DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/20/2026 has been fully considered and entered into record. Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19-30 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive Regarding the rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103, particularly in view of Ly (WO 2020/247043), modified by Rune (US 2021/0185652), have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues Rune generally describes if/when certain parameters are expected to be configured for PDCCH monitoring, and describes a specific parameter (e.g., "monitoring SymbolsWithinSlot2 ") that is expected to be configured if a PO "coincides" with a synchronization signal burst set. Applicant argues absent from Rune is any description regarding how a wireless device transmits a registration request based on a time interval required for the device to receive and process a synchronization signal block, and absent from Rune is any discussion regarding a time interval for a wireless device to receive and process a synchronization signal block. Therefore, Applicant argues Rune does not teach or suggest "wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block" as currently recited in amended independent claim 1.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., time interval required for the device to receive and process a synchronization signal block) are not recited in the rejected claims. The claims recite and require “wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block.” As further detailed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection provided below, the phrase “associated with” is subjective (MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV)) because different people can have different opinions as to whether something is "associated" or not. One option to overcome this rejection is to recite an objective standard, such as "is." Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Rune teaches paging occasions failing to satisfy a threshold timing value, as indicated by the paging occasion, PO coinciding within an SS Burst set ([0131-0133]) and teaches the consideration of monitoring slot periodicity set equal to the duration parameter, the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO, and the creation of gaps between the PO where the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter ([0151-0152]). These duration parameters and periodicities are timing values associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process at least one SSB. Therefore, the disclosure of Rune continues to read on the broadest reasonable interpretation of the amended limitations.
Applicant further argues Rune does not teach or suggest a wireless device transmitting a registration request based on such a time interval to receive and process a synchronization signal block, and that in Rune, the analysis as to whether or not a PO "coincides" with a synchronization signal burst set is used to determine whether the monitoringSymbolsWithinSlot2 parameter is to be configured or not, and such an analysis is not used for transmission of a registration request, thereby failing to cure the defect of Ly.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Ly was relied upon to teach transmitting, to the base station, a registration request ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation . . .) based at least in part on the first set of paging occasions failing to satisfy a threshold timing value of the UE ([00272], Step S3404: The UE uses the temporary identifiers to compute the paging occasions associated with each SIM. Based on the timing information the UE has for each PLMN, the UE detects that a paging collision may exist as shown in Figure 35). In the same field of endeavor, Rune is relied upon to teach consideration of SSB beam patterns when defining threshold timing values ([0151-0152]). It is in the combined teachings of the references that the amended limitations are rendered obvious. For these reasons, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4, 6-17, and 19-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “associated with” in Claim 1 line 10; Claim 14 lines 14-15; Claim 27 line 10; and Claim 30 line 11, is subjective (MPEP 2173.05(b)(IV)) because different people can have different opinions as to whether something is "associated" or not. One option to overcome this rejection is to recite an objective standard, such as "is." The specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The phrase “paging occasions failing to satisfy a threshold timing value of the UE” in Claim 1 line 9; Claim 14 line 12-13; Claim 27 line 9; Claim 30 line 9-10; is indefinite for failing to specifically define “a threshold timing value” of the UE or how a paging occasion would “fail to satisfy” said threshold. Does “failing to satisfy” mean the paging occasion exceeds the threshold, or somehow falls short and fails to meet the threshold? Why is the “paging occasion” not being discussed in terms of timing values defined by the paging occasion? Is the threshold considered in terms of periodicity, duration, or instances of collision? The confusion in the claim and questions raise in the interpretation of these limitations render the scope of the claim indefinite.
Claims 2-4, 6-13, 15-17, 19-26, and 28-29 are rejected as being indefinite for the same reasons as Claims 1, 14, 27, and 30 above, upon which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8, 13-21, and 26-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al (WO 2020/247043), in view of Rune (US 2021/0185652).
Regarding Claim 1, Ly teaches a method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 34), comprising: establishing a first wireless connection with a base station ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1);
receiving an indication of a first temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE, the first temporary mobile subscription identifier corresponding to a first set of paging occasions for the UE ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1 and receives a temporary identifier for SIM1. The UE then registers to PLMN2 possibly after disconnecting from PLMN1. The UE receives a temporary identifier for SIM2);
transmitting, to the base station, a registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation. The UE may also configure the PLMN to only page the UE for certain data such as voice calls and SMS messages by using the paging criteria parameter. Additionally, the UE may configure the CN to limit the paging area to the last tracking area or registration area the UE was in contact with the CN to minimize wasting paging resources in other tracking or registration areas. The UE may also only include a multi-SIM indicator to let the CN provide a new temporary identifier which corresponds to another PO or even propose a new temporary identifier whose PO location is different than the current PO);
and based at least in part on the first set of paging occasions failing to satisfy a threshold timing value of the UE ([00272], Step S3404: The UE uses the temporary identifiers to compute the paging occasions associated with each SIM. Based on the timing information the UE has for each PLMN, the UE detects that a paging collision may exist as shown in Figure 35);
receiving a response to the registration request that indicates a second temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier); and
receiving one or more paging messages from the base station in a second set of paging occasions that correspond to the second temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier. The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions).
Ly fails to teach wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block.
In the same field of endeavor, Rune teaches wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claim 2, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: establishing the first wireless connection for a first subscriber identity module and a second wireless connection for a second subscriber identity module, wherein transmission of the registration request is based at least in part on a comparison between the threshold timing value is a first threshold timing value and an additional time interval between a paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions for the first subscriber identity module and a paging occasion of a third set of paging occasions for the second subscriber identity module ([00272], Although the timing relationship between the PLMNs is asynchronous, the UE may be able to detect paging collisions by superimposing the two timing references together to obtain a single timing reference. Figure 35 shows the paging frames associated with each PLMN and their paging occasions overlap even though their superframe timings are not aligned. Note that the POs may not necessarily need to overlap to cause a paging collision. If the PO is sufficiently close to each other, that may also cause a paging collision as the UE does not have enough time to switch connections from one PLMN to another PLMN. Each time the UE has to perform this operation, there are certain latencies associated with the procedure, e.g. the UE has to tune the radios to the appropriate frequencies, perform cell search, PLMN selection, etc).
Regarding Claim 3, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the method of claim 2, wherein: the first set of paging occasions fail to satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions being less than or equal to a threshold time interval from the paging occasion of the third set of paging occasions ([00272], Although the timing relationship between the PLMNs is asynchronous, the UE may be able to detect paging collisions by superimposing the two timing references together to obtain a single timing reference. Figure 35 shows the paging frames associated with each PLMN and their paging occasions overlap even though their superframe timings are not aligned. Note that the POs may not necessarily need to overlap to cause a paging collision. If the PO is sufficiently close to each other, that may also cause a paging collision as the UE does not have enough time to switch connections from one PLMN to another PLMN. Each time the UE has to perform this operation, there are certain latencies associated with the procedure, e.g. the UE has to tune the radios to the appropriate frequencies, perform cell search, PLMN selection, etc); and
the second set of paging occasions satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on a paging occasion of the second set of paging occasions being greater than the threshold time interval from the paging occasion of the third set of paging occasions ([00272], The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions. Alternatively, the UE may propose a temporary identifier that it has determine will avoid paging collisions with the PO of the other PLMN).
Regarding Claim 4, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions fails to satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on at least a portion of the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions overlapping in time with at least a portion of the paging occasion of the third set of paging occasions ([00272], Although the timing relationship between the PLMNs is asynchronous, the UE may be able to detect paging collisions by superimposing the two timing references together to obtain a single timing reference. Figure 35 shows the paging frames associated with each PLMN and their paging occasions overlap even though their superframe timings are not aligned. Note that the POs may not necessarily need to overlap to cause a paging collision. If the PO is sufficiently close to each other, that may also cause a paging collision as the UE does not have enough time to switch connections from one PLMN to another PLMN. Each time the UE has to perform this operation, there are certain latencies associated with the procedure, e.g. the UE has to tune the radios to the appropriate frequencies, perform cell search, PLMN selection, etc).
Regarding Claim 6, Ly and Rune teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 5 above, where Rune further teaches receiving the synchronization signal block from the base station at a first time, wherein the threshold timing value is compared to an additional time interval between the first time and a paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claims 7, Ly and Rune teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 6 above, where Rune further teaches wherein the first set of paging occasions fail to satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on the additional time interval between the first time and the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions being greater than or equal to the threshold timing value ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claim 8, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein transmitting the registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier comprises: transmitting at least one additional registration request at least in part in response to the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier; receiving at least one additional response corresponding to each of the at least one additional registration request, each additional registration response of the at least one additional registration response comprising an indication of an additional temporary mobile subscription identifier corresponding to a set of paging occasions for the UE that fail to satisfy the threshold timing value for the UE; and transmitting the registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier and the indication of the additional temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation. Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier. The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions. Alternatively, the UE may propose a temporary identifier that it has determine will avoid paging collisions with the PO of the other PLMN).
Regarding Claim 13, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first temporary mobile subscription identifier comprises a first short temporary mobile subscription identifier and the second temporary mobile subscription identifier comprises a second short temporary mobile subscription identifier, the first short temporary mobile subscription identifier comprising an access and mobility management function (AMF) set identifier, an AMF pointer, and a first fifth generation temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the second short temporary mobile subscription identifier comprising the AMF set identifier, the AMF pointer, and a second fifth generation temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00144], The 5G-S-TMSI is the shortened form of the GUTI to enable more efficient radio signaling procedures (e.g. during Paging and Service Request) and is defined as: <5G-S-TMSI> := <AMF Set ID> <AMF Pointer> <5G-TMSI> Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization).
Regarding Claim 14, Ly teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more processors; memory coupled with the one or more processors; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus ([00133], Fig. 34) to: establish a first wireless connection with a base station ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1);
receive an indication of a first temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE, the first temporary mobile subscription identifier corresponding to a first set of paging occasions for the UE ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1 and receives a temporary identifier for SIM1. The UE then registers to PLMN2 possibly after disconnecting from PLMN1. The UE receives a temporary identifier for SIM2);
transmit, to the base station, a registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation. The UE may also configure the PLMN to only page the UE for certain data such as voice calls and SMS messages by using the paging criteria parameter. Additionally, the UE may configure the CN to limit the paging area to the last tracking area or registration area the UE was in contact with the CN to minimize wasting paging resources in other tracking or registration areas. The UE may also only include a multi-SIM indicator to let the CN provide a new temporary identifier which corresponds to another PO or even propose a new temporary identifier whose PO location is different than the current PO)
and based at least in part on the first set of paging occasions failing to satisfy a threshold timing value of the UE ([00272], Step S3404: The UE uses the temporary identifiers to compute the paging occasions associated with each SIM. Based on the timing information the UE has for each PLMN, the UE detects that a paging collision may exist as shown in Figure 35);
receive a response to the registration request that indicates a second temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier); and
receive one or more paging messages from the base station in a second set of paging occasions that correspond to the second temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier. The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions).
Ly fails to teach wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block.
In the same field of endeavor, Rune teaches wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claim 15, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to cause the apparatus to: establish the first wireless connection for a first subscriber identity module and a second wireless connection for a second subscriber identity module, wherein transmission of the registration request is based at least in part on a comparison between the threshold timing value and an additional time interval between a paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions for the first subscriber identity module and a paging occasion of a third set of paging occasions for the second subscriber identity module ([00272], Although the timing relationship between the PLMNs is asynchronous, the UE may be able to detect paging collisions by superimposing the two timing references together to obtain a single timing reference. Figure 35 shows the paging frames associated with each PLMN and their paging occasions overlap even though their superframe timings are not aligned. Note that the POs may not necessarily need to overlap to cause a paging collision. If the PO is sufficiently close to each other, that may also cause a paging collision as the UE does not have enough time to switch connections from one PLMN to another PLMN. Each time the UE has to perform this operation, there are certain latencies associated with the procedure, e.g. the UE has to tune the radios to the appropriate frequencies, perform cell search, PLMN selection, etc).
Regarding Claim 16, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein: the first set of paging occasions fail to satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions being less than or equal to a threshold time interval from the paging occasion of the third set of paging occasions ([00272], Although the timing relationship between the PLMNs is asynchronous, the UE may be able to detect paging collisions by superimposing the two timing references together to obtain a single timing reference. Figure 35 shows the paging frames associated with each PLMN and their paging occasions overlap even though their superframe timings are not aligned. Note that the POs may not necessarily need to overlap to cause a paging collision. If the PO is sufficiently close to each other, that may also cause a paging collision as the UE does not have enough time to switch connections from one PLMN to another PLMN. Each time the UE has to perform this operation, there are certain latencies associated with the procedure, e.g. the UE has to tune the radios to the appropriate frequencies, perform cell search, PLMN selection, etc); and
the second set of paging occasions satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on a paging occasion of the second set of paging occasions being greater than the threshold time interval from the paging occasion of the third set of paging occasions ([00272], The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions. Alternatively, the UE may propose a temporary identifier that it has determine will avoid paging collisions with the PO of the other PLMN).
Regarding Claim 17, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the apparatus of claim 15, wherein the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions fails to satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on at least a portion of the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions overlapping in time with at least a portion of the paging occasion of the third set of paging occasions ([00272], Although the timing relationship between the PLMNs is asynchronous, the UE may be able to detect paging collisions by superimposing the two timing references together to obtain a single timing reference. Figure 35 shows the paging frames associated with each PLMN and their paging occasions overlap even though their superframe timings are not aligned. Note that the POs may not necessarily need to overlap to cause a paging collision. If the PO is sufficiently close to each other, that may also cause a paging collision as the UE does not have enough time to switch connections from one PLMN to another PLMN. Each time the UE has to perform this operation, there are certain latencies associated with the procedure, e.g. the UE has to tune the radios to the appropriate frequencies, perform cell search, PLMN selection, etc).
Regarding Claim 19, Ly and Rune teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 14 above, where Rune further teaches receiving the synchronization signal block from the base station at a first time, wherein the threshold timing value is compared to an additional time interval between the first time and a paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claim 20, Ly and Rune teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 19 above, where Rune further teaches wherein the first set of paging occasions fail to satisfy the threshold timing value based at least in part on the additional time interval between the first time and the paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions being greater than or equal to the threshold timing value ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claim 21, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the instructions are further executable by the one or more processors to transmit the registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier by being executable by the one or more processors to: transmit at least one additional registration request at least in part in response to the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier; receive at least one additional response corresponding to each of the at least one additional registration request, each additional registration response of the at least one additional registration response comprising an indication of an additional temporary mobile subscription identifier corresponding to a set of paging occasions for the UE that fail to satisfy the threshold timing value for the UE; and transmit the registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier and the indication of the additional temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation. Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier. The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions. Alternatively, the UE may propose a temporary identifier that it has determine will avoid paging collisions with the PO of the other PLMN).
Regarding Claim 26, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the apparatus of claim 14, wherein the first temporary mobile subscription identifier comprises a first short temporary mobile subscription identifier and the second temporary mobile subscription identifier comprises a second short temporary mobile subscription identifier, the first short temporary mobile subscription identifier comprising an access and mobility management function (AMF) set identifier, an AMF pointer, and a first fifth generation temporary mobile subscription identifier, and the second short temporary mobile subscription identifier comprising the AMF set identifier, the AMF pointer, and a second fifth generation temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00144], The 5G-S-TMSI is the shortened form of the GUTI to enable more efficient radio signaling procedures (e.g. during Paging and Service Request) and is defined as: <5G-S-TMSI> := <AMF Set ID> <AMF Pointer> <5G-TMSI> Slice-Specific Authentication and Authorization).
Regarding Claim 27, Ly teaches an apparatus for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) ([00133], Fig. 34), comprising: means for establishing a first wireless connection with a base station ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1);
means for receiving an indication of a first temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE, the first temporary mobile subscription identifier corresponding to a first set of paging occasions for the UE ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1 and receives a temporary identifier for SIM1. The UE then registers to PLMN2 possibly after disconnecting from PLMN1. The UE receives a temporary identifier for SIM2);
means for transmitting, to the base station, a registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation. The UE may also configure the PLMN to only page the UE for certain data such as voice calls and SMS messages by using the paging criteria parameter. Additionally, the UE may configure the CN to limit the paging area to the last tracking area or registration area the UE was in contact with the CN to minimize wasting paging resources in other tracking or registration areas. The UE may also only include a multi-SIM indicator to let the CN provide a new temporary identifier which corresponds to another PO or even propose a new temporary identifier whose PO location is different than the current PO);
and based at least in part on the first set of paging occasions failing to satisfy a threshold timing value of the UE ([00272], Step S3404: The UE uses the temporary identifiers to compute the paging occasions associated with each SIM. Based on the timing information the UE has for each PLMN, the UE detects that a paging collision may exist as shown in Figure 35);
means for receiving a response to the registration request that indicates a second temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier); and
means for receiving one or more paging messages from the base station in a second set of paging occasions that correspond to the second temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier. The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions).
Ly fails to teach wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block.
In the same field of endeavor, Rune teaches wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claim 28, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches the apparatus of claim 27, further comprising: means for establishing the first wireless connection for a first subscriber identity module and a second wireless connection for a second subscriber identity module, wherein transmission of the registration request is based at least in part on a comparison between the threshold timing value and an additional time interval between a paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions for the first subscriber identity module and a paging occasion of a third set of paging occasions for the second subscriber identity module ([00272], Although the timing relationship between the PLMNs is asynchronous, the UE may be able to detect paging collisions by superimposing the two timing references together to obtain a single timing reference. Figure 35 shows the paging frames associated with each PLMN and their paging occasions overlap even though their superframe timings are not aligned. Note that the POs may not necessarily need to overlap to cause a paging collision. If the PO is sufficiently close to each other, that may also cause a paging collision as the UE does not have enough time to switch connections from one PLMN to another PLMN. Each time the UE has to perform this operation, there are certain latencies associated with the procedure, e.g. the UE has to tune the radios to the appropriate frequencies, perform cell search, PLMN selection, etc).
Regarding Claim 29, Ly and Rune teach all aspects of the invention according to Claim 28 above, where Rune further teaches receiving the synchronization signal block from the base station at a first time, wherein the threshold timing value is compared to an additional time interval between the first time and a paging occasion of the first set of paging occasions ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Regarding Claim 30, Ly teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing code for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), the code comprising instructions executable by a processor ([00133], Fig. 34) to: establish a first wireless connection with a base station ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1);
receive an indication of a first temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE, the first temporary mobile subscription identifier corresponding to a first set of paging occasions for the UE ([00272], Step S3402: A multi-SIM UE first registers to PLMN1 and receives a temporary identifier for SIM1. The UE then registers to PLMN2 possibly after disconnecting from PLMN1. The UE receives a temporary identifier for SIM2);
transmit, to the base station, a registration request at least in part in response to receiving the indication of the first temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation. The UE may also configure the PLMN to only page the UE for certain data such as voice calls and SMS messages by using the paging criteria parameter. Additionally, the UE may configure the CN to limit the paging area to the last tracking area or registration area the UE was in contact with the CN to minimize wasting paging resources in other tracking or registration areas. The UE may also only include a multi-SIM indicator to let the CN provide a new temporary identifier which corresponds to another PO or even propose a new temporary identifier whose PO location is different than the current PO);
and based at least in part on the first set of paging occasions failing to satisfy a threshold timing value for the UE ([00272], Step S3404: The UE uses the temporary identifiers to compute the paging occasions associated with each SIM. Based on the timing information the UE has for each PLMN, the UE detects that a paging collision may exist as shown in Figure 35);
receive a response to the registration request that indicates a second temporary mobile subscription identifier for the UE ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier); and
receive one or more paging messages from the base station in a second set of paging occasions that correspond to the second temporary mobile subscription identifier ([00272], Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier. The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions).
Ly fails to teach wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block.
In the same field of endeavor, Rune teaches wherein the threshold timing value is associated with a time interval for the UE to receive and process a synchronization signal block ([0131-0133], The parameter is needed only if a PO coincides with an SS Burst Set and the SSB transmission pattern used for the SS Burst Set includes different orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for consecutive slots such as illustrated in FIG. 1, [0151-0152], the monitoring slot periodicity is equal to the duration parameter (both are set to 2 in the example, but the same result would be achieved by setting both to 4). This means that every slot is a monitoring slot. Still, since UE knows from the SS Burst Set configuration information in the system information how many SSB beams there are (and thus how many beams that are used for transmission of paging), the UE only monitors the number of monitoring occasions equal to the number of SSB beams for each PO. FIG. 4 contains another similar example where the proposed solution is applied. A significant difference from the example of FIG. 3 is that there are two POs per PF and to create gaps between the POs in a PF, the monitoring slot periodicity is set to a greater value than the duration parameter).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate setting and adjustment of timing values based on synchronization bursts and duration, as taught in Rune, in the system of Ly, in order to ensure the device is available during required synchronization periods and mitigate paging conflicts.
Claims 9-12, and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ly et al (WO 2020/247043), in view of Rune (US 2021/0185652), and further in view of Telang et al (US 2021/0185589).
Regarding Claims 9 and 22, Ly, modified by Rune, teaches all aspects of the invention according to Claims 1 and 14 above. Ly further teaches determining that the second set of paging occasions for the UE fails to satisfy the threshold timing value ([00272], Step S3406: Once the UE detects that there is a possibility of paging collisions, the UE may then request one of the PLMNs for another temporary identifier which would generate a paging occasion different than the current one. The UE may send a mobility registration update and include the proposed parameters listed above, such as the PO separation. Step S3408: The AMF returns a registration accept message that may include a new temporary identifier. The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions. Alternatively, the UE may propose a temporary identifier that it has determine will avoid paging collisions with the PO of the other PLMN).
Ly and Rune fail to teach the following, which in the same field of endeavor, Telang teaches selectively transmitting one or more additional registration requests based at least in part on comparing a total number of transmitted registration requests to a threshold number of registration requests ([0076], The UE may reattempt registration multiple times up to a threshold for a number of maximum attempts or failures (e.g., five attempts or failures). With each iteration of adaptive UE capability management, the UE may remove additional CA information with each registration reattempt. Alternatively or additionally, the UE may remove all CA information from the registration request, such as on a final attempt for registration (e.g., fifth attempt)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the threshold of failed registration attempts on behalf of the UE, as taught in Telang, in the system of Ly and Rune, in order to mitigate unsuccessful attempts and prevent cycles and build-up of failed connections.
Regarding Claims 10 and 23, Ly, modified by Rune and Telang teach all aspects of the invention according to Claims 9 and 22 above, where Telang further teaches transmitting the one or more additional registration requests based at least in part on determining that the total number of transmitted registration requests is less than the threshold number of registration requests ([0076], The UE may reattempt registration multiple times up to a threshold for a number of maximum attempts or failures (e.g., five attempts or failures). With each iteration of adaptive UE capability management, the UE may remove additional CA information with each registration reattempt. Alternatively or additionally, the UE may remove all CA information from the registration request, such as on a final attempt for registration (e.g., fifth attempt)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the threshold of failed registration attempts on behalf of the UE, as taught in Telang, in the system of Ly and Rune, in order to mitigate unsuccessful attempts and prevent cycles and build-up of failed connections.
Regarding Claims 11 and 24, Ly, modified by Rune and Telang teach all aspects of the invention according to Claims 9 and 22 above, where Telang further teaches refraining from transmitting the one or more additional registration requests based at least in part on determining that the total number of transmitted registration requests is greater than or equal to the threshold number of registration requests; and monitoring for the one or more paging messages from the base station according to the first set of paging occasions based at least in part on the total number of transmitted registration requests being greater than or equal to the threshold number of registration requests ([0076], The UE may reattempt registration multiple times up to a threshold for a number of maximum attempts or failures (e.g., five attempts or failures). With each iteration of adaptive UE capability management, the UE may remove additional CA information with each registration reattempt. Alternatively or additionally, the UE may remove all CA information from the registration request, such as on a final attempt for registration (e.g., fifth attempt)).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the threshold of failed registration attempts on behalf of the UE, as taught in Telang, in the system of Ly and Rune, in order to mitigate unsuccessful attempts and prevent cycles and build-up of failed connections.
Regarding Claims 12 and 25, Ly, modified by Rune and Telang teach all aspects of the invention according to Claims 9 and 22 above, where Ly further teaches wherein the threshold number of registration requests is a quantity of one or more discontinuous reception cycles ([00272], The new temporary identifier may correspond to another PO that is in a different location than the previous PO. The UE in turn checks the timing of the new PO with the PO of another SIM to ensure there is no possibility of a paging collision. If the UE still detects a paging collision, the UE may repeat step S3406 to obtain another temporary identifier. This time, the UE may use different values of the parameters sent previously to try to obtain a temporary identifier with a different PO that doesn’t cause paging collisions. Alternatively, the UE may propose a temporary identifier that it has determine will avoid paging collisions with the PO of the other PLMN).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARGARET G WEBB/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2641