DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 3, Claims 12-14, in the reply filed on 11/11/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9, 11, and 17 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Groups 1-2, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/11/2025.
The restriction requirement has been made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 12, the phrase "-like" renders the claim indefinite because the claim includes elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "-like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 13-14 are also rejected, due to their dependency on Claim 12.
Regarding Claim 14, “alloys comprising the metals” is indefinite due to an antecedent basis issue of “metals”, as the claim recites only “a metal”. The limitation should be reworded to “alloys thereof”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakamura (WO 2017/221801 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Nakamura teaches a multilayer article comprising a backing layer, an upper layer, and a bonding layer interposed between the backing layer and the upper layer. (Page 3). Nakamura teaches the backing layer comprises polyolefin or polyester, a thermoplastic polymer, and the upper layer comprises a metal. (Page 3). Nakamura teaches the bonding layer/film can comprise a modified polyolefin resin (polyolefin), a polyolefin (compatibilizer), and an amino resin. (Claim 1 of Nakamura). Nakamura teaches the amount of polyolefin (compatibilizer) can range from 0.1 to 20%, the amino resin can range from approximately 0.5 to 5%, and the modified polyolefin can be the remainder (Claim 1 of Nakamura; Page 2-4). Nakamura does not require additional filler. These ranges overlap the claimed ranges. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 13, Nakamura teaches the thermoplastic polymer can be polyethylene or polypropylene. (Page 5).
Regarding Claim 14, Nakamura teaches the upper layer can be aluminum. (Page 5).
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781