Application Status
Claims 1-12 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Line 2 recites “a vector of comprising”, please delete the “of”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the statement “use of” or “for use” of an invention without any meaningful steps for that use does not qualify as a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 is drawn to use of the ECAR of claim 1, a nucleic acid encoding the ECAR, a vector encoding the nucleic acid, a host cell comprising the vector or a pharmaceutical composition comprising the ECAR for the preparation of a drug formulation for (a) selective killing of a cell and/ or (b) treating a disease. As the claim does not set forth any steps involved in the method/ process, it is unclear what method/ process applicant is intending to encompass. A claim is indefinite where it merely recites a use without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Maus (WO 2018/132513 A1; PTO-892)
Regarding claims 1-2, Maus teaches a chimeric antigen receptor (CAR) polypeptide comprising: a) one or more extracellular domains comprising a portion of Tumor Necrosis Factor (TNF) superfamily receptor ligand; b) a hinge and transmembrane domain; c) a co- stimulatory domain; and d) an intracellular signaling domain (claim 1), wherein the TNF superfamily receptor ligand is A Proliferation-Inducing Ligand (APRIL) (claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Maus teaches further comprising a CD8 leader sequence (claim 4), wherein the hinge and transmembrane domain comprises the hinge and transmembrane domain of CD8 or 4- IBB (claim 8), wherein the intracellular signaling domain comprises the signaling domain of CD3ζ, CD3s, or CD36 (claim 11), wherein the co- stimulatory domain is the intracellular domain selected from the group consisting of 4-1BB ICD, CD28 ICD, CD27 ICD, ICOS ICD, and OX40 ICD.(claim 14), yielding a an ECAR with a formula CD8 leader-TNFR ligand- CD8 hinge-CD8 transmembrane domain- 4-1BB costimulatory domain- CD3ζ intracellular signaling domain which corresponds to the instantly claimed formula L-Z1-Z2-TM-C- CD3ζ.
Regarding claims 4-6 and 12, Maus teaches a mammalian cell comprising; a) a CAR polypeptide of claim 1 ; b) a nucleic acid encoding a CAR polypeptide of claim 1 ; or c) a polypeptide complex comprising two or more of the CAR polypeptides of claim 1 (claim 24). Maus further teaches that a nucleic acid encoding a polypeptide as described herein (e.g. a CAR polypeptide) is comprised by a vector (para 0060).
Regarding claims 7 and 11, Maus teaches wherein the cell is a T cell (claim 25). Maus further teaches that Human primary T cells were lentivirally transduced with the CAR constructs (para 00224).
Regarding claims 8-9, Maus teaches a composition comprising the CAR polypeptide of claim 1 formulated for the treatment of cancer (claim 35), further comprising a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (claim 36), a method of treating cancer, a plasma cell disorder, or an autoimmune disease in a subject, the method comprising administering a cell of claim 24 to the subject (claim 29).
Regarding claim 10, Maus teaches APRIL-CAR expressing T cells demonstrated specific killing of cells expressing BCMA and TACI (Fig. 12) and activation was similarly specific (Fig. 13). All of the components of a kit would be necessary to complete the method and therefore there is no patentable difference in supplying the materials in a container for a kit.
Conclusion
/AMBER K FAUST/Examiner, Art Unit 1643
/JULIE WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1643