DETAILED ACTION
The following Office action concerns Patent Application Number 18/264,213. Claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Claims 5, 7 and 10-20 are withdrawn from consideration as being drawn to non-elected inventions or species.
Election/Restrictions
A restriction requirement was sent to the Applicant on December 3, 2025. The Applicant was required to elect among several groups of inventions. The Applicant responded to the restriction requirement on February 3, 2026 and elected Group I, claims 1-9, including linking claims, with traverse. The applicant also elected a species of inhibitor of HQ and PTZ. In traversing the restriction requirement, the Applicant argues that the invention has a special technical feature which provides a contribution over the prior art. However, the rejections below show that the claimed invention does not provide a contribution over the prior art. Therefore, restriction is proper.
Accordingly, claims 5, 7 and 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to non-elected inventions or species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because the term “comprises or consists of” is indefinite. The scope of the term “comprises or consists of” cannot be determined. For the purpose of examination, the term is construed to mean “comprises.”
Claims 3, 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) because the term “comprises” is inconsistent with the term “selected from the group consisting of” in claim 2, from which claim 3 depends. As a result, the scope of the claims cannot be determined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §§ 102 and 103
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by, or, alternatively, under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being obvious over Tong (US 2005/0139807).
Tong teaches an anti-fouling composition (par. 1). The composition comprises polymerization inhibitors including hydroquinone (HQ), phenothiazine (PTZ) and monomethyl hydroquinone ether (MEHQ) (par. 3, 42). The composition further comprises anti-fouling dispersants including sulfonates (par. 43).
In the event that the above disclosure is not sufficiently specific to anticipate the above listed claims, the examiner submits that the selection of the instantly inhibitor and dispersant components and resultant properties would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art since Tong teaches an anti-fouling composition which contains each of the claimed components.
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (US 2005/0139807) in view of Aoshima et al (US 4,518,462).
Tong teaches polymerization inhibitors including HQ, PTZ and MEHQ as described above. Tong does not teach the weight ratio of HQ to PTZ.
However, Aoshima et al teaches polymerization inhibitors HQ and PTZ which are included in a composition in amounts of 0.02 % and 0.03 %, respectively (col. 9, lines 30-36). The corresponding weight ratio HQ:PTZ is 0.67:1.
Tong further teaches an amount of MEHQ of 200 ppm, which equates to 0.02 % (par. 51). Combined with the amounts of HQ and PTZ of Aoshima et al, the ratio of MEHQ to inhibitor is (0.02)/(0.02+0.02+0.03)=28%.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the amounts of HQ and PTZ of Aoshima et al with the composition of Tong in order to obtain an anti-fouling composition having known effective amounts of polymerization inhibitors.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Tong (US 2005/0139807) in view of Clever (US 5,710,329).
Tong teaches a composition comprising anti-fouling dispersants as described above. Tong does not teach the amount of the anti-fouling dispersant.
However, Clever teaches that an effective amount of anti-fouling dispersant is 10-20,000 ppm (col. 6, lines 31-34; abstract). 20,000 ppm is 2 wt %.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by design need to combine the dispersant amount Clever with the composition of Tong in order to obtain an effective amount of anti-fouling dispersant.
Examiner’s Information