Detailed Action
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-11 are pending and are being examined in this Office Action. Due to applicant’s claim amendments filed 7/24/26, the prior 103 rejection over Sun (CN 103102273), Fang and Patil is withdrawn. However, based on a new search and consideration in response to applicant’s amended claims, new rejections are in order as shown below.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because of the claim language “water content and oxygen content in the first vessel are each less than 20 ppm” in step (b). In step (a), the organic amine is placed in the first vessel. The amine may contain up to 1% by weight (10,000 ppm) water. Thus, it is unclear if the 20 ppm limit for the “water content and oxygen content “ applies to all of the contents of the vessel, including the amine or to something else. But the NMEA samples in applicant’s examples contain 794 to 1517 ppm water, which is higher than applicant’s limit. (Table 2) (paragraphs [0015], [0036] and [0040])
Reference to applicant’s specification refers to applicant’s PGPub: US 20240083837
Claim 1 is also indefinite because of the claim language for the “minimum sub-boiling temperature” in step (c). Under the plain language, each tier sets a lower limit on the temperature: the normal boiling point minus 160° C, the normal boiling point minus 120° C, or 25° C. However, applicant’s remarks describe the tiers as “tiered minimum sub-boiling temperature offsets,” such as an “at least 160° C offset” and a “greater than 25° C offset.” (applicant’s remarks filed 7/24/26, pages 4 and 8-9) The two readings give very different ranges. For example, NMEA has a normal boiling point of 156° C. (paragraph [0037]) Under the plain language, the claimed range for NMEA is 36-141° C. Under applicant’s reading, an offset of at least 120° C, the range is 36° C or less. That reading would exclude applicant’s own examples at 70-90° C. (paragraph [0038]) Thus, applicant’s remarks show that applicant may regard the invention as different from what the claim recites.
Further, the first two tiers state an offset from the normal boiling point, but the third tier states a bare number, “greater than 25° C.” It is unclear if this is a temperature or an offset. Also, it is unclear whether “between 150° C and 200° C” includes the end points. If it does, an amine with a normal boiling point of 200° C falls in two tiers with different minimum temperatures (40° C and 80° C). Thus, the metes and bounds of the claimed temperature are unclear.
For examination, the examiner interprets step (c) per its plain language. Each tier sets a lower limit. The sub-boiling temperature is from the tier minimum up to 15° C below the normal boiling point.
Claim 9 is indefinite because of the claim language “the organic amine containing liquid.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The dependent claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (CN 103102279, pub date 5/15/2013, in applicant’s IDS filed 8/3/23, the English translation is used herein, hereafter “Sun ’279), in view of Fang et al. (CN 109160876, pub date 1/8/2019, in applicant’s IDS filed 8/3/23, the English translation is used herein), further in view of Lautenschlager (EP 2161062, pub date 3/10/2010, the English translation is used herein), as evidenced by DuPont (DuPont™ Duolite™ C467 Product Data Sheet, Form No. 45-D03471-en, Rev. 2, Feb. 2023).
Determination of the Scope and Content of the Prior Art
(MPEP §2141.01)
Sun ’279 teaches a process for purifying monoethanolamine (MEA) by removing metal ion impurities from industrial grade MEA. (page 3, paragraph [0002]; claim 1)
Sun ’279 teaches that MEA is used for silicon wafer cleaning and photoresist stripping, and that metal ions such as Fe, Cu and Na in MEA harm semiconductor devices. (page 3, paragraph [0004])
Sun ’279 teaches passing the MEA through an ion exchange column packed with an aminophosphonic acid chelating resin, at 5-50° C, under nitrogen. Sun ’279 teaches that the whole process is carried out under nitrogen, with the equipment placed in a nitrogen glove box, because MEA absorbs carbon dioxide from the air. (claim 1; pages 4-5, paragraphs [0011]-[0013]) Sun ’279 contacts industrial grade MEA with the chelating resin. (page 6, paragraph [0021]) Sun ’279 does not state the water content of the MEA.
Sun ’279 exemplifies the aminophosphonic acid chelating resins C900 and Duolite C467. Sun ’279 reduces Ca from 0.15 ppm to less than 0.08 ppm, Na from 0.17 ppm to less than 0.02 ppm, and Zn from 0.03 ppm to less than 0.01 ppm. (pages 8-9, paragraphs [0038]-[0052])
The Duolite C467 resin has –CH2–NH–CH2–PO3Na2 functional groups, which are aminomethylphosphonic acid groups, on a macroporous styrene-divinylbenzene matrix. Its harmonic mean bead size is 500-700 µm. (DuPont, page 1) DuPont is cited only to show the structure of the Duolite C467 resin named by Sun ’279.
Sun ’279 teaches that the aminophosphonic acid resins are more suitable and more effective for MEA than the iminodiacetic acid resins D401 and D751. (pages 10-11, paragraphs [0059], [0066] and [0069])
Sun ’279 teaches that MEA with reduced metal ions is a raw material for making ultrapure MEA, and lowers the cost of distillation. (page 4, paragraph [0007])
Sun ’279 teaches that its process is especially suitable for purifying electronic grade organic chemicals, and avoids metal ion contamination of these chemicals during storage and transport. Sun ’279 also teaches that the process can be used for diethanolamine, triethanolamine and N-methyldiethanolamine. (page 11, paragraph [0070])
Thus, with regard to applicant’s step (e) in claim 1, Sun ’279 teaches contacting an organic amine (MEA) with a resin polymer matrix embedded with aminomethylphosphonic acid. With regard to applicant’s claim 10, Sun ’279 teaches monoethanolamine, diethanolamine, triethanolamine and N-methyldiethanolamine.
With regard to applicant’s claims 7 and 9, the Duolite C467 resin of Sun ’279 has a polystyrene-divinylbenzene matrix and a harmonic mean bead size of 500-700 µm, which is within the claimed 100-2000 µm, as evidenced by DuPont.
Ascertainment of the Difference Between Scope the Prior Art and the Claims
(MPEP §2141.012)
Sun ’279 is deficient in the sense that it does not teach applicant’s steps (a)-(d), the sub-boiling steps under inert gas. Sun ’279 also does not teach applicant’s water limit in step (a).
However, Fang et al. teaches a method for preparing electronic grade cyclohexanone, which is used for cleaning precision electronic components. (page 2, paragraph [0004])
Fang teaches (1) reduced pressure distillation to remove water, light components, heavy components and other impurities; (2) ion exchange resin adsorption to remove most of the metal ions; and (3) sub-boiling distillation. (page 3, paragraphs [0008]-[0010])
Fang teaches adding the resin-treated cyclohexanone to a sub-boiling still, replacing the still with high-purity argon 4 to 6 times to remove the air, and heating the cyclohexanone under high-purity argon to remove metal ions. (page 3, paragraph [0010]; page 7, paragraph [0041])
Fang teaches that the argon avoids contamination by impurities in the air. (page 6, paragraph [0031])
Fang teaches that, since the cyclohexanone does not reach its boiling point, tiny droplets or aerosols that carry impurities do not enter the gas phase and do not mix into the product during recondensation. (page 5, paragraphs [0025]-[0026])
Fang obtains a product with each of lead, copper, iron, magnesium, calcium, aluminum, zinc, manganese, mercury, chromium, nickel, potassium and sodium at 10 ppb or less, and a moisture content of 100 ppm or less. (pages 7-8, paragraph [0041]; page 5, paragraph [0027])
Fang does not teach a sub-boiling temperature at least 15° C below the normal boiling point. Fang heats the cyclohexanone to 145-150° C. (page 3, paragraph [0010]) As noted by applicant, cyclohexanone boils at about 155° C. (applicant’s remarks, page 9)
Further, Lautenschlager teaches a sub-boiling apparatus with a distillation vessel, a cooling system and a condensate tank, which are in fluid communication. Lautenschlager teaches that in sub-boiling distillation the product is heated only to below its boiling point. Lautenschlager teaches that boiling forms bubbles, and that the bursting bubbles carry dirt particles from the product into the distillate. Lautenschlager teaches keeping the solvent below its boiling point, so that no bubbles form, since highly pure chemicals are needed for semiconductors. Lautenschlager teaches that the solvent can be distilled at a temperature well below its boiling point. (pages 1-2, 4 and 9)
Lautenschlager teaches a temperature control that keeps the solvent temperature below its boiling point. The sensor measures the vessel surface at its hottest zone, and thus indirectly the solvent temperature. (page 10; claim 1, pages 16-17)
Lautenschlager teaches that hydrofluoric acid has a boiling temperature of 120° C, so that the temperature threshold is preferably 110° C, and particularly preferably 100° C. The condensate flows into the condensate tank. (page 14)
Thus, Lautenschläger teaches holding the temperature at or below a threshold 20° C below the boiling point.
Finding of Prima Facie Obviousness Rationale and Motivation
(MPEP §2142-2143)
Therefore, it would be prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further purify the resin-treated MEA of Sun ’279 by distillation, since Sun ’279 teaches that MEA with reduced metal ions is a raw material for making ultrapure MEA by distillation. It would be obvious to use Fang’s sequence of steps: first remove water by reduced pressure distillation, then contact the MEA with the resin, using the aminophosphonic acid chelating resin of Sun ’279, and then sub-boil the MEA under high-purity argon.
One would be motivated to do this to make an electronic grade product, since Fang teaches that this sequence gives each metal at 10 ppb or less and 100 ppm or less moisture. Sun ’279 only shows metal levels below the detection limits of ICP-AES, such as less than 0.08 ppm Ca. Sun ’279 and Fang both make high purity chemicals for electronic uses by removing metal ions.
One would have a reasonable expectation of success. Sun ’279 shows that the aminophosphonic acid resin removes metal ions from MEA. Fang shows that resin adsorption removes metal ions from an organic liquid after its water has been removed. (page 3, paragraphs [0008]-[0009])
In the combination, the MEA is added to the sub-boiling still (first vessel), the still is filled with high-purity argon, the MEA is heated below its boiling point, and the vapor is recondensed and collected. Lautenschlager teaches that the vapor is condensed in a cooling system and collected in a separate condensate tank (second vessel). (pages 1 and 14) This reads on applicant’s steps (a)-(e). Fang’s order, resin first and then sub-boiling, reads on applicant’s claim 3.
With regard to the water limit in step (a), in the combination the MEA is dried by Fang’s reduced pressure distillation before the resin and sub-boiling steps. Fang’s product has 100 ppm or less moisture. (page 5, paragraph [0027])
Thus, the MEA provided to the sub-boiling still would have less than 1% by weight water.
With regard to the inert gas and the water and oxygen content in step (b), Fang replaces the air in the still with high-purity argon 4 to 6 times and heats under high-purity argon, to avoid contamination by air. Sun ’279 also carries out the whole MEA process under nitrogen, in a nitrogen glove box. (page 5, paragraph [0013])
Replacing the air with high-purity argon or nitrogen lowers the oxygen and water in the still. It would be obvious to lower the water and oxygen content in the still to less than 20 ppm, in order to avoid contamination of the purified amine by air.
With regard to the sub-boiling temperature in step (c), it would be obvious to heat the MEA to a temperature at least 15° C below its boiling point, such as 20° C below it, as taught by Lautenschlager. One would be motivated to do this to keep the MEA from boiling, so that bursting bubbles and aerosols do not carry impurities into the distillate, as taught by Lautenschlager and Fang. MEA has a normal boiling point of about 170° C. For this boiling point, claim 1 requires a temperature from about 50° C to about 155° C. A temperature 20° C below the boiling point of MEA, about 150° C, falls within this range.
Furthermore, with regard to the limitation for the sub-boiling temperature, it is the position of the examiner that one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, would through routine and normal experimentation optimize this variable. Because Fang and Lautenschlager teach that the temperature relative to the boiling point affects the purity of the distillate, the examiner asserts that the sub-boiling temperature is an art recognized result-effective variable. See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955). The applicant does not show any unusual and/or unexpected results for the claimed temperature ranges.
With regard to applicant’s claim 2, it would be obvious to perform the sub-boiling steps before the resin step. Sun ’279 teaches that its resin process is especially suitable for purifying electronic grade organic chemicals, and avoids metal ion contamination of these chemicals during storage and transport. (page 11, paragraph [0070])
Thus, it would be obvious to use the resin step on MEA that has already been purified, such as the sub-boiled MEA, as a final polishing step. Also, both steps are known steps to remove metal ions. Thus, the order of the purification steps is obvious in the absence of new or unexpected results.
With regard to applicant’s claim 5, Fang teaches each of Na, K, Ca, Al, Fe, Ni, Zn, Cu and Cr at 10 ppb or less. (pages 7-8, paragraph [0041])
Fang does not list Sn. However, claim 5 only requires that each listed metal be at 10 ppb or less after the process. Fang’s resin and sub-boiling steps remove metal ions in general to 10 ppb or less each. Thus, it would be obvious to reach 10 ppb or less of Sn as well.
With regard to applicant’s claim 8, Sun ’279 uses commercial aminophosphonic acid chelating resins, such as Duolite C467, which is a macroporous resin. (DuPont, page 1)
The claimed pore size range of 1-2,000 nm is very broad. Further, the pore size affects the surface area of the resin and how fast the resin binds metal ions. It would be obvious to optimize the pore size, in order to remove metal ions quickly.
With regard to applicant’s claim 11, the amount of the amino compound in the resin sets the number of chelating groups, and thus how much metal the resin can bind. Sun ’279 teaches that the aminophosphonic acid groups are what make the resin effective for MEA. (pages 10-11, paragraph [0069])
Thus, the amount of the amino compound is a result-effective variable, and it would be obvious to optimize it. Also, applicant’s examples use commercial chelating resins in Table 1 which suggests that commercial chelating resins, such as those used by Sun ’279, already have amounts in the claimed range. Applicant has not shown that the 20-70 wt% range is critical.
Note that the prior art provides the same effect desired by the applicant, the removal of metal ions from an organic amine to make an electronic grade product.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet website contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit www.uspto.gov/patent/patents-forms. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/applying-online/eterminal-disclaimer.
Claims 1-3, 5 and 7-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4-10 of copending Application No. 18548990, in view of Sun ’279 and Fang, as evidenced by DuPont. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of the ’990 application claims, in sequence: (a) providing a glycol ether having a normal boiling point at one bar to a first vessel; (b) filling the first vessel with inert gas; (c) heating the glycol ether to a sub-boiling temperature at least 15° C less than the normal boiling point, which generates a vapor; (d) cooling the vapor in a second vessel to provide a liquid; and (e) contacting the liquid from step (d) with a mixed bed of cationic and anionic ion exchange resins. This order of steps reads on instant claim 2.
Claim 5 claims water content and oxygen content in the first vessel each less than 20 ppm.
Claim 4 claims each of Na, K, Ca, Al, Fe, Ni, Zn, Cu, Cr and Sn, among other metals, at 1 ppb or less, which reads on instant claim 5.
Claim 8 claims a crosslinked styrene-divinylbenzene matrix, which reads on instant claim 7.
The ’990 claims differ in that they purify a glycol ether, not an organic amine, and use a mixed bed of cation and anion exchange resins, not a resin embedded with iminodiacetic acid or aminomethylphosphonic acid. The ’990 claims also do not name nitrogen or argon, or the water content of the compound provided in step (a).
However, Sun ’279 teaches purifying MEA, an organic amine used for semiconductor wafer cleaning, by passing it under nitrogen through an aminophosphonic acid chelating resin, such as Duolite C467, which has aminomethylphosphonic acid groups, as discussed above.
Sun ’279 teaches that this resin is more suitable for MEA than iminodiacetic acid resins. It would be obvious to use the ’990 process to purify MEA, and to use the aminophosphonic acid chelating resin of Sun ’279 in the resin step, in order to remove metal ions from MEA for electronic uses.
It would be obvious to use nitrogen as the inert gas, since Sun ’279 carries out the MEA process under nitrogen.
It would be obvious to dry the MEA before it is provided to the first vessel, as taught by Fang, who removes water by reduced pressure distillation and obtains 100 ppm or less moisture. (Fang, page 3, paragraph [0008]; page 5, paragraph [0027])
The ’990 range of “at least 15° C less than the normal boiling point” overlaps the claimed temperature ranges, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
With regard to instant claim 3, Sun ’279 and Fang teach the resin step before the distillation, as discussed above.
Instant claims 8-11 are obvious for the reasons given in the 103 rejection above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Sun (CN 103102273) and Patil are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on these references. Fang is still relied upon, and the arguments that apply to the new rejection are addressed below.
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s argument that chelation chemistry is not interchangeable with ion exchange chemistry.
The examiner does not agree that this argument overcomes the rejection. The new rejection does not rely on Fang’s resins for the claimed resin. Sun ’279 supplies the aminophosphonic acid chelating resin. Fang is relied upon for its sequence of water removal, resin adsorption and sub-boiling distillation under high-purity argon.
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s argument that the water and oxygen content limitations are not disclosed.
The examiner does not agree with applicant’s argument. Fang removes water by reduced pressure distillation before the resin and sub-boiling steps, and obtains a product with 100 ppm or less moisture. Fang replaces the air in the sub-boiling still with high-purity argon 4 to 6 times and heats under high-purity argon to avoid contamination by air. Sun ’279 also handles MEA under nitrogen, in a nitrogen glove box. (page 5, paragraph [0013])
Replacing the air with high-purity inert gas lowers the oxygen and water in the still. Setting a low ppm limit for water and oxygen is an obvious optimization of this known inert gas step. Applicant’s specification does not describe any special technique to reach 20 ppm. It uses inert gas with a purity of at least 99.999% that passes through a gas filter. (paragraph [0015]) Applicant has not shown that the 20 ppm value is critical.
The examiner acknowledges applicant’s argument that the tiered sub-boiling temperature offsets are not taught or suggested, and that Fang did not recognize the size of the offset as a result-effective variable under In re Antonie.
The examiner does not agree with applicant’s argument. First, applicant describes the tiers as minimum offsets of 160° C, 120° C and 25° C. As noted in the 112(b) rejection above, the claim language sets minimum temperatures, not minimum offsets. Under the plain language, claim 1 requires a temperature at least 15° C below the normal boiling point, and not lower than the tier minimum. For MEA, this is about 50-155° C. Second, Lautenschlager teaches holding the temperature at or below a threshold 20° C below the boiling point, so that no bubbles form and carry impurities into the distillate. (pages 2, 4 and 14) Thus, the art recognizes the temperature below the boiling point as a variable that affects purity.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Jennifer Cho Sawyer
Patent Examiner
Art Unit: 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691