DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
The examiner has cited particular columns and line numbers, paragraphs, or figures in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the and expose a middle part" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Aoki et al (JP 2007-027011)
Regarding claim 1, Aoki discloses a power supply device comprising a plurality of secondary battery cells, each of the plurality of secondary battery cells including an electrode on one end surface of each of the plurality of secondary cells, the electrode including a safety valve (All Figs). Although Aoki discloses an electrode as claimed, Aoki fails to explicitly disclose “positive” electrode as presently claimed. However, Aoki discloses a projecting electrode (17) (Fig. 5-6, [0032-0034]). One of ordinary skill in the art would immediately envisage that the “convex” electrode would correspond to the claimed “positive” electrode as it is very well known in the battery art that positive electrode terminal side comprising a projection and a negative electrode terminal comprises a flat smooth end.
Alternative to anticipation, Aoki discloses that the safety valve can be present on either ends of surface of the secondary battery cells (All Figs: Figs. 1-4 vs. Fig. 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the safety valve is included with the positive electrode as Aoki discloses that they are functionally equivalent and suitable. Additionally, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose to use a safety valve on a positive electrode. One of ordinary skill in the art would be well aware that there are two end surfaces of a battery, a positive electrode terminal and a negative electrode terminal. Thus, choice of a positive electrode to include a safety valve given only two alternatives would be well within the level of ordinary skill in the art.
Further, Aoki discloses a battery holder holding the plurality of secondary battery cells upright in parallel to one another such that the positive electrode on the one end surface of each of the plurality of second battery cells is directed vertically downward (All Figs), a housing (2) having a bottom surface, a sot surface, and an inner space which accommodates the battery holder therein (All Figs), wherein the battery holder retains the positive electrode of each of the plurality of secondary battery cells spaced apart from the bottom surface across a first space (5) (Fig. 5-6).
Regarding claim 2, Please see Figs. 5-6.
Regarding claim 3, Aoki discloses silicon resin (27), which corresponds to the claimed heat-conductive layer (Fig. 6) [0046].
Regarding claim 4, Aoki discloses that the heat-conductive layer (27) has a sheet shape (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 5, Aoki discloses the battery holder includes a raising part (3) provided on a surface of the battery holder facing the bottom surface of the housing, the raising part defining the first space (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 10, Aoki discloses cylindrical outer can (All Figs).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki et al (JP 2007-027011) in view of Yamzaki et al. (JP 2016-189266).
Regarding claim 6, Aoki discloses a power supply device as set forth above, however, Aoki is silent further comprising lead plates fixed at the positive electrode and a negative electrode as presently claimed.
Yamzaki discloses lead plates are fixed on both the positive electrode and negative electrode terminals of the plurality of battery cells (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoki’s power supply device to include lead plates on both the negative and positive electrodes, since Yamzaki discloses that these would allow series or parallel connection, thereby obtaining a desired voltage output.
Regarding claim 7, Aoki in view of Yamzaki discloses lead plate is a sheet (JP’ 266: all Figs), however, fails to disclose it is of metal. However, it would have been well within the purview of one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to choose to use metal. One of ordinary skill in the art would be well aware that any material can be either metal or nonmetal. Thus, choice of a metal given only two alternatives would be well within the level of ordinary skill in the art. Further, it is known in the art that lead plate would be understood as electrically conductive and therefore, metal.
Regarding the limitation “etched”, even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process.”, (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious different between the claimed product and the prior art product (In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983), MPEP 2113).
Regarding claims 8-9, Aoki fails to explicitly disclose that the battery holder includes a partitioning wall as claimed and that the battery holder is divided into a plurality of sub-holders as claimed.
Yamzaki discloses the battery holder is divided into a plurality of sub-holders with partitioning wall (2,3) and the middle portion of the secondary battery is exposed from the battery holder. Although Yamzaki discloses a partitioning wall made of insulating material, Yamzaki fails to explicitly disclose it resin. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to choose the insulating material to be of resin with reasonable expectation of success. One of ordinary skill in the art would be well aware insulating material includes resin. Thus, choice of a resin material would be well within the level of ordinary skill in the art absence of evidence to the criticality of the resin material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Aoki’s battery holder to include a resin partition wall and be divided into plurality of sub-holders as claimed, since Yamzaki discloses that this will hold the plurality of cylindrical batteries and to prevent short circuit.
Conclusion
Linda Chau
/L.N.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1785
/Holly Rickman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785