DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-10 in the reply filed on July 6, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 8, 2023, January 14, 2025, March 18, 2025 and December 3, 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitations use generic placeholders that are coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholders are not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitations are: “tissue collector” in claim 1.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
If Applicant does not intend to have these limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant may:
(1) amend the claim limitations to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or
(2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitations recite sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 9, the limitation “a slide” should be changed to “the slide”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because the scope of the limitation “tissue collector” is indefinite. As indicated above, the limitation is subject to interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the specification fails to disclose identifiable features corresponding to the claimed “tissue collector” such that the limitation can be properly interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). Figures 1 and 2 merely illustrate a rectangular prism and the text of the specification is devoid of disclosure directed to the features of the tissue collector responsible for collecting tissue. Consequently, the scope of the limitation “tissue collector” is indefinite.
Claims 2-4 and 6-9 positively recite method steps, yet the subject matter of the steps appear to be directed to an alternative subject matter (e.g. applying heat in claim 2; using the adhesive strip in claims 6-9). It is unclear whether the claims intend to limit the claimed method to the corresponding alternative embodiment (e.g. claim 2 requires heat to be used and the method comprises the step of heating the tissue section to the claimed temperature), or whether the claims are conditional subject matter that only limits the corresponding alternative embodiment (e.g. claim 2 still encompasses use of physical force or heat, but if heat is used, the tissue section is heated to the claimed temperature). Because the method steps are positively recited, it will be presumed that the claims intend to convey the former interpretation. The claims should be amended to clearly reflect this intent (e.g. in claim 6, recite “wherein the tissue section is collected with the adhesive strip, the method further comprising positioning the adhesive strip…”).
Claims not explicitly rejected are rejected due to dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ott et al. (“Ott”) (US 2015/0260619 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Ott teaches a method for transferring a tissue section onto a slide, the method comprising:
collecting a tissue section with a tissue collector 32 comprising an adhesive strip 33 (see Fig. 3 and [0036]);
moving the tissue collector 32 to bring at least a portion of the tissue section in contact with a slide (see [0036] and arrow 25 in Fig. 1); and
applying physical force to the tissue section at a contact site of the tissue section with the slide (see [0036] and arrow 25 in Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 6, the adhesive strip 33 is positioned on a collecting end (bottom) of the tissue collector 32 (see Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 7, as discussed above (see rejection of claim 1), the method comprises collecting the tissue section by adhering the tissue section to the adhesive strip 33.
With respect to claim 8, the adhesive strip 33 is provided on a first reel (left reel in Fig. 1), and the adhesive strip extends from the first reel, across the collecting end, to a second reel (right reel in Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 9, the method further comprises advancing the adhesive strip across the collecting end after a first section of the adhesive strip is used to transfer a tissue section to the slide, whereby a second section of the adhesive strip is positioned on the collecting end (see [0036]-[0037]; see also arrow in Fig. 3 indicating the direction in which the adhesive strip advances).
With respect to claim 10, because the adhesive strip has the ability to adhere to the tissue section and subsequently release the tissue section onto a slide by application of pressure (see [0036]), it is deemed to comprise “low-tack” pressure-sensitive adhesives.
Claims 1, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lim et al. (“Lim”) (US 2019/0195748 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Lim teaches a method for transferring a tissue section onto a slide (see abstract), the method comprising (see Fig. 1):
collecting a tissue section with an adhesive strip 106 (see [0026]);
moving the adhesive strip 106 to bring at least a portion of the tissue section in contact with a slide 104 (see [0026] and Fig. 1); and
applying heat (the slide 104 is in a warm bath 110 and hence has heat, see [0022]) and physical force (i.e. physical contact) to the tissue section at a contact site of the tissue section with the slide 104 (see [0026]-[0027] and Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 4, based on the manner in which the tissue section is transferred to the slide (see [0026] disclosing that the tissue section floats on the surface of bath 110 during the transfer and the transfer is facilitated by heat provided by filament 112), it appears that physical force of about 275kPA or less is applied to the tissue section at the contact site.
With respect to claim 5, the contact site is 25% or less of the tissue section (see [0023]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim.
With respect to claim 2, Lim does not explicitly disclose the temperature to which the contact site is heated to facilitate the transfer to the slide. However, Lim discloses that for tissues embedded in paraffin, this process typically occurs at a temperature of 40 degrees Celsius or higher (see [0022]). In light of the disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have heated the embedded tissue section at the contact site to a temperature that falls within the claimed range.
With respect to claim 3, the tissue section comprises an embedding medium in the form of paraffin (see [0021]). Naturally, the heat (see rejection of claim 2 above), would be sufficient to at least partially melt the embedding medium.
Claim 4 is alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103. While Lim does not disclose whether physical force of about 275kPA or less is applied to the tissue section at the contact site, given that the transfer of the tissue section from the adhesive strip 106 to the slide 104 is achieved using heat, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied physical force of less than about 275kPA to the tissue section at the contact site when making the transfer. The modification would preserve the integrity of the tissue section.
Conclusion
/PAUL S HYUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796