DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Per preliminary amendment dated 8/8/23, claims 1-15 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-9, 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turner et al. (US 2009/0283939 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 7-9, 11, Turner teaches a composition comprising:
45 to 80% by weight of a high molecular weight component comprising an ethylene interpolymer that has a density of from 0.920 g/cm3 to 0.950 g/cm3, an I21 of from 0.05 to 1 dg/min, i.e., 0.05 to 1g/10 min, and a molecular weight distribution (Mw/Mn) of from 1.5 to 10;
55 to 20% by weight of a low molecular weight component comprising an ethylene polymer, said weight percentages being based on the sum weight of the high molecular weight component and the low molecular weight component; and wherein
said composition has a density from 0.950 g/cm3 to 0.970 g/cm3, and a melt index (I2) of from 0.02 to 0.2 dg/min, i.e., 0.02 to 0.2 g/10min (Ab., [0045], [0054]-[0086], ref. claims).
Thus, the disclosed density, molecular weight distribution and I21 of high molecular weight component, the density and I2 of the composition, and the weight percentages of the two polymers in the composition overlap in scope with those of the claimed invention.
Turner is silent on a composition comprising claimed components having claimed features in one single embodiment as in the claimed invention.
At the outset, it is noted that in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Given the teaching on suitable high molecular weight component and low molecular weight component, amounts thereof and the properties of the composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to prepare any composition within the scope of Turner, including those of the claimed invention, and having a claimed CD value for the low molecular weight component.
Regarding the claimed CD value, Turner’s composition may comprise, for e.g., 45 wt.% high molecular weight component having a density of 0.930g/cm3, 55 wt.% of low molecular weight component, and have an overall density of 0.959g/cm3. The calculated CD value for the low molecular weight component is 0.984g/cm3.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Turner teaches a composition having a molecular weight distribution of from 8 to 40 [0085].
Regarding claim 12, for reasons stated above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare the composition within the scope of Turner, including those of overlapping scope. Noting that the original specification does not identify any feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in claimed amounts, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect the polyethylene composition of overlapping scope to have the claimed property, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 13, the limitation “wherein the polyethylene composition was polymerized using a hafnium-containing metallocene catalyst system” is a process limitation in a product claim. Product-by-process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only to the structure implied by the steps. If the product in a product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the product was made by a different process. See MPEP 2113(I).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Turner teaches that the compositions can be molded into various articles, including bottle and having excellent mechanical strength and rigidity, in addition to excellent balance of stiffness and toughness, environmental stress crack resistance and impact resistance [0031], [0128]. In view of the advantageous properties, a skilled artisan would have found it obvious to prepare a closure for a beverage bottle from the disclosed compositions of overlapping scope.
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Michie et al. (US 2008/0221273 A1), in view of Jejelowo et al. (US 6,242,545 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 4-11, 13, Michie teaches a high-density polyethylene composition comprising:
40 to 60 wt.% of a first component, such as polyethylene a-olefin copolymer, having density of from 0.915 to 0.940 g/cm3 and melt index (I21) in the range of 0.5 to 10 g/10 minutes;
to 60 wt.% of a second component, such as an ethylene polymer,
wherein said high density polyethylene composition has a density of from 0.950 to 0.960 g/cm3, and a melt index (I2) greater than 1, or at least 2, i.e., encompasses values less than 4.5 (Ab., [0011], [0023], [0054], Examples, Ref. claims).
Thus, the disclosed density and I21 of high molecular weight component, the density and I2 of the composition, and the weight percentages of the two polymers in the composition overlap in scope with those of the claimed invention.
Michie further teaches a metallocene catalyst systems for preparing the high density polyethylene composition [0064].
Michie is silent on a composition comprising a high molecular weight component having the claimed molecular weight distribution (Mw/Mn).
As stated in paragraph 6 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
The secondary reference to Jejelowo teaches substituted hafnocene metallocene catalyst systems having improved catalyst activity and providing for polymers having a higher molecular weight and at the same time, having a lower density (Ab., col. 2, lines 40-58). Disclosed polymers include polymers based on ethylene and a comonomer (col. 10, line 35-col. 11, line 3), and having a density, preferably of from 0.910 to 940 g/cc, and a narrow molecular weight distribution, of from greater than 1.5 to 4 (col. 12, lines 43-57).
Given the teaching on advantages of the catalyst system in Jejelowo, and the teaching in Michie on suitable high molecular weight component, low molecular weight component, amounts and characteristics thereof, and the properties of the high density polyethylene composition, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize Jejelowo’s catalyst in preparing Michie’s high molecular weight component having a molecular weight distribution as claimed, including polyethylene compositions as in the claimed invention, and having a claimed CD value for the low molecular weight component.
Regarding the claimed CD value, Michie’s composition may comprise, for e.g., 45 wt.% high molecular weight component having a density of 0.930g/cm3, 55 wt.% of low molecular weight component, and have an overall density of 0.959g/cm3. The calculated CD value for the low molecular weight component is 0.984g/cm3.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Michie teaches a polyethylene composition having a molecular weight distribution ranging from 6 to 25 [0054].
Regarding claim 12, for reasons stated above, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare the composition within the scope of Michie, as modified by Jejelowo, including those of overlapping scope. Noting that the original specification does not identify any feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in claimed amounts, a skilled artisan would reasonably expect the polyethylene composition of overlapping scope to have the claimed property, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claims 14 and 15, Michie teaches using the high density polyethylene compositions for molded articles, such as a bottle cap, and capable of be for a beverage bottle and capable of [0088]-[0089].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5, 7-12, 14 and 15 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 8-12, 14 and 15 of copending Application No. 18/264593 (reference application, preliminary amdt. dated 8/8/23). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because copending claim 1 is as follows:
Although copending claims are silent on a composition as claimed in one single embodiment, given the overlapping scope of components a. and b. and the polyethylene composition with that of the presently claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare a composition within the scope of the claimed invention (obviates instant claims 1, 4, 5, 7-11). As stated in paragraph 6 above, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 12, 14 and 15, copending claims 2, 3, 11, 14 and 15 obviate the claimed limitations.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
examiner should be directed to Satya Sastri at (571) 272 1112. The examiner can be reached Monday-Friday, 9AM-5.30PM (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone
are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Mr. Robert Jones can be reached at (571)-270-
7733. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is
assigned is (571) 273 8300.
Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications
may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished
applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR
system, see https://ppair-my.uspto.gov/pair/PrivatePair. Should you have questions on access to
the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-
free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to
the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/Satya B Sastri/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1762