DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-5, 7-9, in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species modified norbornene functionalized polyethylene glycol macromer having an amide group, in the reply filed on 5/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-14, 16-20, 22, 24-26, 33-35, 38, 40-41 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/11/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 8-9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 states that there is a Formula 1 however the actual structure does not appear in the claims filed on 5/11/2026. Therefore, claim 5 is indefinite. For the purpose of this Office Action, the Formula 1 present in the claims filed on 8/7/2023 is presumed to be the correct formula that should have been present.
Claims 8-9 are indefinite because it depends from claim 6 which is cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Travert-Branger, Langmuir 2008, 24, 3016-3019.
Travert-Branger teaches a process where norbornene dicarboxylic anhydride (nadic anhydride) is reacted with polyethylene glycol methyl ether in the presence of triethylamine (pg. 3016) to give a PEG-norbornene carboxylic acid
(Scheme 2) followed by the reaction with dipalmitoyl-glycero-phosphoethanolamine (pg. 3016 and Scheme 2). This is a PEG functionalized with a norbornene where the carboxyl group on the norbornene has been conjugated with an amine containing molecule. Triethylamine meets the limitation of a nucleophilic catalyst. The PEG functionalized with a norbornene where the carboxyl group of Travert-Branger meets the formula 1 of claim 5. Travert-Branger teaches after amidation, the structure is
(Scheme 2) which meets Formula 2 of claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travert-Branger, Langmuir 2008, 24, 3016-3019 in view of Lin (US 2014/0112960).
The discussion with respect to Travert-Branger above is hereby incorporated by reference.
Travert-Branger does not explicitly recite the PEG is a multiarm PEG.
Lin teaches norbornene modified PEG where the PEG is a 4 arm PEG (Fig. 13, ¶ 102-104, 179). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a multi-arm PEG because it allows for a highly tunable composition and a high elastic modulus (¶ 165).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Travert-Branger, Langmuir 2008, 24, 3016-3019 in view of Tew (US 2009/0082524).
The discussion with respect to Travert-Branger above is hereby incorporated by reference.
Travert-Branger does not explicitly recite the catalyst is dimethylaminopyridine.
However, Tew teaches functionalizing norbornene anhydride with PEG (Fig. 1) using dimethylaminopyridine as a catalyst (¶ 150). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use dimethylaminopyridine as a catalyst in order to improve the yield to 90% (¶ 150).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and to overcome any indefinite issues.
Claim 7 recites the amine containing molecule is dihydroxyphenethylamine, tyramine, isopropylamine or combinations thereof. Claim 9 recites that X (in Formula 2) is selected from the group of Formula 3-7.
Travert-Branger teaches an amine containing a phosphorous atom which is not in the scope of claims 7 and 9. Travert-Branger does not provide any motivation for using a different amine.
Conclusion
/ROBERT C BOYLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764