DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on July 19, 2026. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Acknowledgements
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed on July 19, 2026 in reply to the office action mailed on April 20, 2026 is acknowledged. The present office action is made with all the suggested amendments being fully considered. Accordingly, pending in this office action are claims 1, 3-4, and 6-10. Claims 2 and 5 are canceled.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/3/2023 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu (US 2019/0109125).
With respect to Claim 1, Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) most aspects of the current invention including a three-dimensional integrated system with a compatible chip, comprising:
a first chip (102b), provided with a first front surface (top) and a first back surface (bottom) arranged oppositely, the first front surface comprising a first area (inner) and a second area (outer), the second area being arranged around the first area, a first functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306b,308b connected to device 310 lower) being arranged on the first area, M first pads (bonding pads 104b; par 22 and 24) being arranged on the second area, the first functional chip being provided with N pads (106b), the N pads of the first functional chip being electrically connected with N of the first pads in a one-to-one correspondence, and K pads of the first functional chip being interconnected with a second functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306a,308a connected to device 310 upper)
a second chip (102a), provided with a second front surface (bottom) and a second back surface (top) arranged oppositely, the second front surface comprising a third area (inner) and a fourth area (outer), the fourth area being arranged around the third area, the second functional chip being arranged on the third area, M second (bonding pads 104a; par 22 and 24) being arranged on the fourth area, the second functional chip being provided with P pads (106a), the P pads of the second functional chip being electrically connected with the P of the second pads in a one-to-one correspondence, and K pads of the second functional chip being interconnected with the first functional chip
wherein the first chip is directly aligned and bonded with the second chip exclusively by the one-to-one correspondence bonding of the M first pads and the M second pads, without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed between the first chip and the second chip, and the K pads of the first functional chip are electrically connected with the K pads of the second functional chip in a one- to-one correspondence (par 22,25)
wherein the M first pads are arranged around the first functional chip, the M second pads are arranged around the second functional chip, and the M first pads on the second area are aligned with the M second pads on the fourth area one by one (see Figs 1-5)
Furthermore, although Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) M, N, P and K are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, Wu does not disclose wherein N<M<N+P, P<M<N+P, K<N, K<P, M=N+P-K.
However, Wu teaches the pads are used via a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die (par 22). Therefore, Wu recognizes the numerical values of M, N, P and K pads as result effective variables. The specific numerical values of M, N, P and K pads claimed by the applicant, i.e., N<M<N+P, P<M<N+P, K<N, K<P, M=N+P-K, is only considered to be “optimum” value disclosed by Wu that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to obtain using routine experimentation based, among other things, on chip size, chip thickness, pad thickness, contact area dimensions etc. (see In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and since neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e., results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the first chip is directly aligned and bonded with the second chip exclusively by the one-to-one correspondence bonding of the M first pads and the M second pads, without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed between the first chip and the second chip, as already suggested by Wu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain, M, N, P and K are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, and wherein N<M<N+P, P<M<N+P, K<N, K<P, M=N+P-K, through routine experimentation on the device of Wu.
With respect to Claim 3, Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) wherein M through holes are arranged on the first back surface of the first chip, and the M through holes correspond to expose the M first pads one by one
With respect to Claim 4, Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) most aspects of the current invention including a three-dimensional integrated system with a compatible chip, comprising:
a first chip (102b), provided with a first front surface (top) and a first back surface (bottom) arranged oppositely, the first front surface comprising a first area (area 116) and a second area (inner), and a third area (outer), the second area being arranged around the first area, the third area being arranged around the second area, a first functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306b,308b connected to device 310 lower) being arranged on the first area, p first pads (106b) being arranged on the second area, m second pads (bonding pads 104b; par 22 and 24) being arranged on the third area, the first functional chip being provided with n pads (106b), the n pads of the first functional chip being electrically connected with n of the second pads in a one-to-one correspondence, the p first pads being electrically connected with p of the second pads in a one-to- one correspondence, and k pads of the first functional chip being interconnected with a second functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306a,308a connected to device 310 upper)
the second functional chip, provided with a second front surface (bottom) and a second back surface (top) arranged oppositely, p pads (106a) being electrically drawn out from the second front surface, and k pads (106a) of the second functional chip being interconnected with the first functional chip; wherein the p pads of the second functional chip are connected with the p first pads in a one-to-one correspondence, so that the second functional chip is arranged on the second area of the first chip, and the k pads of the first functional chip are electrically connected with the k pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence
wherein the second functional chip is directly aligned with and directly bonded to the first chip exclusively by one-to-one correspondence between the p pads and the p first pads, without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed therebetween, (par 22,25)
wherein the m second pads are arranged around the first functional chip and the p first pads, and the p first pads in the second area are aligned with the p second pads of the second functional chip one by one (see Figs 1-5)
Furthermore, although Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) m, n, p, k are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, Wu does not disclose wherein n<m<n+p, p<m<n+p, k<n, k<p, m=n+p-k.
However, Wu teaches the pads are used via a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die (par 22). Therefore, Wu recognizes the numerical values of m, n, p, k pads as result effective variables. The specific numerical values of m, n, p, k pads claimed by the applicant, i.e., n<m<n+p, p<m<n+p, k<n, k<p, m=n+p-k, is only considered to be “optimum” value disclosed by Wu that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to obtain using routine experimentation based, among other things, on chip size, chip thickness, pad thickness, contact area dimensions etc. (see In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and since neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e., results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the first chip is directly aligned and bonded with the second chip exclusively by the one-to-one correspondence bonding of the m first pads and the m second pads, without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed between the first chip and the second chip, as already suggested by Wu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain, m, n, p, k are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, and wherein n<m<n+p, p<m<n+p, k<n, k<p, m=n+p-k, through routine experimentation on the device of Wu.
With respect to Claim 6, Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) wherein m through holes are arranged on the first back surface of the first chip, and the m through holes expose the m second pads one by one.
Claims 7,9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (WO 2021/146860) in view of Wu (US 2019/0109125).
With respect to Claim 7, Lu discloses (Fig. 3) most aspects of the current invention including a manufacturing method of a three-dimensional integrated system with a compatible chip (10), comprising:
obtaining a layout design of a first functional chip (110) and a layout design of the second functional chip (130)
determining a number N of pads of the first functional chip, a number P of pads of the second functional chip, and a number K of pads that need to be electrically connected between the first functional chip and the second functional chip according to the layout design of the first functional chip and the layout design of the second functional chip (par 91)
expanding the layout design of the first functional chip, arranging M first pads around a periphery of the first functional chip, and electrically connecting N of the first pads with the N pads of the first functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence to obtain a layout design of a first chip (101) (par 91)
expanding the layout design of the second functional chip, arranging M second pads around a periphery of the second functional chip, and electrically connecting P of the second pads with the P pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence to obtain a layout design of a second chip (103)
manufacturing the first chip with reference to the layout design of the first chip
manufacturing the second chip with reference to the layout design of the second chip
However, Lu fails to disclose directly aligning and bonding the first chip and the second chip exclusively by a one-to-one corresponding bonding of the M first pads and the M second pads without disposing an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure therebetween, and electrically connecting the K pads of the first functional chip with the K pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence; wherein M, N, P and K are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, and N<M<N+P, P<M<N+P, K<N, K<P, M=N+P-K.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches (Fig. 1-7) a first chip (102b), provided with a first front surface (top) and a first back surface (bottom) arranged oppositely, the first front surface comprising a first area (inner) and a second area (outer), the second area being arranged around the first area, a first functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306b,308b connected to device 310 lower) being arranged on the first area, M first pads (bonding pads 104b; par 22 and 24) being arranged on the second area, the first functional chip being provided with N pads (106b), the N pads of the first functional chip being electrically connected with N of the first pads in a one-to-one correspondence, and K pads of the first functional chip being interconnected with a second functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306a,308a connected to device 310 upper), a second chip (102a), provided with a second front surface (bottom) and a second back surface (top) arranged oppositely, the second front surface comprising a third area (inner) and a fourth area (outer), the fourth area being arranged around the third area, the second functional chip being arranged on the third area, M second (bonding pads 104a; par 22 and 24) being arranged on the fourth area, the second functional chip being provided with P pads (106a), the P pads of the second functional chip being electrically connected with the P of the second pads in a one-to-one correspondence, and K pads of the second functional chip being interconnected with the first functional chip, directly aligning and bonding the first chip and the second chip exclusively by a one-to-one corresponding bonding of the M first pads and the M second pads without disposing an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure therebetween, and electrically connecting the K pads of the first functional chip with the K pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence (par 22,25); wherein M, N, P and K are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2. Wu teaches using a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die and provide recess portions structured to allow for gas ingress and egress to mitigate pressure buildup and to facilitate more reliable hybrid bonding at the hybrid bond interface (par 22,25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method steps of directly aligning and bonding the first chip and the second chip exclusively by a one-to-one corresponding bonding of the M first pads and the M second pads without disposing an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure therebetween, and electrically connecting the K pads of the first functional chip with the K pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence; wherein M, N, P and K are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2 in the device of Lu, as taught by Wu to use a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die and provide recess portions structured to allow for gas ingress and egress to mitigate pressure buildup and to facilitate more reliable hybrid bonding at the hybrid bond interface.
Furthermore, although Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) M, N, P and K are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, Wu does not disclose wherein N<M<N+P, P<M<N+P, K<N, K<P, M=N+P-K.
However, Wu teaches the pads are used via a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die (par 22). Therefore, Wu recognizes the numerical values of M, N, P and K pads as result effective variables. The specific numerical values of M, N, P and K pads claimed by the applicant, i.e., N<M<N+P, P<M<N+P, K<N, K<P, M=N+P-K, is only considered to be “optimum” value disclosed by Wu that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to obtain using routine experimentation based, among other things, on chip size, chip thickness, pad thickness, contact area dimensions etc. (see In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and since neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e., results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the first chip is directly aligned and bonded with the second chip exclusively by the one-to-one correspondence bonding of the M first pads and the M second pads, without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed between the first chip and the second chip, as already suggested by Wu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain, M, N, P and K are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, and wherein N<M<N+P, P<M<N+P, K<N, K<P, M=N+P-K, through routine experimentation on the device of Wu.
With respect to Claim 9, Lu discloses (Fig. 6) most aspects of the current invention including a manufacturing method of a three-dimensional integrated system with a compatible chip (20), comprising:
obtaining a layout design of a first functional chip (210/CPU chip) and a layout design of the second functional chip (220/GPU chip)
determining a number n of pads of the first functional chip, a number p of pads of the second functional chip, and a number k of pads that need to be electrically connected between the first functional chip and the second functional chip according to the layout design of the first functional chip and the layout design of the second functional chip (par 143,147)
expanding the layout design of the first functional chip, designing a chip connection area outside the first functional chip, arranging p first pads on the chip connection area, arranging m second pads around the first functional chip and the p first pads, providing the first functional chip with n pads, electrically connecting the n pads of the first functional chip with n of the second pads in a one-to-one correspondence, and electrically connecting the p first pads with p of the second pads in a one-to-one correspondence to obtain a layout design of a first chip
manufacturing the first chip with reference to the layout design of the first chip (210)
manufacturing the second functional chip with reference to the layout design of the second functional chip, and electrically drawing out the p pads from a front surface of the second functional chip
However, Lu fails to disclose directly bonding the second functional chip on the chip connection area of the first chip exclusively by a one-to-one correspondence connection between the p pads of the second functional chip and the p first pads without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed therebetween, and electrically connecting the k pads of the first functional chip with the k pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence; wherein m, n, p, k are integers greater than or equal to 2, and n<m<n+p, p<m<n+p, k<n, k<p, m=n+p-k.
On the other hand, and in the same field of endeavor, Wu teaches (Fig. 1-7) a first chip (102b), provided with a first front surface (top) and a first back surface (bottom) arranged oppositely, the first front surface comprising a first area (inner) and a second area (outer), the second area being arranged around the first area, a first functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306b,308b connected to device 310 lower) being arranged on the first area, M first pads (bonding pads 104b; par 22 and 24) being arranged on the second area, the first functional chip being provided with N pads (106b), the N pads of the first functional chip being electrically connected with N of the first pads in a one-to-one correspondence, and K pads of the first functional chip being interconnected with a second functional chip (comprising interconnect portions 306a,308a connected to device 310 upper), a second chip (102a), provided with a second front surface (bottom) and a second back surface (top) arranged oppositely, the second front surface comprising a third area (inner) and a fourth area (outer), the fourth area being arranged around the third area, the second functional chip being arranged on the third area, M second (bonding pads 104a; par 22 and 24) being arranged on the fourth area, the second functional chip being provided with P pads (106a), the P pads of the second functional chip being electrically connected with the P of the second pads in a one-to-one correspondence, and K pads of the second functional chip being interconnected with the first functional chip, directly bonding the second functional chip on the chip connection area of the first chip exclusively by a one-to-one correspondence connection between the p pads of the second functional chip and the p first pads without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed therebetween, and electrically connecting the k pads of the first functional chip with the k pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence (par 22,25); wherein m, n, p, k are integers greater than or equal to 2. Wu teaches using a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die and provide recess portions structured to allow for gas ingress and egress to mitigate pressure buildup and to facilitate more reliable hybrid bonding at the hybrid bond interface (par 22,25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method steps of directly bonding the second functional chip on the chip connection area of the first chip exclusively by a one-to-one correspondence connection between the p pads of the second functional chip and the p first pads without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed therebetween, and electrically connecting the k pads of the first functional chip with the k pads of the second functional chip in a one-to-one correspondence; wherein m, n, p, k are integers greater than or equal to 2, in the device of Lu, as taught by Wu to use a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die and provide recess portions structured to allow for gas ingress and egress to mitigate pressure buildup and to facilitate more reliable hybrid bonding at the hybrid bond interface.
Furthermore, although Wu discloses (Fig. 1-7) m, n, p, k are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, Wu does not disclose wherein n<m<n+p, p<m<n+p, k<n, k<p, m=n+p-k.
However, Wu teaches the pads are used via a hybrid bonding method so as to provide a sufficient contact area that yields a hybrid bond of sufficient strength to bond the first IC die to the second IC die (par 22). Therefore, Wu recognizes the numerical values of m, n, p, k pads as result effective variables. The specific numerical values of m, n, p, k pads claimed by the applicant, i.e., n<m<n+p, p<m<n+p, k<n, k<p, m=n+p-k, is only considered to be “optimum” value disclosed by Wu that a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been able to obtain using routine experimentation based, among other things, on chip size, chip thickness, pad thickness, contact area dimensions etc. (see In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), and since neither non-obvious nor unexpected results, i.e., results which are different in kind and not in degree from the results of the prior art, will be obtained as long as the first chip is directly aligned and bonded with the second chip exclusively by the one-to-one correspondence bonding of the m first pads and the m second pads, without an intermediate supporting structure or intermediate electrical interconnection structure disposed between the first chip and the second chip, as already suggested by Wu.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, and before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to obtain, m, n, p, k are respectively integers greater than or equal to 2, and wherein n<m<n+p, p<m<n+p, k<n, k<p, m=n+p-k, through routine experimentation on the device of Wu.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-4, and 6-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection provided above which addresses the matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format.
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Q.A.B/Examiner, Art Unit 2814
/WAEL M FAHMY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2814