DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Per preliminary amendment dated 8/8/23, claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michie et al. (US 2008/0221273 A1), in view of Jejelowo et al. (US 6,242,545 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 6, 8-10, Michie teaches a high-density polyethylene composition comprising:
40 to 60 wt.% of a first component, such as polyethylene a-olefin copolymer, having density of from 0.915 to 0.940 g/cm3 and melt index (I21) in the range of 0.5 to 10 g/10 minutes;
to 60 wt.% of a second component, such as an ethylene polymer,
wherein said high density polyethylene composition has a density of from 0.950 to 0.960 g/cm3, and a melt index (I2) greater than 1, or at least 2, i.e., overlaps with claimed range (Ab., [0011], [0023], [0054], Ref. claims).
Thus, the disclosed density and I21 of the high molecular weight component, the density and I2 of the composition, and the weight percentages of the two polymers in the composition overlap in scope with those of the claimed invention.
Michie further teaches a metallocene catalyst systems for preparing the polymers [0064].
Michie is silent on a composition comprising a high molecular weight component having the claimed molecular weight distribution (Mw/Mn).
At the outset, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
The secondary reference to Jejelowo teaches substituted hafnocene metallocene catalyst systems having improved catalyst activity and providing for polymers having a higher molecular weight and at the same time, having a lower density (Ab., col. 2, lines 40-58). Disclosed polymers include polymers based on ethylene and a comonomer (col. 10, line 35-col. 11, line 3), having a density, preferably of from 0.910 to 0.940 g/cc, and a narrow molecular weight distribution, of from greater than 1.5 to 4 (col. 12, lines 43-57).
Given the teaching on advantages of the catalyst system in Jejelowo, and the teaching in Michie on suitable high molecular weight component, low molecular weight component, amounts and characteristics thereof, and the overall properties of the high density polyethylene composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize Jejelowo’s catalyst in preparing Michie’s high molecular weight component having a molecular weight distribution as claimed, including polyethylene compositions as in the claimed invention, and having a claimed CD value for the low molecular weight component.
Regarding the claimed CD value, Michie’s composition may comprise, for e.g., 45 wt.% high molecular weight component having a density of 0.930g/cm3, 55 wt.% of low molecular weight component, and have an overall density of 0.959g/cm3. The calculated CD value for the low molecular weight component is 0.984g/cm3.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Michie teaches a polyethylene composition having a molecular weight distribution ranging from 6 to 25 [0054].
Regarding claims 5, 7, 11-13, Michie teaches a high density polyethylene composition having a density of from 0.950 to 0.960 g/cm3, and a melt index (I2) greater than 1, or at least 2, i.e., overlaps with the claimed range, and a molecular weight distribution ranging from 6 to 25 (Ab., [0011], [0023], [0054], Ref. claims).
With regard to the other properties recited in claims 5, 7, 11-13, for reasons stated above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare the composition within the scope of Michie, as modified by Jejelowo, including those within the scope of instant claim 1. Noting that the original specification does not identify any feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in claimed amounts, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect polyethylene compositions of overlapping scope to have the claimed property, absent evidence to the contrary. As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Michie teaches using the high density polyethylene compositions for molded articles, such as a bottle cap, that can be capable of being a beverage bottle cap [0088]-[0089].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 7-15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 7-15 of copending Application No. 18/264,596 (reference application, preliminary amdt. dated 8/8/23). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 is as follows:
Although the copending claims are silent on a composition as claimed in one single embodiment, given the overlapping scope of components a) and b) and the polyethylene composition of copending claims with those of the presently claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a composition within the scope of the claimed invention (obviates instant claims 1, 4, 8-10). As stated in paragraph 6 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 11, 14 and 15, copending claims 2, 3, 12, 14 and 15 obviate the claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 7, 12 and 13, the polyethylene composition of instant claim 1 overlaps in scope with that of copending claim 1 and therefore, compositions of overlapping scope would reasonably be expected to have the claimed property, absent evidence to the contrary.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Michie et al. (US 20100084363 A1)
examiner should be directed to Satya Sastri at (571) 272 1112. The examiner can be reached Monday-Friday, 9AM-5.30PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone
are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Robert Jones can be reached at (571)-270-
7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is (571) 273 8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/Satya B Sastri/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762