DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9, 20, 23, & 25-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Majima et al. (US 2016/0336118) in view of Bimodal porous carbon cathode and prelithiated coalesced carbon onion anode for ultrahigh power energy efficient lithium ion capacitors hereafter referred to as Aref.
In regards to claim 1,
Majima ‘118 discloses a capacitor comprising:
a cathode layer (2 – fig. 3; [0100]) comprising activated carbon ([0053]), wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm ([0066]);
an anode layer (3 – fig. 3; [0100]) comprising a prelithiated carbon material coated on a metal or a prelithiated graphite coated on a metal ([0070-0074]); and
a membrane (1 – fig. 3; [0099 and/or second 3 – fig. 3; [0100]) between the cathode layer and the anode layer. Majima ‘118 fails to disclose the activated carbon has a bimodal porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores interconnected with the ultramicropores.
Aref discloses activated carbon has a bimodal porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores interconnected with the ultramicropores (section 2.2 & 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cathode of Majima ‘118 using the activated carbon of Aref to obtain a capacitor with a large specific capacitance.
In regards to claim 2,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref further discloses comprising a spacer layer (2a – fig. 3; [0103] & [0063] – collector of Majima ‘118) attached to the cathode layer.
In regards to claim 6,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref further discloses comprising: a spacer layer (2a – fig. 3; [0103] & [0063] – collector of Majima ‘118) attached to the cathode layer, wherein the spacer layer comprises a metal or a stainless steel ([0018] & [0142]).
In regards to claim 8,
Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri further discloses wherein the membrane comprises a prelithiated material configured to store lithium ions ([0070-0074]).
In regards to claim 9,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref further discloses wherein the capacitor is a lithium-ion capacitor (abstract of Majima ‘118).
In regards to claim 20,
Li ‘127 discloses a device comprising:
at least one lithium-ion capacitor comprising:
an anode layer (3 – fig. 3; [0100]) comprising a prelithiated carbon material coated on a metal or a prelithiated graphite coated on a metal ([0070-0074]);
a membrane layer (2 – fig. 3; [0100]);
a cathode layer (2 – fig. 3; [0100]) comprising ([0053]), wherein the cathode layer has a thickness of greater than 0.5 mm ([0066]), and wherein the membrane layer is positioned between the anode layer and the cathode layer (fig. 1). Majima ‘118 fails to disclose the activated carbon has a bimodal porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores interconnected with the ultramicropores.
Aref discloses activated carbon has a bimodal porosity including ultramicropores and mesapores interconnected with the ultramicropores (section 2.2 & 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the cathode of Majima ‘118 using the activated carbon of Aref to obtain a capacitor with a large specific capacitance.
In regards to claim 23,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref further discloses wherein the at least one lithium ion capacitor is at least two lithium ion capacitors, each of the lithium ion capacitors having the anode layer, the membrane layer, and the cathode layer, the capacitors being connected to each other (fig. 3; [0099 of Majima ‘118).
In regards to claim 25,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref further discloses wherein the capacitor is a coin cell capacitor (section 2.2 of Aref).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the capacitor of Majima ‘118 to be a coin cell as taught by Aref based on the required characteristics of the capacitor and its use.
In regards to claim 27,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref fails to disclose wherein the cathode layer has a mass loading of up to 30 mg/cm2 (section 2.2 of Aref).
In regards to claim 28,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref further discloses wherein the capacitor has a capacitance retention of at least 65% after 2000 cycles at 8mA. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties (capacitance retention) are presumed to be inherent.
In regards to claim 29,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref further discloses wherein the capacitor has an energy density of at least 10 Wh/L. When the structure recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties (energy density) are presumed to be inherent.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0372127).
In regards to claim 21,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref fails to explicitly discloses wherein the device is included in a rechargeable battery, an on-board computer memory backup circuit; a real time clock - battery backup; a utility meter; a solar battery backup and energy storage device; a hybrid car battery, an electric vehicle battery, a hybrid vehicle battery, a laptop computer battery, a smart phone battery, a tablet battery, and an industrial control device.
Ra ‘060 discloses wherein the device is included in a rechargeable battery, an on-board computer memory backup circuit; a real time clock - battery backup; a utility meter; a solar battery backup and energy storage device; a hybrid car battery, an electric vehicle battery, a hybrid vehicle battery, a laptop computer battery, a smart phone battery, a tablet battery, and an industrial control device ([0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the device of Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref into an electronic component as taught by Ra ‘060 to obtain an electronic component with an energy source that has the benefit of the device of Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref.
Claim(s) 22 & 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2019/0372127).
In regards to claim 22,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref fails to explicitly discloses wherein the anode layer, the membrane layer, and the cathode layer are arranged without a layer of lithium in metal form positioned between the layers or adjacent the layers and without the layers having lithium in metal form.
Li ‘127 discloses wherein the anode layer, the membrane layer, and the cathode layer are arranged without a layer of lithium in metal form positioned between the layers or adjacent the layers and without the layers having lithium in metal form (fig. 1; [0032-0035] of Li ‘127).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the lithium metal layer of Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref after pre-lithiation as taught by Li ‘127 to obtain a capacitor that is lighter in weight and allow for use of the lithium metal layer in pre-lithiation of future cell production.
In regards to claim 26,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref fails to explicitly discloses wherein the capacitor does not include a layer of lithium foil or lithium powder.
Li ‘127 discloses wherein the capacitor does not include a layer of lithium foil or lithium powder (fig. 1; [0032-0035] of Li ‘127).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to remove the lithium metal layer of Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref after pre-lithiation as taught by Li ‘127 to obtain a capacitor that is lighter in weight and allow for use of the lithium metal layer in pre-lithiation of future cell production.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li ‘127 as modified by Tajiri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wright et al. (US 2013/0280579).
In regards to claim 30,
Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref fails to disclose further comprising a gel electrolyte.
Wright ‘579 discloses further comprising a gel electrolyte ([0095]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form to use a gel electrolyte as taught by Wright ‘579 as the electrolyte of Majima ‘118 as modified by Aref to obtain a capacitor that has reduced flammability and does not leak away under prolonged use.
Communication
/David M Sinclair/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847