DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US H000080 H) in view of Kasuma et al. (US 20050127074), Tom et al (US 20150078685 A1), and Bailey et al (US20190269885A1).
In re Claim 1, Lewis discloses a storage system (Fig. 1) for a cryogenic fluid (12), comprising:
a housing (17) delimiting a cavity (Col 3:43-48: interior of 17) therein;
a collapsible container (13)
is formed from an impermeable material (Col 4:5-11: metallic impermeable layer).
disposed within the cavity (Fig. 1 and Col 3:43-48: 13 is within the interior of 17) and
coupled to a surface of the housing (Col 3:43-48: 13 is coupled to surface of 17),
wherein the collapsible container (13) is configured to contain the cryogenic fluid (12) within the collapsible container (13);
an inlet (19) configured to distribute a pressurant (Col 4:59-65: distribute a pressurized gas in the cavity and around 13)
within the cavity (interior of 17) and
about the collapsible container (around 13), and
an outlet (15) fluidly coupled to the collapsible container (13)|(See Col 3:27-28),
wherein the outlet (15) is configured to dispense the fluid (Col 3:30-33) out of the collapsible container (13) and housing (17).
Lewis does not explicitly teach formed from an impermeable material of a fluropolymer film.
However, Tom teaches wherein the impermeable material is a polytetrafluorethylene film ([0121]: material of construction is polytetrafluorethylene (PTFE) film, i.e., a fluropolymer film).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Lewis and to have modified them by having the impermeable material of Lewis be PTFE as taught by Tom, in order for the bladder to be inflated to suitable pressure (See Tom [0122]), without yielding unpredictable results.
Lewis does not explicitly teach wherein the collapsible container (13) is configured to form a folded pattern in a cylindrical or spherical shape when collapsed and wherein the collapsible container (13) comprises a plurality of panels which are foldable at flexure hinges.
On the other hand, Kasuma teaches a folded pattern when collapsed (Fig. 4: 10) and a plurality of panels (See Fig. 3: 34) which are foldable at flexure hinges (Fig. 3-4: 40).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Lewis and to have modified them by having the collapsible container is configured to form a folded pattern when collapsed in order to allow for a direct downward collapsing of the wall sections into concentric surrounding relation to the base with the top surrounding the collapsed folded wall sections (See Kasuma [0008]), without yielding unpredictable results.
Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of Lewis and to have modified them by having the collapsible container of Lewis comprise a plurality of panels which are foldable at flexure hinges, in order to control the manner of collapse using defined flexure hinges and prevent the collapsed contained from obstructing the outlet tube, without yielding unpredictable results.
Modified Lewis supra does not explicitly teach wherein the collapsible container (13) is configured to form a folded pattern in a cylindrical or spherical shape when collapsed
However, Bailey teaches wherein the collapsible container (302 corresponding to Lewis 13) is configured to form a folded pattern in a cylindrical (404; See Kresling origami pattern structure which is cylindrical when collapsed [0068-0069]).
Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists to include in the arrangement discussed above with modified Lewis the design choice taught by Bailey where the elements are arranged in a cylindrical since this is a known arrangement and as Bailey describes a device with the purpose of arranging the elements in a specific design. Further, it is a matter of engineering design to arrange the collapsible container in different ways, where the change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (see MPEP § 2144.04). Finally, one would have a reasonable expectation of success by changing the structure of the claimed limitation.
In re Claim 4, Lewis as modified teaches wherein a thickness of the flexure hinges (Kasuma thickness of 40) is less than a thickness (See Fig. 4) of the panels (Kasuma thickness of panels 34).
In re Claim 5, Lewis as modified teaches wherein a radius of curvature of a first portion of the flexure hinges (See Kasuma Fig. 6: inner curvature of 40) is smaller than a thickness of the panels (Fig. 6: thickness of 34) and wherein a radius of curvature of a second portion of the flexure hinges (See Kasuma Fig. 6: inner curvature of 40) is larger than a thickness of the panels (Fig. 6: thickness of 34).
In re Claim 7, Modified Lewis teaches wherein the folded pattern includes at least one of a Kresling pattern (Bailey Fig. 5 and [0068-0069]).
Claim 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US H80) as modified by Kasuma et al. (US 20050127074) further in view of Takahashi (US 5705256 B2).
In re Claim 3, Lewis as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the panels (Kasuma See Fig. 3: 34) have an average thickness of at least 0.1 μm.
However, Takahashi classified in B29C33/00 teaches an average thickness of at least 0.1 μm (an average thickness of at least 0.1 μm).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of modified Lewis and to have modified them by having panels with an average thickness of at least 0.1 μm in order to make the collapsable container durable for repeatable collapsing and expanding with easily compressible channels. (See also Takahashi Col 4:1-8), without yielding unpredictable results.
Claim 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US H80) as modified by Kasuma et al. (US 20050127074) further in view of Tom et al. (US 9290296 B2).
Modified Lewis does not explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of panels are arranged in at least one of a hexagonal structure and an isogrid structure.
However, Modified Lewis does not explicitly teach, wherein the plurality of panels are arranged in an isogrid structure (See Tom Fig. 10A: triangular, i.e. isogrid, panels).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of modified Lewis and to have modified them by having the plurality of panels of modified Lewis arranged in an isogrid structure as taught by Tom, in order to control the manner of collapse using defined flexure hinges and prevent the collapsed contained from obstructing the outlet tube, without yielding unpredictable results. without yielding unpredictable results.
Claim 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lewis (US H80) as modified by Kasuma et al. (US 20050127074) further in view of Tom et al. (US US20120267388A1B2).
In re Claim 8, Modified Lewis does not explicitly teach wherein the collapsible container (Lewis 13) comprises a plurality of channels within the panels of the container (Kasuma 34) configured for flowing a coolant.
However, Tom teaches a plurality of channels (See Fig. 40 and [0194]: plurality of interconnected tubes within 4002 ) within the panels of the container (inner wall elastomere of Tom corresponding to Kasuma 34) configured for flowing a coolant1.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have taken the teachings of modified Lewis and to have modified them by having a plurality of channels within the panels of the container as taught by Tom, in order prevent deformation and help stabilize the collapse and choke-off (See Tom [0194]), without yielding unpredictable results.
Response to Arguments
The Remarks and Rule 132 Affidavit of March 31, 2026, have been fully considered but are not persuasive for the reasons below.
The Affidavit under 37 CFR 1.132 filed March 31, 2026, is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1 and 3-8 based upon rejections as set forth in the last Office action. In response to applicant's argument in Affidavit ¶1-9, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
In view of the foregoing, when all of the evidence is considered, the totality of the rebuttal evidence of nonobviousness fails to outweigh the evidence of obviousness.
Applicant argues
On Page 4¶4-5¶1 of the Remarks, that the examiner has not shown that claim 1 is obvious over Lewis in view of Kasuma because there is allegedly no basis in the prior art for arriving at the panels which are foldable at flexure hinges and a collapsible container as required by the claims. Applicant appears to suggest that one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize from the teaching of Lewis/Kasuma that the container is collapsible and foldable at the hinges because Lewis does not teach a collapsible container and the invention of Kasuma is used as a dog food dish for food or water. It is further suggested by Applicant that neither reference provides the requisite guidance for modifying Lewis to include flexure hinges. This is not persuasive.
The Examiner disagrees with Applicant’s characterization of the combination.
First, it should be noted that applicant's amendments have changed the scope of the claimed invention, thereby necessitating a new grounds of rejection. Namely, claim 1 now requires a collapsible container formed from an impermeable material of a fluoropolymer film; and a folded pattern in a cylindrical or spherical shape when collapsed. In light of the above, the claim has been reconsidered, and the new grounds of rejection now incorporates teachings from Tom and Bailey to arrive at the claimed invention.
Second, contrary to Applicant' s assertion, , it should be noted that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. Furthermore, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. In light of the above, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the findings of fact outlined in the rationale and motivation for the 103 rejection based on Lewis and Kasuma satisfy the requirements to establish a prima facie case of obviousness. In essence, the fact that Lewis’ overall goal is to provide a lightweight and flexible tank structure with a collapsible interior structure for the storage and controlled expulsion therefrom of a cryogenic liquid provides evidence that the plurality of panels which are foldable at flexure hinges and collapsible container of Kasuma is indeed compatible with the teachings of Lewis.
Moreover, contrary to the affidavit, the test for obviousness it not only the prior art being directed to same problem of the claimed invention, or whether the prior art references are within the same field of endeavor as each other, but rather, whether the prior art references are within the same field of endeavor of the claimed invention (see MPEP § 2141.01(a)). Since Lewis (classified in CPC class F17C2203) and Kasuma (classified in CPC class B65D21) are within the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention (which contains classifications in both F17C2203 and B65D21, as evidenced by the cover page of the printed publication: US 20240044454, the prior art is considered analogous art to the claimed invention, which is explicit evidence that the combination would have been considered by one of ordinary skill in the art.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Kasuma teachings allow for a direct downward collapsing of the wall sections into concentric surrounding relation to the base with the top surrounding the collapsed folded wall sections2 as detailed in §103, supra. The intended use of Kasuma is different from a prohibition of other uses and because Kasuma is in the same field of endeavor of the claimed invention one of ordinary skill in the art would consider Kasuma and apply its teachings. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Conclusion
/IBRAHIM A. MICHAEL ADENIJI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JOEL M ATTEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763
1 The recitation of " configured for flowing a coolant," recited in the claim has been considered a recitation of intended use. The prior art structure above is capable of performing as intended. It has been held that the recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitation. (MPEP 2114).
2 See Kasuma [0008]