DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant argument filed on 04/27/2026 on page 10-11 is not persuasive because as shown above, fig. 15 above as labeled by examiner discloses wherein the display substrate comprises a signal line DL;
wherein the signal line DL comprises: a first bridge connecting line (as labeled by examiner above which is part of DL) at least partially in a first bridge of the plurality of bridges;
a second bridge connecting line (as labeled by examiner above which is part of DL) at least partially in a second bridge of the plurality of bridges; and
a connecting structure (as labeled by examiner above which is part of DL connecting the first bridge connection line DL and the second connecting line DL) at least partially in a respective island of the plurality of islands, connecting the first bridge connecting line with the second bridge connecting line – as claimed,
wherein at least a portion of the connecting structure is in a layer different 300 (which is one island – see figs. 3-8 showing 300 on island only – meaning the connecting structure is on the island only and different) from the first bridge connecting line or the second bridge connecting line.
Fig. 5 show 300 on the island where the connecting structure in that layer as shown above, the connecting structure is different from the first bridge line and the second bridge line as claimed.
It is argued by the Applicants respectfully submit that the layer 300 in Park is an encapsulation layer (see, e.g., paragraph [0078] of Park). The connecting structure according to claim 1 is part of a signal line configured to be conductive and configured to transmit a signal. Applicants respectfully submit that the layer 300 in Park, because it' an encapsulation layer, cannot be part of a signal line.
Again, nowhere did the examiner state that 300 is the connecting structure. The arrow in fig. 15 clearly points to the DL which part of the signal line as claimed to connect the DL line in the two adjacent bridge structure.
The above response is applicable to applicant’s claim 4 argument.
Regarding claim 11, fig. 15 of Park discloses wherein at least the portion of the connecting structure is in a second conductive layer DL; and the first bridge connecting line and the second bridge connecting line are in a second signal line layer spaced apart from a first conductive layer by one or more insulating layers 310 (which has 3 layers) – note the first bridge connecting line and the second bridge connecting have space in between and are thus spaced apart and 310 is between them as claimed.
In response to the applicant argument against claims 12-13, if the applicant turns off the power, the everything is reset and as such DL signal have to restart and reset to begin anew.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 24 recites “the respective barrier structure comprises a portion of the planarization layer and a residual cathode material layer on a side of a portion of the planarization layer away from the base substrate” is new matter which is not found in the applicant’s original specification and/or drawings.
Applicant specification discloses in [0168] In some embodiments, the display substrate includes one or more barrier structures BL. A respective barrier structure of the one or more barrier structures BL is between two adjacent first groove of the one or more first grooves G1. Due to the presence of the respective barrier structure, in the process of depositing a first passivation material, the first passivation material deposited on the display substrate segregates into residual layers on top of the respective barrier structure. FIG. 17 illustrates a residual first passivation material layer rPVX1 segregated from the first passivation layer PVX1 due to the presence of the respective barrier structure. The residual first passivation material layer rPVX1 is on a side of a portion of the second planarization layer PLN2 away from the base substrate BS. The respective barrier structure includes the residual first passivation material layer rPVX1 and the portion of the second planarization layer PLN2.
As such claim 24 contains new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park et al. 20170278920.
Regarding claim 1, figs. 1-19 of Park discloses a display substrate, comprising a plurality of islands 101 and a plurality of bridges 102 connecting the plurality of islands;
wherein the display substrate comprises a signal line DL;
wherein the signal line comprises: a first bridge connecting line (as labeled by examiner above) at least partially in a first bridge of the plurality of bridges;
a second bridge connecting line (as labeled by examiner above) at least partially in a second bridge of the plurality of bridges; and
a connecting structure (as labeled by examiner above) at least partially in a respective island of the plurality of islands, connecting the first bridge connecting line with the second bridge connecting line;
wherein at least a portion of the connecting structure is in a layer different 300 (which is one island – see figs. 3-8 showing 300 on island only) from the first bridge connecting line or the second bridge connecting line.
Regarding claim 2, fig. 1 of Park discloses wherein the first bridge connecting line connects the connecting structure with a connecting structure in an adjacent island of the plurality of islands in a first adjacent column and in a same row; and the second bridge connecting line connects the connecting structure with a connecting structure in an adjacent island of the plurality of islands in a second adjacent column and in a same row.
Regarding claim 3, fig. 1 of Park discloses wherein the first bridge connecting line connects the connecting structure with a connecting structure in an adjacent island of the plurality of islands in a first adjacent row and in a same column; and the second bridge connecting line connects the connecting structure with a connecting structure in an adjacent island of the plurality of islands in a second adjacent row and in a same column.
Regarding claim 4, fig. 15 of Park discloses wherein at least the portion of the connecting structure is in a first conductive layer (DL); and the first bridge connecting line and the second bridge connecting line are in a first signal line layer spaced apart from the first conductive layer by one or more insulating layers 310 (which has 3 layers).
Regarding claim 11, fig. 15 of Park discloses wherein at least the portion of the connecting structure is in a second conductive layer DL; and the first bridge connecting line and the second bridge connecting line are in a second signal line layer spaced apart from a first conductive layer by one or more insulating layers 310 (which has 3 layers).
Regarding claim 12, Park discloses comprising a plurality of reset signal lines (ELVDD and ELVSS are reset signal lines as turning on and off reset the display);
wherein the signal line is a respective reset signal line of the plurality of reset signal lines (DL need power from ELVDD);
the first bridge connecting line is a first bridge reset signal line (first portion of DL line); and
the second bridge connecting line is a second bridge reset signal line (second portion of DL line);
wherein the connecting structure comprises:
a first reset signal branch line (the bending branch in fig. 15) connected to the first bridge reset signal line;
a second reset signal branch line (the other bending branch in fig. 15) connected to the second bridge reset signal line; and
one or more first reset signal connecting lines connecting the first reset signal branch line with the second reset signal branch line (they are all connected to ELVDD and ELVSS).
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses wherein the first reset signal branch line and the second reset signal branch line are in the second conductive layer (the connecting current of ELVDD and ELVSS are in); and the one or more first reset signal connecting lines are in a first signal line layer (the current lines are in).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Park et al. 20220262318 (Park18).
Regarding claim 29, Park discloses claim 1, but does not disclose of one or more integrated circuits connected to the display substrate. However, par [0057] of Park18 disclose of scan line and data line which would require scan driver and data driver.
As such it would have been obvious to form a display substrate of Park further comprising one or more integrated circuits connected to the display substrate such as taught by Park18 in order for drivers integrated circuit to provide require signals.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VONGSAVANH SENGDARA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893