DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-3, 5, 7 & 14-17 in the reply filed on 3/25/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all claims of the three groups recite a modified RBC with a linked uric acid-degrading polypeptide prepared by a Staphylococcus aureus transpeptidase A variant (mgSrtA), which represents a special technical feature over the prior art. This is not found persuasive because the claims are not limited to that scope and also the art teaches or suggests the RBC as claimed (see below prior art rejections).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Note that applicant’s claims are remit with “optional” steps which fails to specifically limit the claims and may be better presented as dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7 & 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(2) as being anticipated by WO2019183292A1(RUBIUS).
Rubius discloses an RBC that has been linked to a uricase and a by a sortase enzyme to an endogenous membrane protein and pharmaceutical compositions of said RBCs. The linkage is made using one polypeptide containing the acceptor sequence LPXTG or LPXTA with a polypeptide containing the N-terminal donor sequence GGG.
uric acid transporter, wherein the uric acid degrading polypeptide comprises one or more polypeptides selected from a group consisting of: uricase, HIU hydrolase, OHCU decarboxylase, allantoinase and allantoicase; the uric acid transporter comprises one or more polypeptides selected from a group consisting of: URAT1, GLUT9, OAT4, OAT1, OAT3, Gal-9, ABCG2, SLC34A2, MRP4, OAT2, NPT1, NPT4, and MCT9. Rubius further discloses that the exogenous polypeptide can be conjugated to the surface of RBC by transpeptidase reaction mediated by a sortase enzyme to connect one polypeptide containing the acceptor sequence LPXTG or LPXTA with a polypeptide containing the N-terminal donor sequence GGG.D1 further discloses a method of making the engineered RBC.
The reference anticipates the claim subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7 & 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2019183292A1(RUBIUS) and WO2016096741(Dulat)
Rubius discloses an RBC that has been linked to a uricase (uric acid degrading polypeptide) and a by a sortase enzyme (SUMMARY OF INVENTION) to an endogenous membrane protein and pharmaceutical compositions of said RBCs. The linkage is made using one polypeptide containing the acceptor sequence LPXTG or LPXTA with a polypeptide containing the N-terminal donor sequence GGG, uric acid transporter. The uric acid transporter comprises one or more polypeptides selected from a group consisting of: URAT1, GLUT9, OAT4, OAT1, OAT3, Gal-9, ABCG2, SLC34A2, MRP4, OAT2, NPT1, NPT4, and MCT9 (page 8). Rubius further discloses that the exogenous polypeptide can be conjugated to the surface of RBC by transpeptidase reaction mediated by a sortase enzyme to connect one polypeptide containing the acceptor sequence LPXTG or LPXTA with a polypeptide containing the N-terminal donor sequence GGG.D1 further discloses a method of making the engineered RBC.
Rubius teaches using a multitude of known sortases, conjugations amd attachment motifs [p 5-10] and as such is suggestive that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed any known sortase and corresponding conjugation that said artisan would work like eth enzymes they utilized and it would have been further obvious to use Staphylococcus aureus transpeptidase A variant (mgSrtA), though not taught by Rubius, because Dulat teaches (II. ENZYMATIC CONJUGATION USING SORTASE A) Sortase A (SrtA) is a membrane bound enzyme which attaches proteins covalently to the bacterial cell wall. The specific recognition motif on the SrtA substrate is LPXTG, whereby the enzyme cleaves between the residues threonine and glycine. Sortase A lacking the membrane-spanning region (SrtA; amino acid residues 60-206 of Staphylococcus aureus SrtA) can be used (SEQ ID NO: 21). The recognition motif on the peptidoglycan is a pentaglycine motif. It has been shown that a triglycine and even a diglycine motif on the N-terminus is sufficient to support the SrtA reaction (Clancy, K.W., et al, Peptide science 94 (2010) 385- 396). The reaction proceeds through a thioester acyl-enzyme intermediate, which is resolved by the attack of an amine nucleophile from the oligoglycine, covalently linking peptidoglycan to a protein substrate and regenerating SrtA. SrtA can be used to covalently conjugate chemically synthetized peptides to recombinantly expressed proteins. This peptide cleaving reaction results in a Sortase A- substrate thioester intermediate.
Applicant is directed to pages 12-13 of KSR v Teleflex (500 US 398 2007) “ … the Court has held that a “patent for a combination which only unites old elements with no change in their respective functions . . . obviously withdraws what is already known into the field of its monopoly and diminishes the resources available to skillful men.” Great Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U. S. 147, 152 (1950). This is a principal reason for declining to allow patents for what is obvious. The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results.” “When a work is available in one field of endeavor, design incentives and other market forces can prompt variations of it, either in the same field or a different one(emphasis added). If a person of ordinary skill can implement a predictable variation, §103 likely bars its patentability. For the same reason, if a technique has been used to improve one device, and a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that it would improve similar devices in the same way, using the technique is obvious unless its actual application is beyond his or her skill.”
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); >see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 ("The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.");< ** In re Hoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc. v. Biocraft Laboratories Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In re Kulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997).
Accordingly, the claimed invention was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary
skill in the art at the time the invention was filed especially in the absence of evidence
to the contrary.
BLAINE LANKFORD
Examiner
Art Unit 1657
/BLAINE LANKFORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657