Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on August 10th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17-25 are pending in the application. Claims 4-5, 7, 10, and 16 have been cancelled.
The rejection of claims 1-4, 6-9, 11, and 12-18 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Morschhauser (US 20120309665 A1) and George (WO 2009085097 A1) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11-15, 17-20, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morschhauser (US 20120309665 A1), evidenced by Spinacé (“Determination of intrinsic viscosity of poly(ethylene terephthalate) using infrared spectroscopy and multivariate calibration method”).
With regard to claims 1-3, 6-9, and 16-18, Morschhauser discloses that the use of polyesters in washing compositions to improve soil detachment is known (see [0002]). Morschhauser further teaches the use of the inventive polyesters in compositions for laundry, particularly in a fabric softener (see [0071]). Morschhauser further teaches polyesters obtainable by polymerizing the components selected from one or more sulfo-free aromatic dicarboxylic acids (a), sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acids (b), 1,2 propylene glycol (c), ethylene glycol (d), and one or more compounds of Formula I (e) (see [0012]-[0017]). Morchhauser further discloses terephthalic acid and isophthalic acid as suitable for compound (a) (see [0038]) and 5-sulphoisophthalic acid as suitable for compound (b) (see [0039]). Morschhauser further discloses discloses a formulation comprising 4wt% of lauryl alcohol ethoxylate, 7EO (see [0095]). Lauryl alcohol ethoxylate is a nonionic surfactant. Poly(ethylene terephthalate) has an intrinsic viscosity of 0.346-0.780dL/g, as evidenced by Spinacé (see Abstract).
Morschhauser discloses the inventive polymer may optionally comprise structural elements of an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid. Morschhauser further teaches the polyester may optionally comprise 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid (see [0051]). Morschhauser fails to specifically disclose a polyester prepared from terephthalic acid or isophthalic acid, ethylene glycol, 5-sulphoisophthalic acid, and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid. Morschhauser further discloses 1-15% of 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid based on the total amount of the monomers used (see [0052]).
Morschhauser fails to specifically disclose a polyester prepared from terephthalic acid or isophthalic acid, ethylene glycol, 5-sulphoisophthalic acid, and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have prepared a polyester from terephthalic acid or isophthalic acid, ethylene glycol, 5-sulphisophthalic acid, and 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid because these are some of the suitable components taught by Morschhauser. Morschhauser teaches the inventive polymer may optionally comprise structural elements of an aliphatic dicarboxylic acid. Morschhauser further teaches the polyester may optionally comprise 1,4-cyclohexanedicarboxylic acid (see [0051]). A person of ordinary skill in the art would expect to create a polyester suitable for use in washing compositions as polyesters with terephthalate units and sulfo-containing end groups, more particularly sulfoethoxylated end groups, are known to be useful in washing compositions and fabric softeners (see [0005]) and the polyesters disclosed by Morschhauser exhibit a good graying inhibition effect for textiles, can be supplied as granules in free-flowing form, have good solubility in water, are stable to hydrolysis and substantially retain a mobile consistency in dissolved form, even in the case of prolonged storage (see [0010]), effects achieved by sulfo-containing polyesters below having a particular propylene glycol/ethylene glycol (PG/EG) ratio (see [0011]).
While Morschhauser does not disclose at least 70% biodegradability according to OECD 302B standard, Morschhauser discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. It stands to reason that the disclosed composition would meet the requirement of at least 70% biodegradability according to OECD 302B standard. Applicant is directed to MPEP 2112.01(I), “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)” and 2112.01(II), "products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
With regard to claim 11, Morschhauser discloses the polyesters may also be supplied as a mixture with alkylarylsulfonates (see [0064]).
With regard to claim 12-14, Morschhauser discloses the polyester granules may be incorporated into liquid washing and cleaning compositions (see [0070]). Morschhauser further discloses the use of the inventive polyester granules for laundry, fabric softeners, textile finishing compositions, and light duty washing compositions (see [0071]-[0072]).
With regard to claim 15, Morschhauser discloses hydrotropes present at 1-10wt% (see [0065]).
With regard to claim 20, Morschhauser discloses the inventive washing and cleaning composition formulations contain at least 0.01% by weight, preferably between 0.1 and 10% by weight (see [0077]).
With regard to claim 25, Morschhauser discloses the inventive washing and cleaning composition formulations contain at least 0.01% by weight, preferably between 0.1 and 10% by weight of polyesters (see [0077]). Further, Morschhauser discloses a formulation comprising 4wt% of lauryl alcohol ethoxylate, 7EO (see [0095]).
With respect to the ratio of surfactant(s) to biodegradable soil release polymer of 1:2 to 1:1 considering that Morschhauser teaches a formulation comprising 4wt% of lauryl alcohol ethoxylate, 7EO in [0095] and between 0.1 and 10% by weight of polyesters disclosed in [0077], the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the range disclosed by the reference (e.g. 4.0 wt% of lauryl alcohol ethoxylate: 4 wt% of polyesters or 1:1) because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 U.S.P.Q 549; In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936-37 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). In addition, a prima facie case of obviousness exists because the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art", see In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257,191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976; In re Woodruff; 919 F.2d 1575,16USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morschhauser (US 20120309665 A1), as evidenced by Spinacé (“Determination of intrinsic viscosity of poly(ethylene terephthalate) using infrared spectroscopy and multivariate calibration method”), and further in view of Hochburg (US 20090293210 A1).
With regard to claim 21, Morschhauser discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
However, Morschhauser fails to disclose an anti-foaming agent.
Hochburg discloses the use of a combination of a free fluorescent whitening agent and cationic polymer as a brightening agent for a synthetic single or blended textile, an analogous art (see Abstract). Hochburg further discloses the fabric softening composition may also comprise additives which are customary for standard commercial fabric softening compositions and further discloses antifoams as customary additives (see [0157]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the antifoam of Hochburg in the composition of Morschhauser as antifoams are customary additives in fabric softening compositions, as disclosed by Hochburg.
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morschhauser (US 20120309665 A1), as evidenced by Spinacé (“Determination of intrinsic viscosity of poly(ethylene terephthalate) using infrared spectroscopy and multivariate calibration method”), and further in view of Bettiol (US 6964943 B1).
With regard to claims 22-24, Morschhauser discloses all of the limitations of claim 15.
However, Morschhauser fails to disclose a detergency builder selected from the group consisting of inorganic phosphates and polyphosphonates.
Bettiol discloses a laundry detergent composition comprising a cotton soil release polymer, an analogous art (see Abstract). Bettiol further discloses the performance of the laundry detergent compositions of the present invention is enhanced by the addition of another detergent ingredient selected from a builder, especially a zeolite, a sodium tripolyphosphate and/or layered silicate (see Col 3 line 10-14). Bettiol further discloses detergency builder salts are normally included in amounts of from 5% to 80% by weight of the composition preferably from 10% to 70% and most usually from 30% to 60% by weight (see Col 49 line 48-51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the sodium tripolyphosphate of Bettiol in the composition of Morschhauser for the purpose of enhancing the performance of the laundry detergent composition, as disclosed by Bettiol.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 8-9, 11-15, and 17-25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that Morschhauser is directed to polyesters formed by polymerizing: a) at least one sulfo-free aromatic dicarboxylic acid, salt thereof, anhydride thereof, and/or ester thereof, b) optionally at least one sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acid, salt thereof, anhydride thereof, and/or ester thereof, c) 1,2-propylene glycol, d) ethylene glycol, e) at least one compound of the formula (1): R1O(CHR2CHR3O)nH , f) optionally at least one compound of the formula (2): H-(OCH2CH2)m SO3X, and g) optionally at least one crosslinking polyfunctional compound. In comparing the biodegradable polyester of the present claims with that of Morschhauser, it is apparent that the pending claims rely on both sulphonated dicarboxylic acid monomers (SA) and an unsulphonated aliphatic dicarboxylic acid (A), Morschhauser's sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acids are entirely optional.
Morschhauser discloses an optional sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acid (see [0014]). Morschhauser further discloses that a preferred embodiment comprises 0.3-1.1mol of sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acid (component b) (see [0027]). Polyester 1 of Morschhauser discloses 0.5mol of dimethyl 5-sulfoisophthalate Na salt (see [0082]). Dimethyl 5-sulfoisophthalate Na salt is disclosed as a preferred compound of component b (see [0039]). As component b is disclosed as preferred and further disclosed in Polyester 1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the optional sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acid of Morschhauser as Morschhauser discloses the optional sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acid as preferred and further discloses at least one example utilizing the optional sulfo-containing dicarboxylic acid.
Applicant further argues that Morschhauser fails to disclose the biodegradability of the polymer. As stated above, while Morschhauser does not disclose at least 70% biodegradability according to OECD 302B standard, Morschhauser discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. It stands to reason that the disclosed composition would meet the requirement of at least 70% biodegradability according to OECD 302B standard. Applicant is directed to MPEP 2112.01(I), “where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977)” and 2112.01(II), "products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
As George is no longer relied upon as prior art, Applicant’s arguments regarding George are moot.
Applicant further argues that Morschhauser does not teach or suggest a prepolymer viscosity as set forth in claim 19. As stated above, Poly(ethylene terephthalate) has an intrinsic viscosity of 0.346-0.780dL/g, as evidenced by Spinacé. Further, Morschhauser discloses the inventive washing and cleaning composition formulations contain at least 0.01% by weight, preferably between 0.1 and 10% by weight (see [0077]).
Applicant further argues that, while Morschhauser recognizes that cleaning and washing compositions may include surfactants, the amounts relied on by the Examiner point to a granulating process where the polyester and optionally additives may be formed into granules. Therefore, this teaching in Morschhauser does not point a person of ordinary skill in the art to include an amount of surface active agent in a cleaning composition. Instead, it directs a person of ordinary skill to forming polyester granules.
As stated above, Morschhauser further discloses discloses a formulation comprising 4wt% of lauryl alcohol ethoxylate, 7EO (see [0095]). Lauryl alcohol ethoxylate is a nonionic surfactant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761