DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-3 and 8, and the species listed below in the reply filed on 10/9/2025 is acknowledged.
The following species of dextran was elected by Applicant:
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/9/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “X is a divalent linking group,” however the structure of formula IIa and IIIa do not recite “X,” thus the metes and bounds of the claim are unclear.
Claim 8 recites “antimicrobial agent/preservative” and “protein/amino acid.” A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 8 recites the broad recitation antimicrobial, and the claim also recites preservatives which is the narrower statement of the limitation and recites the broad recitation amino acid, and the claim also recites proteins which is the narrower statement of the limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 8 recites “hair waving/straightening agent” it is unclear of the “/” is intended to refer to “and,” “or,” and “and/or”.
Claim 8 recites as an alternative ingredient a “hair care cleansing surfactant” it is not clear if this is intended to further limit the hair cleansing surfactant of claim 1 or is meant to be a 2nd additional surfactant.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2000159642, Brand (US 2010/0093584), University of Cambridge (2011) and Jachowicz (2004). While JP’642 is cited on the 8/3/2023 IDS, the examiner is providing a copy of the machine translation relied upon below. Brand is also cited on the 8/3/2023 IDS.
JP’642 discloses a shampooing composition forming a stable emulsion dispersion system (reading on dermatologically acceptable carrier) including a silicone derivative and a linear cationic polymer of formula I. JP’642 teaches the cationic polymer to have conditioning effects, as such a composition comprising this compound can be reasonably considered to be a hair conditioner (Abstract and [0006 and 0021]).
JP’642 notes that a silicone derivative paired with a linear cationic high molecular weight compound having the chemical formula (1) as shown below can exert a synergistic effect, making it possible to emulsify and disperse the silicone derivative very stably [0005]:
wherein R represents a hydrogen atom, a hydroxy lower alkyl group, or chemical formula (2) as shown below:
wherein R1 represents a hydrogen atom or a lower alkyl group and R2, R3, and R4 represent a lower alkyl group; at least one R is a quaternary nitrogen-containing group represented by Formula (2), and n is a positive number of 20 – 30,000 [0012-0014].
Claim 2 of JP’642 limits “lower alkyl” to be C1-C4 alkyl groups and JP’642 teaches trimethylammoniopropyl as a suitable groups, thus it’s obvious to formulate a quaternary ammonium group wherein R1 is H and R2, R3 and R4 are methyl, which reads on the claimed formula IIa wherein R5 is H and the R2’s are methyl.
Regarding the molecular weight of the dextran, Example 6, Table 2 contains raw material dextran having a molecular weight of about 100,000 and a nitrogen content of approximately 1.7%. While Table 2 does not explicitly disclose that the molecular weight unit of the raw material dextran corresponds to Daltons, claim 1 recites weight average molecular weights represented as “MW” in Daltons. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would conclude that the molecular weights represent weight average molecular weights, as evidenced by University of Cambridge, which states that weight average molecular weight, MW, rather than number average molecular weight, MN, is the most relevant average for molecules with high molecular weight.
However, JP’642 does not teach the dextran polymer to have a combination of quaternary ammonium groups of formula IIa and IIIa.
Brand discloses cleansing compositions for use in personal care formulations comprising non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides and anionic surfactants as essential ingredients.
Brand teaches the non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides can be a dextran with a Mw ranging from 200,000-1,000,000 in which cationic modifications comprise a mixture of at least two quaternary ammonium groups having a different combination of alkyl substituents which are covalently attached to the polysaccharide backbone via an ether, ester or urethane linkage [0012, 0020, 0030, 0032]. The first quaternary ammonium groups has an alkyl chain of 1 carbon, while the 2nd group preferably has 12, 18 or 22 carbons [0023-0025]. Examples 6-7 and 9-11 of Brand use a combination of hydroxypropyldimethyldodecylammonium (C12) and hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium (C1). Brand teaches the cationically modified polysaccharides provide conditioning and deposition benefits which are greater than the conditioning benefits of the same polymers which carry only one type of quaternary ammonium groups ([0013-0019] and working examples). Brand teaches each cationic substituent on the polysaccharide to have a cationic degree of substitution of 0.0001- about 3 [0020]., which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-0.03.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of JP’642 with those of Brand. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the cationically modified dextran of JP’642 to comprise at least two quaternary ammonium groups (i.e. JP’642 formula (2)), with different alkyl substitutions, one trimethyl and one dimethyldodecylammonium (reading on formula IIIa and IIa wherein R4 is C12 alkyl group, R2 is methyl, R3 is methyl and R5 is H), with the degree of cationic substitutions as taught by Brand, as Brand teaches that the use of 2 distinct quaternary ammonium groups results in greater conditioning benefits than those that comprise only one group. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as both JP’642 and Brand teach hair composition which provide cleansing and conditioning comprising cationically modified dextran having quaternary ammonium substitutions and JP’642 teaches that at least one quaternary ammonium group is formulated with lower alkyls, such as methyl.
Regarding the hair cleaning surfactant of instant claim 1, JP’642 teaches hair cleansing composition and teaches that additional ingredients such as anionic surfactants can be included [0021]. Brand also teaches cleansing hair compositions and teaches that suitable anionic surfactants include alkyl and alkyl ether sulfates in amounts ranging from 0.01-50% (Abs and [0033-0034]). Table 8 exemplified the use of SLES and SLS (sodium laureth sulfate and sodium lauryl sulfate), which are known cleansing surfactants. It would have been prima facie obvious to include a hair cleansing surfactant such as SLES or SLS as taught by Brand in the formulation of JP’642 as its prima facie obvious to pursue the known options within the grasp of a skilled artisan to formulate a hair cleansing composition comprising a cationically modified dextran and anionic surfactants.
The above references do not teach the nitrogen content in the manner claimed. While JP’642 teaches the nitrogen content of the raw material dextran of Example 6 has a nitrogen content of 1.7%, which overlaps with the claimed range, JP’642 does not expressly teach that the nitrogen content is measured by the Kjeldahl method and corrected for ash and volatiles as recited in instant claim 1.
Jachowicz teaches that both the Kjedahl and Dumas methods are used to determine the nitrogen content in cosmetic raw materials (Title and Page 16, Section 2.1.1.3). The Kjedahl method is specifically intended for the determination of the nitrogen content in nitrogen-containing polymers and is highly efficient at converting organic nitrogen into NH4+ in difficult to digest materials, whereas the Dumas method utilizes combustion to convert all nitrogen samples, which would include inorganic nitrogen fractions (Page 16, Section 2.1.1.3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of JP’6452 and Brand with those of Jachowicz and use the Kjedahl method to determine the nitrogen content of the dextran polymer with a reasonable expectation of success because Jachowicz teaches that the method is intended for use with nitrogen-containing polymers in cosmetic raw materials and is highly efficient.
Regarding claim 2: JP’642 teaches that the silicone derivatives include oils and these can be used in amounts as low as 0.001-10% [0008 and 0011], which overlaps with the claimed less than 0.01%.
Regarding claim 3: JP’642 teaches that the silicone derivatives can be used in amounts as low as 0.001-10% [0008 and 0011], which overlaps with the claimed less than 0.01%.
Regarding claims 8: JP’642 teaches that optional components include surfactants such as anionic surfactants, amphoteric surfactants, cationic surfactants, and nonionic surfactants, thickeners, preservatives, and pH adjusters, among others, which can be blended as necessary [0021].
Claim(s) 1-3 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2000159642, Brand (US 2010/0093584), University of Cambridge (2011) and Jachowicz (2004), as applied to claims 1-3 and 8 above, and further in view of Pawar (2008).
As discussed above, the prior art makes obvious the limitations of claims 1-3 and 8, however, they do not teach the dextran to have 90-98mol% of glucose units connect by α-D-1,6 linkages and 2-10% of glucose structural units connected by α-1,3-linkages as elected.
JP’642 teaches the dextran to comprise α-1,6 glucoside bonds.
Pawar teaches Dextran is the name of a large class of a-D-glucans with anhydro-D-glucopyranose units, α-1,6-linkages are predominant features of dextrans. Dextrans are composed of 95% a-1,6-glucopyranosidic linkages and 5% 1,3- linkages. Pawar teaches that Dextrans obtained from different sources possess different structures and properties, i.e. degree of branching, relative quantity of particular type of glycosidic links, molecular weight, solubility, optical activity and physiological action.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of the above references with those of Pawar. As JP’642 does not specify the mol% of 1,6-glucoside linkages, one of skill in the art would have been motivated to use dextran which is commonly known which are those containing 95% α-1,6-glucopyranosidic linkages and 5% 1,3- linkages as those containing 1,3-linkages are the attachment point of side chains. One of skill in the art would have also been motivated to determine the source of dextran best for use via optimization as the source used is known to affect the structure and properties of the dextran. One of skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success as both Pawar and JP’642 discuss dextran’s having α-1,6-glucose linkages and Pawar teaches a specific structure of Dextran known to be used.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-2 and 8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-9 of copending Application No. 18/263980 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both teach hair conditioner formulations, such as conditioning shampoos comprising cleansing surfactants, dermatologically acceptable vehicles and dextrans. Both Applicants teach dextrans having overlapping molecular weight wherein both comprise the same quaternary ammonium groups bounds to the dextran and overlapping cationic degrees of substitution for the C12 alkyl group. Both teach overlapping Kjeldahl nitrogens contents and the inclusion of addition ingredients such as preservatives. Copending ‘980 does not teach the inclusion of oils, such as they are consider to be oil free, which reads on the “less than 0.001%” as recited by instant claim 2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 3 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,396,939 in view of Brand (US 2010/0093584). US’939 teaches a skin cleansing formulation comprising cleansing surfactant such as SLES, less than 0.0001% of a silicone and a dermatologically acceptable vehicle. US’939 teaches a dextran which comprises quaternary ammonium groups bound to a pendent oxygen on the dextran polymer, these groups overlap with the claimed formula II and IIIa. The dextran of US’939 has an overlapping Kjeldahl nitrogen contents. US’939 teaches the inclusion of a fragrance oil (instant claim 8).
While US’939 teaches that quaternary ammonium groups can be used which implies more than 1, US’939 does not teach using a lower alkyl groups such as methyl and a higher alkyl group such as dodecyl.
Brand teaches the non-cellulosic cationically modified polysaccharides can be a dextran with a Mw ranging from 200,000-1,000,000 in which cationic modifications comprise a mixture of at least two quaternary ammonium groups having a different combination of alkyl substituents which are covalently attached to the polysaccharide backbone via an ether, ester or urethane linkage [0012, 0020, 0030, 0032]. The first quaternary ammonium groups has an alkyl chain of 1 carbon, while the 2nd group preferably has 12, 18 or 22 carbons [0023-0025]. Examples 6-7 and 9-11 of Brand use a combination of hydroxypropyldimethyldodecylammonium (C12) and hydroxypropyltrimethylammonium (C1). Brand teaches the cationically modified polysaccharides provide conditioning and deposition benefits which are greater than the conditioning benefits of the same polymers which carry only one type of quaternary ammonium groups ([0013-0019] and working examples). Brand teaches the each cationic substituent on the polysaccharide to have a cationic degree of substitution of 0.0001- about 3 [0020]., which overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01-0.03.
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of US’939 with those of Brand. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to formulate the dextran of US’939 to comprise at least two quaternary ammonium groups with different alkyl substitutions, one trimethyl and one dimethyldodecylammonium (reading on formula IIIa and IIa wherein R4 is C12 alkyl group, R2 is methyl, R3 is methyl and R5 is H), with the degree of cationic substitutions as taught by Brand, as Brand teaches that the use of 2 distinct quaternary ammonium groups results in greater conditioning benefits than those that comprise only one group.
While US’939 teaches a skin care composition and the instant claims are directed to hair care formulations, these are recitations of intended use. The composition of US’939 makes obvious the claimed structure and would be capable of being used as a hair conditioner formulations.
Conclusion
No claims are allowable.
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613