Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 6/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Acknowledgement has been made of applicant’s claim for priority under 35 USC 119 (a-d). The certified copy has been filed on 8/9/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed 8/9/2023, 11/22/2024, 1/15/2025, 7/8/2025 have been placed in the application file and the information referred to therein has been considered.
Drawings
The drawings received 8/9/2023 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Kim (WO 2015/102377).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a fuel cell membrane humidifier comprising:
a middle case 311 having a module insertion portion formed therein, the module insertion portion 330 including an outer partition wall formed to be spaced apart from an inner wall of a middle case 311;
a cap case 320A coupled to the middle case 311;
a hollow fiber membrane module 330 inserted into the module insertion; and
an active pressure buffer portion formed between the middle case 311 and the module insertion portion to prevent the module insertion portion from expanding due to a pressure difference between the inside and the outside of the middle case or eliminate the pressure difference, depending on an output situation of a fuel cell.
[AltContent: textbox (Applicant’s module insertion portion)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Applicant’s inclined structure)][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2, the active pressure buffer portion includes an inclined structure formed between the outer partition wall and the inner wall of the middle case.
Regarding claim 6, the hollow fiber membrane module includes at least one hollow fiber membrane bundle having a plurality of hollow fiber membranes integrated therein or at least one hollow fiber membrane cartridge having a plurality of hollow fiber membranes accommodated therein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art is Kim (WO 2015/102377). Kim discloses
Regarding claim 3, wherein the inclined structure includes a first inclined member formed to be fixed to the outer partition wall, protrude in a direction of the middle case, and be spaced apart from the inner wall of the middle case;
a second inclined member formed on the inner wall of the middle case and formed to protrude in a direction of the outer partition wall and be spaced apart from the outer partition wall;
but does not disclose nor suggest:
a bypass hole formed in at least one of the first inclined member and the second inclined member, the bypass hole being able to be opened or closed depending on a magnitude of expansion pressure between the outer partition wall and the middle case,
as recited in claim 1.
[AltContent: textbox (a hole)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Applicant’s first inclined member)]
[AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (Applicant’s second inclined member)][AltContent: arrow]
Kim discloses a hole, but the hole is not located in at least one of the first inclined member and the second inclined member. The function of the potting part (Applicant’s first and second inclined member) is to separate the space to prevent mixing of the fuel gas and the humidifying fluid. Page 8 of translation. Adding a hole on the potting part, as claimed by the Applicants, would cause mixing of the fuel gas and the humidifying gas in the housing, and would be against the function of the potting part 340.
Claim 4 and 5 depend from claim 3.
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Refer to figure 10. Ahn (EP 4235879) discloses wherein the inclined structure includes a first inclined member formed to be fixed to the outer partition wall, protrude in a direction of the middle case, and be spaced apart from the inner wall of the middle case;
a second inclined member formed on the inner wall of the middle case and formed to protrude in a direction of the outer partition wall and be spaced apart from the outer partition wall;
but does not disclose nor suggest:
a bypass hole formed in at least one of the first inclined member and the second inclined member, the bypass hole being able to be opened or closed depending on a magnitude of expansion pressure between the outer partition wall and the middle case.
Ahn discloses if the sliding assemblies 29 and 30 that can slide according to the pressure of the wet gas are installed instead of the blocking member 28, even if the wetting upper surface 511 expands outward according to the pressure of the wet gas, wetting It is possible to prevent gas from being directly discharged to the discharge member 53 by bypassing the hollow fiber membrane, thereby improving humidification efficiency [0081], and hence teaches away from forming a hole on the sliding members 30.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/264777. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other in that claim 1 of the copending application contains all the limitations of claim of the instant application. Claim 1 of the instant application therefore is not patently distinct from the copending claim and as such is unpatentable for obvious-type double patenting.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/CYNTHIA K WALLS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1751