DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US Pub. 2021/0281448 to Li et al. (hereinafter Li).
In regard claim 1, Li teaches or discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (see Fig. 2), comprising:
identifying one or more antenna groups at the UE, each of the one or more antenna groups comprising two or more antenna ports and associated with group-based sounding reference signal transmission (see paragraphs [0007], [0026], and [0041], the UE may identify co-phase adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified co-phase adjustments (e.g., where the co-phase may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). The UE may identify precoder adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified precoder adjustments (e.g., where the precoder may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). Selecting a group of UE antenna ports based on the one or more received SRSs. The UE with an indication as to the number of spatial layers to transmit, as well as a precoding to apply (e.g., an antenna port configuration selection, or antenna port precoder weighting), based on observed channel conditions (e.g., such as channel state information (CSI)));
receiving an indication of a sounding reference signal configuration identifying one or more resources for performing group-based sounding reference signal transmissions using at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0011], [0012], and [0026], receiving, from a base station, an SRS resource indication (SRI) indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based at least in part on the one or more transmitted SRSs. Means for receiving, from the base station, an SRS resource indication (SRI) indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based at least in part on the one or more transmitted SRSs. Selecting a group of UE antenna ports based on the one or more received SRSs).
transmitting one or more sounding reference signals using the one or more resources and at least one antenna port from the at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see paragraphs [0006], and [0042], a user equipment (UE) may transmit a UE capability report to a base station indicating a number of SRS resources. The UE is capable of transmitting over, a number of antenna ports the UE is capable of using for each SRS resource (e.g., for each SRS transmission), coherency capabilities between different antenna ports, etc. The UE may transmit a single SRS resource and a base station may select a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) which may specify the number of spatial layers and the precoding information (e.g., a set of precoding weights at the UE). The base station may configure a UE to transmit over multiple SRS resources, and the UE may transmit SRS with varied antenna port configurations using different numbers of transmission layers).
In regard claims 2 and 17, Li teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
identifying, based at least in part on the sounding reference signal configuration, a plurality of resource sets (see paragraphs [0007], [0042], and [0044], the UE may identify co-phase adjustments for the one or more SRS resources. A base station may configure a UE to transmit over multiple SRS resources, and the UE may transmit SRS with varied antenna port configurations using different numbers of transmission layers. The UE may transmit an indication of the UE capability (e.g., a number of SRS resources that may be configured by the network, a number of antenna ports supported for each SRS resource),
selecting one of the plurality of resource sets for transmission of the one or more sounding reference signals, the one of the plurality of resource sets comprising the one or more resources (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0085], and [0092], receiving, from a base station, an SRS resource indication (SRI) indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based at least in part on the one or more transmitted SRSs. The apparatus to receive, from a base station, an SRS resource indication (SRI) indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based at least in part on the one or more transmitted SRSs).
In regard claim 15, Li teaches or discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
transmitting a UE capability message identifying the one or more antenna groups at the UE (see paragraphs [0006], [0019], and [0044], a user equipment (UE) may transmit a UE capability report to a base station indicating a number of SRS resources the UE is capable of transmitting over, a number of antenna ports the UE is capable of using for each SRS resource (e.g., for each SRS transmission), coherency capabilities between different antenna ports, etc.), wherein the indication of the sounding reference signal configuration identifying the one or more resources is received based at least in part on the UE capability message (see paragraph [0044], a UE may transmit an indication of the UE capability (e.g., a number of SRS resources that may be configured by the network, a number of antenna ports supported for each SRS resource, a coherency capability between different antenna ports, etc.) to a base station).
In regard claim 16, Li teaches or discloses a method for wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
identifying one or more antenna groups at a user equipment (UE), each of the one or more antenna groups comprising two or more antenna ports and associated with group-based sounding reference signal transmission (see paragraphs [0007], [0026], and [0041], the UE may identify co-phase adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified co-phase adjustments (e.g., where the co-phase may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). The UE may identify precoder adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified precoder adjustments (e.g., where the precoder may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). Selecting a group of UE antenna ports based on the one or more received SRSs. The UE with an indication as to the number of spatial layers to transmit, as well as a precoding to apply (e.g., an antenna port configuration selection, or antenna port precoder weighting), based on observed channel conditions (e.g., such as channel state information (CSI)));
transmitting an indication of a sounding reference signal configuration identifying one or more resources for performing group-based sounding reference signal transmissions from the UE using at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see paragraphs [0006], [0007], and [0011], the UE may then transmit SRSs according to the SRS configuration. The UE may transmit three SRSs, one over each SRS resource, and each SRS may be transmitted using an antenna port configuration indicated by the SRS resource configuration); and
receiving one or more sounding reference signals using the one or more resources and at least one antenna port from the at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see abstract, paragraph [0009], [0010], [0011], [0014], [0026], and [0109], receiving, from a base station, an SRS resource configuration for one or more SRS resources. Receiving an SRI indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based on the one or more transmitted SRSs. Selecting a group of UE antenna ports based on the one or more received SRSs. The communications manager 415 may receive, from a base station, an SRS resource configuration for one or more SRS resources).
In regard claim 29, Li teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 5);
memory coupled with the processor (see Fig. 5); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 5):
identify one or more antenna groups at the UE, each of the one or more antenna groups comprising two or more antenna ports and associated with group-based sounding reference signal transmission (see paragraphs [0007], [0026], and [0041], the UE may identify co-phase adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified co-phase adjustments (e.g., where the co-phase may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). The UE may identify precoder adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified precoder adjustments (e.g., where the precoder may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). Selecting a group of UE antenna ports based on the one or more received SRSs. The UE with an indication as to the number of spatial layers to transmit, as well as a precoding to apply (e.g., an antenna port configuration selection, or antenna port precoder weighting), based on observed channel conditions (e.g., such as channel state information (CSI)));
receive an indication of a sounding reference signal configuration identifying one or more resources for performing group-based sounding reference signal transmissions using at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see paragraphs [0009], [0010], [0011], and [0012], receiving, from a base station, an SRS resource indication (SRI) indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based at least in part on the one or more transmitted SRSs. Means for receiving, from the base station, an SRS resource indication (SRI) indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based at least in part on the one or more transmitted SRSs); and
transmit one or more sounding reference signals using the one or more resources and at least one antenna port from the at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see paragraphs [0006], and [0042], a user equipment (UE) may transmit a UE capability report to a base station indicating a number of SRS resources the UE is capable of transmitting over, a number of antenna ports the UE is capable of using for each SRS resource (e.g., for each SRS transmission), coherency capabilities between different antenna ports, etc. The UE may transmit a single SRS resource and a base station may select a transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) which may specify the number of spatial layers and the precoding information (e.g., a set of precoding weights at the UE). The base station may configure a UE to transmit over multiple SRS resources, and the UE may transmit SRS with varied antenna port configurations using different numbers of transmission layers).
In regard claim 30, Li teaches or discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station (see Fig. 11), comprising:
a processor (see Fig. 11);
memory coupled with the processor (see Fig. 11); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (see Fig. 11):
identify one or more antenna groups at a user equipment (UE), each of the one or more antenna groups comprising two or more antenna ports and associated with group-based sounding reference signal transmission (see paragraphs [0007], [0026], and [0041], the UE may identify co-phase adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified co-phase adjustments (e.g., where the co-phase may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). The UE may identify precoder adjustments for the one or more SRS resources, and may transmit the one or more SRSs according to the identified precoder adjustments (e.g., where the precoder may be adjusted from one SRS to the next). Selecting a group of UE antenna ports based on the one or more received SRSs. The UE with an indication as to the number of spatial layers to transmit, as well as a precoding to apply (e.g., an antenna port configuration selection, or antenna port precoder weighting), based on observed channel conditions (e.g., such as channel state information (CSI)));
transmit an indication of a sounding reference signal configuration identifying one or more resources for performing group-based sounding reference signal transmissions from the UE using at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see paragraphs [0006], [0007], and [0011], the UE may then transmit SRSs according to the SRS configuration. The UE may transmit three SRSs, one over each SRS resource, and each SRS may be transmitted using an antenna port configuration indicated by the SRS resource configuration); and
receive one or more sounding reference signals using the one or more resources and at least one antenna port from the at least one of the one or more antenna groups (see abstract, paragraph [0009], [0010], [0011], [0014], [0026], and [0109], receiving, from a base station, an SRS resource configuration for one or more SRS resources. Receiving an SRI indicating a selected SRS resource of the one or more SRS resources based on the one or more transmitted SRSs. Selecting a group of UE antenna ports based on the one or more received SRSs. The communications manager 415 may receive, from a base station, an SRS resource configuration for one or more SRS resources).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-14 and 18-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Date: 04/09/2026
/PHIRIN SAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2476