DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-11 are pending. Claims 9-11 are withdrawn from consideration due to a prior restriction request (see below).
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-8, in the reply filed on 02 February 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-8 will be examined within this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 6, which depends on Claim 2, recites “wherein the adding of an acid…”; however, this limitation lacks antecedent basis. Neither Claims 1 nor 2 recite anything about the addition of an acid. Since no claim outside of Claim 6 mentions the addition of acid (leading to any implementation of prior art being speculation for the examiner), for purposes of this examination, the examiner will not give patentable weight to this claim. Applicant is advised prior art could be applied in response to any amendments that would rectify this issue.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 requires “the organic solvent has a DI value of 20 or less”; however, this limitation renders the claim indefinite because the claim language is unclear what may be considered a DI value that would read on the claim. Further consultation of the specification does not give guidance. Search of the relevant prior art yields disclosures such as Randolph (US Pat Pub. 2004/0147795), Ahn (US Pat Pub. 2007/0079812) and Ament et al. (herein referred to as “Ament”, US Pat Pub. 2004/0180447), yet these references indicate DI values that regard motor fuel characteristics (Randolph, Paragraph [0076]; Ahn, Paragraph [0008]; Ament, Abstract, Paragraph [0056]). Therefore, the claim is unclear whether this value is referring to the same value as that of the above references or a different type of DI value. For purposes of this examination, the examiner will not give patentable weight to this claim. Applicant is advised prior art could be applied in response to any amendments that would rectify this issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Castillo-Welter et al. (herein referred to as “Castillo”, US Pat Pub. 2013/0098752).
Regarding instant Claim 1, Castillo discloses a method for removing a low-boiling point organic compound in a brine solution by distilling a brine solution produced in a process of preparing an aromatic compound in a distillation tower (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraph [0015]; Paragraph [0016]; Paragraph [0041]; distillation of low boiling solvents that produce aromatic compounds such as cyclohexane), the method comprising:
heat-exchanging the brine solution including the low-boiling point organic compound while forcing the brine to circulate by a forced circulation heat exchanger (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; Paragraph [0015]; Paragraph [0042]; distillation apparatus 2 with forced circulation and heat exchanger 11; see also solvents, liquid and aromatic compounds).
While Castillo is silent on the equation specifically, the equation is primarily dependent on the variables of fluid speed and fluid density with respect to the forced circulation heat exchanger—variables addressed in Castillo (velocity: Paragraph [0015]; Paragraph [0016]; Paragraph [0051]; density, which is influenced by temperature: Paragraph [0016]). Furthermore, Castillo discloses a flow speed of 1.5 m/s (Paragraph [0051]); using the formula of the instant claim, this would lead to acceptable fluid densities of 4.1 lb/ft3 to 1650 lb/ft3 with respect to the value of the empirical constant.
Considering the wide range of acceptable fluid densities with the desired flow rate of Castillo, and knowing water has a fluid density of 62.4 lb/ft3 at room temperature, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the fluid density of the brine solution to satisfy the equation of instant Claim at 1.5 m/s because doing so allows for a plurality of liquids/solutions at different densities to undergo the forced circulation heat exchanger process (Castillo, Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraphs [0002]-[0004]; Paragraph [0015]; Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. Castillo further discloses wherein the order to remove the low-boiling point organic material included in the brine solution produced during the process of preparing the aromatic compound,
extraction in which an organic solvent is added to extract the aromatic compound from a water-soluble layer into an organic solvent layer is included (Paragraph [0003]; Paragraph [0023]; Paragraph [0044]; Paragraph [0053]; recovered organic solvent is added to mostly aqueous phase in extraction step),
the brine solution is the water-soluble layer in the extraction (Paragraph [0003]; Paragraph [0023]; Paragraph [0044]; Paragraph [0053]; mostly aqueous solution).
Regarding instant Claim 3, Claim 2, upon which Claim 3 is dependent, has been rejected above. Castillo further discloses wherein the low-boiling point organic compound is the organic solvent which is added in the extraction in which the aromatic compound is extracted (Paragraphs [0002]-[0003]; Paragraph [0023]; Paragraph [0044]; Paragraph [0055]; organic solvent is part of extraction agent added from low-boiling parts).
Regarding instant Claim 4, Claim 1, upon which Claim 4 is dependent, has been rejected above. Castillo further discloses wherein water is sprayed from an upper portion of the distillation to the brine solution (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0002]-[0003]; Paragraph [0012]; Paragraph [0021]; Paragraph [0036]; Paragraph [0053]; flow restriction means which may be a nozzle, solvent may be water; therefore a spray would occur).
Regarding instant Claim 5, Claim 4, upon which Claim 5 is dependent, has been rejected above. Castillo further discloses wherein a temperature of the water is the same as a distillation temperature (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0002]-[0003]; Paragraph [0012]; Paragraph [0021]; Paragraph [0036]; Paragraph [0045]; Paragraph [0053]; evaporation is caused by expansion and not temperature change).
Regarding instant Claim 8, Claim 2, upon which Claim 8 is dependent, has been rejected above. Castillo further discloses wherein the extraction with an organic solvent is repeated twice or more (Paragraph [0023]; solvent may be used reused as extraction agent, indicating multiple uses).
Conclusion
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 03/05/2026