Claim Interpretation
The examiner thanks the applicant for clarifying the definition and meaning of “common random access channel or RACH” procedure type. According to Merriam Webster Dictionary, Common means, “belonging to or shared by two or more individuals or things or by all members of a group”. In other words, a common RACH procedure type consists of a RACH procedure type sharing resources with other RACH procedure types. For example, a 2-step RACH may reuse the configuration of a 4-step RACH.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 18 December 2025 with regards to claims 1-15 and 17-30 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Rastergardoost teaches a method for receiving an indication for a set of RACH procedure types for a bandwidth part of a user equipment or UE. The set of RACH procedure types being different from other RACH procedure types. In light of the claim interpretation of “common RACH”, Rastergardoost teaches messages from a base station indicating common random access resources as stated in Rastergardoost paragraph 0393,
…a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a 2-step RACH configuration. The one or more RRC messages may comprise parameters required for transmitting a 2-step RACH MsgA. For example, the parameters may indicate at least one of following: PRACH resource allocation,…
Shows the base station transmitting the indication for Physical Random Access Channel or PRACH resources
The same PRACH resources may be shared for 4-step RACH and 2-step RACH. 4-step RACH resources may be configured regardless whether 2-step RACH is configured or not. The configuration of 2-step RACH may reuse the configuration of 4-step RACH…
Shows the 2-step RACH reusing the configuration of the 4-step RACH
However, Rastergardoost fails to explicitly teach selecting a RACH procedure type in part on a trigger for a network slice, and performing the RACH procedure for the network slice.
Qu teaches a slice-based RACH procedure type. In addition to disclosing a slice-based RACH procedure type, Qu teaches receiving a trigger to perform RACH procedure for a network slice with the trigger consisting of a indication of a network slice as stated in the below rejection. Qu also discloses selecting a RACH procedure type from a set of procedure types based on the indication of the configuration for the set of RACH procedure types and on the identity of the network slice. Explicitly, Qu teaches performing RACH procedure for the network slice according to the selected RACH procedure type.
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks page 14, filed 18 December 2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Rastegardoost et al. (US 20200314913 A1) or Rastegardoost in further view of Qu et al. (US 2023/0049532 A1) or Qu in further view Fu et al. (WO 2022193258 A1) or Fu in further view of Worrall et al. (US 20150049697 A1) or Worrall.
Qu fails to explicitly teach canceling a common random access channel procedure to perform a slice-based RACH procedure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 17-18, 22, 24, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 2020/0314913 A1) or Rastegardoost in view of Qu et al. (US 2023/0049532 A1) or Qu.
Claim 1 (Currently Amended)
Rastegardoost teaches,
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE),comprising:
receiving an indication of a configuration for a set of random access channel procedure types for a bandwidth part of the UE,
each random access channel procedure type in the set of random access channel procedure types being different from other random access channel procedure types in the set of random access channel procedure types;…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0448, At 3110, the wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) from a base station. The one or more messages may indicate random access resources of an UL BWP of a cell. The random access resources may comprise 2-step random access resources and 4-step random access resources.)
wherein the set of random access channel procedure types comprises a common random access channel procedure type and…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, …a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a 2-step RACH configuration. The one or more RRC messages may comprise parameters required for transmitting a 2-step RACH MsgA. For example, the parameters may indicate at least one of following: PRACH resource allocation,…)
Shows the base station transmitting the indication for Physical Random Access Channel or PRACH resources
See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, The same PRACH resources may be shared for 4-step RACH and 2-step RACH. 4-step RACH resources may be configured regardless whether 2-step RACH is configured or not. The configuration of 2-step RACH may reuse the configuration of 4-step RACH…)
Shows the 2-step RACH reusing the configuration of the 4-step RACH for the common RACH procedure type
However, Rastegardoost fails to explicitly teach,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
receiving a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure for a network slice,
the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice;
selecting a random access channel procedure type from the set of random access channel procedure types for a random access channel procedure based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice;
performing the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to the random access channel procedure type.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
(See Qu paragraph 0101, …the terminal device may determine the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service based on a second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type. The second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type may be carried in a system message, an RRC message or a PDCCH message. The terminal device obtains the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type by receiving the system message, the RRC message or the PDCCH message sent by the access network device.)
Shows the terminal receiving from a base station a second mapping relationship to determine the random access type for the first network slice
receiving a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure for a network slice,
(See Qu paragraph 0114, …the terminal device may obtain the signal quality by measuring the reference signal sent by the access network device, and compare the signal quality with the preset threshold. Specifically, the preset threshold may be determined and notified to the terminal device by the access network device, may be defined in a standard protocol, or may be determined by the terminal device.)
Shows the terminal receiving the threshold for signal quality or the indication from the network device
the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice;
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of the random access type based on the measurement of the signal quality and the identifier of the network slice service
(See Qu paragraph 0094, an access network device broadcasts a system message, where the system message carries the first mapping relationship. The terminal device may obtain the first mapping relationship by receiving the system message broadcast by the access network device. For example, the first mapping relationship carried in the system message may be shown in Table 1. Table 1 describes a possible structure of the first mapping relationship.)
Shows the terminal receiving the first mapping relationship contained in Table 1
(See Qu Table 1, TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 SIB1 message Indicates system message 1. >Slice matching Indicates a correspondence between information item a random access time-frequency resource and a network slice service, and a specific name is not limited. >>Random access Indicates an identifier of a random time-frequency access time-frequency resource. resource identifier >>Network slice Indicates an identifier of a network service identifier slice service.)
Shows Table 1 includes network slice identifier
selecting a random access channel procedure type from the set of random access channel procedure types for a random access channel procedure based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice;
(See Qu paragraph 0117, The terminal device may determine, based on the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type, whether the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on second mapping relationship or the indication of configuration
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on the identity of the network slice
performing the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to the random access channel procedure type.
(See Qu paragraph 0122, ...if the terminal device determines that the two-step random access is a type of a to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service, in the foregoing step 203, the terminal device specifically initiates the two-step random access based on a first random access time-frequency resource.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving an indication for a set of random access channel or RACH procedure types from a base station to a user equipment or UE as taught by Rastegardoost with the selection and performing of the RACH procedure with a network slice as disclosed by Qu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of wasted time and frequency resources utilized for the RACH procedure).
Claim 3
Rastegardoost teaches,
The method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining that the receive power level of the synchronization signal fails to satisfy the threshold receive power level,
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0421, ...the wireless device may select a 4-step random access if a measured RSRP of a downlink reference signal is below or equal to the threshold.)
Shows the received power level of the downlink reference signal falling below the threshold
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0308, ...the first downlink reference signal may comprise one or more synchronization signals and a physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH).)
Shows the downlink reference signal consisting of a synchronization signal
…based at least in part on the receive power level failing to satisfy the threshold receive power level.
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0440, The wireless device may initiate a contention-based (CB) 2-step RACH procedure via common 2-step RACH resources (PRACH and PUSCH and mapping of PRACH and PUSCH) if dedicated 2-step RACH resources are not configured, and/or the RSRPs of all of the configured downlink reference signals are below the threshold,...)
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type…
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type…
(See Qu paragraph 0007, ...when the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is two-step random access,...)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 6
Rastegardoost teaches,
The method of claim 5, further comprising:
determining that the receive power level of the synchronization signal fails to satisfy the threshold receive power level,
wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting… …based at least in part on the receive power level failing to satisfy the threshold receive power level.
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0130, The wireless device may initiate a contention-based (CB) 4-step RACH procedure via common PRACH resources if 2-step RACH resources are not configured, and/or the RSRPs of all of the configured downlink reference signals are below the threshold, and/or the RACH-less procedure fails.)
Shows switching to a four-step random access
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0308, ...the first downlink reference signal may comprise one or more synchronization signals and a physical broadcast channel (SS/PBCH).)
Shows the downlink reference signal consisting of a synchronization signal
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
…the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type…
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type…
(See Qu paragraph 0071, ...or when the to-be-initiated network slice service is a network slice service without a high requirement for timeliness, the terminal device preferably selects a four-step random access type, so that random access is performed for network slice services of different types based on different random access types.)
Shows the four-step sliced based random access
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 7
Rastegardoost teaches,
…a four-step common random access channel procedure type,…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0396, Fallback from 2-step RACH to 4-step RACH procedure may work as follows:.)
Shows the four-step common random access
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type and…
wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on the network slice.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type and…
(See Qu paragraph 0007, ...when the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is two-step random access, the first random access time-frequency resource may include time-frequency resources that are of two-step random access and four-step random access.)
Shows both a two and four step slice-based random access
wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on the network slice.
(See Qu paragraph 0008, ...when the to-be-initiated network slice service is a network slice service with a high requirement for timeliness, the terminal device preferably selects a two-step random access type;)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 9
Rastegardoost teaches,
…a four-step common random access channel procedure type,…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0396, Fallback from 2-step RACH to 4-step RACH procedure may work as follows:.)
Shows the four-step common random access
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type,
a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and…
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of a synchronization signal satisfying a threshold receive power level and the network slice.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type,
(See Qu paragraph 0120, 2023: The terminal device determines that the two-step random access is a type of to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service.)
a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and…
(See Qu paragraph 0123, 2024: The terminal device determines that the four-step random access is a type of to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service.)
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of a synchronization signal satisfying a threshold receive power level and the network slice.
(See Qu paragraph 0121, Specifically, when the signal quality is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, and the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the two-step random access, the terminal device may determine the two-step random access as a random access type used for initiating the first network slice service.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 10
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 10. However, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining that the receive power level of the synchronization signal fails to satisfy the threshold receive power level,
wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on the receive power level failing to satisfy the threshold receive power level.
(See Qu paragraph 0029, ...when the signal quality is less than a preset threshold, or the first network slice service corresponds to four-step random access in a second mapping relationship, determine that the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the four-step random access,...)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 11
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 11. However, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 9, further comprising:
determining that the random access channel procedure was unsuccessful after a threshold number of attempts, the threshold number of attempts based at least in part on the trigger; and
(See Qu paragraph 0208, Every time the MAC layer initiates random access for the network slice service, a value of the counter is increased by 1, so that the quantity of times of random access for the network slice service is counted.)
Shows the triggering of the counter after random access initiated
performing a fallback random access channel procedure using the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type based at least in part on the unsuccessful random access channel procedure.
(See Qu paragraph 0215, If the quantity of times for initiating random access for the network slice service reaches the preset quantity of times, for example, 5, random access for the network slice service is stopped, and random access for the default slice service is initiated.)
Shows the switching from utilizing random access for a network slice to the default slice after a maximum number of random access attempts
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 12
Rastegardoost teaches,
…a two-step or four-step common random access channel procedure type,…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0403, ...the wireless device may select whether to initiate a 2-step RACH or 4-step RACH (e.g. in initial access),...)
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type and…
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises;
selecting the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on the network slice; and
refraining from performing a fallback random access channel procedure using the two-step or the four-step common random access channel procedure type.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type and…
(See Qu paragraph 0123, 2024: The terminal device determines that the four-step random access is a type of to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service.)
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises;
selecting the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on the network slice; and
(See Qu paragraph 0029, ...when the signal quality is less than a preset threshold, or the first network slice service corresponds to four-step random access in a second mapping relationship, determine that the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the four-step random access,)
refraining from performing a fallback random access channel procedure using the two-step or the four-step common random access channel procedure type.
(See Qu paragraph 0110, ...when the to-be-initiated network slice service is a network slice service without a high requirement for timeliness, the terminal device preferably selects a four-step random access type, so that random access may be performed for network slice services of different types based on different random access types.)
Shows the four-step sliced-based random access selected without performing a fallback random access
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 14
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 14. However, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 13, further comprising:
determining that the receive power level of the synchronization signal fails to satisfy the threshold receive power level,
wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on the receive power level failing to satisfy the threshold receive power level.
(See Qu paragraph 0029, ...when the signal quality is less than a preset threshold, or the first network slice service corresponds to four-step random access in a second mapping relationship, determine that the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the four-step random access,...)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 18
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 18. However, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein the network slice comprises
a service type,
(See Qu paragraph 0201, 801: A NAS of a terminal device sends an identifier of a network slice service and an identifier of a default slice service to an RRC layer.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 24
Rastegardoost teaches,
…based at least in part on the UE determining that the receive power level fails to satisfy the threshold receive power level.
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0421, ...the wireless device may select a 4-step random access if a measured RSRP of a downlink reference signal is below or equal to the threshold.)
Shows the received power level of the downlink reference signal falling below the threshold
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 23, wherein performing the random access channel procedure comprises: performing the random access channel procedure using the two-step slice- based random access channel procedure type…
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 23, wherein performing the random access channel procedure comprises: performing the random access channel procedure using the two-step slice- based random access channel procedure type…
(See Qu paragraph 0007, ...when the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is two-step random access,...)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 27
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 27. However, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 26, wherein performing the random access channel procedure comprises:
performing the random access channel procedure using the four-step slice- based random access channel procedure type based at least in part on the UE determining that the receive power level fails to satisfy the threshold receive power level.
(See Qu paragraph 0029, …when the signal quality is less than a preset threshold, or the first network slice service corresponds to four-step random access in a second mapping relationship, determine that the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the four-step random access,…)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 28
Rastegardoost teaches limitations of claim 28 as stated in claim 7. However, Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 28 as stated in claim 7. Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 28 as stated in claim 7. The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 17
Rastegardoost teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein a resource of each random access channel procedure type is non-overlapping with resources of other random access channel procedure types in the set of random access channel procedure types.
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, The same PRACH resources may be shared for 4-step RACH and 2-step RACH. 4-step RACH resources may be configured regardless whether 2-step RACH is configured or not.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 22 (Currently Amended)
Rastegardoost teaches,
A method for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a configuration for a set of random access channel procedure types for a bandwidth part of the UE, each random access channel procedure type in the set of random access channel procedure types being different from other random access channel procedure types in the set of random access channel procedure types;…
(See Rasterdoost paragraph 0448, At 3110, the wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) from a base station. The one or more messages may indicate random access resources of an UL BWP of a cell. The random access resources may comprise 2-step random access resources and 4-step random access resources.)
wherein the set of random access channel procedure types comprises a common random access channel procedure type and…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, …a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a 2-step RACH configuration. The one or more RRC messages may comprise parameters required for transmitting a 2-step RACH MsgA. For example, the parameters may indicate at least one of following: PRACH resource allocation,…)
Shows the base station transmitting the indication for Physical Random Access Channel or PRACH resources
See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, The same PRACH resources may be shared for 4-step RACH and 2-step RACH. 4-step RACH resources may be configured regardless whether 2-step RACH is configured or not. The configuration of 2-step RACH may reuse the configuration of 4-step RACH…)
Shows the 2-step RACH reusing the configuration of the 4-step RACH for the common RACH procedure type
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
…transmitting, to the UE, a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure type for a network slice, the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice; and performing the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to a random access channel procedure selected by the UE from the set of random access channel procedure types based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
(See Qu paragraph 0101, …the terminal device may determine the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service based on a second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type. The second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type may be carried in a system message, an RRC message or a PDCCH message. The terminal device obtains the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type by receiving the system message, the RRC message or the PDCCH message sent by the access network device.)
Shows the terminal receiving from a base station a second mapping relationship to determine the random access type for the first network slice
transmitting, to the UE, a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure type for a network slice,
(See Qu paragraph 0114, …the terminal device may obtain the signal quality by measuring the reference signal sent by the access network device, and compare the signal quality with the preset threshold. Specifically, the preset threshold may be determined and notified to the terminal device by the access network device, may be defined in a standard protocol, or may be determined by the terminal device.)
Shows the terminal receiving the threshold for signal quality or the indication from the network device
the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice; and
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of the random access type based on the measurement of the signal quality and the identifier of the network slice service
(See Qu paragraph 0094, an access network device broadcasts a system message, where the system message carries the first mapping relationship. The terminal device may obtain the first mapping relationship by receiving the system message broadcast by the access network device. For example, the first mapping relationship carried in the system message may be shown in Table 1. Table 1 describes a possible structure of the first mapping relationship.)
Shows the terminal receiving the first mapping relationship contained in Table 1
(See Qu Table 1, TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 SIB1 message Indicates system message 1. >Slice matching Indicates a correspondence between information item a random access time-frequency resource and a network slice service, and a specific name is not limited. >>Random access Indicates an identifier of a random time-frequency access time-frequency resource. resource identifier >>Network slice Indicates an identifier of a network service identifier slice service.)
Shows Table 1 includes network slice identifier
performing the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to a random access channel procedure
(See Qu paragraph 02118, The terminal device may obtain, by receiving a system message, an RRC message, or a PDCCH message sent by the access network device, the random access configuration corresponding to the network slice service and the random access configuration corresponding to the default slice service.
Shows the network device performing the random access for a network slice
selected by the UE from the set of random access channel procedure types based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice.
(See Qu paragraph 0117, The terminal device may determine, based on the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type, whether the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on second mapping relationship or the indication of configuration
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on the identity of the network slice
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 29 (Currently Amended)
Rastegardoost teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE),comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor;
and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0210, The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g. a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314.…)
receive an indication of a configuration for a set of random access channel procedure types for a bandwidth part of the UE, each random access channel procedure type in the set of random access channel procedure types being different from other random access channel procedure types in the set of random access channel procedure types;
(See Rasterdoost paragraph 0448, At 3110, the wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) from a base station. The one or more messages may indicate random access resources of an UL BWP of a cell. The random access resources may comprise 2-step random access resources and 4-step random access resources.)
wherein the set of random access channel procedure types comprises a common random access channel procedure type and…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, …a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a 2-step RACH configuration. The one or more RRC messages may comprise parameters required for transmitting a 2-step RACH MsgA. For example, the parameters may indicate at least one of following: PRACH resource allocation,…)
Shows the base station transmitting the indication for Physical Random Access Channel or PRACH resources
See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, The same PRACH resources may be shared for 4-step RACH and 2-step RACH. 4-step RACH resources may be configured regardless whether 2-step RACH is configured or not. The configuration of 2-step RACH may reuse the configuration of 4-step RACH…)
Shows the 2-step RACH reusing the configuration of the 4-step RACH for the common RACH procedure type
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
receiving a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure for a network slice, the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice;
…select a random access channel procedure type from the set of random access channel procedure types for a random access channel procedure based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice; and perform the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to the random access channel procedure type.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
(See Qu paragraph 0101, …the terminal device may determine the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service based on a second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type. The second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type may be carried in a system message, an RRC message or a PDCCH message. The terminal device obtains the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type by receiving the system message, the RRC message or the PDCCH message sent by the access network device.)
Shows the terminal receiving from a base station a second mapping relationship to determine the random access type for the first network slice
receiving a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure for a network slice,
(See Qu paragraph 0114, …the terminal device may obtain the signal quality by measuring the reference signal sent by the access network device, and compare the signal quality with the preset threshold. Specifically, the preset threshold may be determined and notified to the terminal device by the access network device, may be defined in a standard protocol, or may be determined by the terminal device.)
Shows the terminal receiving the threshold for signal quality or the indication from the network device
the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice;
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of the random access type based on the measurement of the signal quality and the identifier of the network slice service
(See Qu paragraph 0094, an access network device broadcasts a system message, where the system message carries the first mapping relationship. The terminal device may obtain the first mapping relationship by receiving the system message broadcast by the access network device. For example, the first mapping relationship carried in the system message may be shown in Table 1. Table 1 describes a possible structure of the first mapping relationship.)
Shows the terminal receiving the first mapping relationship contained in Table 1
(See Qu Table 1, TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 SIB1 message Indicates system message 1. >Slice matching Indicates a correspondence between information item a random access time-frequency resource and a network slice service, and a specific name is not limited. >>Random access Indicates an identifier of a random time-frequency access time-frequency resource. resource identifier >>Network slice Indicates an identifier of a network service identifier slice service.)
Shows Table 1 includes network slice identifier
select a random access channel procedure type from the set of random access channel procedure types for a random access channel procedure based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice; and
(See Qu paragraph 0117, The terminal device may determine, based on the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type, whether the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on second mapping relationship or the indication of configuration
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on the identity of the network slice
perform the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to the random access channel procedure type.
(See Qu paragraph 0122, ...if the terminal device determines that the two-step random access is a type of a to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service, in the foregoing step 203, the terminal device specifically initiates the two-step random access based on a first random access time-frequency resource.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 30 (Currently Amended)
Rastegardoost teaches,
An apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to:
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0197, The base station 2, 120B, may comprise at least one communication interface 320B, at least one processor 321B, and at least one set of program code instructions 323B stored in non-transitory memory 322B and executable by the at least one processor 321B.)
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), an indication of a configuration for a set of random access channel procedure types for a bandwidth part of the UE, each random access channel procedure type in the set of random access channel procedure types being different from other random access channel procedure types in the set of random access channel procedure types;…
(See Rasterdoost paragraph 0448, At 3110, the wireless device may receive one or more messages (e.g. RRC messages) from a base station. The one or more messages may indicate random access resources of an UL BWP of a cell. The random access resources may comprise 2-step random access resources and 4-step random access resources.)
wherein the set of random access channel procedure types comprises a common random access channel procedure type and…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, …a base station may transmit one or more RRC messages to configure a wireless device with one or more parameters of a 2-step RACH configuration. The one or more RRC messages may comprise parameters required for transmitting a 2-step RACH MsgA. For example, the parameters may indicate at least one of following: PRACH resource allocation,…)
Shows the base station transmitting the indication for Physical Random Access Channel or PRACH resources
See Rastegardoost paragraph 0393, The same PRACH resources may be shared for 4-step RACH and 2-step RACH. 4-step RACH resources may be configured regardless whether 2-step RACH is configured or not. The configuration of 2-step RACH may reuse the configuration of 4-step RACH…)
Shows the 2-step RACH reusing the configuration of the 4-step RACH for the common RACH procedure type
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
…transmit, to the UE, a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure type for a network slice, the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice; and
perform the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to a random access channel procedure selected by the UE from the set of random access channel procedure types based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…at least one slice-based random access channel procedure type;
(See Qu paragraph 0101, …the terminal device may determine the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service based on a second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type. The second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type may be carried in a system message, an RRC message or a PDCCH message. The terminal device obtains the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type by receiving the system message, the RRC message or the PDCCH message sent by the access network device.)
Shows the terminal receiving from a base station a second mapping relationship to determine the random access type for the first network slice
…transmit, to the UE, a trigger to perform a random access channel procedure type for a network slice,
(See Qu paragraph 0114, …the terminal device may obtain the signal quality by measuring the reference signal sent by the access network device, and compare the signal quality with the preset threshold. Specifically, the preset threshold may be determined and notified to the terminal device by the access network device, may be defined in a standard protocol, or may be determined by the terminal device.)
Shows the terminal receiving the threshold for signal quality or the indication from the network device
the trigger comprising an indication of an identity of the network slice; and
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of the random access type based on the measurement of the signal quality and the identifier of the network slice service
(See Qu paragraph 0094, an access network device broadcasts a system message, where the system message carries the first mapping relationship. The terminal device may obtain the first mapping relationship by receiving the system message broadcast by the access network device. For example, the first mapping relationship carried in the system message may be shown in Table 1. Table 1 describes a possible structure of the first mapping relationship.)
Shows the terminal receiving the first mapping relationship contained in Table 1
(See Qu Table 1, TABLE-US-00001 TABLE 1 SIB1 message Indicates system message 1. >Slice matching Indicates a correspondence between information item a random access time-frequency resource and a network slice service, and a specific name is not limited. >>Random access Indicates an identifier of a random time-frequency access time-frequency resource. resource identifier >>Network slice Indicates an identifier of a network service identifier slice service.)
Shows Table 1 includes network slice identifier
perform the random access channel procedure for the network slice according to a random access channel procedure
(See Qu paragraph 02118, The terminal device may obtain, by receiving a system message, an RRC message, or a PDCCH message sent by the access network device, the random access configuration corresponding to the network slice service and the random access configuration corresponding to the default slice service.
Shows the network device performing the random access for a network slice
selected by the UE from the set of random access channel procedure types based at least in part on the indication of the configuration for the set of random access channel procedure types and on the identity of the network slice.
(See Qu paragraph 0117, The terminal device may determine, based on the second mapping relationship between a network slice service and a random access type, whether the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on second mapping relationship or the indication of configuration
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
Shows the selection of RACH procedure type based on the identity of the network slice
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the independent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 2, 9, 13, 15, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 20200314913 A1) or Rastegardoost in view of Qu et al. (US 2023/0049532 A1) or Qu in further view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0227587 A1) or Tsai.
Claim 2
Rastegardoost teaches,
…a two-step common random access channel procedure type,
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0403, The wireless device supporting 2-step RACH may always select 2-step RACH as long as a received target power for the preamble and PUSCH transmission may be achieved.)
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
…a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and...
...the network slice.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
…a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and...
(See Qu paragraph 0210, As shown in (a) in FIG. 9, a terminal device initiates two-step random access. When the terminal device sends a MSGA corresponding to a network slice service to an access network device,...)
...the network slice.
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Rastegardoost also fails to teach,
…a two-step contention free random access channel procedure type,...
…a two-step common random access channel procedure type,
wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step contention free random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of a synchronization signal satisfying a threshold receive power level and...
Nevertheless, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a two-step contention free random access channel procedure type,...
(See Tsai paragraph 0162, ...the UE may select which type (CFRA or CBRA) of 2-step RA to perform according to beam (e.g., SSB and/or CSI-RS) selection.)
Shows the two-step contention free random access and two-step common random access
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step contention free random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of a synchronization signal satisfying a threshold receive power level and...
(See Tsai paragraph 0162, The UE may determine whether there is suitable/qualified 2-step CFRA beam exists based on if the CF 2-step RA type Resources associated with SSBs have been explicitly provided in rach-ConfigDedicated and at least one SSB with SS-RSRP above msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB...)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving an indication for a set of random access channel or RACH procedure types from a base station to a user equipment or UE as taught by Rastegardoost with the selecting of the two-step contention free RACH procedure type based upon a synchronization signal matching or exceeding a threshold level as taught by Tsai to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the number of steps required to perform the RACH procedure).
Claim 13
Rastegardoost teaches,
…a two-step common random access channel procedure type,…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0403, The wireless device supporting 2-step RACH may always select 2-step RACH as long as a received target power for the preamble and PUSCH transmission may be achieved.)
…a four-step common random access channel procedure type, wherein…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0396, Fallback from 2-step RACH to 4-step RACH procedure may work as follows:.)
Shows the four-step common random access
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type,…
(See Qu paragraph 0120, 2023: The terminal device determines that the two-step random access is a type of to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service.)
…a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and…
…selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of… …satisfying a threshold receive power level and the network slice.
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type,…
(See Qu paragraph 0120, 2023: The terminal device determines that the two-step random access is a type of to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service.)
…a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and…
(See Qu paragraph 0123, 2024: The terminal device determines that the four-step random access is a type of to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service.)
…selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the two-step slice-based random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of… …satisfying a threshold receive power level and the network slice.
(See Qu paragraph 0116, 2022: If the signal quality obtained through measurement is greater than or equal to the preset threshold, the terminal device determines whether the random access type corresponding to the identifier of the first network slice service is the two-step random access.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Rastegardoost also fails to teach,
…a synchronization signal…
Nevertheless, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a synchronization signal…
(See Tsai paragraph 0162, The UE may determine whether there is suitable/qualified 2-step CFRA beam exists based on if the CF 2-step RA type Resources associated with SSBs have been explicitly provided in rach-ConfigDedicated and at least one SSB with SS-RSRP above msgA-RSRP-ThresholdSSB...)
Shows the measured signal as a synchronization signal
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 15
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 15. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 13, further comprising:
determining that the random access channel procedure was unsuccessful after a threshold number of attempts, the threshold number of attempts based at least in part on the trigger; and performing a fallback random access channel procedure using… …based at least in part on the unsuccessful random access channel procedure.
(See Tsai paragraph 0165, If the RA (procedure) with 2-step RA type fails N times, where N may be a predetermined positive integer, the UE may set the RA type of the RA procedure to “4-step RA type,” and fall back to perform RA with 4-step RA type in action 812. The “N” may be configured by a parameter msgA-TransMax.)
msgA-TransMax consists of the trigger
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Rastegardoost also fails to teach,
…the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type…
Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…the four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type…
(See Qu paragraph 0029, ...when the signal quality is less than a preset threshold, or the first network slice service corresponds to four-step random access in a second mapping relationship, determine that the random access type corresponding to the first network slice service is the four-step random access,...)
Shows the four-step sliced-based random access
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 23
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 23. Nevertheless, Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1. Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 23 as stated in claim 2. The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 4, 8, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 20200314913 A1) or Rastegardoost in view of Qu et al. (US 2023/0049532 A1) or Qu in further view of Tsai et al. (US 2021/0227587 A1) or Tsai.
Claim 4
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 4. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 2, further comprising:
determining that the random access channel procedure was unsuccessful after a threshold number of attempts, the threshold number of attempts based at least in part on the trigger; and performing a fallback random access channel procedure using a four-step random access channel procedure type of the set of random access channel procedure types based at least in part on the unsuccessful random access channel procedure.
(See Tsai paragraph 0165, If the RA (procedure) with 2-step RA type fails N times, where N may be a predetermined positive integer, the UE may set the RA type of the RA procedure to “4-step RA type,” and fall back to perform RA with 4-step RA type in action 812. The “N” may be configured by a parameter msgA-TransMax.)
msgA-TransMax consists of the trigger
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 8
Rastegardoost teaches,
…the four-step common random access channel procedure type…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0396, Fallback from 2-step RACH to 4-step RACH procedure may work as follows:.)
Shows the four-step common random access
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining that the random access channel procedure was unsuccessful after a threshold number of attempts, the threshold number of attempts based at least in part on the trigger; and performing a fallback random access channel procedure using… …based at least in part on the unsuccessful random access channel procedure.
Nevertheless, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 7, further comprising:
determining that the random access channel procedure was unsuccessful after a threshold number of attempts, the threshold number of attempts based at least in part on the trigger; and performing a fallback random access channel procedure using… …based at least in part on the unsuccessful random access channel procedure.
(See Tsai paragraph 0165, If the RA (procedure) with 2-step RA type fails N times, where N may be a predetermined positive integer, the UE may set the RA type of the RA procedure to “4-step RA type,” and fall back to perform RA with 4-step RA type in action 812. The “N” may be configured by a parameter msgA-TransMax.)
msgA-TransMax consists of the trigger
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claim 25
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 25 as stated in claim 4. However, Tsai, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 25 as stated in claim 4. The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Tsai in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 2.
Claims 5 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 20200314913 A1) or Rastegardoost in view of Qu et al. (US 2023/0049532 A1) or Qu in further view of Turtinen et al. (US 2021/0100034 A1) or Turtinen.
Claim 5
Rastegardoost teaches,
…a four-step common random access channel procedure type,…
(See Rastegardoost paragraph 0396, Fallback from 2-step RACH to 4-step RACH procedure may work as follows:.)
Shows the four-step common random access
However, Rastegardoost fails to teach,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a four-step contention free random access channel procedure type,…
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the four-step contention free random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of a synchronization signal satisfying a threshold receive power level and...
Nevertheless, Turtinen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that the set of random access channel procedure types comprises
a four-step contention free random access channel procedure type,…
(See Turtinen paragraph 0077, ...in the case that the first device 110 determines that it is allowed to use that allocated CFRA resource for the RA type but the criterion to select another RA type (for example, the 4-step RA type) is met, the first device 110 may perform CFRA by transmitting the dedicated RA preamble using the corresponding time-frequency resource without transmitting the payload using the allocated time-frequency resource.)
…wherein selecting the random access channel procedure type comprises; and
selecting the four-step contention free random access channel procedure type for the random access channel procedure based at least in part on a receive power level of a synchronization signal satisfying a threshold receive power level and...
(See Turtinen paragraph 0057, ...the first device 110 determines whether the criterion to select this first RA type by comparing the currently-measured signal quality of the first device 110 with the signal quality threshold, such as the RSRP threshold. If the measured signal quality is lower than the signal quality threshold (for example, the RSRP lower than the RSRP threshold), the first device 110 determines that the criterion to select the first RA type is met.)
(See Turtinen paragraph 0058, In the signaling flow 200, the first device 110 also determines 220 whether it is allowed to use a CFRA resource allocated for the second RA type if the criterion to select the first RA type is met.)
Shows the four-step random access channel may be contention free
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving an indication for a set of random access channel or RACH procedure types from a base station to a user equipment or UE as taught by Rastegardoost with the selecting of the four-step contention free RACH procedure type as taught by Turtinen to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of the UEs preamble colliding with each other during the RACH procedure).
Rastegardoost also fails to teach,
…a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and…
...the network slice.
Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…a four-step slice-based random access channel procedure type, and…
(See Qu paragraph 0014, ...the terminal device determines that the random access type of the network slice service is the four-step random access.)
...the network slice.
(See Qu paragraph 0123, 2024: The terminal device determines that the four-step random access is a type of to-be-initiated random access corresponding to the first network slice service.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claim 26 (Currently Amended)
Rastegardoost teaches limitations of claim 26 as stated in claim 5. However, Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 26 as stated in claim 5. Nevertheless, Turtinen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 26 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Turtinen in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5. Qu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches limitations of claim 26 as stated in claim 5. The motivation to combine Rastegardoost and Qu in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 1.
Claims 19, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 20200314913 A1) or Rastegardoost in view of Li et al. (US 2017/0079059 A1) or Li in further view of Turtinen et al. (US 2021/0100034 A1) or Turtinen.
Claim 19
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 19. However, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein an uplink data associated with the network slice is identified by the UE
(See Li paragraph 0377, ...the cPUCCH is to be used by one or more UEs that desire to access a mobile broadband (MBB) network, wherein the dPUCCH is to be used by one or more UEs that desire to access at least one network slice of the plurality of network slices.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving an indication for a set of random access channel or RACH procedure types from a base station to a user equipment or UE as taught by Rastegardoost with identifying a network slice by a UE associated with uplink data as taught by Li to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to increase the accuracy of RACH procedure utilizing network slicing).
Turtinen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…while the UE is operating in a radio resource control idle state or an RRC inactive state.
(See Turtinen paragraph 0043, The RA procedure may be triggered by a number of events, such as an initial access to the second device 120 from an idle status,...)
Shows the random access process trigerred from UE being in an idle state
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Turtinen in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claim 20
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 20. However, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein an uplink data associated with the network slice is identified by the UE…
(See Li paragraph 0377, ...the cPUCCH is to be used by one or more UEs that desire to access a mobile broadband (MBB) network, wherein the dPUCCH is to be used by one or more UEs that desire to access at least one network slice of the plurality of network slices.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 19.
Turtinen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…while the UE is operating in a radio resource control connected state and the UE is not configured with a physical uplink control channel resource to transmit a scheduling request.
(See Turtinen paragraph 0043, The RA procedure may be triggered by a number of events, such as... ...UL data arrival during the connected mode when there are no physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources for a schedule requesting (SR) available,...)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Turtinen in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claim 21
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 20. However, Li, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, wherein an uplink data associated with the network slice is identified by the UE…
(See Li paragraph 0377, ...the cPUCCH is to be used by one or more UEs that desire to access a mobile broadband (MBB) network, wherein the dPUCCH is to be used by one or more UEs that desire to access at least one network slice of the plurality of network slices.)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Li in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 19.
Turtinen, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
…while the UE is operating in a radio resource control connected state and the UE is not uplink synchronized.
(See Turtinen paragraph 0043, The RA procedure may be triggered by a number of events, such as an initial access to the second device 120 from an idle status, a connection re-establishment procedure, DL or UL data arrival during the connected status when UL synchronisation status is “non-synchronised,”...)
The motivation to combine Rastegardoost, Qu, and Turtinen in the dependent claim consists of the same motivation as stated in claim 5.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 20200314913 A1) or Rastegardoost in view of Qu et al. (US 2023/0049532 A1) or Qu in further view Fu et al. (WO 2022193258 A1) or Fu in further view of Worrall et al. (US 20150049697 A1) or Worrall.
Claim 16 (Currently Amended)
Rastegardoost fails to teach limitations of claim 16. However, Fu, in the same field of endeavor, teaches,
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
determining that a second random access channel procedure is being performed separate from the random access channel procedure to be performed for the network slice, the second random access channel procedure associated with a priority level and corresponding to common random access channel procedure type;
…the network slice…
…the network slice…
(See Fu page 7 paragraph 6 …if the channel quality is higher than the first threshold, the slice-specific RACH resource is selected; if the channel quality is lower than the first threshold, the public RACH resource is selected.)
Shows the selection of the slice-specific RACH in favor of the public or common RACH
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving an indication for a set of random access channel or RACH procedure types from a base station to a user equipment or UE as taught by Rastegardoost with the selecting of a slice-based RACH in favor of a public or common RACH as disclosed by Fu to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the amount of energy require to perform RACH).
Worrall teaches
…and canceling the second random access channel procedure to perform the random access channel procedure for… …based at least in part on… being associated with a higher priority level than the priority level of the second random access channel procedure.
(See Worrall paragraph 0018, …continuing to transmit the triggered scheduling request of lower priority on RACH or canceling the transmission of the triggered scheduling request of lower priority on RACH when the transmission of the triggered scheduling request of higher priority is started.)
Shows the canceling of a transmission of a lower priority RACH in favor of a higher priority RACH
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the method of receiving an indication for a set of random access channel or RACH procedure types from a base station to a user equipment or UE as taught by Rastegardoost with the canceling the transmission of a lower priority RACH in favor of a higher priority RACH as disclosed by Worrall to increase the efficiency of the system (i.e. to reduce the probability of a collision during the RACH procedure).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Loehr et al. (US 20200100299 A1) or Loehr teaches determining to perform a two-step random access channel or RACH procedure or a four-step RACH procedure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL ROBERGE BETTENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 2414
/EDAN ORGAD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2414