Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 15, 23, and 27 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 15-16, 23, 27, and 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK et al. (US 20180279186 A1, hereinafter, "PARK") in view of HWANG et al. (US 20200396627 A1, hereinafter, "HWANG") and KAZMI et al. (US 20100323683 A1, hereinafter, "KAZMI").
Regarding claim 15, PARK teaches a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication
(paragraph 0162; figure 4, wireless device: 406), comprising:
a memory (paragraph 0162; figure 4, non-transitory memory: 409);
and one or more processors operatively coupled to the memory (paragraph 0162; figure 4, one
or more processors: 408), the memory and the one or more processors configured to:
determine a measurement period for the measurement schedule based at least in part on a received power value associated with the serving cell and on comparing the received power value of the neighbor cell to a given threshold,
PARK writes, “The wireless device may make measurements to determine power of transmissions from
one or more base stations in a respective one or more neighboring cells. The wireless device may also
measure the power of transmissions by a source base station, such as the source base station 2802
and/or the source base station 2902, that may be serving the wireless device...A measurement event
may comprise, e.g., one or more of a determination that an RSRP and/or an RSRQ of a target cell (e.g., a
cell of a target base station) is greater than a first threshold; a determination that an RSRP and/or an
RSRQ of a source cell (e.g., a cell of a source base station) is less than a second threshold; a
determination that an RSRP and/or an RSRQ of a target cell exceeds a an RSRP and/or RSRQ of a source
cell and/or exceeds an RSRP and/or RSRQ of a source cell by an offset power value...The process 3000
may end after step 3005, or the process 3000 may repeat after a time period or after an event that may
trigger a measurement of target cell quality and/or serving cell quality, such as one or more indications
of a transmission failure and/or one or more indications of a neighbor cell transmission” (paragraph
0346; figure 3).
and perform one or more neighbor cell measurements in accordance with the determined
measurement period.
PARK writes, “The wireless device may make measurements to determine power of transmissions from
one or more base stations in a respective one or more neighboring cells. The wireless device may also
measure the power of transmissions by a source base station, such as the source base station 2802
and/or the source base station 2902, that may be serving the wireless device...A measurement event
may comprise, e.g., one or more of a determination that an RSRP and/or an RSRQ of a target cell (e.g., a
cell of a target base station) is greater than a first threshold; a determination that an RSRP and/or an
RSRQ of a source cell (e.g., a cell of a source base station) is less than a second threshold; a
determination that an RSRP and/or an RSRQ of a target cell exceeds a an RSRP and/or RSRQ of a source
cell and/or exceeds an RSRP and/or RSRQ of a source cell by an offset power value...The process 3000
may end after step 3005, or the process 3000 may repeat after a time period or after an event that may
trigger a measurement of target cell quality and/or serving cell quality, such as one or more indications
of a transmission failure and/or one or more indications of a neighbor cell transmission” (paragraph
0346; figure 3).
PARK fails to explicitly disclose information regarding, “receive, from a serving cell, information indicating a measurement schedule that specifies a baseline measurement period for measurement of a neighbor cell;” and “wherein the determined measurement period is different than the baseline measurement period;”
However, in analogous art, HWANG teaches receive, from a serving cell, information indicating a measurement schedule that specifies a baseline measurement period for measurement of a neighbor cell;
HWANG writes, “Meanwhile, the UE 100 receives a measurement configuration information element (IE) from the serving cell 100a for the measurement” (paragraph 0077). HWANG continues, “The measurement configuration IE may include measurement object information. The measurement object information is information of an object which is to be measured by the UE. The measurement object includes at least one of an intra-frequency measurement object which is an object of intra-cell measurement, an inter-frequency measurement object which is an object of inter-cell measurement and an inter-RAT measurement object which is an object of inter-RAT measurement” (paragraph 0078). HWANG adds, “Meanwhile, the measurement configuration IE includes an information element (IE) as shown in the following table. The ‘measGapConfig’ is used to configure or cancel a measurement gap (MG)” (paragraph 0080). HWANG concludes, “When the UE requires a measurement gap to identify and measure a cell at an inter-frequency and inter-RAT, the E-UTRAN (i.e., the base station) may provide a single measurement gap (MG) pattern with a predetermined gap period to the UE. Without transmitting or receiving any data from the serving cell for the measurement gap period, the UE returns its RF chain to be adapted to the inter-frequency and then performs measurement at the corresponding inter-frequency” (paragraph 0081).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK to include aspects described by HWANG that “relates to next generation mobile communication.” HWANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “Specifically, when different numbers of receiving beams are used for measurement and downlink data reception, the UE may change the number of receiving beams as follows. For example, the UE may improve measurement quality with respect to a neighbor cell using a larger number or receiving beams and use a relatively small number of beams for downlink data reception in an indoor environment having low mobility or in an environment in which the UE is moving at a low speed because a neighbor cell environment does not significantly change. Further, the UE may perform rapid measurement on a neighbor cell using a small number of receiving cells and use a relatively large number of beams for data reception in an outdoor environment having high mobility or in an environment in which the UE is moving at a high speed.” (paragraph 0278).
PARK and HWANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the determined measurement period is different than the baseline measurement period;”
However, in analogous art, KAZMI teaches wherein the determined measurement period is different than the baseline measurement period;
KAZMI writes, “When the UE is in the DRX state the measurement period can also be set to be longer and the length of the measurement period can vary with the DRX cycle” (paragraph 0022). KAZMI adds, “FIG. 15 illustrates a situation in which the wireless terminal has been operating in a discontinuous mode (either one or both of DRX or DTX) having a cycle length of 2.56 second, with four samples of each of four cells. In the FIG. 15 discontinuous mode situation the measurement period of reference signal received power (RSRP), which is LTE measurement quantity, is approximately 10.28 seconds” (paragraph 0142).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK and HWANG to include aspects described by KAZMI that “pertains to telecommunications, and particularly to method and apparatus for performing measurements, particularly when a wireless terminal is or has been operating in a discontinuous reception (DRX) and/or a discontinuous transmission (DTX) mode.” KAZMI provides the motivation for modification stating, “The shortening of DRX and/or DTX in emergency situation has several advantages. It enables the UE and network to establish faster communication and allows the UE and/or network node to perform relatively faster measurements required for various reasons e.g. for determination of UE position, for better UE mobility performance etc. Another advantage is that UE can still save its battery power which is important in such emergency situation” (paragraph 0158).
Regarding claim 16, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the UE of claim 15
Additionally, KAZMI teaches wherein the determined measurement period is
longer than a discontinuous reception cycle of the UE.
KAZMI writes, “When the UE is in the DRX state the measurement period can also be set to be longer
and the length of the measurement period can vary with the DRX cycle” (paragraph 0022).
Claims 1, 2, 23, and 27 are method, memory, and apparatus claims corresponding to the
apparatus claims 15 and 17 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed
to the rejection of claims 15 and 17. Claims 1, 3, 23, and 27 are rejected under the same rational as
claims 15 and 17.
Regarding claim 31, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the method of claim 1
Additionally, KAZMI teaches wherein the baseline measurement period is defined relative to a DRX cycle of the UE.
KAZMI writes, “A longer DTX cycle or idle gaps (such as compressed mode gaps or measurement gaps) may particularly lead to longer measurement periods and response times of the positioning measurements done at the base station (e.g. round trip time or one way propagation delay)” (paragraph 0137).
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of JUNG et al. (US 20210235344 A1, hereinafter, "JUNG").
Regarding claim 17, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the UE of claim 15,
PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the received power value associated with the serving cell is a cell selection receive level (Srxlev) value associated with the serving cell and the received power value associated with the neighbor cell is an Srxlev value associated with the neighbor cell.”
However, in analogous art, JUNG teaches wherein the received power value associated with the serving cell is a cell selection receive level (Srxlev) value associated with the serving cell and the received power value associated with the neighbor cell is an Srxlev value associated with the neighbor cell.
JUNG writes, “A cell on which the UE 1e-01 in the RRC_IDLE mode or the RRC_INACTIVE mode camps by
discovering a suitable cell may be referred to as a serving cell. In order to perform the cell selection
procedure, the UE 1e-01 may receive system information (e.g., MIB and SIB1) broadcast from the cell. In
order to perform the cell selection procedure, the UE 1e-01 in the RRC_IDLE mode or the RRC_INACTIVE
mode may measure absolute signal power (reference signal received power (RSRP, Qrxlevmeas) of the
cell and relative signal quality (reference signal received quality (RSRQ, Qqualmeas)) of the cell. For
example, the UE 1e-01 may calculate a reception level (Srxlev) and a reception quality (Squal) of the cell
by using parameters included in the system information received in operation 1e-15. For example, the
reception level and the reception quality of the cell may be calculated by using Equation 1 below.
Srxlev=Q.sub.rxlevmeas−(Q.sub.rxlevmin+Q.sub.rxlevminoffset)−P.sub.compensation−Qoffset.sub.temp,
Squal=Q.sub.qualmeas−(Q.sub.qualmin+Q.sub.qualminoffset)−Qoffset.sub.temp.
Equation 1”
(paragraph 0153). JUNG adds, “FIG. 6 is a diagram for describing operations of a UE in an RRC_IDLE
mode or an RRC_INACTIVE mode, the UE measuring a neighboring cell by applying legacy relaxed
measurement so as to perform a cell reselection evaluation procedure according to an embodiment of
the disclosure” (paragraph 0161).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by JUNG that “relates to a method and an apparatus for relaxing radio resource management (RRM) measurement in a wireless communication system. More particularly, the disclosure relates to a method of relaxing frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system.” JUNG provides the motivation for modification stating, “Accordingly, an aspect of the disclosure is to provide an apparatus and a method for effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system” (paragraph 0010).
Claim 3 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 17 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 17. Claim 3 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 17.
Claim(s) 4 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of ZHANG et al. (US 20210112465 A1, hereinafter, "ZHANG").
Regarding claim 18, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the UE of claim 15,
PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the determined measurement period is a maximum measurement period if the received power value associated with the serving cell is greater than a reselection threshold and the received power value associated with the neighbor cell is lower than the given threshold.”
However, in analogous art, ZHANG teaches wherein the determined measurement period is a
maximum measurement period if the received power value associated with the serving cell is greater
than a reselection threshold and the received power value associated with the neighbor cell is lower
than the given threshold.
ZHANG writes, “In some possible embodiments of the present disclosure, subsequent to acquiring the
signal transmission information from the neighboring cell, the signal interaction method further includes
configuring one or more measurement parameters for the measurement of a signal from the
neighboring cell for a UE in a serving cell in accordance with the signal transmission information from
the neighboring cell” (paragraph 0012). ZHANG continues, “In some possible embodiments of the
present disclosure, the configuring the measurement parameter for the measurement of a signal from
the neighboring cell for the UE in the serving cell in accordance with the signal transmission information
from the neighboring cell includes configuring a measurement gap and/or a measurement period for the
UE in the serving cell in accordance with the signal transmission information” (paragraph 0013). ZHANG
adds, “The measurement gap is greater than the larger scanning time for the transmission of the
reference signal for beam measurement, so it is able for the UE in the serving cell to measure the
synchronization signals and the reference signals for beam measurement from all the neighboring cells
within the measurement gap” (paragraph 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by ZHANG that “relates to the field of communication technology, in particular to a method and a device for configuring one or more measurement parameters.” ZHANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a method and a device for configuring one or more measurement parameters, so as to solve the problem in the related art where it is impossible for the conventional measurement gap configuration mechanism to ensure that the UE is capable of successfully receiving the signal from the neighboring cell” (paragraph 0007).
Claim 4 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 18 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 18. Claim 4 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 18.
Claim(s) 5, 13, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of KOSKINEN et al. (US 20150079991 A1, hereinafter, "KOSKINEN").
Regarding claim 13, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the method of claim 1,
PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the given threshold is determined by the UE or preconfigured for the UE.”
However, in analogous art, KOSKINEN teaches wherein the given threshold is determined by
the UE or preconfigured for the UE.
KOSKINEN writes, “Pre-determined thresholds may also be given to the signal levels or signal quality to
the serving cell and neighbor cell radio measurement results which may provide the criteria to initiate
the handover to the new cell. In some embodiments, the handover trigger can be for example, an event
where single threshold is exceeded, the serving cell signal level or quality is lower than threshold, and/or
there can be multiple thresholds that determine the handover criteria. For example, the serving cell
signal level or quality may be lower than a first threshold while the neighbor cell signal level or quality is
higher than a second threshold” (paragraph 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by KOSKINEN that “relate generally to wireless communications technology and, more particularly, relate to a method, apparatus, and computer program product for enhancing a mobile terminal connected mode and a connected mode mobility.” KOSKINEN provides the motivation for modification stating, “In an embodiment and for example, the semi-idle state may also be advantageous within a single cell. For example, mobile terminal power consumption may be reduced especially in cases where the network has not given an appropriate connected mode DRX configuration that is applicable for infrequent data transfer and reception. The mobile terminal may effectively stay in a RRC connected state, e.g. the mobile terminal can be addressed with existing Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Alternatively, in an instance in which the duration of inactivity in the semi-idle state is long, the network may use also use a paging procedure for initiating a mobile terminal data transfer” (paragraph 0021).
Regarding claim 19, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the UE of claim 15,
PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the given threshold is lower than a neighbor selection threshold indicated by the information indicating the measurement schedule.”
However, in analogous art, KOSKINEN teaches wherein the given threshold is lower than a
neighbor selection threshold indicated by the information indicating the measurement schedule.
KOSKINEN writes, “Pre-determined thresholds may also be given to the signal levels or signal quality to
the serving cell and neighbor cell radio measurement results which may provide the criteria to initiate
the handover to the new cell. In some embodiments, the handover trigger can be for example, an event
where single threshold is exceeded, the serving cell signal level or quality is lower than threshold, and/or
there can be multiple thresholds that determine the handover criteria. For example, the serving cell
signal level or quality may be lower than a first threshold while the neighbor cell signal level or quality is
higher than a second threshold” (paragraph 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by KOSKINEN that “relate generally to wireless communications technology and, more particularly, relate to a method, apparatus, and computer program product for enhancing a mobile terminal connected mode and a connected mode mobility.” KOSKINEN provides the motivation for modification stating, “In an embodiment and for example, the semi-idle state may also be advantageous within a single cell. For example, mobile terminal power consumption may be reduced especially in cases where the network has not given an appropriate connected mode DRX configuration that is applicable for infrequent data transfer and reception. The mobile terminal may effectively stay in a RRC connected state, e.g. the mobile terminal can be addressed with existing Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Alternatively, in an instance in which the duration of inactivity in the semi-idle state is long, the network may use also use a paging procedure for initiating a mobile terminal data transfer” (paragraph 0021).
Claim 5 is a method claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 19 that has already been
rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 19. Claim 5 is rejected
under the same rational as claim 19.
Claim(s) 6-8, 20-21, 24-25, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI as applied to claims 1, 15, 23, and 27 above, and further in view of JI et al. (US 20140185475 A1, hereinafter, "JI").
Regarding claim 20, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the UE of claim 15,
PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the information indicating the measurement schedule indicates a neighbor selection threshold associated with a cell reselection criterion, and wherein the one or more processors are configured to:”, “determine the determined measurement period to be shorter than a maximum measurement period if the received power value associated with the serving cell is greater than a reselection threshold,”, “wherein the determined measurement period is determined using a scaling factor if the received power value associated with the neighbor cell is greater than the neighbor selection threshold,”, and “and the determined measurement period is determined without using the scaling factor if the received power value associated with the neighbor cell is not greater than the neighbor selection threshold.”
However, in analogous art, JI teaches wherein the information indicating the measurement
schedule indicates a neighbor selection threshold associated with a cell reselection criterion, and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
JI writes, “However, it may frequently be the case that not all neighboring cells of a UE 106 may have
equal relevance to the UE 106. For example, when conditions change such that cell re-selection
becomes desirable, it may be more likely that the best choice for cell re-selection may be a cell which
has recently exhibited relatively high signal strength, SNR, and/or other characteristics indicative of a
cell which will likely provide good quality service. It might thus be desirable to maintain a relatively
frequent measurement schedule for such relatively strong cells, so that recent measurements are
available for those cells most likely to be re-selected to” (paragraph 0083).
determine the determined measurement period to be shorter than a maximum measurement
period if the received power value associated with the serving cell is greater than a reselection
threshold,
JI writes, “However, it may frequently be the case that not all neighboring cells of a UE 106 may have
equal relevance to the UE 106. For example, when conditions change such that cell re-selection
becomes desirable, it may be more likely that the best choice for cell re-selection may be a cell which
has recently exhibited relatively high signal strength, SNR, and/or other characteristics indicative of a
cell which will likely provide good quality service. It might thus be desirable to maintain a relatively
frequent measurement schedule for such relatively strong cells, so that recent measurements are
available for those cells most likely to be re-selected to” (paragraph 0083).
wherein the determined measurement period is determined using a scaling factor if the
received power value associated with the neighbor cell is greater than the neighbor selection
threshold,
JI writes, “For example, on an individual basis (or in subsets, e.g., grouped based on common ranges of
characteristic values, or on other bases), neighboring cells could be evaluated for signal strength, SNR,
etc., in order to determine a scaling factor (e.g., a rate at which cell measurements are performed/a
proportion of DRX cycles in which to perform cell measurements) for future measurements of those
cells (e.g., individually and/or according to cell groupings)” (paragraph 0086).
and the determined measurement period is determined without using the scaling factor if the
received power value associated with the neighbor cell is not greater than the neighbor selection
threshold.
JI writes, “For example, on an individual basis (or in subsets, e.g., grouped based on common ranges of
characteristic values, or on other bases), neighboring cells could be evaluated for signal strength, SNR,
etc., in order to determine a scaling factor (e.g., a rate at which cell measurements are performed/a
proportion of DRX cycles in which to perform cell measurements) for future measurements of those
cells (e.g., individually and/or according to cell groupings)” (paragraph 0086).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by JI that “relates to wireless devices, and more particularly to a system and method for adaptive neighboring cell measurement and evaluation scaling by a wireless device.” JI provides the motivation for modification stating, “Accordingly, utilizing a technique for adaptively scaling neighboring cell measurements may enable a wireless device in such a system to advantageously reduce its battery consumption by reducing the frequency at which less-relevant neighboring cells are measured, without sacrificing device performance (e.g., since more-relevant neighboring cells may still be measured at their usual frequency)” (paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 21, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the UE of claim 15,
PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the information indicating the measurement schedule indicates a neighbor selection threshold associated with a cell reselection criterion,”, “and if the received power value associated with the serving cell is lower than a reselection threshold, the one or more processors are further configured to:”, and “schedule the one or more neighbor cell measurements for each of one or more neighbor cells, including the neighbor cell, that are associated with respective received power values that satisfy the neighbor selection threshold.”
However, in analogous art, JI teaches wherein the information indicating the measurement
schedule indicates a neighbor selection threshold associated with a cell reselection criterion,
JI writes, “However, it may frequently be the case that not all neighboring cells of a UE 106 may have
equal relevance to the UE 106. For example, when conditions change such that cell re-selection
becomes desirable, it may be more likely that the best choice for cell re-selection may be a cell which
has recently exhibited relatively high signal strength, SNR, and/or other characteristics indicative of a
cell which will likely provide good quality service. It might thus be desirable to maintain a relatively
frequent measurement schedule for such relatively strong cells, so that recent measurements are
available for those cells most likely to be re-selected to” (paragraph 0083).
and if the received power value associated with the serving cell is lower than a reselection
threshold, the one or more processors are further configured to:
JI writes, “However, it may frequently be the case that not all neighboring cells of a UE 106 may have
equal relevance to the UE 106. For example, when conditions change such that cell re-selection
becomes desirable, it may be more likely that the best choice for cell re-selection may be a cell which
has recently exhibited relatively high signal strength, SNR, and/or other characteristics indicative of a
cell which will likely provide good quality service. It might thus be desirable to maintain a relatively
frequent measurement schedule for such relatively strong cells, so that recent measurements are
available for those cells most likely to be re-selected to” (paragraph 0083).
schedule the one or more neighbor cell measurements for each of one or more neighbor cells,
including the neighbor cell, that are associated with respective received power values that satisfy the
neighbor selection threshold.
JI writes, “However, it may frequently be the case that not all neighboring cells of a UE 106 may have
equal relevance to the UE 106. For example, when conditions change such that cell re-selection
becomes desirable, it may be more likely that the best choice for cell re-selection may be a cell which
has recently exhibited relatively high signal strength, SNR, and/or other characteristics indicative of a
cell which will likely provide good quality service. It might thus be desirable to maintain a relatively
frequent measurement schedule for such relatively strong cells, so that recent measurements are
available for those cells most likely to be re-selected to” (paragraph 0083).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by JI that “relates to wireless devices, and more particularly to a system and method for adaptive neighboring cell measurement and evaluation scaling by a wireless device.” JI provides the motivation for modification stating, “Accordingly, utilizing a technique for adaptively scaling neighboring cell measurements may enable a wireless device in such a system to advantageously reduce its battery consumption by reducing the frequency at which less-relevant neighboring cells are measured, without sacrificing device performance (e.g., since more-relevant neighboring cells may still be measured at their usual frequency)” (paragraph 0009).
Claims 6-7, 24-25, and 28-29 are method, memory, and apparatus claims corresponding to the
apparatus claims 20-21 that have already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to
the rejection of claims 20-21. Claims 6-7, 24-25, and 28-29 are rejected under the same rational as
claims 20-21.
Regarding claim 8, PARK, HWANG, KAZMI, and JI teach the method of claim 7,
Additionally, JI teaches wherein the one or more neighbor cell measurements are scheduled
once per discontinuous reception cycle of the UE.
JI writes, “Thus, in each respective DRX cycle, cell measurements may be performed on those cells for
which cell measurements are scheduled according to their assigned scaling factor(s)…” (paragraph
0093).
Claim(s) 9, 22, 26, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI as applied to claims 1, 15, 23, and 27 above, and further in view of KOSKINEN and ZHANG et al. (US 20210112465 A1, hereinafter, "ZHANG").
Regarding claim 22, PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI teach the UE of claim 15,
PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein, if the received power value associated with the serving cell is lower than a reselection threshold and no neighbor cell of the UE is associated with a received power value greater than a neighbor selection threshold associated with a cell reselection criterion, the one or more processors are further configured to:” and “schedule the one or more neighbor cell measurements for each of one or more neighbor cells identified by a neighbor cell list.”
However, in analogous art, KOSKINEN teaches wherein, if the received power value associated
with the serving cell is lower than a reselection threshold and no neighbor cell of the UE is associated
with a received power value greater than a neighbor selection threshold associated with a cell
reselection criterion, the one or more processors are further configured to:
KOSKINEN writes, “Pre-determined thresholds may also be given to the signal levels or signal
quality to the serving cell and neighbor cell radio measurement results which may provide the criteria to
initiate the handover to the new cell. In some embodiments, the handover trigger can be for example,
an event where single threshold is exceeded, the serving cell signal level or quality is lower than
threshold, and/or there can be multiple thresholds that determine the handover criteria. For example,
the serving cell signal level or quality may be lower than a first threshold while the neighbor cell signal
level or quality is higher than a second threshold” (paragraph 0065).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by KOSKINEN that “relate generally to wireless communications technology and, more particularly, relate to a method, apparatus, and computer program product for enhancing a mobile terminal connected mode and a connected mode mobility.” KOSKINEN provides the motivation for modification stating, “In an embodiment and for example, the semi-idle state may also be advantageous within a single cell. For example, mobile terminal power consumption may be reduced especially in cases where the network has not given an appropriate connected mode DRX configuration that is applicable for infrequent data transfer and reception. The mobile terminal may effectively stay in a RRC connected state, e.g. the mobile terminal can be addressed with existing Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI). Alternatively, in an instance in which the duration of inactivity in the semi-idle state is long, the network may use also use a paging procedure for initiating a mobile terminal data transfer” (paragraph 0021).
PARK, HWANG, KAZMI, and KOSKINEN fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “schedule the one or more neighbor cell measurements for each of one or more neighbor cells identified by a neighbor cell list.”
However, in analogous art, ZHANG teaches schedule the one or more neighbor cell
measurements for each of one or more neighbor cells identified by a neighbor cell list.
ZHANG writes, “In some possible embodiments of the present disclosure, the neighboring cell is
recorded in a neighboring cell list” (paragraph 0011).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, JUNG, and KOSKINEN to include aspects described by ZHANG that “relates to the field of communication technology, in particular to a method and a device for configuring one or more measurement parameters.” ZHANG provides the motivation for modification stating, “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a method and a device for configuring one or more measurement parameters, so as to solve the problem in the related art where it is impossible for the conventional measurement gap configuration mechanism to ensure that the UE is capable of successfully receiving the signal from the neighboring cell” (paragraph 0007).
Claims 9, 26, and 30 are method, memory, and apparatus claims corresponding to the apparatus claim 22 that has already been rejected above. The applicant’s attention is directed to the
rejection of claim 22. Claims 9, 26, and 30 are rejected under the same rational as claim 22.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over PARK, HWANG, KAZMI, KOSKINEN, and ZHANG as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of JUNG.
Regarding claim 10, PARK, HWANG, KAZMI, KOSKINEN, and ZHANG teach the method of claim 9,
PARK, HWANG, KAZMI, KOSKINEN, and ZHANG fail to explicitly disclose information regarding, “wherein the one or more neighbor cell measurements are scheduled once per discontinuous reception cycle of the UE.”
However, in analogous art, JUNG teaches wherein the one or more neighbor cell measurements are scheduled once per discontinuous reception cycle of the UE.
JUNG writes, “For example, a measurement cycle may be per n*DRX cycle (n=1 for FR1, n=1.5 for FR2)”
(paragraph 0175).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method and invention of PARK, HWANG, and KAZMI to include aspects described by JUNG that “relates to a method and an apparatus for relaxing radio resource management (RRM) measurement in a wireless communication system. More particularly, the disclosure relates to a method of relaxing frequency measurement by a terminal in a wireless communication system by effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system.” JUNG provides the motivation for modification stating, “Accordingly, an aspect of the disclosure is to provide an apparatus and a method for effectively providing a service in a mobile communication system” (paragraph 0010).
Claim 14 has been cancelled by the applicant, respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Christopher A. Reyes/Examiner, Art Unit 2475 5/8/2026
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475