Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (figure 6) in the reply filed on 5/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Full consideration was given to claims 1-7.
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 8/9/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 8/9/2023, 12/10/2024, 1/15/2025, 7/8/2025 has been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 8/9/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kim (WO 2019/235800, using US 2021/0151780 for translation and citation).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a membrane humidifier for a fuel cell comprising:
a middle case 110 having a module insertion portion 210 formed therein, the module insertion portion 210 including an outer partition wall formed to be spaced apart from an inner wall of a middle case 110;
a cap case 120 coupled to the middle case;
a hollow fiber membrane module C inserted into the module insertion portion and including at least one hollow fiber membrane bundle having a plurality of hollow fiber membranes integrated therein or at least one hollow fiber membrane cartridge having a plurality of hollow fiber membranes accommodated therein; and
an active pressure buffer formed between the middle case 110 and the module insertion portion 210 to prevent the module insertion portion from expanding due to a pressure difference between the inside and the outside of the middle case or eliminate a pressure difference, depending on an output situation of a fuel cell. See figure 9 and [0049-0050].
Regarding claim 2, the active pressure buffer portion includes a bypass structure M1 formed between the outer partition wall and the inner wall of the middle case. See figure 10 and below:
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Kim (WO 2019/235800, using US 2021/0151780 for translation and citation).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses a bypass structure, but does not disclose nor suggest
“wherein the bypass structure includes
a pair of protrusion members formed to be fixed to the outer partition wall, protrude in a direction of the middle case, and be spaced apart from the inner wall of the middle case;
a sliding space formed between the pair of protruding members; and
an insertion member formed on the inner wall of the middle case, protruding in a direction of the outer partition wall, and inserted into the sliding space”
Claims 4-7 depend from claim 3.
Pertinent Prior Art
Ahn (WO 2021/107679, using US 2022/0344684 as translation) – Ahn discloses an active pressure buffer portion between the middle case and the module insertion portion in a fuel cell membrane humidifier. The active pressure buffer portion includes a bypass structure, but does not disclose an insertion member formed on the inner wall of the middle case, protruding in a direction of the outer partition wall, and inserted into the sliding space, of claim 3.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751