CTFR 18/264,716 CTFR 77446 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. This Office action is in response to the amendment filed on 03/30/2026. Claims 1-35 are presented for examination. The §112(f) interpretation of claim 35 is withdrawn in view of the amendment. The §101 rejection of claim 35 is withdrawn in view of the amendment. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NIMBALKER et al. (US 2022/0190991 A1), in view of LI et al. (US 2023/0396396 A1) . As to claims 1, 21 and 35, NIMBALKER discloses the invention as claimed, including a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 2, 22) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 2, 86) ; and at least one memory (Fig. 2, 88) coupled with the at least one processor (Fig. 2, 86) and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the UE to: receive a secondary cell activation command that indicates a semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set of a secondary cell (i.e., SCell) (¶0010, “the network node is configured to transmit an activation command to the WD, the WD being configured with multiple sets of CSI-RS, resource configurations and multiple sets of CSI reporting configurations, and the activation command specifying one of the multiple sets of CSI-RS resource configurations and one of the multiple sets of CSI reporting configurations”; ¶0079, “An activation command (e.g., an Scell activation command or semi-persistent CSI resource) can also trigger a CSI resource for tracking (or a tracking reference signal)”; ¶0089, “The WD 22 may receive, via radio interface 82, a first MAC Scell activation/deactivation command CE indicating an activation command for a serving cell, and the first MAC CE implicitly activates a first semi-persistent CSI resource and a first semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration”; ¶0097, “The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE”) ; and receive a semi-persistent CSI-RS using the semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on receiving the secondary cell activation command (¶0070; ¶0079; ¶0089; ¶0097, “The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources”), wherein the semi-persistent CSI- RS is a source reference signal for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the secondary cell (¶0097, “The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources. Quasi co-location (QCL) information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g., beam, precoding, etc”; ¶0099, “The Scell activation command can also include a TCI state indication for the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring upon Scell activation. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the PDCCH on the Scell. QCL information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g. beam, precoding, etc”; ¶0070, “the network node 16, radio interface 62 and/or processing circuitry 68 (including the activation/deactivation unit 32) may be configured to determine if a serving cell of the WD is activated (Block S138). The process also includes, when the serving cell of the WD is activated, transmitting at least one MAC CE to deactivate a first SP CSI-RS, resource configuration and a first SP CSI, reporting configuration”). Although NIMBALKER discloses receiving a semi-persistent CSI-RS using the semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on receiving the secondary cell activation command (¶0070; ¶0079; ¶0089; ¶0097), NIMBALKER does not specifically disclose a semi-persistent CSI-RS using the semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on receiving the secondary cell activation command is received from the secondary cell. However, LI discloses receive, from the secondary cell, a semi-persistent CSI-RS using the semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on receiving the secondary cell activation command (¶0006, “the UE can receive semi-persistent (SP) Channel State Information (CSI)-Reference Signal (RS) for PUCCH transmission in the SCell, and transmit a CSI report in a PUCCH transmission in the SCell based at least on the SP CSI- RS for PUCCH transmission”; ¶0033, “Example 700 illustrates RRC commands: SCellConfig 710 and CSI-ReportConfig 730, that inform UE 110 of which semi-persistent (SP) CSI-RS to use for CSI reporting on a PUCCH transmission when UE 110 is in SCell 140”; ¶0051, “At 970, gNB 120 can transmit SP CSI-RS for CSI reporting via PUCCH transmission in SCell 140 via a CSI-ReportConfig RRC command and/or an SCellConfig RRC command”). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of NIMBALKER to include receive, from the secondary cell, a semi-persistent CSI-RS using the semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on receiving the secondary cell activation command, as taught by LI because it would maximize resource flexibility and efficiency by high-overhead signals only when they are actively needed (LI; ¶0006; ¶0033; ¶0051). As to claim 2, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein: the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor to receive the secondary cell activation command, is configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of a CSI reporting configuration; and the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to transmit, to the secondary cell, a CSI report based at least in part on a measurement of the semi-persistent CSI-RS and the CSI reporting configuration (¶0010, “the first SP CSI resource configuration and first SP CSI reporting configuration are configured by the WD in response to at least one MAC CE”; ¶0086, “the WD 22 is configured with a first semi-persistent CSI resource and a first semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration for a serving cell, according to a decision by the activation/deactivation unit 32 of network node 16. A first MAC Scell activation/deactivation command CE is used for activating the serving cell”). As to claim 3, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 2, wherein the processor- readable code, when executed by the at least one processor to transmit the CSI report, is configured to cause the UE to transmit at least one of the CSI report for CSI acquisition, a layer 1 reference signal received power (RSRP) report, or a layer 1 signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) report (¶0004, “a fast CQI reporting mechanism is specified during the CA activation procedure to enable the network, i.e., the network node, to determine when the WD is activated and ready to receive control information”; ¶0097, “The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources. Quasi co-location (QCL) information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g., beam, precoding, etc”; ¶0126, “CQI Channel Quality Information”; ¶0135). As to claim 4, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor to receive the semi-persistent CSI-RS, is configured to cause the UE to receive at least one of a tracking reference signal, a beam management signal, a CSI acquisition signal, or a positioning reference signal (¶0012, “activating a second CSI-RS resource configuration and a second CSI reporting configuration. In some embodiments, the method further includes triggering a CSI resource or tracking reference signal”; ¶0079, “An activation command (e.g., an Scell activation command or semi-persistent CSI resource) can also trigger a CSI resource for tracking (or a tracking reference signal”). As to claim 5, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor to receive the secondary cell activation command, is configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of the TCI state of the secondary cell (¶0097, “The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE”; ¶0099). As to claim 6, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor to receive the secondary cell activation command, is configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of the TCI state of the secondary cell, wherein the TCI state is a unified TCI state (¶0099, “The Scell activation command can also include a TCI state indication for the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring upon Scell activation. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the PDCCH on the Scell. QCL information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g. beam, precoding, etc”). As to claim 7, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor to receive the secondary cell activation command, is configured to cause the UE to receive an indication of the TCI state of the secondary cell that indicates at least one of: a joint uplink and downlink common TCI state for at least one downlink channel and at least one uplink channel, a separate downlink common TCI state for at least two downlink channels, a separate uplink common TCI state for at least two uplink channels, a single channel TCI state for a downlink channel, or a single channel TCI state for an uplink channel (¶0099, “The Scell activation command can also include a TCI state indication for the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring upon Scell activation. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the PDCCH on the Scell. QCL information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g. beam, precoding, etc”). As to claim 8, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to: identify quasi-colocation (QCL) information for the TCI state of the secondary cell based at least in part on using the semi-persistent CSI-RS as a source reference signal for the TCI state of the secondary cell; and receive, from the secondary cell, a downlink communication based at least in part on the QCL information (¶0097, “The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources. Quasi co-location (QCL) information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g., beam, precoding, etc”; ¶0099, “The Scell activation command can also include a TCI state indication for the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring upon Scell activation. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the PDCCH on the Scell. QCL information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g. beam, precoding, etc”). As to claim 9, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor, is further configured to cause the UE to transmit an uplink communication using a spatial transmit filter that is based at least in part on using the semi-persistent CSI-RS as a source reference signal for the TCI state of the secondary cell (¶0097, “The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources. Quasi co-location (QCL) information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g., beam, precoding, etc”; ¶0099, “The Scell activation command can also include a TCI state indication for the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring upon Scell activation. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the PDCCH on the Scell. QCL information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g. beam, precoding, etc”). As to claim 10, NIMBALKER discloses the UE of claim 1, wherein the processor-readable code, when executed by the at least one processor to receive the secondary cell activation command, is configured to cause the UE to receive a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE) message indicating the secondary cell activation command (¶0089, “The WD 22 may receive, via radio interface 82, a first MAC Scell activation/deactivation command CE indicating an activation command for a serving cell, and the first MAC CE implicitly activates a first semi-persistent CSI resource and a first semi-persistent CSI reporting configuration”; ¶0097, “The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE”). As to claims 11 and 29, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 1-10 above. In addition, NIMBALKER discloses a network entity (Fig. 2, 16) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 2, 70) ; and at least one memory (Fig. 2, 72) coupled with the at least one processor and storing processor-readable code that, when executed by the at least one processor, is configured to cause the network entity to: transmit a secondary cell activation command that indicates a semi-persistent channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) resource set of a secondary cell associated with the network entity (¶0010, “the network node is configured to transmit an activation command to the WD, the WD being configured with multiple sets of CSI-RS, resource configurations and multiple sets of CSI reporting configurations, and the activation command specifying one of the multiple sets of CSI-RS resource configurations and one of the multiple sets of CSI reporting configurations”; ¶0111, “the network node 16, is configured to transmit an activation command to the WD 22, the WD 22 being configured with multiple sets of CSI-RS, resource configurations and multiple sets of CSI reporting configurations, and the activation command specifying one of the multiple sets of CSI-RS resource configurations and one of the multiple sets of CSI reporting configurations. In some embodiments, the activation command triggers a CSI resource for tracking”). As to claims 12-20, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 2-10 above, respectively. As to claim 22, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claim 2 above. As to claims 23-26, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 4-7 above, respectively. As to claims 27-28, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 9-10 above, respectively. As to claim 30, it is rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 12-13 above. As to claims 31-32, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 15-16 above, respectively. As to claims 33-34, they are rejected for the same reasons set forth in claims 18-19 above, respectively . 07-37 AIA Applicant's arguments filed on 03/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts on page 17 of Remarks that “The Office Action relies on paragraphs [0089], [0097], and [0099] of NIMBALKER for allegedly disclosing a source reference signal for a TCI state of a secondary cell, as recited in previously presented dependent claims 5, 8, and 9, upon which at least a portion of the amendment to claim 1 is based. See Office Action, pages 9-11. However, Applicant respectfully submits that NIMBALKER does not disclose at least the above features of amended claim 1. “According to the above cited portions of NIMBALKER, NIMBALKER discloses that a secondary cell activation command may activate a semi-persistent CSI resource and may include a TCI state indication for the SP-CSI resources. However, Applicant respectfully submits that NIMBALKER does not disclose at least "receiv[ing], from the secondary cell, a semi-persistent CSI-RS using the semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set based at least in part on receiving the secondary cell activation command, wherein the semi-persistent CSI-RS is a source reference signal for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the secondary cell," as recited in amended claim 1 (emphasis added).” Examiner respectfully disagrees. It is well known in 3GPP 5G NR that a semi-persistent (SP) CSI-RS serves as a source reference signal providing spatial and QCL characteristics used for beams management and determination of beam-related reception parameters. (See 3GPP TS 38.214, section 5.2.1.5.2). NIMBALKER discloses a source reference signal for a TCI state of a secondary cell. More specifically, NIMBALKER discloses at paragraphs [0097] and [0099] that the Scell activation command includes a TCI state indication and implicitly activates the SP-CSI resources associated with the Scell. The indicated TCI state provides Quasi co-location (QCL) information for reception of the activated SP-CSI resources, where the SP-CSI-RS serves as a source reference signal. Through this QCL relationship, the UE derives beam-related parameters, including precoding, from the SP-CSI-RS, which provides the spatial characteristics required for accurate reception and measurement of downlink signals. Thus, the semi-persistent CSI-RS serves as a QCL source reference signal. [0097] The following can apply to one or more of the above solutions. The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE . The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources . Quasi co-location (QCL) information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g., beam, precoding, etc .(emphasis added) [0099] The Scell activation command can also include a TCI state indication for the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) monitoring upon Scell activation . The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the PDCCH on the Scell. QCL information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g. beam, precoding, etc. NIMBALKER discloses that receiving a semi-persistent CSI-RS using the semi-persistent CSI-RS resource set (¶0097, “The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources... The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources ”) based at least in part on receiving the secondary cell activation command (¶0097, “... SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE ”), wherein the semi-persistent CSI-RS is a source reference signal for a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state of the secondary cell (¶0070; ¶0097, “The Scell activation command can also include a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state indication for the SP-CSI resources that are implicitly activated upon reception of the Scell activation command MAC CE. The TCI state indication can give QCL information for receiving the activated SP-CSI resources. Quasi co-location (QCL) information can be used for determining spatial parameters, e.g., beam, precoding, etc”; ¶0099). THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JUNGWON CHANG whose telephone number is (571)272-3960. The examiner can normally be reached 9AM-5:30PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, GLENTON BURGESS can be reached at (571)272-3949. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /JUNGWON CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2454 June 2, 2026 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 2 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 3 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 4 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 5 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 6 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 7 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 8 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 9 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 10 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 11 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 12 Art Unit: 2454 Application/Control Number: 18/264,716 Page 13 Art Unit: 2454