Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Lee at least fails to disclose or teach "defining a prediction unit (PU) shape comprising a plurality of hexagonal pixel shapes; and using the defined PU shape to perform intra-prediction on a block of hexagonally-shaped pixels of the hexagonally-sampled image; wherein the block of hexagonally-shaped pixels represents one of: a parallelogram PU, a zigzag- square PU, or a hexagon PU in which two adjacent sides form 120 degrees" as featured in Claim. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Lee discloses defining a prediction unit (PU) shape comprising a plurality of hexagonal pixels in [0054 and [0065]) and using the defined PU shape to perform intra-prediction on a block of pixels of the hexagonally-sampled image in [0077 and 0084]. Lee also discloses a zigzag-square PU in Fig 10, which shows zig zag shape. Therefore, rejection remains.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 10-11, 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20060268982A1-Lee et al (hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), in view of US 20090244084 A1-Dammertz et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Dam”).
Regarding claim 1, Lee discloses a method for intra prediction of a hexagonally-sampled image having a regular grid of hexagonally-shaped pixels (Fig. 3), comprising:
defining a prediction unit (PU) shape comprising a plurality of hexagonal pixels ([0054 and [0065]); and
using the defined PU shape to perform intra-prediction on a block of pixels of the hexagonally-sampled image ([0077 and 0084]).
Lee discloses hexagonally shaped macroblock, Lee fails to disclose in detail that the pixels itself are hexagonally shaped.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Dam discloses pixels itself are hexagonally shaped (Fig. 1, 2c-2d, fig. 3; [0050], hexagonal pixels)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lee to disclose wherein the pixels itself are hexagonally shaped as taught by Dam, to achieve a smoother representation of objects, while image processing algorithms can be implemented in a more efficient way ([0055-0056], Dam).
Regarding claim 4, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, the PU shape comprising a zigzag-square PU formed with an even number of rows, where each row has a half-pel offset with respect to adjacent rows (Fig 10 shows zig zag shape).
Regarding claim 5, Lee discloses the method of claim 4, the zigzag-square PU having top reference pixels forming a horizontal line adjacent to a top edge of the PU shape, and left reference pixels form a zigzag vertical line, where each row has a half-pel offset with respect to adjacent rows, positioned adjacent a left edge of the PU shape (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, the PU shape comprising a rectangular-zigzag PU formed with an odd number of rows, where each row has a half-pel offset with respect to adjacent rows (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 7, Lee discloses the method of claim 6, the rectangular-zigzag PU having top reference pixels forming a horizontal line adjacent to a top edge of the PU shape, and left reference pixels forming a zigzag vertical line, where each row has a half-pel offset with respect to adjacent rows, positioned adjacent the left edge of the PU shape (Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 10, Lee discloses the method of claim 1, the PU shape comprising an arrow PU having a convex vertex and a matching inverted vertex on horizontally opposed sides (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, Lee discloses the method of claim 10, the arrow PU having top reference pixels forming a horizontal line adjacent to a top edge of the PU shape, and left reference pixels forming a repeating convex shape adjacent the inverted vertex (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 16.
Regarding claim 17, analyses are analogous to those presented for claim 1 and are applicable for claim 17.
Claim(s) 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20060268982A1-Lee et al (hereinafter referred to as “Lee”), US 20090244084 A1-Dammertz et al (Hereinafter referred to as “Dam”), in view of US 20180255304 A1-Jeon et al (hereinafter referred to as “Jeon”).
Regarding claim 12, Lee discloses the method of claim 1 (See claim 1),
Lee fails to disclose the PU shape comprising a parallelogram PU, the method further comprising: setting a table including a plurality of intra prediction modes respectively corresponding to a plurality of intra prediction angles; and selecting, for encoding/decoding the hexagonally-sampled image, one of the plurality of intra prediction modes, from the set table, wherein a number of the plurality of intra prediction modes included in the set table is 33, the set table including:
predModelntra 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 intraPredAngle 32 22 15 9 4 0 -3 -6 -9 -12 -15 predModelntra 13 14 15 16 17 #18 19 20 210 22 = = 23 intraPredAngle -17 -20 -23 -26 -29 -32 -29 -26 -23 -20 -17 predModelntra 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 £33 =~ © 34 intraPredAngle -15 -12 -9 -6~— -3 0 4 9 15 22 32 |
However, in the same field of endeavor, Jeon disclose PU shape comprising a parallelogram PU (Fig. 9, parallelogram shape), the method further comprising: setting a table including a plurality of intra prediction modes respectively corresponding to a plurality of intra prediction angles ([0153]); and selecting, for encoding/decoding the hexagonally-sampled image, one of the plurality of intra prediction modes, from the set table, wherein a number of the plurality of intra prediction modes included in the set table is 33, the set table including:
predModelntra 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 intraPredAngle 32 22 15 9 4 0 -3 -6 -9 -12 -15 predModelntra 13 14 15 16 17 #18 19 20 210 22 = = 23 intraPredAngle -17 -20 -23 -26 -29 -32 -29 -26 -23 -20 -17 predModelntra 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 £33 =~ © 34 intraPredAngle -15 -12 -9 -6~— -3 0 4 9 15 22 32 | (Fig. 14-15)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method disclosed by Lee to disclose the PU shape comprising a parallelogram PU, the method further comprising: setting a table including a plurality of intra prediction modes respectively corresponding to a plurality of intra prediction angles; and selecting, for encoding/decoding the hexagonally-sampled image, one of the plurality of intra prediction modes, from the set table, wherein a number of the plurality of intra prediction modes included in the set table is 33, the set table including:
predModelntra 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 intraPredAngle 32 22 15 9 4 0 -3 -6 -9 -12 -15 predModelntra 13 14 15 16 17 #18 19 20 210 22 = = 23 intraPredAngle -17 -20 -23 -26 -29 -32 -29 -26 -23 -20 -17 predModelntra 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 £33 =~ © 34 intraPredAngle -15 -12 -9 -6~— -3 0 4 9 15 22 32 as taught by Jeon, to improve coding efficiency be defining angular modes ([0208], Jeon).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 2-3, 8-9 allowed.
Conclusion
LERON . BECK
Examiner
Art Unit 2487
/LERON BECK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487