k where the second portion of aperiodic reference signals are, which constitutes non-consecutive slots. This may enable to the UE to synchronize [determine timing] with the SCell in order to perform wireless communications more quickly and efficiently); and
measuring a second set of reference signals from the second cell of the third device while performing activation of the second cell (Paragraph 105, UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform fine tuning (e.g., tracking) using the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot offset in relation to the slot location (e.g., during the second portion). Accordingly, UE 215 may transmit a CSI report to base station 210 indicating the results of the measurements in order to activate base station 210 as a SCell for UE 215).
Takeda et al. do not disclose the following limitations that are disclosed by Ingale et al.: measure a second set of reference signals while performing a random access procedure to the second cell (Ingale et al., Paragraph 85, CSI-RS set 2 of target cell 104b can also be received (328) from target cell 104b in RAR during the random access procedure) and starts measuring the CSI-RS resource while in parallel UE 102 initiates RACH; Claims 3 and 9, measuring received CSI-RS resource during the RACH procedure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takeda et al. with the cited disclosure from Ingale et al. in order to early alignment with the target cell (i.e. SCell) (Ingale et al., Paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 45, Takeda et al. disclose wherein the second cell is a secondary cell configured with physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), or a primary secondary cell (PSCell) (Figure 2, SCell of base station 210).
Regarding claims 46, Takeda et al. in view of Ingale et al. disclose wherein a delay requirement of the activation of the second cell is determined based on: a slot in which the activation indication is received, a timing between a downlink data transmission and acknowledgement, a time duration for the activation of the second cell (Takeda et al., Paragraphs 96-97 and corresponding equations for calculating SCell activation delay), and a time duration for the random access procedure (Ingale et al. incorporating random access procedure time during CSI-RS measurement at initial access according to paragraph 85: CSI-RS set 2 of target cell 104b can also be received (328) from target cell 104b in RAR during the random access procedure) and starts measuring the CSI-RS resource while in parallel UE 102 initiates RACH; Claims 3 and 9, measuring received CSI-RS resource during the RACH procedure).
Regarding claim 47, Takeda et al. disclose program instructions for causing the first device to perform:
receiving, from the second device, first information indicating a measurement configuration to be applied for activation of the second cell (Paragraph 104, the SCell activation message may be transmitted or otherwise conveyed in a DCI and/or MAC CE (e.g., the DCI scheduling the MAC CE indicating SCell activation and/or in a different DCI)…the base station may use the SCell activation message as a time trigger or other reference on which the timing of the aperiodic reference signal 220 is based… the SCell activation message is a signal or trigger to the base station implementing the SCell to transmit the aperiodic reference signal 220 at the SCell);
wherein measuring the second set of reference signals comprises: measuring the second set of reference signals based on the measurement configuration (Paragraph 105, UE 215 may identify the slot location for the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 for cell activation measurements and the slot offset between the first portion and the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220. For example, UE 215 may identify the slot location and the slot offset based on the SCell activation message transmitted from base station 205).
Regarding claim 48, Takeda et al. disclose wherein the measurement configuration comprises at least one of:
a reference signal type,
where to measure the second set of reference signals in time domain (Paragraph 104, SCell activation message is a signal or trigger for the SCell to transmit the aperiodic reference signals; Paragraph 105, Paragraph 105, UE 215 may identify the slot location for the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 for cell activation measurements and the slot offset between the first portion and the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220. For example, UE 215 may identify the slot location and the slot offset based on the SCell activation message transmitted from base station 205).
where to measure the second set of reference signals in frequency domain, or
a periodicity for measuring the second set of reference signals.
Regarding claim 49, Takeda et al. disclose program instructions for causing the first device to perform measuring, from the second device, signals in the set of reference signals in a time interval specific to the secondary cell (Figure 2, slots [time interval] for aperiodic reference signals portions including a slot offset between portions; Paragraphs 104-105, UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform AGC actions using the first portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot location. UE 215 may measure or otherwise perform fine tuning (e.g., tracking) using the second portion of the aperiodic reference signal 220 transmitted from base station 210 in the slot(s) corresponding to the slot offset in relation to the slot location (e.g., during the second portion). Accordingly, UE 215 may transmit a CSI report to base station 210 indicating the results of the measurements in order to activate base station 210 as a SCell for UE 215).
Conclusion
/OTIS L THOMPSON, JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477
August 29, 2025