DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Interpretation The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f): (f) Element in Claim for a Combination. – An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The following is a quotation of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: An element in a claim for a combination may be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof. The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the following three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: (A) the claim limitation uses the term “means” or “step” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a non-structural term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed function; (B) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g., “means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so that”; and (C) the term “means” or “step” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. Use of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim with functional language creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Absence of the word “means” (or “step”) in a claim creates a rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “ Module ” – see claim s 1 -20 . The corresponding structure for performing the term “module” is found at, for example: Para 0037 recites: The module 1 also includes carrying handles 30 that may not only be used to carry the module 1, but also in some embodiments may include additional hardware by which the lid 5 may (or may not) be secured to the module 1. In some embodiments, the additional hardware is not part of the carrying handles. More particularly, many prior art lids 5 include a latch member 35 on both of its sides that may substantially align with hardware on the module 1 when the lid 5 is placed on the module 1. The latch members 35 may be engageable with such hardware (not shown) using a number of known or foreseeable methods or mechanisms. In the illustrated embodiment, the latch members 35 include a tab member 40 having hook members 45 that could be engageable with the module 1 when the tab members 40 are operated. The latch members 35 may be engaged to the module 1 when the module 1 is in use or simply when the module 1, lid 5, and cooking appliance are stowed away and not in use. The latch members 35 and/or handles 30 could also provide the function of a cord wrap feature for easy storage. In various embodiments, more or fewer latch members 35 may be provided. “ accessories/ accessory ” – see claim 7 which recites various accessories . The term “accessory” is a nonce term that is generic placeholder for the term “means”. This term is modified by functional language, i.e., the term “accessory”, and the limitation “air fry accessory, steamer accessory, smoker accessory, sous vide accessory, delay add accessory, food processor accessory, and a stirrer accessory” is considered to be equivalent to “air fry accessory (or means)”. Moreover, each “accessory” is not modified by sufficient structure or material for performing the corresponding claimed functions (i.e. air fry, steamer, smoker, sous vide, delay add, food processor and stirrer.) As a result, these limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of 35 U.S.C. 112(a): (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention. The following is a quotation of the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112: The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of carrying out his invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b ) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the appl icant regards as his invention. GROUND 1 : Claim 7 is rejected under both 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, and 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because the specification lacks a proper description of any corresponding structure as a result of the 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, analysis above. As previously explained, the following claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph: Claim 7, the accessories being recited as, “ air fry accessory, steamer accessory, smoker accessory, sous vide accessory, delay add accessory, food processor accessory, and a stirrer accessory” The written description does not disclose the corresponding structure or material for performing the entire claimed function nor does it clearly link the structure or material to the function. Specifically, paras 0069-0075 generically define each of the listed accessories but fail to disclose or illustrate any structural details thereof. For example, para 0069 discloses a “steamer accessory” with a water chamber 395 and heating elements (not shown), but fails to disclose or show how the accessory operates to heat water and thus produce steam. That is, how electricity /power is provided to the heating element to enable operation thereof. Each accessory lacks sufficient disclosure or structure and each accessory is merely shown to be a cylindrical housing (See Fig. 11). For these reasons, these limitations lack proper written description and are indefinite, and as a result, claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP §§ 2181, subsection IV, and 2185. To address the section 112 rejections based on the 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, interpretation, Applicant may: (a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph; (b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)). If Applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure or material perform the claimed function, Applicant should clarify the record by either: (a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or (b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181. GROUND 2 : Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 7 recites “ The module of claim 2, wherein the cooking accessories include one or more of an air fry accessory, steamer accessory, smoker accessory, sous vide accessory, delay add accessory, food processor accessory, and a stirrer accessory ”. Again, paras 0069-0075 generically define each of the listed accessories but fail to disclose or illustrate any structural details thereof and fail to disclose how each function of the listed accessories is carried out. As such, these limitations lack proper written description under section 112, first paragraph, (for AIA, section 112(a)). As a result, claims 7 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. GROUND 3 : Claim(s) 1- 7, 9, 11-12 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0324359 to Aboujassoum et al. In regard to claim s 1 and 11-12 , Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module 100 for use with a cooking appliance 200 having a vessel and a lid 170 , the module comprising (See Figs. 1-3 and para 0028 and 0034 ) : an outer support wall 150 , the outer support wall including: a downwardly projecting lip member that is configured to sit on a flange of the vessel; a receiving flange portion that is sized and shaped to receive the lid (see Fig. 24 and para 0034) ; an inner support structure including at least one arm member extending therefrom and coupled to the outer support wall; and at least one opening defined by the outer support wall and the at least one arm member (See annotated Figure 6 ) . In regard to claim s 2 and 15 , Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a cooking appliance , the module further comprising one or more cooking accessories 110 configured to be received within one or more housings associated with the inner support structure (see Figs. 1-2). In regard to claim 3, Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the one or more housings are coupled to the inner support structure (see Figs. 1-2). In regard to claim 4, Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the inner support structure includes two arm members (See annotated Fig. 6 above) . In regard to claim 5, Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the module includes two openings defined by the two arm members and the outer support wall (See annotated Fig. 6 above) . In regard to claim 6, Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the module includes at least two housings coupled to the inner structure (See Figs. 1-2). In regard to claim 7, Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the cooking accessories include one or more of an air fry accessory, steamer accessory, smoker accessory, sous vide accessory, delay add accessory, food processor accessory, and a stirrer accessory (See Figs. 9a-e and para 0029-0030). In regard to claim 9, Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the one or more cooking accessories and the one or more housings are in electronic communication with one another (See Figs. 9a-e and para 0029-0030). GROUND 4 : Claim(s) 1- 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 6,201,217 to Moon et al. In regard to claim 1 , Moon et al. disclose a module 20 for use with a cooking appliance having a vessel and a lid, the module comprising: an outer support wall 114 , the outer support wall including: a downwardly projecting lip member 72 that is configured to sit on a flange 74 of the vessel; a receiving flange portion that is sized and shaped to receive the lid (see Figs. 2-3) ; an inner support structure 66/114 including at least one arm member extending therefrom and coupled to the outer support wall; and at least one opening 112 defined by the outer support wall and the at least one arm member (See Fig. 5) . With regard to the module being “ for use with a cooking appliance having a vessel and a l i d”, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In regard to claim 2, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a cooking appliance, the module further comprising one or more cooking accessories 84 configured to be received within one or more housings 86 associated with the inner support structure (see Fig. 5 and Col. 5, Lines 42-67). In regard to claim 3, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the one or more housings are coupled to the inner support structure (see Figs. 3 and 5). In regard to claim 4, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the inner support structure includes two arm members (See Fig. 5) . In regard to claim 5, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the module includes two openings defined by the two arm members and the outer support wall (See Fig. 5) . In regard to claim 6, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the module includes at least two housings 62, 86 coupled to the inner structure (See Figs. 1-2). In regard to claim 7, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the cooking accessories include one or more of an air fry accessory, steamer accessory, smoker accessory, sous vide accessory, delay add accessory, food processor accessory, and a stirrer accessory (see Fig. 5 and Col. 5, Lines 42-67). In regard to claim 8, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the inner support structure includes a heating element 84 and a fan member 80 configured to blow heated air into the vessel (see Figs. 3 and 5 and Col. 6, Lines 29-38 ). In regard to claim 9, Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , wherein the one or more cooking accessories and the one or more housings are in electronic communication with one another (see Figs. 3 and 5 and Col. 5, Lines 42-67). In regard to claim s 10 and 14 , Moon et al. disclose a module for use with a c ooking appliance , further comprising a reflector 14 positioned and located on a floor of the vessel (See Figs. 2-3 and Col. 4, Line 55 – Col. 5, Line 10). In regard to claim 11 , Moon et al. disclose a cooking system, the cooking system comprising: a vessel 21 ; a lid 62 engageable with the vessel; and a cooking expansion module 66 configured to be positioned and located between the vessel and the lid, the cooking expansion module including an inner support structure 86/94 coupled to an outer support wall 114 of the cooking expansion module (See Figs. 3 and 5) In regard to claim 12 , Moon et al. disclose a cooking system, further comprising at least one opening (i.e. grid) defined by the inner support structure and the outer support wall (See Figs. 5 and 9a-d). In regard to claim 13 , Moon et al. disclose a cooking system, further comprising a heating element 84 and fan member 80 supported by at least one of the inner support structure and the outer support wall (See Figs. 3 and 5). In regard to claim 15 , Moon et al. disclose a cooking system, wherein inner support structure is configured for receiving one or more cooking accessories 84, 80 (see Col. 5, Lines 41-67). In regard to claim 16 , Moon et al. disclose a cooking system, further comprising a grill rack 16 positioned and located within the vessel (See Figs. 1-3). In regard to claim 17 , Moon et al. disclose a grill module for use with a cooking appliance having a vessel and a lid, the grill module comprising: an outer support wall , the outer support wall including: a downwardly projecting lip member 72 that is configured to sit on a flange 74 of the vessel; a receiving flange portion that is sized and shaped to receive the lid; an inner support structure 66/114 including a central housing unit 86/94 and at least one arm member extending therefrom and coupled to the outer support wall; at least one opening 112 defined by the outer support wall and the at least one arm member; a heating element 84 supported by at least one of the inner support structure and the outer support wall; and a grill rack 16 resting on a floor of the vessel (see Figs 2-3, 5 and Col. 5, Line 21 – Col. 6, Line 44). In regard to claim 18 , Moon et al. disclose a grill module , further comprising a reflector 14 positioned and located between the grill rack and the floor of the vessel (See Figs. 2-3). In regard to claim 19 , Moon et al. disclose a grill module , the grill rack including slots through which oils and fats of a food item being cooked on the grill rack may drip (See Figs. 2-3). In regard to claim 20 , Moon et al. disclose a grill module , the grill module further comprising a fan member 80 supported by at least one of the inner support structure and the outer support wall (See Figs. 3 and 5). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis ( i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. GROUND 5 : Claim (s) 10 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0324359 to Aboujassoum et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No . 2001/0045422 to Goutheire . In regard to claims 10 and 14, Aboujassoum et al. disclose a module for use with a cooking appliance having a vessel and a lid, (See rejections above) and wherein the module may be used with a variety of cooking apparatuses (See para 028). However, Aboujassoum et al. are silent with respect to a reflector positioned and located on a floor of the vessel. Goutheire teach es of an analogous interchangeable cooking device comprising a heating base 20 having a heater 2 and reflector positioned there above (see Fig. 1 and para 0028). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to implement the module of Aboujassoum et al. with the heating base of Goutheire to provide more even cooking to food within the vessel as a result of the reflector being positioned within the vessel above the heater. REMAINING PAGE LEFT BLANK INTENTIONALLY Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT MATTHEW J KASZTEJNA whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6086 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F, 7AM--3PM . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Eileen Lillis can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT 571-272-6928 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /MATTHEW J KASZTEJNA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993