DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, and 14-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the admitted prior art (instant figure 1) in view of US 4,465,267 to Chatelin.
Re-claims 1, 12, 15 and 17, the admitted prior art teaches a spring element (as part of an electrical heater, see background discussion) comprising: a first mounting section 3a/3b to mount the body on a housing; a first leaf spring including a first portion and a second portion, the first portion 7a/7b is secured to the body, at least a part (such as combined parts 6 or 9) thereof extends angularly with respect to a plane of the body, the first leaf spring exerts a predetermined urging pressure on an element disposed between the body and the housing as the body is mounted on the housing; a stress relieving section (curved end 2a) is formed along both lateral sides of the first leaf spring and proximal to the first portion, the stress relieving section in the form of a C-shaped cutout (i.e. the curved surfaces reduce stress concentrations) and is proximal to a mounting hole formed on the first mounting section 3a, a connecting part 9a/9b of the first portion of the first leaf spring is secured to the body and protrudes from the plane of the body and a remaining part 6a/6b of the first portion angularly extends with respect to the plane of the body along a straight line. However, the prior art fails to show the C-shaped cutout having opposing bulbous ends, the bulbous ends having a convex section that narrows the width of the first portion.
Chatelin teaches a C-shaped cutout 14B at the end of a slot 12 having opposing bulbous ends (such as convex sections facing each other, see figure below), the ends have a convex section R1 that narrows the width of the first portion (see figure below, the convex sections are interpreted as the recessed portions on each side of the first portion). This feature serves to reduce stress concentrations at the end of the slit, as is known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have looked to Chatelin and their C-shaped cutout having opposing bulbous ends having convex sections that narrow the width of the first portion when having desired a stress relieving section for use in the spring element of the admitted prior art, as the stress relieving formation improves life expectancy of the spring element.
Re-claims 2, 3 and 10, the body has opposing first and second mounting sections co-planer with respect to each other and offset from the plane of the body (see raised mounting sections 3a and 3b); the first leaf spring protrudes away from the body and away from the mounting section.
Re-claims 4 and 5, the mounting hole receives a mounting bolt (see page 2 line 23 of the instant specification), the mounting hole is aligned to a longitudinal axis of the leaf spring, see instant figure 1.
Re-claims 6, 7 and 9, the spring element has two leaf springs and a central bridge between the leaf springs, spaced apart openings disposed on opposite sides of the bridge are co-planer with each other; the leaf springs are smaller than the openings.
Re-claims 8 and 16, as modified with the bulbous shaped cutouts, the first leaf spring would have a varying width along its length, as the C-shaped cutout would define a first width and the remaining extension would define at least a second width.
Re-claims 14 and 18, the admitted prior art fails to teach a range of 1-5 mm for the C-shaped cutout. It is noted that this is merely one of engineering or design choice based upon the overall size of the spring element. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as a matter of design choice have chosen as a size range for the C-shaped cutout a range between 1 to 5 mm, as this would have optimized the cutout size relative to the overall dimension of the spring element.
Re-claim 19, the admitted prior art teaches a spring element comprising: a first mounting section 3a/3b to mount the body on a housing, a first leaf spring is secured to the body, at least a part (such as combined parts 6 or 9) thereof extends angularly with respect to a plane of the body, the first leaf spring exerts a predetermined urging pressure on an element disposed between the body and the housing as the body is mounted on the housing; a stress relieving section (curved end 2a) is formed along both lateral sides of the first leaf spring and proximal to the first portion, the stress relieving section in the form of a C-shaped cutout (i.e. the curved surfaces reduce stress concentrations) and is proximal to a mounting hole formed on the first mounting section 3a, a connecting part (such as 9) of the first portion of the first leaf spring is secured to the body and protrudes from the plane of the body. However, the prior art fails to show the C-shaped cutout with opposing concave and convex sections that narrow the width of the first portion.
Chatelin teaches a C-shaped cutout 14B at the end of a slot 12 having a concave section (inward recess) and a convex section (outwardly protruding, see figure below). This arrangement provides for a reduced stress concentration at the end of the slit, as is known in the art. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have looked to Chatelin and their C-shaped cutout with opposing concave and convex sections that narrow the width of the first portion when having desired a stress relieving section for use in the spring element of the admitted prior art, as the stress relieving formation improves life expectancy of the spring element.
Re-claim 20, the first leaf spring includes a first portion and a second portion, the first portion 7a/7b is secured to the body, the stress relieving section is proximal to the first portion, see figure 1.
Re-claim 21, the connecting part (such as part 7) is formed on the first portion of the leaf spring.
Re-claim 22, a remaining part of the first portion extends with respect to the plane of the body along a straight line (such as one of parts 6 or 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-10, 12, and 14-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
As stated above and in the cited prior art, the bulbous ends reduce stress concentrations attributed to ends having a less bulbous formation. The bulbous ends form a large inner curved surface that distribute forces, thus preventing isolated positions of stress concentration. This modification would lead to improved lifespan of the spring arm, specifically improving a spring arm deflection over a longer period of use. As such the modification is seen as a desired improvement that one of ordinary skill in the art would have sought out.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Muhr teaches a bulbous end of a slot, the bulbous end provides an increased stress relief portion.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiries concerning this communication or earlier communications from the
examiner should be directed to Thomas Williams whose telephone number is 571-272-7128.
The examiner can normally be reached on Tuesday-Friday from 6:00 AM to 4:00 PM.
supervisor, Robert Siconolfi, can be reached at 571-272-7124. The fax phone number for the
organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is 571-272-6584.
TJW /THOMAS J WILLIAMS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
September 17, 2026