Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 16, and 24 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 8-10, 13-14, 16, 18, 20, and 22-25, and 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. US 20110201279 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2010) in view of Rune et al. US 20230397060 A1 (Domestic Priority October 22, 2020).
Regarding claim 1 (Currently Amended), Suzuki discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless network, the method comprising: performing a cell measurement process (see, UE performs one or more MDT measurements as configured by the network element implementing the current cell, section 0038) of one or more cells of the wireless network (see, UE measuring multiple cells, section 0057); receiving a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network, wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris; and disabling the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network (see, when the signal strength or quality falls below a first out of coverage deactivation threshold or exceeds a second out of coverage deactivation threshold, the MDT measurements are deactivated, section 0079) in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of the UE, the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued.
Suzuki discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: receiving a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network, wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris; and disabling the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network (see, when the signal strength or quality falls below a first out of coverage deactivation threshold or exceeds a second out of coverage deactivation threshold, the MDT measurements are deactivated, section 0079) in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of the UE, the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued.
However Rune from a similar field of endeavor disclose: receiving a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network, wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris (see, ephemeris data provided to the UE by broadcasting ephemeris data in the system information, section 0011 Rune; noted, system information comprises ephemeris data or information related to cell selection or reselection, section 0044 Rune; noted, a scheme where the ephemeris data is more frequently broadcast in a cell when a new satellite takes over the coverage of the concerned geographical area, preferably replacing the old cell with a new cell covering (roughly) the same area, but possibly by “taking over” the old cell, section 0079 Rune); and disabling the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of the UE, the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued (see, provision of ephemeris data is important when a UE is about to access a new satellite (or access a gNB via a new satellite), e.g., when the UE is about to reselect to a cell served by a new satellite or when a new cell takes over the coverage of the UE location, section 0074 Rune; noted, a UE may not be able to access a cell (due to an insufficiently accurate timing advance (TA) and Doppler shift frequency compensation estimations for random access preamble transmission) without reasonably accurate knowledge of the position and velocity of the satellite serving the cell, where both the position and velocity of the satellite can be derived from the satellite's ephemeris data, section 0035 Rune).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Suzuki and with the ephemeris data of Rune. The motivation would have been to improve when a satellite takes over coverage of a geographical area in which the wireless device is located.
Regarding claim 3 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the cell measurement process includes at least one of: measuring a serving cell of the UE (see, UE measures the signal strength of the serving cell, section 0098), searching for a first signal strength of a neighboring cell of the serving cell measuring the first signal strength of the neighboring cell of the serving cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057); searching for a second signal strength of a suitable cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057); or measuring the second signal strength of the suitable cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057).
Regarding claim 5 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting a request for the coverage information in a procedure that includes at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) establishment procedure (see, the network can select a target UE and configure MDT measurements using RRC messages, such as measurement control or reconfiguration messages, section 0040); a RRC re-establishment procedure; a RRC resume procedure; a RRC reconfiguration procedure (see, the network performs a first MDT measurement (and logging) configuration using, for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration, an RRC connection release, system information, etc., section 0106); a RRC release procedure (see, the network performs a first MDT measurement (and logging) configuration using, for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration, an RRC connection release, system information, etc., section 0106); a RRC attach procedure; a RRC de-attach procedure; or a tracking area update (TAU) procedure (see, UE can implement MDT positioning measurements after entering a tracking area and transmit and RRC connect request such as reconfiguration message, section 0097).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Suzuki discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: activating a timer based on at least one of a cell quality of the wireless network being below a threshold (see, if the counted number of cell reselections exceeds the activation threshold value , the UE starts a timer, section 0091), time duration (see, positioning measurements for MDT can be configured with a validity timer (e.g., 10 minutes), section 0103), or the UE entering an idle mode (UE can set a timer that expires and if the UE is not still in is not still in the driving mode or the high mobility condition, the UE can ignore the apparent transient out of coverage condition, section 0118).
Regarding claim 9 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: stopping the cell measurement process when the timer is running (see, if at least one of the signal strength or the signal quality of the camped on cell becomes worse than the first out of coverage threshold value described above, or better than the second out of coverage threshold value described above, the UE stops the timer, measurements and logging, section 0082).
Regarding claim 10 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the method of claim 8, further comprising: performing the cell measurement process when the timer is not running (see, UE perform PDP measurements when the UE is losing coverage and if an out of coverage threshold is configured, the UE determines whether the camped on cell is the only suitable cell and if the camped on cell is the only suitable cell and if the camped on cell's signal strength, signal quality, or both, become worse than the corresponding configured threshold value(s), the UE starts a timer, section 0082) or before transmitting uplink data within the wireless network.
Regarding claim 13 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the wireless network, an indication that the UE is capable of performing the cell measurement process (see, UE enters the specified geographical area and establishes an RRC connection with an establishment indication that the purpose is for MDT measurement, section 0107).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Suzuki discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: transmitting, to the wireless network, an indication that the coverage determined by the UE includes available coverage information applied to performing the cell measurement process (see, the UE may indicate its positioning capability or capabilities, provide measurements of serving and neighboring cells, etc. in the RRC connection setup complete message where the cell measurements are at least one of signal strength or signal quality of the serving and neighbor cells, section 0107).
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Suzuki discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory (fig. 22, system 2200 of the instant example includes a processor 2212 such as a general purpose programmable processor, section 0127); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (fig. 22, the processor 2212 includes a local memory 2214, section 0127) and configured to cause the UE to: perform a cell measurement process (see, UE performs one or more MDT measurements as configured by the network element implementing the current cell, section 0038) of one or more cells of a wireless network (see, UE measuring multiple cells, section 0057); receive a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network (see, configuration information can be sent as part of the broadcast system information, section 0040; noted, processor included in the UE obtains measurement configuration information via broadcast system information, section 0070; noted, network can broadcast configuration information for measurement and logging in system information in the cells, section 0096), wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris; and disable the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network (see, when the signal strength or quality falls below a first out of coverage deactivation threshold or exceeds a second out of coverage deactivation threshold, the MDT measurements are deactivated, section 0079) in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of the UE, the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued.
Suzuki discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: receive a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network (see, configuration information can be sent as part of the broadcast system information, section 0040; noted, processor included in the UE obtains measurement configuration information via broadcast system information, section 0070; noted, network can broadcast configuration information for measurement and logging in system information in the cells, section 0096), wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris; and disable the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network (see, when the signal strength or quality falls below a first out of coverage deactivation threshold or exceeds a second out of coverage deactivation threshold, the MDT measurements are deactivated, section 0079) in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of the UE, the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued.
However Rune from a similar field of endeavor disclose: receive a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network, wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris (see, ephemeris data provided to the UE by broadcasting ephemeris data in the system information, section 0011 Rune; noted, system information comprises ephemeris data or information related to cell selection or reselection, section 0044 Rune; noted, a scheme where the ephemeris data is more frequently broadcast in a cell when a new satellite takes over the coverage of the concerned geographical area, preferably replacing the old cell with a new cell covering (roughly) the same area, but possibly by “taking over” the old cell, section 0079 Rune); and disable the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of the UE, the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued (see, provision of ephemeris data is important when a UE is about to access a new satellite (or access a gNB via a new satellite), e.g., when the UE is about to reselect to a cell served by a new satellite or when a new cell takes over the coverage of the UE location, section 0074 Rune; noted, a UE may not be able to access a cell (due to an insufficiently accurate timing advance (TA) and Doppler shift frequency compensation estimations for random access preamble transmission) without reasonably accurate knowledge of the position and velocity of the satellite serving the cell, where both the position and velocity of the satellite can be derived from the satellite's ephemeris data, section 0035 Rune).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Suzuki and with the ephemeris data of Rune. The motivation would have been to improve when a satellite takes over coverage of a geographical area in which the wireless device is located.
Regarding claim 18 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the cell measurement process includes the at least one processor configured to cause the UE to at least one of: measure a serving cell of the UE (see, UE measures the signal strength of the serving cell, section 0098); search for a first signal strength of a neighboring cell of the serving cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057); measure the first signal strength of the neighboring cell of the serving cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057); search for a second signal strength of a suitable cell; or measure the second signal strength of the suitable cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057).
Regarding claim 20 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a request for the coverage information in a procedure that includes at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) establishment procedure (see, the network can select a target UE and configure MDT measurements using RRC messages, such as measurement control or reconfiguration messages, section 0040); a RRC re-establishment procedure; a RRC resume procedure; a RRC reconfiguration procedure (see, the network performs a first MDT measurement (and logging) configuration using, for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration, an RRC connection release, system information, etc., section 0106); a RRC release procedure (see, the network performs a first MDT measurement (and logging) configuration using, for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration, an RRC connection release, system information, etc., section 0106); a RRC attach procedure; a RRC de-attach procedure; or a tracking area update (TAU) procedure (see, UE can implement MDT positioning measurements after entering a tracking area and transmit and RRC connect request such as reconfiguration message, section 0097).
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), Suzuki discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to activate a timer based on at least one of a cell quality of the wireless network is being below a threshold (see, if the counted number of cell reselections exceeds the activation threshold value , the UE starts a timer, section 0091), a time duration (see, positioning measurements for MDT can be configured with a validity timer (e.g., 10 minutes), section 0103), or the UE entering an idle mode (UE can set a timer that expires and if the UE is not still in is not still in the driving mode or the high mobility condition, the UE can ignore the apparent transient out of coverage condition, section 0118) in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of a user equipment (UE), the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued.
Regarding claim 23 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the UE of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the wireless network, an indication that the UE is capable of performing the cell measurement process (see, UE enters the specified geographical area and establishes an RRC connection with an establishment indication that the purpose is for MDT measurement, section 0107).
Regarding claim 24 (Currently Amended), Suzuki discloses a processor for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (fig. 22, a processor in connection with a controller, section 0067; noted, fig. 22, the processor 2212 includes a local memory 2214, section 0127) and configured to cause the processor to: perform a cell measurement process (see, UE performs one or more MDT measurements as configured by the network element implementing the current cell, section 0038) of one or more cells of a wireless network (see, UE measuring multiple cells, section 0057); receive a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network (see, configuration information can be sent as part of the broadcast system information, section 0040; noted, processor included in the UE obtains measurement configuration information via broadcast system information, section 0070; noted, network can broadcast configuration information for measurement and logging in system information in the cells, section 0096), wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris; and in response to coverage of the wireless network in relation to a user equipment (UE) being discontinued based at least in part on a location of the UE and the coverage information (see, out of coverage deactivation thresholds where the UE signal strength or quality falls below an out of coverage deactivation threshold, sections 0079-0081; noted, UE and the network support configuration of both out of coverage activation and deactivation thresholds, and back to coverage activation and deactivation thresholds. However, in example implementations in which configuration of only out of coverage activation and deactivation thresholds or only back to coverage activation and deactivation thresholds is supported, section 0087), disable the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network (see, when the signal strength or quality falls below a first out of coverage deactivation threshold or exceeds a second out of coverage deactivation threshold, the MDT measurements are deactivated, section 0079).
Suzuki discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: receive a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network (see, configuration information can be sent as part of the broadcast system information, section 0040; noted, processor included in the UE obtains measurement configuration information via broadcast system information, section 0070; noted, network can broadcast configuration information for measurement and logging in system information in the cells, section 0096), wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris; and in response to coverage of the wireless network in relation to a user equipment (UE) being discontinued based at least in part on a location of the UE and the coverage information (see, out of coverage deactivation thresholds where the UE signal strength or quality falls below an out of coverage deactivation threshold, sections 0079-0081; noted, UE and the network support configuration of both out of coverage activation and deactivation thresholds, and back to coverage activation and deactivation thresholds. However, in example implementations in which configuration of only out of coverage activation and deactivation thresholds or only back to coverage activation and deactivation thresholds is supported, section 0087), disable the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network (see, when the signal strength or quality falls below a first out of coverage deactivation threshold or exceeds a second out of coverage deactivation threshold, the MDT measurements are deactivated, section 0079).
However Rune from a similar field of endeavor disclose: receive a system information broadcast including coverage information of the wireless network, wherein the coverage information is based on satellite ephemeris (see, ephemeris data provided to the UE by broadcasting ephemeris data in the system information, section 0011 Rune; noted, system information comprises ephemeris data or information related to cell selection or reselection, section 0044 Rune; noted, a scheme where the ephemeris data is more frequently broadcast in a cell when a new satellite takes over the coverage of the concerned geographical area, preferably replacing the old cell with a new cell covering (roughly) the same area, but possibly by “taking over” the old cell, section 0079 Rune); and disable the cell measurement process of the one or more cells of the wireless network in response to a determination, based at least in part on a location of a user equipment (UE), the satellite ephemeris, and the coverage information, that coverage of the wireless network in relation to the UE will be discontinued (see, provision of ephemeris data is important when a UE is about to access a new satellite (or access a gNB via a new satellite), e.g., when the UE is about to reselect to a cell served by a new satellite or when a new cell takes over the coverage of the UE location, section 0074 Rune; noted, a UE may not be able to access a cell (due to an insufficiently accurate timing advance (TA) and Doppler shift frequency compensation estimations for random access preamble transmission) without reasonably accurate knowledge of the position and velocity of the satellite serving the cell, where both the position and velocity of the satellite can be derived from the satellite's ephemeris data, section 0035 Rune).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the method of Suzuki and with the ephemeris data of Rune. The motivation would have been to improve when a satellite takes over coverage of a geographical area in which the wireless device is located.
Regarding claim 25 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the processor of claim 24, wherein the cell measurement process includes at least one of: measuring a serving cell of the UE (see, UE measures the signal strength of the serving cell, section 0098); searching for a first signal strength of a neighboring cell of the serving cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057); measuring the first signal strength of the neighboring cell of the serving cell; searching for a second signal strength of a suitable cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057); or measuring the second signal strength of the suitable cell (see, UE could also choose a number of suitable neighbouring cells and measure pilot signal strength and quality, section 0057).
Regarding claim 27 (Previously Presented), Suzuki discloses the processor of claim 24, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to: transmit a request for the coverage information in a procedure that includes at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) establishment procedure (see, the network can select a target UE and configure MDT measurements using RRC messages, such as measurement control or reconfiguration messages, section 0040); a RRC re-establishment procedure (see, the network performs a first MDT measurement (and logging) configuration using, for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration, an RRC connection release, system information, etc., section 0106); a RRC resume procedure; a RRC reconfiguration procedure; a RRC release procedure (see, the network performs a first MDT measurement (and logging) configuration using, for example, an RRC connection reconfiguration, an RRC connection release, system information, etc., section 0106); a RRC attach procedure; a RRC de-attach procedure; or a tracking area update (TAU) procedure (see, UE can implement MDT positioning measurements after entering a tracking area and transmit and RRC connect request such as reconfiguration message, section 0097).
Regarding claim 28 (Currently Amended), Suzuki discloses the processor of claim 24, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to: activate a timer based on at least one of a cell quality of the wireless network below a threshold (see, if the counted number of cell reselections exceeds the activation threshold value , the UE starts a timer, section 0091), a time duration (see, positioning measurements for MDT can be configured with a validity timer (e.g., 10 minutes), section 0103), or the UE entering an idle mode (UE can set a timer that expires and if the UE is not still in is not still in the driving mode or the high mobility condition, the UE can ignore the apparent transient out of coverage condition, section 0118).
Claims 4, 19, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al. US 20110201279 A1 (Domestic Priority February 12, 2010) in view of Rune et al. US 20230397060 A1 (Domestic Priority October 22, 2020), and in further view of Vos et al. US 20190222297 A1 (Domestic Priority March 30, 2016).
The combination of Suzuki and Rune discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 4 (Previously Presented), the method of claim 1, further comprising: of determining the coverage information associated with the wireless network.
However Vos from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the method of claim 1, further comprising: of determining the coverage information associated with the wireless network (see, wireless device may be at the particular geographical location and define a wireless coverage area and provide backhaul communication between the wireless coverage area and a data network, section 0221 Vos).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Suzuki and Rune with the wireless coverage of Vos. The motivation would have been to detail wireless coverage area within a geographical location for data transmission.
The combination of Suzuki and Rune discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 19 (Previously Presented), the UE of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the coverage information associated with the wireless network
However Vos from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the UE of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to determine the coverage information associated with the wireless network (see, wireless device may be at the particular geographical location and define a wireless coverage area and provide backhaul communication between the wireless coverage area and a data network, section 0221 Vos).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Suzuki and Rune with the wireless coverage of Vos. The motivation would have been to detail wireless coverage area within a geographical location for data transmission.
The combination of Suzuki and Rune discloses all claim limitations but fail to explicitly disclose: Regarding claim 26 (Previously Presented), the processor of claim 24, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to: determine the coverage information associated with the wireless network.
However Vos from a similar field of endeavor disclose: the processor of claim 24, wherein the at least one controller is configured to cause the processor to: determine the coverage information associated with the wireless network (see, wireless device may be at the particular geographical location and define a wireless coverage area and provide backhaul communication between the wireless coverage area and a data network, section 0221 Vos).
In view of the above, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claim invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to modify the combination of Suzuki and Rune with the wireless coverage of Vos. The motivation would have been to detail wireless coverage area within a geographical location for data transmission.
Conclusion
/PATRICK YIPAO PEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2473
/KWANG B YAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2473