DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I (claims 16-24) in the reply filed on 8/21/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 25-30 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/21/2026.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “cut by means of a first cutting unit” and “cut into two single rod-like articles by means of a second cutting unit” in claim 16.
The claim limitations are interpreted as follows:
“cut by means of a first cutting unit” in claim 16 is interpreted as a rotary cutting head (p. 5, ll. 10-11 of the instant specification) and equivalents thereof; and
“cut into two single rod-like articles by means of a second cutting unit” in claim 16 is interpreted as a rotary knife (p. 8, ll. 15-20 of the instant specification) and equivalent thereof.
The claim limitation “rod-like articles” has been considered under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) for indefiniteness. The Examiner finds that such a limitation definite because it is a term of art used in the tobacco industry to indicate elements (e.g., filters and tobacco rods) that are rod-shaped.
Claim Objections
Claims 16-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 16, the claim limitation “one of the streams” in lines 10-11 should be changed to “one of the streams of the at least two input streams” to remain consistent with the claimed “at least two input streams” and because “two output streams” is also claimed in claim 16.
Regarding claims 17-18, the claim limitations “the at least two streams” (appears multiple times in each of the claims) should be changed to “the at least two input streams” to remain consistent and because “two output streams” are also claimed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the claim limitation “the other of the streams” is indefinite. First, the limitation lacks antecedent basis. Second, it is unclear which stream in the “at least two input streams” the limitation is referring to. Under a scenario where the “at least two input streams” has only two input streams, the limitation would be definite. However, under a scenario where the “at least two input streams” has three or more streams, the limitation is indefinite because the limitation can refer to two or more streams. For examination purposes, the limitation will be interpreted as “an other of the streams of the at least two input streams.” Therefore, claims 17-24 are rejected for their dependencies.
Regarding claim 18, the claim limitation “axis of the double rod-like article and moving the double rod-like article” is indefinite because it is unclear which of the double rod-like articles within the train/at least two input streams the limitation refers to. The Examiner notes that claim 18 recites “a double rod-like article,” and suggests changing that limitation to “a first double rod-like article” and the indefinite limitation to recite “axis of the first double rod-like article and moving the first double rod-like article.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16, 18-21, and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Esposti et al. (US 2017/0119042).
Regarding claim 16, Esposti discloses a method for producing smoking articles (abstract) comprising:
cutting (“performing a first cutting”) in which a tobacco rod (4; “continuous rod”), which is fed by a feeding assembly (18; i.e., “continuous”) is cut crosswise (relative to its longitudinal extension) by a cutting device (of a known type and not shown) (“first cutting unit”) into rod portions (5; Fig. 2; [0053], describing rod portions of four times length; illustrating rods of four-length, which includes two double-length rods and therefore “a train of double rod-like articles”);
picking up the tobacco rod (4) in a direction of fed in a direction substantially perpendicular to the sheet plane of Fig. 1 ([0023]; “first direction along an axis of the rod-like articles”) and feeding (the picking up and feeding is interpreted as “changing”) in a rotational direction (see arrow in Fig. 1; “second direction transverse to the axis of the rod-like articles”) of a transfer wheel (20), each time the conveying system is designed to pick up the rod portion (5) and feed them into a respective seat (“grooves”) of the transfer wheel (“drum conveyor”) ([0024]; “at least each time two double-rod like articles are transferred”), and cutting the rod portion (5) into two rod portions (9; Fig. 2; “two input streams of double rod-like articles are formed”);
offsetting and aligning (“transforming”) the rod portions (9) to be arranged in succession ([0018]; see Fig. 2 at aligning device 11; “transforming the at least two input streams into one intermediate stream”) by offsetting and then longitudinally moving the rod portions with respect to each other in an aligning station so be arranged in succession along the path portion TT ([0059]; “moving a double-rod like article from one of the streams between two double rod-like articles of the other of the streams”) such that geometric center of the rod portions (9) are disposed in a plane parallel to the second direction (see Fig. 2 at aligning device 11); and
cutting (“performing a second cutting”) the rod portions (9) crosswise to obtain rod portion (3) ([0020]; “double rod-like articles conveyed in the intermediate stream…are cut into two single rod-like articles”) by a cutting device (14; “means of a second cutting unit”) forming two streams of rod portions (3; Fig. 2; see parting device 15).
Regarding claim 18, Esposti discloses the offsetting and aligning (“transforming”) of the two rod portions (9) comprises offsetting the rod portions cut from the same rod portion with respect to one another (see Fig. 2 at offsetting device 10; “moving a first double rod-like article from one of the at least two streams transversely to the axis of the double rod-like article”) and arranging the rod portions in succession (see Fig. 2 at aligning device 11; “moving the double rod-like article between double rod-like articles of a second stream of at the at least two streams”) ([0018]).
Regarding claim 19, Esposti discloses the two rod portions (9) are centered (see Fig. 2 at the aligning device 11, illustrating the rods 9 are centered along a central axis).
Regarding claim 20, Esposti discloses the rod portions (3) are parted longitudinally ([0056]; “single rod-like articles are spaced apart after the second cutting”), and
remain parted by the two wheels ([0058]; see Fig. 2; “continue to move in the two output streams”).
Regarding claim 21, Esposti discloses wherein a double filter portion (17; “additional rod-like element”) is inserted into the space created between the two rod portions ([0021]; “placed between the spaced apart single rod-like articles”).
Regarding claim 23, Esposti discloses the speed at which the third rod portions are conveyed before the offsetting procedure (i.e., upstream of offsetting device 10, including the input stream) is smaller (i.e., “movement speed of the at least two input streams is lower than a movement speed of the two output streams”). than the speed at which they are conveyed after the offsetting procedure (i.e., downstream of offsetting device 10, including the output stream) (abstract).
Regarding claim 24, Esposti discloses the tobacco rod (4) having at least four lengths of a first rod portion ([0054]; “continuous rod…comprise multiple elements”) and the cigarette (2; “rod-like articles”) comprise a filter portion (45) and a rod portion (3) (i.e., “rod-like articles comprise multiple elements”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Esposti et al. as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Bray et al. (US 2019/0142059).
Regarding claim 22, Esposti discloses the method as discussed above with respect to claim 21, wherein the filter portions (17) are connected to the relative rod portions (3) and cut crosswise ([0022]).
However, Esposti does not disclose the three elements are joined by a wrapping material.
Bray teaches a method of cutting and arranging rods for tobacco industry product assembly (abstract) wherein components, such as filter components, (31; “additional rod-like elements”) are placed between single-length tobacco rods (22-25), and joined together with a tipping paper (T) ([0043]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Bray’s tipping paper and Esposti’s filter portions and rod portions to predictably join the filter portions to the rod portions (Bray; [0043]) as suggested by Esposti (see [0022]).
Claims 16-17, 20-22, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bray et al. (US 2019/0142059) in view of Grasse et al. (US 4538629; of record).
Regarding claim 16, Bray discloses a method of cutting and arranging rods for tobacco industry product assembly (abstract) comprising:
producing four-length (i.e., 4-up) tobacco rods (11; a 4-up rod includes two double-length rods and therefore “a train of double rod-like articles”) with a tobacco rod making station (3) ([0031]);
transferring the four-length tobacco rods on a receiving station (5; “drum conveyor”), the receiving station moving in a direction that is transverse to the axis of the tobacco rods (see arrow on drum 5 in Fig. 1), each time a four-length tobacco rod is received in flutes or grooves of the receiving station ([0033]; “at least each time two double rod-like articles are transferred into grooves of a drum conveyor”), and cutting each four-length tobacco rod into first and second double length (i.e., 2-up) tobacco rods (16, 17) ([0034]; “at least two input streams of the double rod-like articles are formed”);
arranging (“transforming”) the first and second double-length tobacco rods (16, 17; “two input streams”) such that the ends of the first and second double-length tobacco rods (16, 17) are parallel (because the ends are aligned, this means that the “geometric centers…being disposed in a plane parallel to the second direction”) but spaced from each other in the rotational direction (“second direction”) of a positioning drum (18) using a turning mechanism (19) to pivot the first double-length tobacco rod (16; “moving a double rod-like article from one of the input streams”) into alignment with the second double length tobacco rod (17; “between two double rod-like articles in an other of the input streams”) ([0037]; see Fig. 2); and
cutting (“performing a second cutting”) by a second cutting wheel (27a; “means of a second cutting unit”) the first and second double-length tobacco rods (16, 17) in half and into single-length (i.e., 1-up) tobacco rods (22, 23, 24, 25) ([0041]; see Fig. 3d; “double rod-like articles conveyed in the intermediate stream are cut into two single rod-like articles…to form two output streams of single rod-like articles”).
However, Bray does not explicitly teach performing a first cutting in which a continuous rod is cut by means of a first cutting unit, and changing a direction of conveying the double-rod-like articles from a first direction along an axis of the rod-like articles to the second direction. Specifically, Bray does not disclose the details of how the 4-up tobacco rods are formed in the tobacco rod making station (3), or how the 4-up tobacco rods are transferred from the transfer station (4) to the receiving station (5).
Grasse teaches a method for production and manipulation of plain cigarettes (title) comprising:
a known cigarette rod making machine (Fig. 1; col. 5, ll. 60-65) performing the step of subdividing (“performing a first cutting”) a rod (28; col. 6, l. 52; “continuous rod”) into a single file of discrete rod-shaped section (32) of double unit length by a cutoff (31; “first cutting unit”) (col. 7, ll. 3-7; Fig. 1); and
a transfer device (34; col. 7, ll. 35-52) constituting a means for changing the direction of movement of successive sections (32) from an axial movement to a movement at right angles to the axes of the respective section into axially parallel flutes (“grooves”) at a periphery of an endless drum-shaped rotary row forming conveyor (42; “drum conveyor”) that rotate in in a direction as indicated by arrow (43; “changing a direction of conveying the double rod-like articles from a first direction along an axis of the rod-like articles to a second direction transverse to the axis of the rod-like articles”) (col. 7, l. 67-col. 8, l. 14; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Grasse’s cutoff with Bray’s known tobacco-rod making station to obtain the predictable result of cutting a continuous rod into discrete rod-shaped sections (Grasse, col. 7, ll. 3-7) of four-length tobacco rods (Bray; [0031]). Moreover, it would have been obvious to said skilled artisan to have combined Grasse’s known transfer device with Bray’s known transfer device to predictably change the direction of the discrete rod-shaped sections from an axial movement to a rotational movement of the drum and locate the 4-up tobacco rods inside the flutes of the drum (Grasse; col. 7, l. 67-col. 8, l. 14). Said skilled artisan would appreciate that such a modification is beneficial because it is possible to mass produce cigarette and manipulate such articles during transport to storage without pronounced mechanical or other stressing of the wrappers (Grasse; col. 2, ll. 11-18).
Regarding claim 17, modified Bray discloses the turning mechanism (19) comprises a pivoting arm (20) that is configured to rotate the first double-length tobacco rod (16) by an angle of about 180 degree around a pivot axis ([0038]; Fig. 2; “rotated by 180 degrees”).
Regarding claim 20, modified Bray discloses wherein the single-length tobacco rods (22-25) are spaced apart from each other ([0043]; “spaced apart after the second cutting”); and
pass such that they are enclosed in a tipping paper ([0043]; “continue to move in two output streams of the single rod-like articles”).
Regarding claim 21, modified Bray discloses components, such as filter components, (31; “additional rod-like elements”) are placed between single-length tobacco rods (22-25) ([0043]; “placed between the spaced apart single rod-like articles”).
Regarding claim 22, modified Bray discloses wherein the components (31; “additional rod-like elements”) are placed between single-length tobacco rods (22-25) and joined together with a tipping paper (T) ([0043]; “joined with a wrapping material”).
Regarding claim 24, modified Bray discloses wherein the continuous rod (as modified by Grasse) comprises at least four length tobacco sections ([0031]; “continuous rod…comprise multiple elements”) and the smoking articles (37-40) comprise a tobacco rod (22-25) and multiple further components (31; see Fig. 3f-g; “rod-like articles comprise multiple elements”).
Conclusion
/SONNY V NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755