Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 10575356 B2) in view of Inoue et al. (US 20100128620, hereinafter “Inoue”).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Wu discloses:
A first communication device in a dual connectivity comprising: (Column 3 row 1-2: A process 30 in FIG. 3 is utilized in a network comprising a first BS and a second BS)
a transmitter configured to transmit a connection request to a second communication device in the dual connectivity; (Column 3 row 10-14: Step 304: The first BS transmits a first SN Addition Request message to the second BS, to configure the second BS as a first SN for the first UE, wherein the first SN Addition Request message comprises the first plurality of UE capabilities.)
a receiver configured to receive connection permission from the second communication device; (Column 3 row 25-28: Step 310: The second BS transmits a first SN Addition Request Acknowledge message comprising the first SCG configuration to the first BS in response to the first SN Addition Request message.)
and a processor configured to establish a first connection to the second communication device (Column 3 row 18-21: Step 308: The second BS generates a first Secondary Cell Group (SCG) configuration configuring the first UE to connect to a first cell of the second BS in DC with the first BS and the second BS), wherein the processor controls a communication of a terminal (Column 3 row 29-31: Step 312: The first BS generates a first radio resource control (RRC) message comprising the first SCG configuration, and transmits the first RRC message to the first UE; In one example, the first BS receives a first RRC response message (e.g., LTE RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message) from the first UE)
Wu does not disclose:
the receiver receives recommendation information related to installation of the first communication device from the second communication device.
However, Inoue discloses:
the receiver receives recommendation information related to installation of the first communication device from the second communication device. ([0073] – [0074] The mobile station 6 obtains propagation state data such as a path loss of a pilot signal transmitted from the macro base station 2#1, measures the location information of the own mobile station apparatus by means of GPS, etc., (Step S104), and transmits the measurement results to the home base station 3 (Step S105). The home base station 3 (second communication device) transmits the received measurement results to the requestor macro base station 2#1 (first communication device) via the network 1 (Steps S106, S107))
It would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling
date of the claimed invention, to modify the teachings of Wu with the teachings of Inoue, to
include the receiver receives recommendation information related to installation of the first communication device from the second communication device. The motivation would have been to provide a mobile communications system, a base station apparatus, a mobile station apparatus, and a propagation state collecting method that make it possible for a mobile station which resides within an area covered by a base station (regardless of whether it is a macro base station or a home base station) to obtain the propagation state of a wireless signal from a surrounding base station (regardless of whether it is a macro base station or a home base station) as well as location information for a measurement location. (Inoue ¶ [0011])
Regarding claim 3, Wu discloses:
wherein the receiver receives the recommendation information together with the connection permission. (Step 310: The second BS transmits a first SN Addition Request Acknowledge message (e.g., connection permission) comprising the first SCG configuration (e.g., recommendation information) to the first BS in response to the first SN Addition Request message.)
Regarding claim 5, Wu discloses:
wherein the processor performs control related to transmission and reception, based on the recommendation information. (Step 312: The first BS generates a first radio resource control (RRC) message comprising the first SCG configuration, and transmits the first RRC message to the first UE; In one example, the first BS receives a first RRC response message (e.g., LTE RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message) from the first UE)
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHU PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 2479 /JAE Y LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2479