Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim(s) 18 is /are directed to a “storage media”. However, according to paragraph [00082] of the specification, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the “storage media” covers a transitory propagating signal which is non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 84 USPQ2d 1495 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
The examiner suggests amending the claim(s) to recite a “non-transitory computer-readable medium” storing a computer program or equivalent. Any amendment to the claims should be commensurate with its corresponding disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, 14, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang (US 2017/0325724).
As to claim 1, Wang discloses a computer-implemented method for designing a user-specific electronic tattoo (Fig. 36B) comprising:
obtaining a user-input including one or more desired functions of the electronic tattoo (para. 0007, 0117) and a desired appearance of the electronic tattoo (para. 0281, Fig. 36B); and
generating a design of the electronic tattoo based on the user-input (0126, 0164, 0085) including:
determining an electronic circuit design capable of achieving the one or more desired functions (para. 0126, 0142, 0281, Fig. 36B); and
designing a final image of the electronic tattoo that mimics the desired appearance and incorporates the electronic circuit design (para. 0281, Fig. 36B).
As to claim 2, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the user-input is provided by a user via a user-interface (0126, 0164, 0285).
As to claim 7, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein determining the electronic circuit design comprises applying a circuit design algorithm configured to generate circuit parameters for achieving the one or more desired functions (para. 0126, 0142, 0281, Fig. 36B).
As to claim 8, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein generating the circuit parameters includes: identifying circuit component candidates which fulfill the desired functions (para. 0126, 0142, 0281, Fig. 6A, Fig. 36B); identifying electrical connections between the circuit component candidates (para. 0126, 0142, 0281, Fig. 6A, Fig. 36B); and identifying constraints (para. 0126, 0142, 0281, Fig. 6A, Fig. 36B).
As to claim 9, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 8, wherein identifying the circuit component candidates includes: determining the circuit component candidates from circuit components stored in a component database which fulfill the desired functions (para. 0126, 0142, 0281, Fig. 6A, Fig. 36B).
As to claim 14, Wang discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: generating user instructions for producing the electronic tattoo based on the final image of the electronic tattoo (0126, 0164, 0285, e.g. instructions provided by AutoCAD (Autodesk, San Rafael, Calif.); and communicating the user instructions to the user (0126, 0164, 0285).
As to claims 18-19, these claims recite features similar to those discussed above. Therefore, they are rejected for reasons similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2017/0325724) in view of Rubino (US 2012/0040314).
As to claims 3, Wang is silent regarding wherein the desired appearance is provided by uploading an image file.
Rubino teaches wherein the desired appearance is provided by uploading an image file (para. 0056, 0069, 0070).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Rubino’s teachings into Wang since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and provide an efficient and effective system for viewing, selecting, and customizing a tattoo as suggested by Rubino in paragraph 0008.
As to claims 4, Wang is silent regarding wherein the desired appearance is provided by selecting an image file from a tattoo image database which stores existing tattoo designs.
Rubino teaches wherein the desired appearance is provided by selecting an image file from a tattoo image database which stores existing tattoo designs (para. 0052, 0054).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate Rubino’s teachings into Wang since doing so would merely combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, and provide an efficient and effective system for viewing, selecting, and customizing a tattoo as suggested by Rubino in paragraph 0008.
As to claims 5, the combination of Wang and Rubino discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 3, wherein salient features, specifically visual and/or aesthetic features, of the image file are identified and extracted by image recognition, and particularly, wherein the visual and/or aesthetic features are conveyed into a target image (Wang, para. 0005, 0216, 0229; Rubino, para. 0056, 0069, 0070).
As to claims 6, the combination of Wang and Rubino discloses the computer-implemented method of claim 1, wherein the desired appearance is provided by uploading basic preferences regarding one or more of shape, size, coloration, style, visual features and/or aesthetic features, and particularly, wherein the visual and/or aesthetic features are conveyed into a target image (Rubino, para. 0049, 0057, 0059).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13, 15-17, 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art discloses the claim limitations discussed above, but fails to disclose the combined features required by each of dependent claims 10, 15, 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Form.
Azdoud et al. disclose a method for tattooing and applying substances to skin.
Scott et al. disclose a medical alert system for monitoring and tracking an individual living at home using a tattoo on the individual's skin and an energy source.
ROGERS et al. disclose skin-mounted biomedical devices and methods of making and using biomedical devices for sensing and actuation applications.
Ankave discloses systems and computer-implemented methods of identifying tattoo providers.
/PHUOC TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2668