DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: the “4” appearing before the period at the end of Claim 5 should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JPS6026018 to Matsumoto et al. (hereinafter Matsumoto) in view of US 2004/0116619 to Moad et al. (hereinafter Moad). For the purposes of examination, citations for Matsumoto are taken from a machine translation of the document obtained from the European Patent Office in March 2026.
Regarding Claims 1 and 3. Matsumoto teaches a polyester polyol obtained by reacting a dicarboxylic acid mixture and a glycol/diol component (see Lines 16 – 19 of Page 1 of the machine translation).
The dicarboxylic acid mixture comprises 3-methylpentanedioc acid (see Lines 19 – 22 of Page 1 of the machine translation), which is alternatively known in the art as 3-methylglutaric acid. As detailed in the instant specification, 3-methylglutaric acid corresponds to a dicarboxylic acid of general formula (I) in which R1 and R2 are each a methylene group and R3 is a methyl group (see [0027] of the PG-PUB of the instant application).
Matsumoto teaches the dicarboxylic acid mixture comprises more particularly at least 40% by weight or more of the 3-methylpentanedioc acid (see Lines 10 – 12 of Page 1 of the machine translation). The remainder of the dicarboxylic acid mixture, greater than 0 to less than 60% by weight thereof, would thus correspond to a dicarboxylic acid other than 3-methylpentanedioc acid. While this range is not identical to the instantly claimed range for the dicarboxylic acid (a2) of 0.02 to 3.00% by mass in 100% by mass of the total amount of the dicarboxylic acid component, it does overlap. It has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
Matsumoto does not expressly teach the dicarboxylic acid other than 3-methylpentanedioc acid corresponds to a compound which may be represented by instantly claimed general formula (II). However, Moad teaches the concept of providing the dicarboxylic acid, 3-hydroxy-3-methyl glutaric acid, in the preparation of a polyester polyol [0036]. As detailed in the instant specification, 3-hydroxy-3-methyl glutaric acid corresponds to a dicarboxylic acid of general formula (II) in which R4 and R5 are each a methylene group and R6 is a methyl group (see [0036] of the PG-PUB of the instant application). Matsumoto and Moad are analogous art as they are from the same field of endeavor, namely polyester polyols obtained by reacting dicarboxylic acid and diol components. Before the effective filing date of the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to provide 3-hydroxy-3-methyl glutaric acid as the dicarboxylic acid other than 3-methylpentanedioc acid in Matsumoto. The motivation would have been that Moad teaches that 3-hydroxy-3-methyl glutaric acid will introduce branching in the polyester polyol [0036]. Branching in the polyester polyol would be provide benefits, such as increasing the cross-linking density and improving the mechanical properties of the products prepared therefrom.
Regarding Claim 2. Matsumoto teaches a polyester polyol of Claim 1. As detailed in the rejection of Claim 1 above, Matsumoto teaches the dicarboxylic acid mixture comprises more particularly at least 40% by weight or more of the 3-methylpentanedioc acid (see Lines 10 – 12 of Page 1 of the machine translation). The remainder of the dicarboxylic acid mixture, greater than 0 to less than 60% by weight, would thus correspond to a dicarboxylic acid other than 3-methylpentanedioc acid.
This amount can be alternatively expressed as a content of dicarboxylic acid component (a2) of greater than 0 to 150 parts by mass with respect to 100 parts by mass of the dicarboxylic acid component (a1). While this range is not identical to the instantly claimed range for the dicarboxylic acid (a2) of 3.00 parts by mass or less with respect to 100 parts by mass of the dicarboxylic acid component (a1), it does overlap. It has been held that where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPG 90 (CCPA 1976) (MPEP 2144.05)
Regarding Claim 4. Matsumoto teaches a urethane prepolymer obtained by reacting the polyester polyol of Claim 1 with a polyisocyanate compound (see final two lines of Page 2 – first four lines of Page 3 of the machine translation).
Regarding Claim 5. Matsumoto teaches a polyurethane made from the polyester polyol of Claim 1 (see Lines 16 – 20 of Page 1 of the machine translation).
Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
The art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2010/0305297 teaches the use of hydroxymethylglutaric acid as a dicarboxylic acid component for the preparation of polyesters.
JPH 05262842 teaches the use of 3-methylglutaric acid as a dicarboxylic acid component for the preparation of polyesters and polyurethanes prepared therefrom.
JP 05170885 teaches the concept of combining an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid with a small amount of an additional dicarboxylic acid substituted with one hydroxyl group to prepare polyesters.
Correspondence
/MELISSA A RIOJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764