DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9, 20, 23, 25-26, & 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 2019/0372127) in view of JP2003282369A hereafter referred to as Tajiri.
In regards to claim 1,
Li ‘127 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a cathode layer (16 – fig. 1; [0019]) comprising activated carbon ([0019]);
an anode layer (18 – fig. 1; [0019]) comprising a prelithiated carbon material coated on a metal or a prelithiated graphite (38) coated on a metal (36; [0020-0021]); and
a membrane (20” – fig. 1; [0019]) between the cathode layer and the anode layer. Li ‘127 fails to disclose the activated carbon has a bimodal interconnected porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores, wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm.
Tajiri discloses activated carbon comprising a bimodal interconnected porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores (abstract) , wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm in a capacitor ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cathode of Li ‘127 using the activated carbon of Tajiri and to have a thickness as taught by Tajiri to obtain a capacitor with a large capacity, good cyclic characteristics, and the desired shape/size.
In regards to claim 2,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses comprising a spacer layer (34 – fig. 1; [0020] of Li ‘127) attached to the cathode layer.
In regards to claim 6,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses comprising: a spacer layer (34 – fig. 1; [0020] of Li ‘127) attached to the cathode layer, wherein the spacer layer comprises a metal or a stainless steel.
In regards to claim 8,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the membrane comprises a prelithiated material configured to store lithium ions
In regards to claim 9,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the capacitor is a lithium-ion capacitor ([0052] of Li ‘127).
In regards to claim 20,
Li ‘127 discloses a device comprising:
at least one capacitor comprising:
an anode layer (18 – fig. 1; [0019]) comprising a prelithiated carbon material coated on a metal or a prelithiated graphite (38) coated on a metal (36; [0020-0021]);
a membrane layer (20” – fig. 1; [0019]);
a cathode layer (16 – fig. 1; [0019]) comprising activated carbon ([0019]), and wherein the membrane layer is positioned between the anode layer and the cathode layer (fig. 1). Li ‘127 fails to disclose the activated carbon has a bimodal interconnected porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores, wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm.
Tajiri discloses activated carbon comprising a bimodal interconnected porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores (abstract) , wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm in a capacitor ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cathode of Li ‘127 using the activated carbon of Tajiri and to have a thickness as taught by Tajiri to obtain a capacitor with a large capacity, good cyclic characteristics, and the desired shape/size.
In regards to claim 23,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the anode layer, the membrane layer, and the cathode layer are arranged without a layer of lithium in metal form positioned between the layers or adjacent the layers and without the layers having lithium in metal form (fig. 1; [0033] of Li ‘127).
In regards to claim 25,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the capacitor is a coin cell capacitor ([0044] of Tajiri).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor of Li ‘127 to be a coin cell as taught by Tajiri based on the required characteristics of the capacitor and its use.
In regards to claim 26,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the capacitor does not include a layer of lithium foil or lithium powder ([0032-0035] of Li ‘127).
In regards to claim 28,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the capacitor has a capacitance retention of at least 65% after 2000 cycles at 8mA. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties (capacitance retention) are presumed to be inherent.
In regards to claim 29,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the capacitor has an energy density of at least 10 Wh/L. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties (energy density) are presumed to be inherent.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhamu et al. (US 2017/0148573).
In regards to claim 27,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri fails to disclose wherein the cathode layer has a mass loading of up to 30 mg/cm2.
Zhamu ‘573 discloses the mass loading of the electrodes is a result effective variable, particularly for achieving high energy densities ([0010]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to construct the capacitor of Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri such that the cathode layer has a mass loading of up to 30 mg/cm2 to obtain a capacitor with high energy density, as taught by Zhamu '573. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wright et al. (US 2013/0280579).
In regards to claim 30,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri fails to disclose further comprising a gel electrolyte.
Wright ‘579 discloses further comprising a gel electrolyte ([0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form to use a gel electrolyte as taught by Wright ‘579 as the electrolyte of Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri to obtain a capacitor that has reduced flammability and does not leak away under prolonged use.
Claim(s) 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ra et al. (US 2012/0087060) in view of Tajiri.
In regards to claim 20,
Ra ‘060 discloses a device comprising:
at least one capacitor (110 – fig. 3; [0026]) comprising:
an anode layer (112a/112b – fig. 3; [0032-0034) comprising a prelithiated carbon material coated on a metal or a prelithiated graphite coated on a metal;
a membrane layer (160 – fig. 3; [0027]);
a cathode layer (11b – fig. 3; [0030]) comprising activated carbon ([0030]), and wherein the membrane layer is positioned between the anode layer and the cathode layer (fig. 3). Ra ‘060 fails to disclose the activated carbon has a bimodal interconnected porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores, wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm.
Tajiri discloses activated carbon comprising a bimodal interconnected porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores (abstract) , wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm in a capacitor ([0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cathode of Ra ‘060 using the activated carbon of Tajiri and to have a thickness as taught by Tajiri to obtain a capacitor with a large capacity, good cyclic characteristics, and the desired shape/size.
In regards to claim 21,
Ra ‘060 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the device is included in a rechargeable battery, an on-board computer memory backup circuit; a real time clock - battery backup; a utility meter; a solar battery backup and energy storage device; a hybrid car battery, an electric vehicle battery, a hybrid vehicle battery, a laptop computer battery, a smart phone battery, a tablet battery, and an industrial control device ([0005] of Ra ‘060).
In regards to claim 22,
Ra ‘060 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the anode layer, the membrane layer, and the cathode layer are arranged without a layer of lithium in metal form positioned between the layers or adjacent the layers and without the layers having lithium in metal form (fig. 3 of Ra ‘060).
In regards to claim 23,
Ra ‘060 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the at least one capacitor is at least two capacitors, each of the capacitors having the anode layer, the membrane layer, and the cathode layer, the capacitors being connected to each other (fig. 3 of Ra ‘060).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2848