DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nunez, US Pat Pub. 2005/0056594.
Regarding instant Claim 1, Nunez discloses a vaporizer (Abstract; Figure 2; Paragraph [0022]; see evaporator 25) comprising:
a vaporization chamber for storing a liquid (Figure 2; Paragraph [0022]; Paragraph [0023]; shell side/inside 30 of evaporator 25);
a bottom heater provided in the vaporization chamber, the bottom heater including a winding portion acting as a heat source arranged so as to contact with the liquid stored in the vaporization chamber, and an upright portion erected from the winding porting and having an end portion with a heater terminal (Figure 2; Paragraphs [0022]-[0024]; bottom heater with winding portion in condensate pipe 50 with heat source in steam, upright portion in area of evaporator above pipe 50, such as evaporator tubes 31; heater terminal found in connected heat exchanger 39 at end of condensate pipe 50); and
a relief valve connected to the vaporization chamber (Figure 2; Paragraph [0024]; steam control valve 52).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. Nunez further discloses comprising a side heater for heating a side surface of the vaporization chamber from an outside of the vaporization chamber (Figure 2; Paragraph [0022]; tube bundle with preheated/heated water will heat sides of evaporator 25 based on proximity).
Regarding instant Claim 3, Claim 1, upon which Claim 3 is dependent, has been rejected above. Nunez further discloses comprising a pre-tank having a heater for preheating a liquid to be delivered to the vaporization chamber (Paragraph [0024]; heat exchanger 39 for preheating water).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez, US Pat Pub. 2005/0056594, in view of Lakatos et al. (herein referred to as “Lakatos”, US Pat Pub. 2009/0199972).
Regarding instant Claim 4, Claim 1, upon which Claim 4 is dependent, has been rejected above. Nunez discloses wherein the winding portion of the bottom heater is provided at a position lower than a liquid level lower limit position (Figure 2; Paragraphs [0023]; pipe is at bottom of evaporation chamber 25).
However, Nunez is silent on a float sensor.
Lakatos discloses a water evaporation system and method in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of fluid evaporation (Abstract). Lakatos further discloses a float sensor with a liquid level lower limit position for measuring a liquid level of a liquid at a bottom of an evaporation chamber in order to ensure a proper level of water within the evaporation chamber (Figure 5; Paragraph [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vaporization chamber of Nunez to further comprise the float sensor of Lakatos, wherein the winding portion of the bottom heater is provided at a position lower than a liquid level lower limit position of the float sensor because Nunez discloses such a float sensor ensures a proper level of water within the evaporation chamber (Lakatos, Paragraph [0042]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez, US Pat Pub. 2005/0056594, in view of McIntyre et al. (herein referred to as “McIntyre”, US Pat Pub. 2009/0183679).
Regarding instant Claim 5, Claim 1, upon which Claim 5 is dependent, has been rejected above. Nunez is silent on a stirring device or a swinging device.
McIntyre discloses an ion source gas reactor in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing a vaporizer for liquid (Paragraph [0044]). McIntyre further disclose a stirring device used to stir the water within the vaporizer during operation to ensure convective mixing of the heat supplied to the water(Paragraph [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vaporization chamber of Nunez to further comprise a stirring device as taught by McIntyre because McIntyre discloses such a stirring device stirs the liquid stored in the vaporizer to ensure convective mixing of the heat supplied to the liquid (McIntyre, Paragraph [0044]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez, US Pat Pub. 2005/0056594, in view of Morita, US Pat Pub. 2001/0003384.
Regarding instant Claim 6, Claim 1, upon which Claim 6 is dependent, has been rejected above. Nunez discloses wherein the liquid is ultrapure water (Abstract; Paragraph [0001]; distillation process for production of pharmaceutical water).
However, Nunez is silent on said ultrapure water being supplied to an ashing device.
Morita discloses a method for manufacturing a molding tool used for substrate molding in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of providing ultrapure water for applications (Abstract; Paragraph [0041]). Morita further discloses wherein ultrapure water may be used in ashing processes to wash substrate surfaces (Paragraph [0041]; Paragraph [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the ultrapure water of Nunez to be supplied to an ashing device as taught by Morita because Morita discloses such water may be used in ashing processes to wash substrate surfaces (Morita, Paragraph [0041]; Paragraph [0047]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nunez, US Pat Pub. 2005/0056594, in view of Horsky, US Pat Pub. 2008/0073559.
Regarding instant Claim 7, Claim 1, upon which Claim 7 is dependent, has been rejected above. Nunez discloses a vaporization supply device comprising the vaporizer according to claim 1 (see Claim 1 rejection; Abstract; Figure 2).
However, Nunez is silent on a pressure type flow rate control device.
Horsky discloses controlling the flow of vapors sublimated from solids, which is in the same field of endeavor as the instant application for solving the mutual problem of controlling flow of gas from a vaporizer (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraph [0068]). Horsky further discloses a pressure type flow rate control device provided downstream of a vaporizer, the pressure type flow control device including a restriction part (Figure 1; Paragraph [0068]; relatively flow-restricting vapor conduit 32), a control valve provided upstream of the restriction part (Figure 1; Paragraph [0068]; throttling valve 100); and an upstream pressure sensor for measuring a pressure between the restriction part and the control valve (Figure 1; Paragraph [0068]; pressure sensor 60), wherein the pressure type flow rate control device is configured to control a flow rate of a gas flowing downstream of the restriction part by adjusting an opening degree of the control valve based on an output of the upstream pressure sensor in order to ensure a proper flow of gas from the evaporation chamber (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraph [0068]; see closed loop controller P using pressure sensor readings to control throttling valve).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the vaporizer and vaporization supply device of Nunez to further comprise the pressure type flow rate control device as described in Horsky because Horsky teaches that such a control device ensures a proper flow of vapors coming from the vaporizer (Horsky, Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraph [0068]).
Conclusion
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 09/22/2025