DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 48, 49, 51, 54-56, 58, and 59 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/21/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 60-65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) in view of Schwandt et al. (WO 2017/034976).
Claims 60 and 62: Schwandt et al. teach a method of filtering particles from a fluid stream [0019] in a closed crankcase ventilation system [0014], the method comprising: placing a medium in the fluid stream (Fig. 1), the medium comprising: a seamless filtration component (Fig. 1, 114; Fig. 2, no seams are present); wherein the seamless filtration component comprises a plurality of bonded polymeric fibers [0027]; and wherein the seamless filtration component has a porosity from about 60% to about 95% [0033]; wherein the fluid stream has a temperature of up to about 150°C [0019, 0029]; thereby removing the particles from the fluid stream [0003, 0019].
Claim 61: the particles have an average diameter of 0.1um to 5um [0037, contaminants are oil droplets that have the diameter of from 0.4-2um].
Claim 63: the filter removes greater than 99% of particles as small as 0.3um at a pressure of 0.8kPa (i.e. “about 0.4kPa”).
Claim 64: the bonded polymeric fibers have an average diameter of from 1-30um [0007].
Claim 65: the bonded fibers include nylon [0015].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 66, 67, 71, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwandt et al. (WO 2017/034976) and further in view of Little et al. (US Pub. No. 2012/0234748).
Claim 66: Schwandt et al. teach that the fiber bicomponent or multicomponent fibers [0035] but not specifically that they have a “core-shell”, or better known in the art as a “core-sheath” structure.
Little et al. teach a CCV filter media comprising a bi-component fiber wherein they teach “The term "bi-component fiber" means a fiber having at least one thermoplastic binder polymer portion with a melting point and a second thermoplastic structural polymer portion with a different and higher melting point than the binder polymer portion. The physical configuration of these fibers is typically in a "side-by-side" or "sheath-core" structure.” [0014]
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious that the disclosure of “bicomponent” or “multicomponent” fibers in Schwandt et al. included the core-shell structure.
Claim 67: Schwandt et al. do not teach pore size.
In the analogous art of crankcase ventilation filter media, Little et al. teach that typica pore size of the loading layer – which is the fiber media filter of Schwandt et al. – is from 5 to 30 microns [0057].
Pore size is well-recognized in the art as a result effective variable that is optimized depending on the desired separation properties. Given that the materials are intended for the same purpose, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious that a pore size from 5-30um would be suitable for Schwandt et al.’s application. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). The discovery of an optimum value of a known result effective variable, without producing any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of a person of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980) (see MPEP § 2144.05, II.).
Claim 71: Schwandt et al. do not teach that the fibers are specifically hydrophobic or oleophilic.
In the analogous art of crankcase ventilation filter media, Little et al. teach that the media fibers comprise hydrophobic or oleophilic [0063].One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to use hydrophobic or oleophilic fibers in Schwandt et al.’s filter media because it would allow for capture and/or removal of oil particles.
Claim 72: Schwandt et al. do not teach a percentage of fibers.
Little et al. teach that there are media fibers and binder fibers [0063]. The media fibers are the nylon fibers and the binder fibers is a secondary fiber in an amount of from 0.1-10 wt%.
Claims 68 and 69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwandt et al. (WO 2017/034976) in view of Gerken et al. (US Pub. No. 20170225109).
Claims 68 and 69: Schwandt et al. do not teach multiple filter layer or that they are spaced.
Gerken et al. teach a filter unit for treating air flow comprising two filter media layers (Fig. 2, 12 and 18). The two filter media and separation allows for increased air flow through the filter media as there are at least two flow paths.
One of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have found it obvious to provide a second filter media and position it spaced from first in order to increase the filtration capacity of Schwandt et al.’s filter device.
Claim 70 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schwandt et al. (WO 2017/034976).
Claim 70: Schwandt et al. do not teach specific percentage amounts of fibers. However, they teach that the media comprises nylon filter media [0015]. There is no requirement that there be a combination of fibers wherein one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention would have reasonably concluded that all of the fibers could have been nylon fibers. Nylon is a polyamide.
Conclusion
ALLISON FITZSIMMONS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1773
/ALLISON G FITZSIMMONS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773