DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment and arguments filed 4/6/2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112b rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 112b rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendments and arguments filed 4/6/2026 regarding the 35 USC 102 and 103 rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues “Zhang and Haefner at best disclose a reduction criterion for reducing the sense threshold for a current cycle is fulfilled if not atrial events have been detected in the current cycle.” The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Regarding Zhang, a cycle is monitored for atrial activity. If no atrial activity is identified in that cycle (e.g. once the cycle ends and there is so atrial activity), a detection threshold is adjusted. This adjustment occurs after the end of the previous cycle (no atrial events in the previous cycle cannot be ascertained until that cycle is concluded) and thus would occur in the next cycle, as required by the current claim. The same can be said with respect to Haefner. The adjustments are made after the sensed cycle fails to produce a sensed event.
Applicant has not provided any specific arguments regarding the 35 USC 102 rejections of the claims with respect to Sheldon. The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (2008/0262559).
In claims 1-3 and 15, regarding the “reduction criterion is fulfilled if in X1 out of Y1 cycles…”, Applicant defines X1 as “a natural number equal or larger than 1” and Y1 “being a natural number equal or larger than X1”. Therefore, the X1 and Y1 can both be interpreted as 1 thus making the criterion “1 out of 1”. Zhang discloses an implantable medical device comprising a body (lead 14 connectable to generator 38, Fig. 1); a sensor arrangement (electrodes 16, 18, 20, 22, 24) arranged on the body 14 and configured to receive cardiac sense signals (at sense amplifier 12, Fig. 1, par. [0020]); and processing circuitry 28 operatively connected to the sensor arrangement (see Fig. 1), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process cardiac sense signals received using the sensor arrangement. Zhang further discloses detecting if a cardiac cycle (1 out of 1) does not include an atrial event and lowering the sense threshold if no event is detected (par. [0009], “If no depolarization event has been detected in a sensing channel during the current cardiac cycle, it may be surmised that either no such event actually occurred, or that an event occurred but was undersensed. Because of the latter possibility, it would be desirable to adjust the sensing threshold downward (i.e., decrease the threshold) for a sensing channel after a cardiac cycle in which no depolarization event was detected.”) More specifically with respect to Zhang, a cycle is monitored for atrial activity and, if no atrial activity is identified in that cycle (e.g. once the cycle ends and there is so atrial activity), a detection threshold is adjusted. This adjustment occurs after the end of the previous cycle (no atrial events in the previous cycle cannot be ascertained until that cycle is concluded) and thus would occur in the next cycle, as required by the current claim.
With regard to Claim 6, Zhang discloses reducing the threshold by a reduction factor represented by the last equation in p. [0046]).
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Haefner et al. (EP 2108400 A1).
In claims 1-3 and 15, regarding the “reduction criterion is fulfilled if in X1 out of Y1 cycles…”, Applicant defines X1 as “a natural number equal or larger than 1” and Y1 “being a natural number equal or larger than X1”. Therefore, the X1 and Y1 can both be interpreted as 1 thus making the criterion “1 out of 1”. Haefner discloses an implantable medical device 105 comprising a body (leads 115 or 120 connectable to generator 205A, B, Fig. 1, 2; par. [0017]); a sensor arrangement (electrodes 125A, B; 135 A, B, etc., Fig. 1; par. [0017]) arranged on the body 115 or 120 and configured to receive cardiac sense signals (at terminals 200A, B, Fig. 2, par. [0018]); and processing circuitry 230 operatively connected to the sensor arrangement (see Fig. 2), wherein the processing circuitry is configured to process cardiac sense signals received using the sensor arrangement. Haefner further discloses detecting if a cardiac cycle (1 out of 1) does not include an atrial event and lowering the sense threshold if no event is detected (see steps 315 to 310 B; Fig. 3). More specifically with respect to Haefner, a cycle is monitored for atrial activity and, if no atrial activity is identified in that cycle (e.g. once the cycle ends and there is so atrial activity), a detection threshold is adjusted. This adjustment occurs after the end of the previous cycle (no atrial events in the previous cycle cannot be ascertained until that cycle is concluded) and thus would occur in the next cycle, as required by the current claim
With regard to Claim 6, Haefner discloses reducing the threshold by a reduction factor (see reduction between t1 and t2 in Fig. 4).
In regard to Claim 7, the multiple step reductions between t1-t2 and t3-t4 can be considered the claimed step factor (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 9, Haefner discloses reducing the threshold a second time with a second reduction factor (see reduction between t3-t4 in Fig. 4.
With regard to Claim 10, Haefner discloses not allowing the threshold to stay below a steady state value (see 310A, B; Fig. 3; see also A1 in Fig. 4).
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sheldon et al. (2021/0236826).
Regarding Claims 1 and 4, Sheldon discloses a leadless pacing device 14 having a body; a sensor arrangement 162, 164 on the body (Fig. 2; par. [0046]) and processing circuitry 244 connected to the sensor arrangement (Fig. 3). Sheldon discloses detecting whether a threshold number A3 events (windows or crossings) occur over N cycles and discloses reducing the sensing threshold if too few are sensed (see par. [0189-0190]; Fi. 13, ref. 776, 778). More specifically with respect to Sheldon, a cycle or group of cycles is monitored for atrial activity and, if no atrial activity is identified in that cycle or group of cycles (e.g. once the cycle(s) ends and there is so atrial activity), a detection threshold is adjusted. This adjustment occurs after the end of the previous cycle(s) (no atrial events in the previous cycle(s) cannot be ascertained until that cycle(s) is concluded) and thus would occur in the next cycle, as required by the current claim.
In regards to Claim 6, Sheldon discloses decreasing the threshold by an amount (a reduction factor), see par. [0190].
With regard to Claims 8 and 9, Sheldon discloses a second criteria in which a threshold number of A4 events need to be detected over N cycles, wherein the threshold is reduced if the threshold is not met (par. [0191]; Fig. 13, steps 775, 777).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (2008/0262559) in view of Bornzin et al. (2021/0345900). Zhang discloses all of the claimed invention except for adjusting a sensing threshold based on an average reference. However, in the same field of endeavor of P-wave detection, Bornzin discloses setting a detection threshold as an average of P-wave peaks over time (par. [0096] for the purpose of providing a high-quality template that is not corrupted by noise (par. [0085]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Zhang reference to include setting a detection threshold as an average of P-wave peaks over time, as taught and suggested by Bornzin, for the purpose of providing a high-quality template that is not corrupted by noise.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Haefner et al. (EP 2108400 A1) in view of Pei et al. (7,668,593). Haefner discloses two sensing channels ( a ventricular sensing channel 225B and an atrial sensing channel 225A) and discloses that each channel has a gain associated with it (par. [0020-0021]). However, Haefner does not disclose the relative values of the atrial channel gain to the ventricular channel gain. However, in the same field of endeavor of cardiac activity sensing, Pei discloses setting the atrial channel gain to a value higher than the ventricular channel gain since the atrial signal (a P-wave) is much smaller and harder to detect than the larger QRS complex representative of a ventricular contraction (col. 5, lines 35-40). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device in the Haefner reference to include a higher atrial channel gain than a ventricular channel gain, as taught and suggested by Pei, for the purpose of achieving optimal settings to detect atrial events (a P-wave), which is much smaller and harder to detect than the larger QRS complex representative of a ventricular contraction .
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 12 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796